Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Edward G. O'Neill Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: O'Neill, Edward G.
Title: Edward G. O'Neill Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1931-1944
Quantity: 5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, manuscripts and published material of the New York attorney, assistant attorney general, and special prosecutor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Edward G. O'Neill (1894-1972) was a New York State lawyer and assistant state attorney general.

Born in Brooklyn, New York, O'Neill received his A. B. from Michigan University and his LLB from Fordham. He served in France during World War I, receiving a Purple Heart and the Croix de Guerre. He received his law degree in 1921 from Fordham University and was admitted to the New York State bar the same year. He practiced in Brooklyn until 1939 when he was appointed assistant attorney general for the state of New York; he later served as special judge of the Orange County (NY) Court, special prosecutor of local officials of the Hod Carriers Union Local 17, and special U.S. Attorney to investigate graft in the construction of Camp Shanks in Orangeburg.

After his retirement from the law, O'Neill was an active participant in the social and civic life of Newburgh, New York, where among other things he was an organizer of the Newburgh Tax Commission and president of the Newburgh Chamber of Commerce.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edward G. O'Neill Papers consist of two sets of material which have not been integrated.

The 1966 set contains correspondence, subject files, manuscripts and published material. Correspondence (1931-1943) includes both incoming and outgoing correspondence. There is also a correspondence book of incoming and outgoing letters arranged chronologically. Subject files (1941-1943) contains material on topics ranging from labor to Orange County investigations. Manuscripts consists of scripts for radio broadcasts. Published material contains news clippings about O'Neill and others.

The 1979 set contains a single series of Subject files, comprising legal documents, speeches, clippings, correspondence, blueprints, and other material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

1966 set: Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author; outgoing is arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Manuscripts (radio scripts) are arranged chronologically.

1979 set: Single series, arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

O'Neill, Edward G.

Corporate Bodies

New York (State). -- Attorney General's Office.

Subjects

Lawyers -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Radio scripts.

Occupations

Lawyers.
Special prosecutors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edward G. O'Neill Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edward G. O'Neill, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Dec 1966
Revision history: Jun 1979 - additions (DMW); 11 May 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence (1966)
Incoming
Box 1 B - V
Box 1 Reed, Hoyt, Washburn and Clay
Box 1 Speculation, New York - Town Clerk
Box 1 Unidentified
Outgoing
Box 1 1939-1943 (3 folders)
Book
Box 1 Incoming and outgoing 1934-1941
Subject files (1966)
Box 1 Financial
Box 1 Labor
Box 1 Legal documents
Box 1 Lists
Box 1 Notes
Box 1 Orange County Investigation
Manuscripts (1966)
Radio scripts
Box 2 September 1942-July 1943
Box 3 August 1943-June 1944
Published Material (1966)
Box 3 News clippings about
Box 3 News clippings about others
Subject files (1979)
Box 4 A
Box 4 D. Sterling Agnew
Box 4 American Legion
Box 4 Atlas Roofing Company
Box 4 Area Army Installations
Box 4 B
Box 4 Barton, Colonel LeRoy IGD
Box 4 William Bennett - autobiography article
Box 4 Bennett Committee
Box 4 Bennett vs Cronin
Box 4 Blachly, Fred
Box 4 Blueprints
Box 4 Boy Scouts
Box 4 Bradley, Mary G.
Box 4 C
Box 4 Camp Shanks (2 folders)
Box 4 Carpenters Local 301
Box 4 Chamber of Commerce
Box 4 Clark, Tom C. (Assistant Attorney General)
Box 4 Conden vs Ondriska
Box 4 Conference memoirs and photostats
Box 4 Continental Village
Box 4 Coronway, H. Roy
Box 4 D
Box 4 Decker, John C.
Box 4 Estate of Rose Dwyer
Box 4 E
Box 4 Embarkation, New York Port of
Box 4 Chief of Engineers, USA
Eureka Shipbuilding Corporation
Box 4 C-10 contest
Box 5 Contract of 1944 (2 folders)
Box 5 Correspondence
Box 5 Union
Box 5 Eureka Shipbuilding Corporation and the Industrial Union of Marine and Shipbuilding Workers of America - draft of agreement
Box 5 F
FBI investigation
Box 5 Dann, Robert Ray
Box 5 Requests for
Box 5 Joseph S. Fay
Box 5 Federal Grand Jury
Box 5 Stewart Field
Box 5 Fish
Box 5 Foreign policy
Box 5 G
Box 5 H
Box 5 Hard, Williams
Box 5 I
Box 5 Income tax returns
Box 5 Inspector General, USA
Box 5 J
Box 5 K
Box 5 Joseph Kahn arbitration case
Box 5 L
Box 5 Legal memoranda - opinions
Box 5 M
Box 5 James P. McGranery
Box 5 Miscellaneous
Box 5 N
Box 5 Newspaper clippings
Box 5 O
Box 5 E. G. O'Neill, personal
Box 5 P
Box 5 Pedolsky, Samuel
Box 5 Wills of Benjamin and Ethel Peretz
Box 5 Philippines
Box 5 Prindle, Charles H.
Box 6 R
Box 6 Radio notes
Box 6 Red Cross
Box 6 Rotary
Box 6 S
Box 6 Shipbuilding industry, zone standards and amendments
Box 6 Sloan vs Warden
Box 6 State Insurance Fund, compensation claim of Robert Sibrova
Box 6 T
Box 6 E. Totenelly Sons
Box 6 U
Box 6 Unanswered
Box 6 V
Box 6 W
Box 6 Woodcock, A. W. W.
Box 6 Y
Box 6 Zaffarano, Anthony
Box 6 Abstracts of titles and searches to property in Newburgh, New York (1 volume)
Box 7 Abstracts of titles and searches to property in Newburgh, New York (2 volumes)

Return to top