TABLE OF CONTENTS
Overview of the Collection
Biographical History
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Arrangement of the Collection
Restrictions
Subject and Genre Headings
Related Material
Administrative Information
Inventory
Architectural plans and renderings
Archives (George Wallingford Noyes)
Biographical material
Community records
Manuscripts and personal papers
Newspapers - received on exchange
Maps
Realia
|
An inventory of
the collection
at Syracuse University
|
|
|
|
| Creator: |
Oneida Community. |
| Title: |
Oneida Community Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: |
1811-1912 |
| Quantity: |
30.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: |
Community and personal records, biographical materials, and memorabilia pertaining to the Perfectionist community established
by John Humphrey Noyes in Madison County, New York, its predecessor community in Putney, Vermont, and its branch communities
in Wallingford, Connecticut and Brooklyn, New York, and the successor joint stock organization, Oneida Community, Ltd.
|
| Language: |
English
|
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 http://scrc.syr.edu |
The Oneida Community was a utopian commune founded by John Humphrey Noyes in 1848
in the town of Oneida in Madison County, New York. Noyes, born in Vermont in 1811,
attended Dartmouth College, Andover Theological Seminary, and Yale Theological College
and received his license to preach in 1834. He formed his first utopian community in
1836 in Putney, Vermont, practicing "complex marriage" in which every male was
considered married to every female. In 1847 pending arrests for adultery spurred
Noyes and several other Putney members to move to Oneida, New York, where they
established the Oneida Community.
The Oneida community practiced communal property and possessions and believed
in a form of Perfectionism -- Christ's Second Coming had occurred in the year 70
CE thus making it possible for them to bring about Christ's millennial kingdom and
be free of sin and perfect in this world. (Noyes' declaration in 1834 that he
himself was "Perfected" had resulted in the revocation of his license to preach.)
To help members overcome character defects, all members -- including Noyes himself -- were subject to formal constructive
criticism by committee, or by the community as a whole, a practice known as "mutual criticism."
As in Putney, the community rejected monogamy and practiced complex marriage. Noyes
believed that sex had social and spiritual elements; members
were expected to improve themselves via sexual relations with those who were their
spiritual superiors. Noyes frequently suggested or encouraged particular pairings,
and beginning in 1869 members who wished to have children could do so only with the
partner selected for them by a committee based on personal, spiritual, and moral
qualities (such controlled reproduction is known as "stirpiculture").
The community was self-supporting, primarily through the sale of animal traps,
silk thread, and vegetables. (Silverware, for which the
Oneida name would become well-known, was not produced until 1877.) Men and women
were expected to work equally and had equal voice in community governance. At its
height in 1878 the community had 306 members, but the community faltered the next
year when Noyes attempt to pass on leadership of the community to his son, Theodore
Noyes. By 1880 some members had left, many had embarked upon traditional marriages,
and the community itself had been reorganized as a joint-stock company named Oneida
Community Ltd. The animal trap, silk thread, and canned vegetable enterprises
were all abandoned or sold off by 1916 but Oneida Community Ltd. became well-known
for its silver and cutlery, production of which continued until 2005.
Return to the Table of Contents
The
Oneida Community Collection contains community and personal records,
biographical materials, and memorabilia pertaining to the Perfectionist
community established by John Humphrey Noyes in Madison County, New York,
its predecessor community in Putney, Vermont, and its branch communities in
Wallingford, Connecticut and Brooklyn, New York, and the successor joint
stock organization, Oneida Community, Ltd.
Of particular significance are
the materials of William Alfred Hinds. William A. Hinds was a lifelong disciple of John Humphrey Noyes and lived for more
than sixty years in the Oneida Community, and among the papers in this collection are Hinds' original research files for the
revised editions of his
American communities
(Oneida, N.Y.: Office of the American Socialist, 1878). These files include his correspondence with individuals and communities,
together with those documents which he received in connection with his questionnaire. This collection is an important and
largely untapped resource available to those interested in the history of nineteenth-century communistic societies in America.
Architectural plans and renderings contains blueprints and pen-and-ink sketches of the Mansion House and Children's House.
Archives (George Wallingford Noyes) consists of photocopies of typed transcriptions of original documents, letters and other manuscripts relating to the Noyes
family and the Oneida Community (1811-1880) compiled by George Wallingford Noyes. Original transcriptions in the possession
of Mrs. Imogen Noyes Stone, Kenwood, New York.
Biographical material includes family registers, census schedules, membership lists, birth and death records, and other genealogical material.
Community records comprises more than twenty boxes of agreements, scrapbooks, indexes, inventories, sales books, record books, meeting minutes,
requests for appropriations, and other community records. Included here are instances of "mutual criticism" for a number
of members as well as a small number of photographs.
Manuscripts and personal papers contains nearly forty boxes of correspondence (also included are writings and other material for some individuals). Here
also are located the papers (both correspondence and research) of Oneida resident and Utopian community scholar William Alfred
Hinds (see above). More than 15 members of the Noyes family -- including George Wallingford Noyes, George Washington Noyes,
Harriet Holton Noyes, John
Humphrey Noyes, Pierrepont Noyes, and Theodore Richards Noyes -- are represented.
Oneida Community members for whom the collection contains significant amounts
of material include Alfred Barron, George Cragin, Charles J. Guiteau, and Erastus
Hamilton. Oneida Community materials also include documents relating to Beulah
Hendee, James B. Herrick, Ann S. Bailey Hobart, Annie E. Kelly, Jessie Kinsley,
Charlotte M. Leonard, Stephen R. Leonard, Charlotte A. Noyes Miller, George Noyes
Miller, Helen Campbell Miller, Tirzah Miller, Seymour Nash, and Milford Newhouse. Materials also
include documents relating to Harriet Noyes Skinner, John Langdon Skinner, Joseph
John Skinner, Theodore H. Skinner, James W. Towner, Francis Wayland-Smith, Cornelia
Worden, Harriet Maria Worden, Marquis de LaFayette Worden, and others.
Newspapers contains more than 50 local or northeastern United States alternative newspapers, including
Banner of Light and
Hull's Crucible (Boston);
Daily Graphic and
Worker (New York);
Progressive communist (Kansas);
Social-smasher (Berlin Heights, Ohio); Labor vindicator (New Martinsville, W.Va.); and
Chariot of wisdom and love (Portland, Me.).
Maps, stored separately from the collection in the map case, contains maps of Oneida Community buildings and grounds as well as
lands belonging to the Wallingford (Connecticut) community.
Two items of
Realia, a short dress and a plaster bust of John Humphrey Noyes, complete the collection.
Return to the Table of Contents
Architectural plans and renderings are arranged chronologically. George Wallingford Noyes' archives are arranged chronologically.
Biographical material is in no particular order. The Community records series is roughly but not consistently ordered with
general material first, followed by socio-cultural material (dress, education, music, etc), business material (sales books,
inventories, etc), and photographs; within these general topics material is roughly but not entirely chronological. Manuscripts
and personal papers are arranged alphabetically by name of originator (sender, writer, or author). Newspapers are arranged
alphabetically by name of the paper. Maps are arranged chronologically. Realis is in no particular order.
Return to the Table of Contents
Access Restrictions
All access restrictions on this material have been lifted as of January, 2007. The collection now has no access restrictions.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and
all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any
materials in this collection.
Return to the Table of Contents
See also the
P. Geoffrey Noyes Papers. Selected books about the Oneida Community, and photographs of the Community buildings, members, and groups, have been
scanned and are accessible in digital format
here. The library also has numerous pamphlets, books, and other published material on the Oneida Community in its Rare Books
holdings and in the general circulating collection; please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog
for a complete listing.
Return to the Table of Contents
Persons
Barron, Alfred.
Cragin, George, 1808-1884.
Guiteau, Charles Julius, 1841-1882.
Hamilton, Erastus Hapgood, 1821-1894.
Hendee, Beulah Foster (Barron), 1847-1903.
Herrick, James Burton, 1837-1912.
Hinds, William Alfred, 1833-1910. American communities.
Hobart, Ann S. Bailey (Skinner), 1846-1908.
Kelly, Annie E. (Miller), 1852-1931.
Kinsley, Jessie Hatch, 1858-1938.
Leonard, Charlotte Miller, 1846-1928.
Leonard, Stephen Rose, 1820-1892.
Miller, Charlotte A. Noyes, 1819-1874.
Miller, George Noyes, 1845-1904.
Miller, Helen Campbell (Barron), 1847-1932.
Miller, Tirzah Crawford (Herrick), 1843-1902.
Nash, Seymour, 1814-1881.
Newhouse, Milford James, 1847-1926.
Noyes, George Wallingford.
Noyes, George Washington, 1822-1870.
Noyes, Harriet Ann Holton, 1808-1895.
Noyes, John Humphrey, 1811-1886.
Noyes, Pierrepont, b. 1870.
Noyes, Theodore Richards, 1841-1903.
Skinner, Harriet H. Noyes, 1817-1893.
Skinner, John Langdon, 1803-1889.
Skinner, Joseph John, 1842-1919.
Skinner, Theodore Hobart, 1878-1944.
Towner, James William, 1823-1913.
Wayland-Smith, Francis, 1841-1911.
Worden, Cornelia, 1847-1928.
Worden, Harriet Maria, 1840-1891.
Worden, Marquis de LaFayette, 1813-1891.
Corporate Bodies
Oneida Community -- Archival resources.
Oneida Community -- Archives.
Oneida Community, ltd.
Oneida Community.
Oneida, ltd.
Putney Community (Putney, Vt.)
Wallingford Community.
Subjects
Christian communities -- United States.
Collective settlements -- United States.
Eugenics -- United States.
Perfection -- Religious aspects -- Christianity.
Utopias.
Genres and Forms
Architectural plans.
Autograph albums.
Birth registers.
Clippings.
Correspondence.
Death registers.
Diaries.
Financial records.
Genealogies.
Inventories.
Journals.
Ledgers.
Legal documents.
Maps.
Membership lists.
Minute books.
Periodicals.
Photographs.
Reminiscences.
Sales records.
Scrapbooks.
Sketches.
Stereographs.
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Oneida Community Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
Gift of the
Oneida Community Historical Committee.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: [Summit record]
Date: Feb 1996
Revision history: 27 Nov 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC);
8 Jan 2007 - updated restrictions (MRC);
25 Mar 2008 - restrictions removed (MRC)
Return to the Table of Contents
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Architectural plans and renderings |
| Map-Case 73 |
|
Mansion House south front rendering,
pen-ink-water color wash; 34.5 x 52 cm.
(original in OCMH Collection) 1850?
|
| Map-Case 73 |
|
Mansion House east front rendering, pen-ink-water color wash; 22 x 63.5 cm.
(original in OCMH Collection) 1850?
|
| Map-Case 73 |
|
Mansion House west front rendering,
pen-ink-water color wash; 23.5 x 61 cm.
(original in OCMH Collection) 1850?
|
| Map-Case 73 |
|
Set of 5 blueprints for 'New House,' prepared by L.W. Leeds & co., New York
Basement; 1st floor; 2d floor; 3d floor; roof; 52.5 x 72 cm.
(originals in OCMH Collection) 1877
|
| Map-Case 73 |
|
Foundation plan, 56 x 71.5 cm., and
Section, 46.5 x 62.5 cm.
(originals in OCMH Collection) 1877
|
|
|
Mansion House south(?) elevation.
By Mr. Whatley(?)
|
| Map-Case 73 |
|
Children's House elevation rendering undated |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Archives (George Wallingford Noyes) |
|
|
Restrictions removed Jnauary 2007. |
| Box 1 |
|
1811-1840 |
| Box 2 |
|
1848-1878 |
| Box 3 |
|
1879-1880 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Biographical material |
| Box 4 |
|
Genealogical data cards
|
| Box 4 |
|
Biographical data cards (incomplete)
|
| Box 5 |
|
Hilda Herrick Noyes, M.D. Collection (copy)
|
| Box 5 |
|
Genealogical information re: Oneida Community families compiled by Hilda Herrick Noyes copied with the permission of the present
owner, Sylvia Noyes Paquette.
|
|
|
Census schedules |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Federal census schedules (Madison Co., N.Y.) 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 |
| Box 6 |
|
|
New York state census schedules (Madison Co., Town of Lenox) 1855, 1865, 1875 |
| Box 7 |
|
Members of Putney Community and date of joining |
| Box 7 |
|
Children of the Putney Community |
| Box 7 |
|
Original list of O.C. members by Harriet A. Noyes (12 p.) |
| Box 7 |
|
O.C. Family Register Ja 1 1849
(16 p. typescript + 2 copies and alphabetical card file)
|
| Box 7 |
|
Record of members |
| Box 7 |
|
List of children brought here under the age of 16: alphabetical list, chronological list 1848-1876 |
| Box 7 |
|
O.C. & W.C. Register with typescript 1862-1869 |
| Box 7 |
|
O.C. & W.C. Census by M.L. Worden 1869 |
| Box 7 |
|
Members joining O.C. in
1849
|
| Box 7 |
|
Signatures of members |
| Box 7 |
|
Persons coming and going 1865-1867 |
| Box 7 |
|
Registers - Kept by John Abbott 1871-1881 |
| Box 7 |
|
Weight of O.C. babies 1869-1877 |
| Box 7 |
|
W.C. census 1872-1876 |
| Box 7 |
|
Marriages 1879-1880 |
| Box 7 |
|
Members of O.C. & W.C. under 5 years Ja 1, 1880 |
| Box 7 |
|
Community register Ja 1, 1880 |
| Box 7 |
|
O.C. register undated |
| Box 7 |
|
Record of births undated |
| Box 7 |
|
Record of deaths undated |
| Box 7 |
|
Names of seceders |
| Box 7 |
|
Persons born in the O.C. |
| Box 7 |
|
Hinds List of O.C. Members
|
| Box 8, 9 |
|
Kenwood Interviews - Conducted by Maren Lockwood Carden 1961
- transcripts (copies) of 75 interviews processed to guarantee respondents' anonymity
|
| Box 10 |
|
Genealogical data sheets (photocopies), compiled by Sean Devlin and John Teeple 1980-1983 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Community records |
| Box 11 |
|
1846 Ag 18 Declaration of the family of believers connected with J.H. Noyes at Putney (shorthand document with 7 signatures) |
| Box 11 |
|
1848-1874 Synopsis of Community activity |
| Box 11 |
|
1847-1881 O.C. Annals |
| Box 11 |
|
1849-1850 Brooklyn School Journal (typescript) |
| Box 11 |
|
1852-1853 Wallingford Assocation Day Book & Journal |
| Box 11 |
|
1863-1864 Daily Journal (mss. & typescript) |
| Box 11 |
|
1874 Events |
| Box 12 |
|
1869-1879 Scrapbook |
| Box 13 |
|
1878-1879 Travel to & from O.C. & W.C. |
| Box 13 |
|
1875-1877 Index of O.C. & Willow Place Talks, Reports and Journals with Cozicot Journal |
| Box 13 |
|
Home talks indices
(4 volumes)
|
| Box 13 |
|
1834-1869 [i.e. 1879] General Index of Community Publications compiled by James B. Herrick |
| Box 14 |
|
1869 Record book of stirpiculture
- Stirpicultural data compiled by Hilda Herrick Noyes, M.D.
|
| Box 14 |
|
1869 Anita Newcomb McGee Papers
- copies; originals in Kinsey Institute
|
| Box 14 |
|
1868 A.J. MacDonald Papers
- collected, rearranged and commented upon by J.H.N. and T.R.N.
|
| Box 15 |
|
1862-1868 Visitor's Register |
| Box 15 |
|
1873-1876 O.C. correspondence (copybook, p. 31-161) |
| Box 15 |
|
1876-1884 O.C. correspondence (copybook) (with Minutes of the session of the Commission appointed July 17, 1880) |
| Box 15 |
|
1865 Personal record - Description of Newman A. Brown by C. W. Underwood |
| Box 15 |
|
Mutual Criticism
- criticisms of the following individuals:
L.F. Dunn, G.N. Miller, J.B. Herrick, M.L. Prindle, T.C. Miller, Mr. Yoder, E. Newhouse,
W. Mills, L. Hobart, R. Burnham, H. Allen, M.L. Worden
|
| Box 15 |
|
Herbarium
- misc. correspondence between Hope E. Allen and H.D. House
|
| Box 15 |
|
Wallingford Water Power |
| Box 16 |
|
Cozicot (Short Beach, Conn.) |
| Box 16 |
|
1878 Wallingford Tornado |
| Box 16 |
|
undated Watchmen's duties |
| Box 16 |
|
undated Minutes of seance |
| Box 16 |
|
1877 Menus |
| Box 16 |
|
Buildings |
| Box 16 |
|
1907-1912 Inquiries to O.C. |
|
|
Entertainment |
| Box 17 |
|
|
Joseph and his brethren 1858 |
| Box 17 |
|
|
Broadsides |
| Box 17 |
|
|
Trip of O.C. Brass Band to Cazenovia Lake 1862 |
| Box 17 |
|
Dress |
| Box 17 |
|
Education |
| Box 17 |
|
Music |
| Box 17 |
|
Art: Community portraits |
| Oversize 1 |
|
Library record book (501 p.) |
| Box 18 |
|
Library catalogue (with entries to 1879) |
| Box 18 |
|
Library Index and Record: Wallingford Library (with H.A. Noyes notation on cover and with records to 1875) |
| Box 18 |
|
List of medical books transferred to New York State Library |
| Box 19 |
|
1855 Statement of the property of the Three Associations |
| Box 19 |
|
1855-1892 Receipts and settlements with seceders |
| Box 19 |
|
1865 (Ap 19) Release of property by the members . . . to J.H. Noyes |
| Box 19 |
|
1865-1879 Inventories of property brought to O.C. by new members |
| Box 19 |
|
1875 Ag 18 Covenant of the Oneida Community (copy) |
| Box 19 |
|
1880 (Ja-N) O.C. Journal |
| Box 19 |
|
1880 (Jl-S) Original notes of the Commission |
| Box 19 |
|
1880 (Jl-N) Record of the proceedings of the Commission |
| Oversize 1 |
|
1880 (Ag) Deposits by present members |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 (Ag 1) Deposits by members on joining |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 (S 1) Agreement to divide & reorganize (signed copy) |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 (S-N) Agreement to divide & reorganize (3 mss., typescript) |
| Oversize 1 |
|
1880 Division of assets: worksheets illustrating various plans |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 (S 15) "Compromise plan" |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 (O 30) Division sheet |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 Agreement to divide & reorganize: |
| Box 20 |
|
Right to inhabit dwellings |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 N 3 Receipt for shares in Oneida Community Ltd. and release of Oneida Community from future liability |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 N 10 Agreement as to control of stock |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 N 10 Mutual release |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 N 10-30 Settlement of O.C. with members |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 N-D Ledger showing settlement |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 D Furniture & bedding assigned to members |
| Box 20 |
|
1880 Property put into O.C. by each member |
| Box 20 |
|
1880-1884 Financial arrangements establishing O.C.L. |
| Box 20 |
|
various dates Clippings |
| Box 21 |
|
A business history of Oneida Community Ltd. by H.V. Noyes and S.R. Leonard (unpublished typescript)
|
| Box 21 |
|
Animal Trap Co. of America by Richard G. Woolworth 1951
|
| Box 21 |
|
Leonard, Stephen R.
Trap Book (copy; original owned by Mrs. A. Beagle)
|
| Box 21.1 |
|
Miscellaneous drafts by S.R. Leonard of business history |
| Box 22 |
|
1842-1848 Putney Store ledger |
| Box 22 |
|
1846 Putney Store ledger |
| Box 23 |
|
1863-1867 Business Board Minute Book |
| Box 23 |
|
1867-1875 Business Board Minute Book |
| Box 23 |
|
1875-1880 Business Board Minute Book |
| Box 23 |
|
1875-1877 Finance Committee Minute Book |
| Box 24 |
|
Report on 'Private speculation' (mss. & typescript), published in
quadrangle, pp. 6-8. Ag. 1930
|
| Box 24 |
|
1859 Property register of the O.C. |
| Box 24 |
|
1862-1863 Account book |
| Box 24 |
|
1865-1871 Agricultural works sales book |
| Box 24 |
|
1867-1869 General office letter book |
| Box 24 |
|
1869-1871 Estimates & memoranda on manufacturing [George Cragin) |
| Box 24 |
|
1872-1882 Fruit sales and profits |
| Box 25 |
|
1873 Requests for appropriations for projects |
| Box 25 |
|
1874 Requests for appropriations for projects |
| Box 25 |
|
1874 Special appropriations (pp. 10-85) |
| Box 25 |
|
1874-1875 Distribution of work |
| Box 25 |
|
1876-1881 Wallingford Community cash book |
| Box 25 |
|
1877 Weekly summary of Community labor |
| Box 25 |
|
1877 Requests for appropriations for projects |
| Box 25 |
|
1878 Requests for appropriations for projects |
| Box 25 |
|
1878-1879 Distribution of work |
| Oversize 1 |
|
1850 Stereotype plate |
| Box 26 |
|
Noyes, Harriet A.
History of the printing business of O.C. (original in H.A. Noyes file)
- typescript, 2 copies
|
| Box 26 |
|
1863-1866 'Circular' subscription books
(4 volumes)
|
| Box 26 |
|
1865 Notices of 'Trapper's Guide' |
| Box 26 |
|
1865-1868 Printing Department Account Book (copy) |
| Oversize 2 |
|
1875-1877 Wallingford Printing Company job book |
| Box 26 |
|
1871-1878 Wallingford Printing Co. Minute Book |
| Box 27 |
|
1876-1881 'American Socialist' copybook (p. 5-230) |
| Box 27 |
|
various dates Letters to 'Circular' editor |
| Box 27 |
|
1876- American Socialist subscription book (blank)
|
| Box 28 |
|
Tableware department - misc. price lists |
|
|
Robert Wallace vs. J.H. Noyes 1882 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Brief for complainant |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Complainant's pleadings & proofs |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Defendants answer & evidence |
| Box 29 |
|
1865-1866 Fruit Department sales/letter book |
| Box 29 |
|
1873-1874 Fruit Department sales book |
| Box 29 |
|
1874-1877 Fruit Department sales book |
| Box 30 |
|
1877-1879 Fruit Department sales book |
| Box 30 |
|
1879-1880 Fruit Department sales book |
| Box 31 |
|
1858-1864 Inventories |
| Box 31 |
|
1865-1867 Inventories |
| Box 32 |
|
1868-1871 Inventories |
| Box 32 |
|
1872 Inventory |
| Box 33 |
|
1873-1876 Inventories |
| Box 34 |
|
1877 Inventory |
| Box 34 |
|
1878-1879 Inventories |
| Box 35 |
|
1880-1882 Inventories |
| Box 36 |
|
1882 Inventory |
| Box 36 |
|
1883 Inventory |
|
|
Photographs (stereograms) |
| Box 37 |
|
|
1871-1872(?) 'Views of the Oneida Community' - Photographer: Ranger & Austin, Syracuse
(28 items)
|
| Box 37 |
|
|
[no year] 'Views of the Oneida Community Domain'
(4 items)
|
| Box 37 |
|
|
[no year] 'Photographic views of the Oneida Community' - Photographer: D.E. Smith
(9 items)
|
| Box 37 |
|
|
[no year] 'View of the railroad trestle on the O.C. domain' |
| Box 37 |
|
|
[no year] Untitled views - Photographer: Richardson & Clark, Oneida
(3 items)
|
| Box 37 |
|
|
[no year] Untitled views - Photographer: A.T. Richardson, Oneida
(4 items)
|
| Box 37 |
|
|
[no year] Untitled, unsigned views
(12 items)
|
| Box 37 |
|
|
[no year] Bag Bee |
| Box 37 |
|
|
[no year] Oneida Community, -- Group No. 1 W.F. Richardson, Oneida |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Manuscripts and personal papers |
| Box 38 |
|
Abbott, Jane L. 1904, 1906 |
|
|
|
1904 Mr 28 to William A. Hinds
1906 My 6 to William A. Hinds
|
| Box 38 |
|
Abbott, John 1850, 1875 |
|
|
|
1850 D 2 to Marcus L. Worden
1875 Mr 28 to Tirzah C. Miller
|
| Box 38 |
|
Achilli, Giacinto |
|
|
|
Biographical materials
Dealings with the Inquisition (London, 1851)
|
| Box 38 |
|
Ackley, Alice 1856-1877 |
|
|
|
1856 O 31 to Marcus L. Worden
1871 Mr 12 to Charlotte M. Leonard
1877 F 10 to Charlotte M. Leonard
[no year] Ap 28 to Harriet N. Olds
|
| Box 38 |
|
Ackley, Joseph C. 1847-1892 |
|
|
|
1847 O 22 to H. Cook
1876 D 28 to Julia C. Ackley (copy)
1881 F Mr, Ap Oneida Community Ltd. statements
1888 F 10 to H.G. Allen
N 4 to Corinna (copy)
1890 F 15 Last Will and Testament
1891 N 12 Record of Births/Deaths of ancestors and also of brothers & sisters and my own family with excerpts from unpublished?
Home talks by John Humphrey Noyes
1892 N 26 to Corinna (copy) undated to James B. Herrick
WRITINGS:
Autobiography (copy)
|
| Box 38 |
|
Ackley, Julia Carrier 1870-1895 |
|
|
|
1870 Ap 7 to Harriet N. Olds
1877 Mr 19 to Harriet N. Olds
1878 Jl 8 to Mary Louise Prindle
1880 My 21 to Tirzah C. Miller
N 1 to Tirzah C. Miller
N 15 to Tirzah C. Miller
Diaries:
1853-54
1856-60; 1886-88; 1890-92
1876-78
1876-77 (typescript)
1878-81
1887
1893-94
1894
1895
Writings: Mrs. A.'s Story (typescript)
|
| Box 38 |
|
Aiken, Eliza 1879-1886 |
|
|
|
1879 Je 12 to Mary Louise Prindle
Ag 1 to Mary Louise Prindle
Ag 2 to Mary Louise Prindle
Ag 3 to Mary Louise Prindle
5 4 to Mary Louise Prindle
1880 Jl 27 to Tirzah C. Miller
Ag to Tirzah C. Miller
1886 O 7 to M. K. Barron D
26 to M. K. Barron D
31 to M. K. Barron
[no year] Ap 20 to Mary Louise Prindle
undated Mon. to Mary Louise Prindle
|
| Box 38 |
|
Aiken, Laura 1859 |
|
|
|
My 22 to Marcus L. Worden |
| Box 38 |
|
Aiken, Manley A. 1875, 1880 |
|
|
|
1875 Je 10 to Tirzah C. Miller
Je 24 to Tirzah C. Miller
1880 Ag 30 to Tirzah C. Miller
|
| Box 38 |
|
Allen, Christine 1891-1911 |
|
|
|
Misc. family correspondence |
| Box 38 |
|
Allen, Emily H. 1852-1878 |
|
|
|
1852 S 3 to Marcus L. Worden
S 13 to Marcus L. Worden
1853 My 24 to Marcus L. Worden
1872 My 12 to Beulah Hendee
1878 Je 13 to Charlotte M. Leonard
undated 4 letters to Marcus L. Worden
|
| Box 38 |
|
Allen, George D. 1878-1892 |
|
|
|
1878 Ap 1 to James W. Towner
1886 N 12 to William A. Hinds
1887 Ja 9 to William A. Hinds
Mr 31 to William A. Hinds
1888 F 28 Santa Ana property note
1892 N 27 to William A. Hinds
|
| Box 38 |
|
Allen, Grosvenor N. 1893-1911 |
|
|
|
1893 N 5 to Dorothy Barron
undated to Pierrepont B. Noyes (?)
1895-1911 Misc. family correspondence
|
| Box 39 |
|
Allen, Harriet Eliza 1902-1911
|
|
|
|
[no year] F 27 to Marcus L. Worden
File of family correspondence
|
| Box 39 |
|
Allen, Henry 1867, undated |
|
|
|
1867 O 16 to Marcus L. Worden
O 24 to Marcus L. Worden
Account of Henry Allen Sr. (4 p. w/ Hope Allen's notes)
|
| Box 39 |
|
Allen, Henry Grosvenor 1866-1907 |
|
|
|
1866 Ag 8 to Mary Louise Prindle
1871 Ap 22 to Mother (copy)
1873 N 2 to Beulah Hendee
1879 O 29 Marriage license (P.M. Underhill) (copy)
N 1 'To the Family' (copy)
1880 N 10 Receipt for 132 shares of O.C.L. stock (copy)
N 10 Receipt to P.M. Underhill for purchase of 68 shares of O.C.L. stock (copy)
1894 Je 3 to Judge G. A. Forbes--in George Campbell file
1899-1904 Misc. family correspondence
1905 Misc. family correspondence
1906-1907 Misc. family correspondence
[no year] S 14 to Mary Louise Prindle
1878 Daybook
1877-1879 Estimate Book
1907 Ja Notes from O.C.L. Annual Banquet
|
| Box 39 |
|
Allen, Hope Emily 1899-1912 |
|
|
|
Misc. correspondence
|
| Box 41 |
|
Bailey Family 1875-1903? |
|
|
|
File of letters, primarily from Jane Bailey to Lily Cragin |
| Box 41 |
|
Baker, Mary Victoria 1879-1880 |
|
|
|
1879 N 2 to Harriet N. Olds
N 11 to Harriet N. Olds
N 18 to Harriet N. Olds
D 5 to Harriet N. Olds
D 11 to Harriet N. Olds
D 26 to Harriet N. Olds
D 27 to Harriet N. Olds
1880 Ja 1 to Harriet N. Olds
|
| Box 41 |
|
Barron, Alfred 1852-1893, undated |
|
|
|
See also
Hendee-Barron |
|
|
|
1852 N 24 to Alvah and Fannie Barron
1853 Mr 20 to Alvah and Fannie Barron
1854 Ap 10 to Fannie Barron
1855 Ap 27 to Fannie Barron
1861 Ag 14 to Fannie Barron
1863 Ja 4 to Alvah Barron
1864 D 12 to J. Homer Barron
1865 F 4 to Fannie Barron
Mr 21 to Fannie Barron
Ap 8 to Fannie Barron
Ap 10 to Fannie Barron
Je 15 to Fannie Barron
1866 Je 22 to Fannie Barron
O 10 to George E. Cragin
O 26 to M. E. Kellogg
1868 F 4 to Fannie Barron
1876 N 29 to Maud K. Barron
1878 D 27 from Hopson, Shepard (Utica) re: Shakespeare bust
1879 Ja 3 invoice from Hopson, Shepard
Mr 15 to John Humphrey Noyes
Je 28 to Harriet H. Skinner
Jl 17 to G.W. Hamilton
O 23 to Harriet H. Skinner
D 2 Marriage license (copy)
D 17 Contract of marriage (Husband's copy)
1880 Mr 25 to Tirzah C. Miller
Ap 2 to Tirzah C. Miller
Jl 26 to Annie Hatch
1882 O 26 to Maud K. Barron
O 3 to James B. Herrick
1883 Ja 18 to Maud K. Barron
Mr 16 to Maud K. Barron
My 12 to Maud K. Barron
My 28 to Maud K. Barron
My 28 Supoena for appearance at Vaill trial
D 14 to Maud K. Barron
1884 F 21 To Tirzah C. Miller
Mr 22 to Maud K. Barron
Ap 28 to Maud K. Barron
Je 9 to Maud K. Barron
1888 Ag 5 to Godfrey Noyes
1889 D 30 to Maud K. Barron
1890 D 9 to Maud K. Barron
1891 Mr 26 to Maud K. Barron
Ap 30 to Maud K. Barron
My 7 to Maud K. Barron
N 11 to Maud K. Barron
S 8 to Maud K. Barron
1892 Ap 17 to Maud K. Barron
S 18 to Maud K. Barron
O 20 to Maud K. Barron
N 14 to Maud K. Barron
D 8 to Maud K. Barron
1893 Ja 30 to Maud K. Barron
F 5 to Maud K. Barron
Obituary
Ja 29 to Tirzah C. Miller (copy)
[no year] D 8 to Fannie Kinsley Barron
v.d. Early records of the Barron family
1870-1884 Incoming correspondence
Includes correspondence re:
Footnotes and correspondence from
New York Tribune Footnotes scrapbook & list of book reviews
Footnotes scrapbook taken from
The Circular with Alfred Barron's mss. additions and corrections
|
| Box 42 |
|
Barron, Dorothy 1889-1911 |
|
|
|
1889 Jl 6 to Hilda
1889-1890 3 letters to Dorothy Barron from Milley?
1906 Mr 5 to John Leonard
1896 Jl 14 to Gertrude Noyes
1910 S 12 to Mary and Catherine Leonard
S 19 to Mary and Catherine Leonard
S 22 to Mother Charlotte
1911 D 15 to ? Noyes
Miscellaneous poetry, sketches, etc.; includes
The literary sextette (1891), a file of letters from Caroline Ebinger, a Shaker (1894-1925), and letters to Miriam T. Noyes (Earl)
|
| Box 42 |
|
Barron, J. Homer 1876-1904 |
|
|
|
1876 Jl 31 to Tirzah C. Miller?
1879 F 2 to Mary Louise Prindle
1890-1904 File of letters to Maud K. Barron
|
| Box 42 |
|
Barron, Maria 1893, undated
|
|
|
|
1893 F 3 to Alfred Barron
Ap 27 to Maud K. Barron
My 24 to Maud K. Barron
My 26 to Maud K. Barron
1910 Ja 18 to Dorothy Barron Leonard re: William Tinsley
[no year] Mr 11 to Alfred Barron and Beulah (Hendee) Barron
|
| Box 43 |
|
Barron, Maud K. 1892-1893, undated |
|
|
|
1892 D 11 to Alfred Barron
1893 F 5 to Alfred Barron
[no year] Je 16 to Alfred Barron
undated Thurs to M. E. Kellogg
'Recollections of children's occupations,' recorded by Hope E. Allen
The care of children in 'The Oneida Community' (188-)
|
| Box 43 |
|
Barron, Minerva S. 1879, 1933, undated |
|
|
|
1879 Marriage application, license, and certificate -- in John Norton file
Miscellaneous reminiscences
Recollections (1933)
|
| Box 43 |
|
Barron, Ruth undated |
|
|
|
to George [W. Noyes?] |
| Box 43 |
|
Bloom, Clarence 1875, 1908 |
|
|
|
1875 Je 6 to Tirzah C. Miller
1908 Ap 10 to William A. Hinds
|
| Box 43 |
|
Bloom, Sophia L. (Nunns) 1886 |
|
|
|
O 15 to William A. Hinds |
| Box 43 |
|
Bolles, Rachel M. undated |
|
|
|
D 28 to Harriet Matthews |
| Box 43 |
|
Bradley, Constance 1871 |
|
|
|
Ag 28 to Harriet N. Olds |
| Box 43 |
|
Bradley, Sarah undated |
|
|
|
Jl 2 to Charlotte M. Leonard
O 2 to Charlotte M. Leonard [with additional note by Harriet A. Noyes]
|
| Box 43 |
|
Bristol, Birdseye 1850s |
|
|
|
My 26 to Marcus L. Worden |
| Box 43 |
|
Burgess, L. 1852, undated
|
|
|
|
1852 Je 8 to Marcus L. Worden
Je 12 to Marcus L. Worden
undated to Marcus L. Worden
|
| Box 43 |
|
Burnham, Abigail Scott 1852, undated |
|
|
|
1854 Ja 23 to Edwin Burnham
[no year] Jl 15 to Harriet N. Olds
|
| Box 43 |
|
Burnham, Almira undated |
|
|
|
Criticism of Marcus L. Worden |
| Box 43 |
|
Burnham, Edwin Scott 1875 |
|
|
|
F 17 to Tirzah C. Miller |
| Box 43 |
|
Burnham, Evalyn A. 1903, 1909 |
|
|
|
1903 Je 8 to William A. Hinds
Je 17 to William A. Hinds
Je 23 to William A. Hinds
N 19 to William A. Hinds
1909 O 26 to William A. Hinds
|
| Box 43 |
|
Burnham, George Henry 1870-1903 |
|
|
|
1870 Je 29 to John Humphrey Noyes [with John Humphrey Noyes's reply]
1872 Ja 19 to Tirzah C. Miller
Jl 14 to Tirzah C. Miller
0 16 to Tirzah C. Miller
1903? Schedule of assignments of Geo. H. Burnham Co.
|
| Box 43 |
|
Burnham, Henry W. 1849-1887, undated
|
|
|
| |