Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Ontario and Western Railway Stereographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: New York, Ontario, and Western Railway Co.
Title: Ontario and Western Railway Stereographs
Inclusive Dates: circa 1886
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two stereographs of an 1886 wreck on the Ontario and Western Railway at Fish's Eddy, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Ontario and Western Railway, properly called the New York, Ontario and Western Railway but commonly known as the O&W, was incorporated in 1880 out of the New York and Oswego Midland Railroad. Like most railways, it underwent numerous mergers and expansions, becoming at its height the premier carrier of tourists to the lower Catskills region. The decline of coal and the rise of metropolitan areas and suburbs in the 1930s placed the railroad in financial straits and in 1937 it entered bankruptcy.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ontario and Western Railway Stereographs consists of two stereographs (double-images meant to produce a three-dimensional effect when viewed through a stereoscope) showing the "View of a Wreck on the Ontario and Western Railway, at Fish's Eddy, N. Y., on the night of March 2, 1886, in which four men lost their lives."

According to stamps on the back, the stereographs were produced by two different companies: Miller & Sprague of Walton, N.Y. and R. B. Whittaker of Liberty, N. Y. in Sullivan County.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has substantial railroad-related holdings; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

New York, Ontario, and Western Railway Co.

Subjects

Railroad accidents -- New York (State)
Railroad accidents -- Photographs.
Railroads -- New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Stereographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ontario and Western Railway Stereographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Donald R. Davidson, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 13 Jul 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
Access Restrictions
RESTRICTED: COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.
SC 532 Stereographs of wreck at Fisher's Eddy, New York 2 Mar 1886

Return to top