Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Office of Price Stabilization Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: United States. Office of Price Stabilization.
Title: Office of Price Stabilization Records
Inclusive Dates: 1944-1953
Quantity: 20.0 linear feet
Abstract: Lists of stores and industries in the Syracuse area, and some correspondence, 1944, 1952, and 1953; also published material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Office of Price Stabilization (1950-1953), also known as the Price Stabilization Board, was a federal agency tasked with controlling prices during the Korean War. A Director of Price Stabilization was named in late 1950 and the OPS was formally established in January of 1951. Through its 14 regional and about 90 district offices, the OPS obtained voluntary compliance with measures to stabilize prices and established and administered price regulations.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Office of Price Stabilization Records contain general files and published material.

General files includes lists of stores and industries in Syracuse and the surrounding area that produce goods or provide services covered by the OPS mandate. There is also some business correspondence and miscellaneous material.

Published material contains several volumes of government publications and correspondence.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

General files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Published material is subdivided by type (books, pamphlets, volumes) and arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Records of the Office of Price Stabilization (1947-1955), held by the National Archives. A description is available online at http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/295.html

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Office of Price Stabilization.
United States. -- War Price & Rationing Board.

Subjects

Commodity control -- Syracuse (N.Y.)
Commodity control -- United States.
Price regulation -- Syracuse (N.Y.)
Price regulation -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Administrative regulations.
Correspondence.
Lists.
Manuals (instructional materials)
Progress reports.
Public records.
Regulations (executive records)

Occupations

Price regulation.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Office of Price Stabilization Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: circa 1970
Revision history: 14 Jun 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

General files
Box 1 Application for pricing
Box 1 Atlantic Refining Company
Box 1 Board members
Box 1 Case account
Box 1 Contractors
Box 1 Copies of Economic Briefs, prepared by Harvey Sheahan
Box 1 Correspondence 1944, 1952-1953
Box 1 Correspondence, Harvey Sheahan 1953
Box 1 CPR 31 and CPR 61
Box 1 CPR 34 and SYR 39
Box 1 Exempted services
Box 1 Importers
Box 1 Letters
Lists
Box 1 Exporter-importers
Box 1 Files
Box 1 Gas stations in various counties
Box 1 Lumber dealers (GCPR - SR - 87)
Mailing lists
Box 1 [General] (2 folders)
Box 1 All files under CPR 13
Box 1 All files under regulation, CPR 13 (4 folders)
Box 1 Regional office, CPR 7 (6 folders)
Box 1 Regional office, CPR 34
Box 2 Regional office, CPR 34 (2 folders)
Box 2 Manufacturers
Box 2 Master lists
Box 2 Miscellaneous (8 folders)
Box 3 New car dealers
Box 3 Persons, adjustments
Box 3 Retail
Box 3 Services
Box 3 Services, filings
Box 3 Survey
Box 3 Manual
Box 3 Miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 3 Miscellaneous forms (3 folders)
Monthly narrative reports
Box 3 Moore
Box 3 Herz
Box 3 Occupational survey board members
Box 3 Pending
Box 3 Pending correspondence left by Mr. Harvey, Rochester branch office
Box 3 Personnel addresses
Personnel analysis
Box 3 Auburn - Geneva
Box 3 Gouverneur - Newark
Box 3 New Hartford - Sherrill
Box 3 Utica - Waterville
Box 3 Reports
Box 3 State directed training program 1953
Box 4 Summarizations
Box 4 Violations
Box 4 War Price and Rationing Board
Published material
Books
Box 4 The Beginnings of OPA
Box 4 Manual for Special Agent Attorneys
Box 4 Problems in Pricing Control: Pricing Standards
Box 4 Problems in Pricing Control: Pricing Techniques
Box 4 Miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 5 Miscellaneous (10 folders)
Box 6 Miscellaneous
Box 6 Pamphlets
Volumes
Ceiling Price Regulations
Box 6 1-7
Box 6 1-22
Box 6 1-29
Box 7 8-21
Box 7 23-49
Box 7 30-74
Box 8 31-44
Box 8 45-78
Box 8 50-120
Box 8 75
Box 9 79-105
Box 9 106-End
Box 9 121
Box 9 Dawson Chief
Box 10 Directory of Commodities and Services Exempted or Suspended from Price Control
Box 10 Distribution Orders
Box 10 Fuel Oil Dept.
Box 10 General Ceiling Price Regulations
Box 10 General Ceiling Price Regulations, Amendments and SRI to 25
Box 10 General Ceiling Price Regulations, H. Arnold Burhans
Box 10 General Ceiling Price Regulations SRI-50, No. 1
Box 10 General Ceiling Price Regulations SR-51 and Amendments, No. 2
Box 10 GI, GOR, PPR Survey Report
Box 11 Index to Ceiling Price Regulations
Box 11 Loose leaf service source file
Box 11 Manual of Administrative and Issuing Procedures for Local Boards
Box 11 Newsletters
Box 12 Index counties
Box 12 Memoranda to all boards, memoranda to supervisors
Box 12 Newsletters
Box 12 Newsletters, Revoked Ration Orders
Box 12 OPS Looseleaf Service Vol. 1
Box 12 OPS Looseleaf Service Vol. 2
Box 13 OPS Looseleaf Service Vol. 1 (11-35)
Box 13 OPS Looseleaf Service Vol. 2 (41-42)
Box 13 OPS Looseleaf Service Vol. 3 (42 cont. - 51)
Box 13 OPS Looseleaf Service Vol. 4 (51 cont. - 55)
Box 14 OPS Looseleaf Service Vol. 5 (61-71)
Box 14 OPS Manual
Box 14 OPS Manual P1-P3
Box 14 OPS Manual P4 Cont.
Box 15 OPS Manual P4-P
Box 15 OPS Manual Transmittals
Box 15 Price
Box 15 Price II
Box 15 Regional supplements to OPS
Box 16 Services
Box 16 Revoked Ration Orders
Box 16 Skanealets [sic - poss. Skaneateles?]
Box 16 Sugar, meat control order - industrial users, institutional users
Box 16 Tires, automobiles, shoes
Box 17 Miscellaneous (4 volumes)
Box 18 Miscellaneous (4 volumes)
Box 19 Miscellaneous (4 volumes)
Box 20 Miscellaneous (2 volumes)
Box 21 CPS -23-30

Return to top