Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Joyce Carol Oates Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Oates, Joyce Carol, 1938-
Title: Joyce Carol Oates Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1956-2006
Quantity: 69 linear ft.
Abstract: The papers of the American novelist, playwright, poet, short story writer, and author span 1956-1998 and include correspondence; a journal; typescript and holograph manuscripts for essays, novels, plays, and poems; periodicals; photographs; publicity; and reviews.
Language: Majority in English but includes translations of Oates' work into numerous languages.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

As the winner of the National Book Award for her 1970 novel Them and the recipient of four O. Henry awards and numerous other literary prizes, Joyce Carol Oates is among the most distinguished writers in the United States. In her considerable body of work, she has created an array of male and female protagonists from a diversity of regional, economic, and occupational backgrounds. In the four decades since her first book, the short-story collection By the North Gate, appeared to critical acclaim in 1963, Oates has published more than thirty novels, more than twenty-five books of short fiction, several volumes of poetry, a number of plays, and more than a half-dozen collections of essays and literary criticism [Adapted from Current Biography (1994)].

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1956 to 1998, the Joyce Carol Oates Papers comprises Family correspondence, Correspondence-subject files, Writings, Memorabilia, and Book translations of the American novelist, poet, playwright, essayist and Princeton University professor (b. 1938).

A single box of Family correspondence, which includes incoming and outgoing letters (1968-1997) of Oates and her parents, letters of Oates' paternal grandmother, Blanche Woodside, and an assortment of greeting cards from her husband, Raymond Smith, precedes the Correspondence-subject files (Boxes 2-12).

Arranged alphabetically, the Correspondence-subject files contain any combination of incoming letters, photocopies of Ms. Oates' outgoing typescript carbons, and manuscript and/or printed material by or about the correspondent. Correspondents include agents (Gersh Agency, Blanche Gregory, John Hawkins & Associates, Inc., William Morris Agency); artists (R.B. Kitaj, Barry Moser, David Shapiro); composers (John Duffy, Ned Rorem); critics (Stephen Koch, Elaine Showalter); directors (Frank Corsaro, Emily Mann, Tom Palumbo, Al Rossi); editors (William Abrahams, Barry Callaghan, Ellen Datlow, Reginald Gibbons, Laurence Goldstein, Daniel Halpern, Frederick Morgan, Bradford Morrow, Henry Robbins, Evelyn Shrifte); educators (Henry S. Bienen, John Ditsky, Lois Smedick); journalists (Marj Jackson Levin, Lucinda Franks); novelists (Russell Banks, Richard Ford, Gail Godwin, Paul Theroux, Anne Tyler, John Updike, Gloria Whelan); poets (Chase Twichell, William Heyen, Josephine Jacobsen, Maxine Kumin, Alicia Ostriker, Robert Phillips, John Robert Reed); and translators (Robert Fagles, Edmund Keeley). Correspondence of particular depth and duration includes that of biographer Greg Johnson.

Constituting the largest portion of the collection, Writings (Boxes 13-77) include any combination of notes, drafts, manuscripts, production records, and published material for Oates' Books, Essays, Libretto, Poetry, Reviews, Scripts, Stories, and Miscellany. Begun in 1973, Oates' Journal records family visits, writing projects, play productions, social engagements, teaching-related activities, travel itineraries, and philosophical musings. From the mid-1980s, the Journal consists mostly of copies of Oates' outgoing correspondence.

Arranged by type, Memorabilia (Boxes 78-94) encompasses Awards, Boxing-related materials, Criticism and interpretation, Financial and Legal materials, Photographs, Printed Publicity and Reviews for books and plays, and a large assortment of Audio- and Videocassettes and Tapes. Awards include certificates and plaques presented in recognition of Oates' literary achievements and honorary degrees from several institutions. Arranged by author, Criticism and interpretation includes both offprints of articles and unpublished essays by Eileen T. Bender, Gavin Cologne-Brookes, Gary Couzens, Joanne Creighton, Gerald F. Manning, Martha Nussbaum, Sally Robinson, and Victor Strandberg, among others. Financial and Legal materials include royalty statements (1974-1997) and contracts (1968-1997). Clippings about Oates (1965-1998); book publicity (by title); publicity and programs relating to conferences (1973-1997), lectures and readings (1975-1996), and plays and film adaptations (by title); and reviews (by title) constitute Printed material. Audio- and Videocassettes and Tapes include radio and television interviews, productions of plays, and recorded books.

Book translations consist of translations of Oates' works into nearly two dozen languages.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Restrictions taken from AGREEMENT OF SALE dated 1/19/1990:

1. SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY shall not give access to Ms. Oates's unpublished writings during the lifetime of Joyce Carol Oates without her written permission. On the death of Joyce Carol Oates, access to these writings will be open to qualified scholars as determined by SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY.

2. SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY shall not give access to the writings of others (incoming correspondence) without the written permission of both Joyce Carol Oates/Ontario Review Inc. and the individual author(s) until January 1, 2025 or during Joyce Carol Oates's lifetime, whichever is shorter.

Since material is sometimes published after it has been received and marked as "Unpublished," care should be taken in determining what is restricted under Item 1. To request permission for the use of restricted materials, please contact the Curator of Manuscripts and Archives.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Adams, Alice, 1926-1999.
Atwood, Margaret Eleanor, 1939-
Banks, Russell, 1940-
Barth, John, 1930-
Barthelme, Donald.
Bellamy, Joe David.
Bender, Eileen Teper, 1935-
Bienen, Leigh B.
Bitker, Marjorie.
Boland, Eavan.
Boyers, Robert.
Buell, Frederick, 1942-
Butscher, Edward.
Calisher, Hortense.
Callaghan, Barry, 1937-
Carruth, Hayden, 1921-
Coover, Robert.
Corsaro, Frank.
Creighton, Joanne V., 1942-
Curzon, Daniel.
Delbanco, Nicholas.
Didion, Joan.
Ditsky, John.
Ewert, William B.
Fagles, Robert.
Ford, Richard, 1944-
Franks, Lucinda.
Fromm, Harold.
Gardner, John, 1933-1982.
Garrett, George P., 1929-
Gibbons, Reginald.
Godwin, Gail.
Goldstein, Laurence, 1943-
Goyen, William.
Gray, Francine du Plessix.
Gregory, Blanche.
Halpern, Daniel, 1945-
Harpprecht, Klaus.
Harris, Jana.
Heyen, William, 1940-
Jacobsen, Josephine.
Johnson, Greg, 1953-
Keeley, Edmund.
King, Stephen, 1947-
Koch, Stephen.
Kumin, Maxine, 1925-
Kunitz, Stanley, 1905-2006.
L'Heureux, John.
Lehman, David, 1948-
Levao, Ronald.
Levine, Philip, 1928-
Lindberg, Stanley W.
MacLeod, Alistair.
Mailer, Norman.
Malzberg, Barry N.
Marshall, Tom, 1938-
Mazzaro, Jerome.
McBride, Mekeel, 1950-
McNamara, Eugene.
McPhillips, Robert.
Meisel, Perry.
Milazzo, Lee.
Morris, Mary, 1947-
Moser, Barry.
Nemerov, Howard.
Newman, Charles, 1938-2006.
Oates, Joyce Carol, 1938- Archives.
Ostriker, Alicia.
Ozick, Cynthia.
Parini, Jay.
Phillips, Robert S.
Pinsker, Sanford.
Ranard, John.
Reed, John Robert, 1938-
Robertson, Mary Elsie, 1937-
Rosenblatt, Roger.
Roth, Philip.
Rudenstine, Angelica Zander.
Rudenstine, Neil L.
Shapiro, David, 1947-
Showalter, Elaine.
Smith, Raymond J.
Sontag, Susan, 1933-2004.
Stanford, Donald E. (Donald Elwin), 1913-1998.
Stiles, Martha Bennett.
Theroux, Paul.
Trenner, Richard.
Tyler, Anne.
Updike, John.
Wakoski, Diane.
Weiss, Theodore Russell, 1916-
Whelan, Gloria.
Wilson, Colin, 1931-

Corporate Bodies

Ontario Review Press.

Subjects

American fiction, Women authors.
American literature, Women authors.
American poetry, Women authors.
Dramatists, American.
Novelists, American, 20th century.
Poetry, Modern, 20th century.
Poets, American, 20th century.
Women authors, 20th century.
Women dramatists, American.
Women novelists, American.
Women poets, American.
Women poets, United States.

Genres and Forms

Book reviews.
Correspondence.
Journals.
Manuscripts for publication.
Periodicals.
Photographs.
Poems.
Scripts.

Occupations

Authors.
Dramatists.
Novelists.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joyce Carol Oates Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Joyce Carol Oates, 1972-

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Aug 1999
Revision history: 1 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 20 Apr 2009 - restrictions placed in body of inventory (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Family correspondence
RESTRICTED: All family correspondence is restricted. Written permission of the donor is required to access these items.
Box 1 Oates, Frederic and Carolina (parents) 1968-1997, undated (8 folders)
Box 1 Smith, Raymond (husband) undated (2 folders)
Box 1 Woodside, Blanche (grandmother) 1969-1970
Correspondence-subject files
RESTRICTED: All correspondence is restricted. Written permission of the donor is required to access these items.
Box 2 A (2 folders)
Box 2 Abbott, Lee K.
Box 2 Abrahams, William
Box 2 Ackerman, Diane
Box 2 Actors Theatre of Louisville
Box 2 Adamo, Mark
Box 2 Adams, Alice
Box 2 Adams, Jeff
Box 2 Adler, Stephen L.
Box 2 Agni
Box 2 Agoos, Julie
Box 2 Aids Crisis Trust
Box 2 Albee, Edward
Box 2 Albrezzi, Steve
Box 2 Aldridge, John W.
Box 2 Ali, Muhammad
Box 2 Allen, Bruce
Box 2 Allen, Dick
Box 2 Allen, Michael
Box 2 Allison, Dorothy
Box 2 American Academy of Achievement
Box 2 American Academy of Arts and Letters
Box 2 American Art
Box 2 American Association of University Women
Box 2 American Music Theater Festival
Box 2 American Place Theatre
Box 2 The American Poetry Review
Box 2 American Repertory Theatre
Box 2 "The American Short Story"
Box 2 Ames, Jonathan
Box 2 Ammons, Archie
Box 2 Anders, Jaroslaw
Box 2 Anderson, Jane
Box 2 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards
Box 2 Ansell, Jack
Box 2 Aronson, Steven M. L.
Box 2 Art & Antiques
Box 2 Arteseros, Sally
See also Doubleday
Box 2 Ashbery, John
Box 2 Atchity, Kenneth John
Box 2 The Atlantic
Box 2 Atlas, James
Atwan, Robert
See Houghton Mifflin Company
Box 2 Atwood, Margaret
Box 2 Auchincloss, Louis S.
Box 2 Auel, Jean M.
Box 2 Auerbach, Nina
Augustsson, Lars Ake
See Ordfront Magasin
Box 2 Austin, Lyn
Box 2 B (2 folders)
Box 2 BBC
Box 2 Bacon, Crystal V.
Box 2 Baker, Houston A.
Box 2 Balakian, Anna Elizabeth
Box 2 Balakian, Nona
Box 2 Balakian, Peter
Box 2 Banks, Russell 1986-1997 (4 folders)
Box 2 Barnes & Noble, Inc.
Box 2 Barnet, Sylvan
Box 2 Barrie & Jenkins Limited
Box 2 Barth, John
Box 2 Barthelme, Donald
Box 2 Bartlett, Elizabeth
Box 2 Barzun, Jacques
Box 2 Battle, Kemp P.
Box 2 Bauer, Jerry
Box 2 Bausch, Richard
Box 2 Bawden, Nina
Box 2 Bawer, Bruce
Box 2 Bayles, Martha
Box 2 Baym, Nina
Box 2 Bean, Carl
Beatty, Jack
See The New Republic
Box 2 Beck, Jeremy
Box 2 Behar, Ruth
Box 2 Bell, Madison Smartt
Box 2 Bellamy, Joe David
Box 2 Bellis, Peter Damian
Box 2 Bellow, Saul
Box 2 Benchley, Peter
Box 2 Bender, Eileen Teper
Box 2 Benedict, Pinckney
Box 2 Benedikt, Michael
Box 2 Benitez, Sandra
Berg, Stephen
See The American Poetry Review
Box 2 Berger, Phil
Box 2 Bergman, Susan
Box 2 Berlind, Roger S.
Box 2 Berliner, Janet
Box 2 Bernheimer, Kate
Bernstein, Ron
See Gersh Agency Inc.
Box 2 Berrigan, Daniel
Box 2 Bertholf, Robert J.
Box 2 Betts, Doris
Box 2 Betts, Glynne Robinson
Box 2 Bider, Djemma
Box 2 Bienen, Henry S. and Leigh 1981-1997, undated (5 folders)
Box 2 Biesanz, Mavis
Box 2 Birkerts, Sven
Box 2 Birney, Earle
Box 2 Birstein, Ann
Box 2 Bitker, Marjorie
Black Sparrow Press
See Martin, John
Box 3 Blackstaff Press
Box 3 Blaustein, Arthur I.
Box 3 Blew, Mary Clearman
Box 3 Blind Spot
Box 3 Bloch, Robert
Box 3 Blood & Aphorisms
Box 3 Bloom, Harold
Box 3 Bloom, Jonathan
Box 3 Bloomsbury
Box 3 Blotner, Joseph Leo
Box 3 Blount, Ray
Box 3 Bly, Carol
Box 3 Bly, Robert
Box 3 Bochco, Steven
Box 3 Boeckh, Sherry
Box 3 Boenders, Frans
Box 3 Boland, Eavan
Box 3 Bonner, Gay
Box 3 Book-of-the-Month Club, Inc.
Box 3 Booth, Philip
Box 3 Bosco, Antoinette
Box 3 Bosworth, Patricia
Box 3 Botts, Gregory
Boulevard
See Burgin, Richard
Box 3 Bowen, William G.
Box 3 Bowers, Michael
Box 3 Bowles, Paul
Boyars, Marion
See Marion Boyars Publishers Ltd.
Box 3 Boyers, Robert
Box 3 Boyle, T. Coraghessan
Box 3 Bradley, Bill and Ernestine
Box 3 Bragg, Rebecca
Box 3 Braziller, Karen
See also [E. P.] Dutton
Box 3 Brennan, Mary K.
Box 3 Brigham, Besmilr
Box 3 Britton, Burt
Box 3 Brombert, Beth Archer
Box 3 Brombert, Victor H.
Box 3 Brook, Laura
Brown, Andreas
See Gotham Book Mart & Gallery Inc.
Brown, Daniel R.
See Curzon, Daniel
Brown, Rosellen
See Tikkun
Box 3 Brown, Wesley
Box 3 Brownmiller, Susan
Brustein, Robert
See American Repertory Theatre
Box 3 Buchanan, Edna
Box 3 Buckley, Christopher
Box 3 Buckley, William F.
Box 3 Buell, Frederick
Box 3 Burghardt, John
Box 3 Burgin, Richard W.
Box 3 Burke, Jim
Box 3 Burland, Brian
Box 3 Burleson, Donald R.
Box 3 Burnett, Patricia
Box 3 Burnham, Bruce
Box 3 Burt, Nathaniel
Box 3 Busch, Frederick
Box 3 Butler, Robert Olen
Box 3 Butscher, Edward
Box 3 Byatt, Antonia S.
Box 3 Byers, N. Alicia
Box 3 C (2 folders)
Box 3 Cady, Jack
Box 3 Calisher, Hortense
Box 3 Callaghan, Barry
Box 3 Callaghan, Morley Edward
Box 3 Campbell, Joseph
Box 3 [Jonathan] Cape Limited
Box 3 Capote, Truman
Box 3 Carey, Peter
Box 3 Carlile, Henry
Box 3 Carruth, Hayden
Box 3 Carver, Raymond
Box 3 Case, Franklin D.
Box 3 Casey, John
Box 3 Champlin, Charles
Box 3 Chaney, Bev
Box 3 Charyn, Jerome
Box 3 Chase, Joan
Box 3 Cheever, Benjamin H.
Box 3 Cheever, Susan
Box 3 Chester, Laura
Box 3 Cheuse, Alan
Box 3 Chowder, Ken
Box 3 Christopher, Nicholas
Box 3 Circle Repertory Company (New York, N.Y.)
Box 3 Coale, Samuel
Box 3 Cohen, Garnett Kilberg
Box 3 Cohen, Morton Norton
Box 3 Coles, Robert
Box 3 Collier, Zena
Box 3 Collins Publishers
Box 3 Cologne-Brookes, Gavin
Box 3 Conarroe, Joel
See also [John Simon] Guggenheim Memorial Foundation
Box 3 Cone, Edward T.
Box 3 Conference on Literature and the Urban Experience
Box 3 Confoy, Kevin
Conjunctions
See Morrow, Bradford
Box 3 Conroy, Frank
Box 3 Constable Publishers
Box 3 Contemporary American Theater Festival (Shepherdstown, W. Va.)
Box 3 Conti, Christine
Box 3 Cooley, John R.
Box 3 Coolidge, Martha
Box 3 Coover, Robert
Box 3 Cope, Jackson I.
Copperfield, David
See Berliner, Janet
Box 3 Cordier, Robert
Box 3 Corn, Alfred
Box 3 Corsaro, Frank
Box 3 Cortazar, Julio
Cosby, Janet L.
See Speakers Worldwide, Inc.
Box 3 Cosmos Club Foundation
Box 3 Cousins, Norman
Box 3 Cowley, Malcolm
Box 3 Craine, Clyde P.
Box 3 Creeley, Robert
Box 3 Creighton, Joanne V.
Box 3 Critical Inquiry
Box 3 Crocker, Chester A.
Cross, Mary
See Cross, Theodore L. and Mary
Box 3 Cross, Theodore L. and Mary
Box 3 Crosscurrents
Box 3 Crowley, John
Box 3 Cummings, Betty Sue
Box 3 Curran, Ronald
Box 3 Curzon, Daniel 1969-1984 (2 folders)
Box 3 D (2 folders)
Box 3 Daly, Brenda O.
Box 3 Danson, Lawrence
Box 3 Dark, Larry
Box 3 Datlow, Ellen
Box 4 Daub, Matthew F.
Box 4 Daugharty, Janice
Box 4 Davidson, Cathy N.
Box 4 Davies, Robertson
Box 4 Davis, Alan
Box 4 Davis, Lydia
Davison, Peter H.
See The Atlantic
Box 4 De Bellis, Jack
Box 4 Delbanco, Nicholas
Box 4 DeLillo, Don
Box 4 Dempster, Curt
Box 4 Denver Quarterly
Box 4 Deutsche Verlags-Anstalt
Box 4 Devet, Rebecca McClanahan
Devlin, Joyce
See Mount Holyoke College
Box 4 Dexter, Pete
Box 4 Diamond, David
Box 4 Dickey, James
Box 4 Dickinson, Donald C.
Box 4 Didion, Joan
Dietz, Paula
See The Hudson Review
Box 4 Digges, Deborah
Box 4 Dike, Donald
Box 4 Dillard, Annie
Box 4 Dillon, Millicent
Box 4 Dinnerstein, Simon
Box 4 Ditsky, John 1970-1996, undated (8 folders)
Box 4 Dixon, Carol North
Dixon, Michael Bigelow
See Actors Theatre of Louisville
Box 4 Dixon, Stephen
Box 4 Djerassi, Carl
Box 4 Doctorow, E. L.
Box 4 Doig, Ivan
Box 4 Donahower, Linnea
Box 4 Donosa, Jose
Box 4 Dorfman, Ariel
Box 4 Doubleday
Box 4 Dove, Rita
Box 4 Drabble, Margaret
Box 4 Duffy, John
Box 4 Dunne, John Gregory
Box 4 Durbin, Martina
Box 4 [E. P.] Dutton 1978-1997 (4 folders)
Box 4 Dybek, Stuart
Dziemianowicz, Stefan
See Necronomicon Press
Box 4 E (1 folder)
Box 4 Early, Gerald Lyn
Box 4 Ecco Press
Box 4 Edel, Leon
Box 4 Edelstein, Gordon
Box 4 Edfelt, Johannes
Box 4 Edgarian, Carol
Box 4 Editions Stock
Box 4 Edwards, Paul
Box 4 Edwards, Thomas R.
Box 4 Ekstrom, Linda
Box 4 Ekstrom, Margareta
Box 4 Elie, Paul
Box 4 Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine
Box 4 Elliott, Emory
Box 4 Ellis, Jack
Box 4 Ellison, Harlan
Box 4 Ellmann, Richard
Box 4 Ellroy, James
Box 4 Engle, Marian
Box 4 Ensemble Studio Theatre (New York, N.Y.)
Epstein, Barbara
See The New York Review of Books
Box 4 Erhard, Werner
Box 4 Esquire
Box 4 Etchison, Dennis
Box 4 Ewert, William B.
Box 4 F (1 folder)
Box 4 Fadiman, Clifton
Box 4 Fagles, Robert
Box 4 Fainlight, Ruth
Box 4 Falco, Edward
Box 4 Falk, Richard
Box 4 Fanger, Donald
Box 4 Farrell, Frank
Box 4 Feeney, Joseph J.
Box 4 Feirstein, Frederick
Box 4 Ferris, Timothy
Box 4 Fiction
Box 4 Fiedler, Leslie A.
Box 4 Flanagan, Fionnuala
Box 4 Flanagan, Michael
Box 4 Flanders, Jane
Box 4 Fleming, John
Box 4 Fleming, Ray
Box 4 Flynn, Robert
Box 4 Foer, Jonathan
Box 4 Ford, Michael Thomas
Box 4 Ford, Richard 1982-1997 (2 folders)
Box 4 Fossum, Robert H.
Box 4 Fowles, John
Box 4 Fox, James A.
Box 4 Fox, Robin
Box 4 Foxfire ban in Ontario school
Box 5 Francis, Herbert E.
Box 5 Frank, Joseph
Franklin, Peter
See William Morris Agency, Inc.
Box 5 Franklin Library
Box 5 Franks, Lucinda
Box 5 Franzen, Jonathan
Box 5 Fraser, Russell A.
Box 5 Friebert, Stuart
Box 5 Friedman, Ellen G.
Box 5 Friedman, Sharon
See also John Hawkins & Associates, Inc.
Box 5 Fromm, Harold
Box 5 Frucht, Abby
Box 5 Frye, Nancy
Box 5 Fuentes, Carlos
Box 5 Fulton, Alice
Box 5 Funkhouser, Erica
Box 5 Fussell, Betty Harper
Box 5 Fussell, Paul
Box 5 G (1 folder)
Box 5 Gaitskill, Mary
Box 5 Galassi, Jonathan
Box 5 Galbraith, John Kenneth
Box 5 Galef, David
Box 5 Gallagher, Tess
Box 5 Garber, Eugene K.
Box 5 Gardner, John and Joan
Box 5 Gardner, Leonard
Box 5 Garrett, George
Box 5 Gass, William H.
Box 5 Gatenby, Greg
Box 5 Gates, Henry Louis
Box 5 Gelb, Jeff
Box 5 George, Diana Hume
Georgia Repertory Theatre
See University of Georgia
Box 5 The Georgia Review
Box 5 Gerber, Merrill Joan
Box 5 Gerber, Philip L.
Box 5 Gersh Agency, Inc.
Box 5 The Gettysburg Review
Box 5 Gibbons, Reginald
Box 5 Gibson, Gail
Box 5 Gibson, Graeme
Box 5 Gilbert, Sandra M.
Box 5 Gill, Stephen
Box 5 Gilson, William
Box 5 Gioia, Dana
Box 5 Giovanni, Nikki
Box 5 Gleason, Robert Herman
Box 5 Gleick, James
Box 5 Glendinning, Victoria
Box 5 Gluck, Louise
Box 5 Gober, Robert
Box 5 Godwin, Gail 1969-1995, undated (6 folders)
Box 5 Gold, Herbert
Box 5 Goldbarth, Albert
Box 5 Goldman, Michael
Box 5 Goldstein, Laurence 1977-1997 (2 folders)
Box 5 Goldstein, Rebecca
Box 5 Goldstein, Sydney
Box 5 [Victor] Gollancz Ltd.
Box 5 Gom, Leona
Box 5 Goodman, Sallie
Box 5 Gordon, Mary
Box 5 Goreau, Angeline
Box 5 Gotham Book Mart & Gallery Inc.
Box 5 Gottlieb, Robert
Box 5 Goyen, William
Box 5 Graham, Elizabeth
Box 5 Grand Street
Box 5 Granta
Box 5 Grass, Gunter
Box 5 Gray, Francine
Box 5 Greco, Loretta
Box 5 Greeley, Andrew M.
Box 5 Greenberg, Georgia Shreve
Box 5 Greenberg, Martin H.
Box 5 Greer, Germaine
Box 5 [Blanche C.] Gregory, Inc.
Box 5 Grimsley, Jim
Box 5 Grissom, Coleen
Box 5 Grobel, Larry
Box 5 Gruen, Arno
Box 5 Guare, John
Box 5 Guerard, Albert J.
Box 5 [John Simon] Guggenheim Memorial Foundation
Box 5 Guilhamet, Leon
Box 5 Guiliano, Edward
Box 5 Gupta, Sunetra
Box 5 Guttfreund, Andre
Box 5 H (2 folders)
Box 5 Haba, James
Box 5 Hadas, Pamela White
Box 5 Hall, Donald
Box 5 Halpern, Daniel
Box 5 Halpert, Sam
Box 5 Hancock, Geoff
Handman, Wynn
See American Place Theatre
Box 5 Hansell, Betsey
Box 5 Hansen, Ron
Hansen, Stig
See Ordfront Magasin
Box 5 Hanson, David T.
Box 6 Harbourfront Reading Series (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
Box 6 Hardison, O. B.
Box 6 Hardwick, Elizabeth
Box 6 Harlow, Enid
Box 6 Harper's Magazine
Box 6 Harpprecht, Klaus
Box 6 Harris, Jana
Box 6 Harvey, Charles W.
Box 6 Havazelet, Ehud
Box 6 Hawkes, John
Hawkins, John
See John Hawkins & Associates, Inc.
Box 6 Hayfield, Nancy
Box 6 Hazzard, Shirley
Box 6 Heath, William
Box 6 Heavenridge, Cecily Smith (daughter of Catherine "Kay" Smith)
Box 6 Hecht, Anthony
Hefner, Christie
See Playboy
Box 6 Hegi, Ursula
Box 6 Heilbrun, Carolyn G.
Box 6 Heim, Kathleen
Box 6 Heller, Erich
Box 6 Heller, Joseph
Box 6 Hellman, Lillian
Box 6 Helprin, Mark
Henderson, Bill
See Pushcart Press
Box 6 Henslee, Helen
Herendeen, Ed
See Contemporary American Theatre Festival (Shepherdstown, W. Va.)
Box 6 Hess, Edward
Box 6 Heyen, William 1973-1997 (4 folders)
Box 6 [David] Higham Associates
Box 6 Hill, Lawrence
Hills, Rust
See Esquire
Box 6 Hirsch, Edward
Box 6 Hoagland, Ted
Box 6 Hoch, Edward D.
Box 6 Hoffman, Arthur W.
Box 6 Hoffman, Daniel
Box 6 Hollander, John
Box 6 Holloway, Julia Bolton
Box 6 Holmes, Charlotte
Box 6 Holt, Rinehart and Winston
Box 6 Homes, A. M.
Box 6 Honig, Lucy
Box 6 Hood, Ann
Box 6 Horgan, Paul
Box 6 Horowitz, Irving Louis
Box 6 Horror Writers Association
Box 6 Horton, David
Box 6 Houghton Mifflin Company
House, Gordon
See BBC
Box 6 Howard, Maureen
Box 6 Howard, Richard
Box 6 Howarth, William
Box 6 Howe, Irving
Box 6 The Hudson Review
Box 6 Hughes, Katherine Nouri
Box 6 Hughes, Ted
Box 6 Hunt, Gordon
Box 6 Hunter, Evan
Box 6 Hynes, Samuel Lynn
Box 6 I (1 folder)
Box 6 Ignatow, David
Box 6 Ignatow, Rose Graubart
Box 6 Israel, Calvin
Box 6 Izvestia
Box 6 J (1 folder)
Box 6 Jackson, Nagle
Box 6 Jackson, Thomas F.
Box 6 Jacobs, Loraine and Jim
Box 6 Jacobsen, Josephine
Box 6 Jaffee, Annette Williams
Box 6 Jakes, John
Box 6 Janowitz, Tama
Box 6 Jenks, Tom
Box 6 Jennings, Dana Andrew
Box 6 John Hawkins & Associates, Inc. 1989-1997 (2 folders)
Box 6 Johnson, Charles
Box 6 Johnson, Diane
Box 6 Johnson, Greg 1974-1997 (15 folders)
Box 6 Johnson, Jef
Box 7 Jones, Edward P.
Box 7 Jones, Landon Y.
Box 7 Jones, Neal T.
Box 7 Jones, Robert
Box 7 Jones, Thom
Box 7 Jong, Erica
Box 7 Jordan, Shirley M.
Box 7 Joseph, Lawrence and Nancy Van Goethem
Box 7 Junker, Howard
Box 7 Jurik, Lubos
Box 7 K (1 folder)
Box 7 Kadish, Rachel
Box 7 Kahn, Wolf
Box 7 Kakutani, Michiko
Box 7 Kalpakian, Laura
Box 7 Kaniecki, Michael
Box 7 Karl, Frederick Robert
Box 7 Karlin, Wayne
Box 7 Karr, Mary
Box 7 Kauffmann, Stanley
Box 7 Kaufman, Bel
Box 7 Kaufmann, Myron S.
Box 7 Kaufmann, Walter
Box 7 Kazin, Alfred
Box 7 Keeley, Edmund 1979-1997 (3 folders)
Box 7 Keithley, George
Box 7 Kennedy, William
Box 7 Kennedy, X. J.
Box 7 Kenney, Susan
Box 7 The Kenyon Review
Box 7 Kesselman, Wendy Ann
Kilberg, Garnett
See Cohen, Garnett Kilberg
Box 7 King, Stephen
Box 7 Kinsella, W. P.
Box 7 Kitaj, R. B.
Box 7 Kizer, Carolyn
Box 7 Klopp, Karyl
Box 7 Knebel, Fletcher
Box 7 Knowlton, Grace
Box 7 Koch, Stephen
Box 7 Koepp, Donald W.
Box 7 Koestenbaum, Wayne
Box 7 Kohler, Sheila
Box 7 Kollek, Teddy
Box 7 Kotker, Zane
Box 7 Kramer, Peter D.
Box 7 Krapf, Norbert
Box 7 Krementz, Jill
Box 7 Krois, Erich
Box 7 Kumin, Maxine
Box 7 Kunitz, Stanley and Elise
Box 7 Kuryluk, Ewa
Box 7 L (2 folders)
Box 7 L. A. Theatre Works
Box 7 Lapautre, Michelle
Box 7 LaRiche, William
Larriere, Claire
See Paris Transcontinental
Box 7 Laskin, David
Box 7 Laughlin, James
Box 7 Laurence, Margaret
Box 7 Lauterbach, Ann
Box 7 Lavin, Irving and Marilyn
Box 7 Lawford, Patricia Kennedy
Box 7 Layton, Irving
Box 7 Lazar, Liliane
Box 7 Lea, Sydney
Box 7 Leavitt, Alan J.
Box 7 Leavitt, David
Box 7 Leebron, Fred
Box 7 Lefanu, Sarah
Box 7 LeGuin, Ursula K.
Box 7 Lehman, David
Box 7 Leithauser, Brad
Box 7 Leland, Christopher T.
Box 7 Lempert, Peter
Box 7 Lentricchia, Frank
Lentricchia, Melissa
See Malouf, Melissa
Box 7 Leonard, Elmore
Box 7 Leonard, George B.
Lerner, Michael
See Tikkun
Box 7 Lesley, Craig
Box 7 Lessing, Doris
Box 7 Letizia, Claudia V.
Box 7 Levao, Ronald
Box 7 Levertov, Denise
Box 7 Levin, Gail
Box 7 Levin, Marj Jackson
Box 7 Levine, Philip
Box 7 Levinson, Jerrold
Box 7 Lewis, Stephen
Box 7 L'Heureux, John
Box 7 Ligotti, Thomas
Lindberg, Stanley W.
See The Georgia Review
Box 7 Linney, Romulus
Box 7 Lisle, Laurie
Box 7 Litz, A. Walton
Box 7 Litzinger, Boyd
Loewenberg, Susan Albert
See L. A. Theatre Works
Box 7 Logan, Fritz
Box 7 Long, David
Box 7 Long Wharf Theatre (New Haven, Conn.)
Box 7 Lopate, Phillip
Lord John Press
See Yellin, Herb
Los Angeles Theatre Academy
See Rossi, Al
Box 7 Louisiana State University Press
Box 7 Lowy, Bernard
Box 7 Ludwig, Richard M.
Box 7 Lurie, Alison
Box 7 Luvaas, William
Box 7 M (3 folders)
Box 7 Macauley, Robie
Box 7 McAuliffe, Jody
Box 7 McBride, Mekeel
Box 8 McCaffery, Larry
Box 8 McCarter Theatre (Princeton, N.J.)
Box 8 McCarthy, Cormac
Box 8 McCarthy, Eugene J.
Box 8 McClain, Rick
Box 8 McClatchy, J. D.
Box 8 McDaniel, Drucie
Box 8 McEnroe, Colin
Box 8 McGee, Lynn
Box 8 MacKenzie, Rachel
Box 8 McKeown, Tom
Box 8 McLaughlin, Ruth
Box 8 MacLeish, Archibald
Box 8 MacLeod, Alistair
Box 8 McManus, Lona
Box 8 McMillan, Terry
Box 8 Macmillan London Ltd.
Box 8 McNamara, Eugene
Box 8 McPherson, William
Box 8 McPhillips, Robert
Box 8 Madden, David
Box 8 Magala, Slawomir
Box 8 Magriel, Paul
Box 8 Mailer, Norman
Box 8 Mairs, Nancy
Box 8 Maital, Shlomo
Box 8 Malamud, Bernard
Box 8 Malin, Irving
Box 8 Maloney, Peter
Box 8 Malouf, Melissa
Box 8 Malzberg, Barry
Box 8 Mandelbaum, Paul
Box 8 Manhattan Theatre Club
Mann, Emily
See McCarter Theatre (Princeton, N.J.)
Box 8 Mano, D. Keith
Box 8 Manoa
Box 8 Marion Boyars Publishers Ltd.
Box 8 Marshall, James M.
Box 8 Marshall, Tom
Box 8 Martin, John
Box 8 [Elisabeth] Marton Agency
Box 8 Mason, Bobbie Ann
Box 8 Mason, David
Box 8 Masterson, Dan
Box 8 Matthews, William
Box 8 Maxwell, William
Box 8 Mazzaro, Jerome
Meadow, Lynne
See Manhattan Theatre Club
Box 8 Meek, Jay
Box 8 Meeropol, Michael
Box 8 Mehlman, Jeffrey
Box 8 Meisel, Perry
Box 8 Mellen, Joan
Melnyczuk, Askold
See Agni
Box 8 Menz, Katherine
Box 8 Merchant Ivory Productions
Box 8 Merwin, William Stanley
Box 8 Metcalf, John
Michael Siegel & Associates, Inc.
See Siegel, Michael
Box 8 Michaels, Leonard
Michaud, Marc A.
See Necronomicon Press
Michigan Quarterly Review
See Goldstein, Laurence
Micklin Silver, Joan
See Silver, Joan Micklin
Box 8 Middlebrook, Diane Wood
Box 8 Milazzo, Lee
Miles, Julia
See Women's Project and Productions (New York, N.Y.)
Box 8 Miller, Arthur
Box 8 Miner, Earl Roy
Box 8 Minkoff, George Robert
Box 8 Miranda, Gary
Mirsky, Mark
See Fiction
Box 8 The Missouri Review
Box 8 Mitchell, Lee Clark
Box 8 Mitgang, Esther
Box 8 Moch, Cheryl
Box 8 Mogan, Jewel
Box 8 Moore, Richard
Box 8 Moorhead, Hugh S.
Box 8 Moreau, Jeanne
Morgan, Frederick
See The Hudson Review
Box 8 Morgan, James
Box 8 Morgenthau, Robert M.
Box 8 Morris, David B.
Box 8 Morris, Mary
Box 8 Morris, Mary McGarry
Box 8 Morris, William
Box 8 Morrison, Toni
Box 8 Morrow, Bradford
Box 8 Mort, John
Box 8 Moser, Barry
Box 8 Mosley, Walter
Box 8 Mount Holyoke College
Box 8 Mukand, Jon
Box 8 Mukherjee, Bharati
Box 8 Muldoon, Paul
Box 8 Murray, Joan
Box 8 Muske, Carol
Muzio, Gloria
See Circle Repertory Company (New York, N.Y.)
Box 8 Myers, Robert
Box 8 N (1 folder)
Box 8 The Nation
Box 8 National Book Awards
Box 8 Naylor, Gloria
Box 8 Necronomicon Press
Box 8 Nelson, Betty Palmer
Box 8 Nemerov, Howard
Box 8 New Directions
Box 8 New Letters (University of Missouri-Kansas City)
Box 8 The New Republic
Box 8 New York Public Library
Box 8 The New York Quarterly
Box 8 The New York Review of Books
Box 8 The New York Times
Box 8 The New Yorker
Box 8 Newhouse, Susan and Donald
Box 8 Newman, Charles
Box 8 Newman, Paul S.
Box 8 Norman, Howard
Box 8 Northwestern University. Department of Theatre
Box 8 [W. W.] Norton & Company
Box 8 Nussbaum, Martha
Box 9 O (1 folder)
Box 9 O'Brien, Tim
Box 9 Ochester, Ed
Box 9 O'Connor, Philip F.
Box 9 Odom, Mel
Box 9 Offutt, Chris
Box 9 The Ohio Review
Box 9 Olds, Sharon
Box 9 Oliver, Mary
Box 9 Olsen, Tillie
Omni
See Datlow, Ellen
Box 9 O'Nan, Stewart
Onassis, Jacqueline Kennedy
See Doubleday
Box 9 Ondaatje, Michael
Box 9 Opera Festival of New Jersey
Box 9 Oppenheimer, Judy
Box 9 Ordfront Magasin
Orr, Greg
See The Virginia Quarterly Review
Box 9 Ostriker, Alicia
Box 9 Osztovits, Levente
Box 9 Oxford University Press
Box 9 Ozick, Cynthia
Box 9 P (2 folders)
Box 9 Pagels, Elaine H.
Box 9 Painter, Nell Irwin
Box 9 Palumbo, Tom
Box 9 Parcerisas, Francesc
Box 9 Parini, Jay
Box 9 The Paris Review
Box 9 Paris Transcontinental
Box 9 Park, Christine
Box 9 Parker, Alan Michael
Box 9 Partisan Review
Box 9 Patten, Robert L.
Box 9 Payne, John R.
Box 9 Peacock, Molly
Box 9 Pearlman, Mickey
Box 9 PEN American Center
Box 9 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction
Box 9 PEN Syndicated Fiction Project
Box 9 Penlight Theater (Minneapolis, Minn.)
Box 9 Penn, Barbara Allison
Box 9 Penner, Jonathan
Box 9 Penney, Charles Rand
Box 9 Penzler, Otto
Box 9 Pepper, James
Box 9 Percy, Walker
Box 9 Perloff, Marjorie
Box 9 Perlongo, Robert A.
Box 9 Petesch, Natalie L. M.
Box 9 Pett, Stephen
Box 9 Philadelphia Festival Theatre for New Plays
Box 9 Phillips, Matt
Box 9 Phillips, Robert S. 1970-1997, undated (20 folders)
Box 9 Piel, Gerard
Box 9 Pinckney, Darryl
Box 9 Pinsker, Sanford
Box 9 Pinsky, Robert
Box 9 Piper, Adrian
Box 9 Playboy
Box 9 Plesea, Gabriel
Plimpton, George
See The Paris Review
Box 9 Plumly, Stanley
Box 9 Plummer, William
Box 9 Poetry
Poetry Center (New York, N.Y.)
See Unterberg Poetry Center (New York, N.Y.)
Box 9 Poets & Writers
Poirier, Richard
See Raritan
Box 9 Pollinger, Murray
Box 9 Pollitt, Katha
Box 9 Porter, Joe Ashby
Box 9 Porter, Melinda Camber
Box 9 Pounds, Wayne
Box 9 Poverman, C. E. ("Buzz")
Box 10 Prairie Schooner
Box 10 Prescott, Peter S.
Box 10 Press
Box 10 Price, Reynolds
Box 10 Princeton University (2 folders)
Box 10 Pritchard, William H.
Box 10 Proffer, Carl R.
Box 10 Pulitzer Prize
Box 10 Punch
Box 10 Pushcart Press
Box 10 Pynn, Nelia A.
Box 10 Q (1 folder)
Box 10 Qualls, Barry
Box 10 R (2 folders)
Box 10 Ramke, Bin
Box 10 Ramsland, Katherine
Box 10 Ranard, John
Box 10 Random House
Box 10 Raritan
Box 10 Rattner, Ruth
Box 10 Ratzan, Richard M.
Box 10 Ray, David
Box 10 Rea Award
Box 10 Reddy, Maureen T.
Box 10 Redmon, Anne
Box 10 Reed, John Robert 1974-1997 (2 folders)
Box 10 Reed, Kit
Box 10 Reich, Charles
Box 10 Reisman, Nancy
Box 10 Rendell, Ruth
Box 10 Renfield, Elinor
Box 10 Revell, Donald
Box 10 Rhodes, Richard
Box 10 Ribalow, Harold Uriel
Box 10 Ricci, Claudia
Box 10 Richardson, James
Box 10 Richman, Steven M.
Robbins, Henry
See [E. P.] Dutton
Box 10 Robbins, Mary Susannah
Roberts, Daniel
See Press
Box 10 Robertson, Mary Elsie
Box 10 Robinson, Sally
Box 10 Rocamora, Carol
Box 10 Rodriguez, Miguel
Box 10 Roper, Robert
Box 10 Rorem, Ned
Box 10 Rosen, Norman
Box 10 Rosen, Richard Dean
Box 10 Rosenberg, David
Box 10 Rosenblatt, Roger
Box 10 Rosenbluth, Sally
Rosenthal, Lois
See Story
Box 10 Rosenthal, Macha Louis
Box 10 Rossi, Al
Box 10 Rossiter, Sarah
Box 10 Rossner, Judith
Box 10 Roszak, Theodore
Box 10 Roth, Philip
Box 10 Royle, Nicholas
Box 10 Rubin, Gay
Box 10 Rudenstine, Angelica Zander
Box 10 Rudenstine, Neil L.
Box 10 Rudman, Mark
Box 10 Rumaker, Michael
Box 10 Ruth, Arne
Box 10 S (4 folders)
Box 10 Safire, William
Box 10 Said, Edward W.
Box 10 St. Just, Maria
Box 10 Salter, James
Box 10 Samuel French Inc.
Box 10 Sanders, Nancy Dalton
Box 10 Saner, Reg
Box 10 Sanford J. Greenberger Associates, Inc.
Box 10 Saroyan, William
Box 10 Sayre, Robert F.
Box 10 Scanlan, Dick
Box 10 Schaeffer, Susan Fromberg
Box 10 Schaller, Barry R.
Box 10 Scher, William
Box 10 Schiller, Lawrence
Box 10 Schinto, Jeanne
Box 10 Schnack, Elisabeth
Box 10 Schneider, Nina
Box 10 Schneider, Ursula W.
Box 10 Schulman, Grace
Box 10 Schwartz, Lynne Sharon
Schwartz, Rhoda
See The American Poetry Review
Box 10 Scorsese, Martin
Box 10 Scott, Joanna
Box 10 Scruton, Roger
Box 10 Seabrook, John
Box 10 Seattle Mime Theatre
Box 10 See, Carolyn
Box 10 Selby, David
Box 10 Settle, Mary Lee
Box 10 Sexton, Anne
Box 10 Shapard, Robert
Box 10 Shapiro, Dani
Box 10 Shapiro, David
Box 10 Shapiro, Harold T.
Box 10 Shapiro, Jane
Box 10 Shapiro, Karl Jay
Box 10 Shapiro, Michael
Box 10 Share Our Strength
Box 10 Sharma, Akhil
Box 10 Sharon Stage (Sharon, Conn.)
Sharp, Ronald A.
See The Kenyon Review
Box 10 Shepard, Jim
Box 10 Sherry, Norman
Box 10 Sherwood, Madeleine
Box 11 Showalter, Elaine and English 1979-1997, undated (3 folders)
Box 11 Showalter, Jean
Box 11 Shreve, Susan Richards
Shrifte, Evelyn
See Vanguard Press, Inc.
Box 11 Shulman, Alix Kates
Box 11 Shwartz, Ronald B.
Sidel, Elly
See John Hawkins & Associates, Inc.
Box 11 Siegel, Michael
Box 11 Siegel, Rosalie
Box 11 Silver, Joan Micklin
Box 11 Silver, Nicky
Box 11 Silvis, Randall
Box 11 Simic, Charles
Box 11 Simon, John
Box 11 Simon, Rachel
Box 11 Simpson, Eileen
Box 11 Sipper, Ralph B.
Box 11 Sjoberg, Leif
Box 11 Sjostrand, Osten
Box 11 Skyler, Lisanne
Box 11 Smedick, Lois K. 1978-1997, undated (2 folders)
Box 11 Smith, Catherine "Kay" 1970-1980, undated (2 folders)
Box 11 Smith, Dave
Box 11 Smith, Leonora
Box 11 Smith, Mark
Box 11 Smith, Martha Nell
Box 11 Smith, William Jay
Box 11 Smith and Kraus Inc.
Box 11 Smith College
Box 11 Snake Nation Press
Box 11 Sobel, Richard
Box 11 Sokolov, Raymond
Box 11 Sontag, Susan
Box 11 South Bank Center (London, Eng.)
Box 11 Souther, Randy
Box 11 The Southern Review
Box 11 Southwest Review
Box 11 Speakers Worldwide, Inc.
Box 11 Spencer, Elizabeth
Box 11 Spencer, Stuart
Box 11 Spencer Library
Spender, Stephen
See Aids Crisis Trust
Box 11 Spilka, Mark
Box 11 Sreelakshmi, P.
Box 11 Stallworth, Anne Nall
Box 11 Stand
Box 11 Stanford, Donald E.
See also The Southern Review
Box 11 Stanlis, Peter James
Box 11 Stansberry, Domenic
Box 11 Starer, Robert
Box 11 Starn, Frances
Staub, Augustus W.
See University of Georgia
Box 11 Stearns, Gordon W.
Box 11 Steele, Jadrien Ford
Box 11 Stegmuller, Francis
Box 11 Steinberg, Rafael
Box 11 Steiner, George
Box 11 Stephens, Michael
Box 11 Stern, Daniel
Box 11 Stern, Gerald
Box 11 Stern, Richard
Box 11 Stevens, Holly
Box 11 Stewart, Ronald S.
Box 11 Stiles, Martha Bennett
Box 11 Still, James
Stitt, Peter
See The Gettysburg Review
Box 11 Stollman, Aryeh Lev
Box 11 Stone, Clifford
Box 11 Stone, Robert
Box 11 Stony Brook Millstone Watershed Association (Pennington, N.J.)
Box 11 Story
Box 11 Straight, Susan
Box 11 Strand, Mark
Box 11 Strandberg, Victor
Box 11 Straub, Peter
Box 11 Stull, William L.
Box 11 Styron, William
Box 11 Suleiman, Ezra N.
Box 11 Sutton, Walter
Box 11 Swados, Harvey
Box 11 Swenson, May
Box 11 Sylvester & Orphanos
Box 11 Syracuse University
Box 11 Szeman, Sherri
Box 11 T (1 folder)
Box 11 Talese, Gay
Box 11 Talese, Nan
Box 11 Tannen, Deborah
Box 11 Tanner, Ron
Box 11 Tanner, Tony
Box 11 Taylor, Robert
Box 11 Terrill, Kathryn
Box 11 Theroux, Alexander
Box 11 Theroux, Paul
Box 11 Thomas, James
Box 11 Thomas, Lewis
Box 11 Thon, Melanie Rae
Tichnor & Fields
See Houghton Mifflin Company
Box 11 Tikkun
Box 11 Time Inc. Magazines
Box 11 The Times Literary Supplement
Box 11 Todd, David Y.
Box 11 Tomlinson, Charles
Box 11 Tompkins, Jane P.
Box 11 Torgovnick, Marianna
Box 11 Townley, Roderick
Box 11 Treat, Jessica
Box 11 Trenner, Richard
Box 11 Tribe, Laurence H.
TriQuarterly
See Gibbons, Reginald
Box 11 Tuchman, Barbara W.
Box 11 Turco, Lewis
Box 11 Turner, Frederick
See also The Kenyon Review
Box 11 Tuttle, Lisa
Box 11 Tuttleton, James W.
Box 11 Twichell, Chase
Box 11 2 Plus 2
Box 11 Tyler, Anne
Box 12 U (1 folder)
Box 12 Union League Club (New York, N.Y.)
Box 12 University of Georgia
Box 12 Unterberg Poetry Center (New York, N.Y.)
Box 12 Updike, John 1980-1997, undated (6 folders)
Box 12 Urdang, Constance
Box 12 V (1 folder)
Van Goethem, Nancy
See Joseph, Lawrence and Nancy Van Goethem
Box 12 Vanguard Press, Inc.
Box 12 Vassar College
Box 12 Vecsey, George
Box 12 Vidal, Gore
Box 12 The Virginia Quarterly Review
Box 12 Vitale, Tom
Box 12 Vonnegut, Kurt
Box 12 W (2 folders)
Box 12 Waage, Frederick O.
Box 12 Wadsworth, Stephen
Box 12 Wagner-Martin, Linda
Box 12 Wakefield, Dan
Box 12 Wakoski, Diane
Box 12 Waldron, Ann
Box 12 Walker, Alice
Box 12 Wallace, Marilyn
Box 12 Waller, Gary Fredric
Box 12 Wambaugh, Joseph
Box 12 Waren, Mark
Box 12 Warloe, Constance
Box 12 The Washington Post
Box 12 Watanabe, Nancy Ann
Box 12 Wayman, Tom
Box 12 Weaver, Will
Box 12 Weber, Katharine
Box 12 Weinberger, Eliot
Box 12 Weiss, Theodore Russell
Box 12 Weissman, Judith
Box 12 Wellman, Mac
Box 12 Welty, Eudora
Box 12 Wesley, Marilyn C.
Box 12 West, Paul
Box 12 Westdeutscher Rundfunk
Box 12 [Louise] Westergaard Productions, Inc.
Box 12 Western Humanities Review
Box 12 Whelan, Gloria 1968-1995 undated (6 folders)
Box 12 White, Edmund
Box 12 White, Linda
Box 12 White, Michael C.
Box 12 White, Milton
Box 12 Whitney Museum of American Art
Box 12 Whittlesey, Faith Ryan
Box 12 Wideman, John
Box 12 Wier, Allen
Box 12 Wiesenfarth, Joseph
Box 12 Wiggins, Marianne
Box 12 Wilbur, Ellen
Box 12 Wilkie, Brian
Box 12 William Morris Agency
Box 12 Williams, Charles Kenneth
Box 12 Williams, Joy
Box 12 Wilson, Colin
Box 12 Witness
Box 12 Wolf, Leonard
Box 12 Wolfe, Peter
Box 12 Wolfe, Tom
Box 12 Wolff, Tobias
Box 12 Women's Ensemble Theatre Company (Philadelphia, Pa.)
Box 12 Women's Project (New York, N.Y.)
Women's Project and Productions (New York, N.Y.)
See Women's Project (New York, N.Y.)
Box 12 Woodcock, George
Box 12 Woodruff, Jay
Box 12 Worth, Irene
Box 12 Wright, Charles
Box 12 Wright, Doug
Box 12 Wright, Stephen
Box 12 Wright, Tom
Box 12 Writers Guild of America, Inc.
Box 12 Wynn, Judith
Box 12 Y (1 folder)
Box 12 The Yale Review
Box 12 Yamamoto, Satoshi
Box 12 Yardley, Jonathan
Box 12 Yates, J. Michael
Box 12 Yellin, Herb
Box 12 Z (1 folder)
Box 12 Zacharias, Lee
Box 12 Zeiler, Gail
Box 12 Zinober, Richard
Box 12 Zins, Daniel L.
Box 12 Ziolkowski, Theodore
Unidentified
Box 12 First names (2 folders)
Box 12 Anonymous
Writings
Books
American Appetites
Box 13 Early draft, notes (4 folders)
Box 13 Original ms. (3 folders)
Box 13 Intermediate draft (8 folders)
Box 13 Setting copy (5 folders)
Box 13 Production records
Galley proofs
Box 13 Author's set (5 folders)
Master set
Box 13 1st pass (3 folders)
Box 13, 14 2nd pass (5 folders)
Box 14 Page proofs (bound)
Box 14 Angel Fire: Poems - Setting copy
Angel of Light
Box 14 Original ms. (8 folders)
Box 14 Setting copy (9 folders)
Production records
Box 14 Galley proofs (8 folders)
The Assassins: a Book of Hours
Box 14, 15 Intermediate draft (9 folders)
The Assignation: Stories
Box 15 Intermediate draft (4 folders)
Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart
Box 15 Work sheets (14 folders)
Box 15 Intermediate draft (8 folders)
Box 15 Setting copy (4 folders)
Production records
Galley proofs
Box 16 Author's set (3 folders)
Master set
Box 16 1st pass (4 folders)
Box 16 2nd pass (3 folders)
Bellefleur
Box 16 Work sheets / original ms. (8 folders)
Intermediate draft
Box 16, 17 Carbon typescript (13 folders)
Box 17 Photocopy of typescript (11 folders)
Production records
Box 17 Dust jacket (mounted)
Black Water
Box 17 Work sheets
Box 17 Intermediate draft (3 folders)
Box 17 Setting copy
A Bloodsmoor Romance
Box 17 Work sheets
Box 17 Early draft (5 folders)
Box 17 Intermediate draft (4 folders)
Box 17, 18 Setting copy (11 folders)
Production records: (Dutton) 1982
Box 18 Galley proofs (9 folders)
Box 18 Dust jacket
Production records: (Cape) 1983
Box 18 Page proofs (9 folders)
Broke Heart Blues
Box 18, 19 Work sheets (8 folders)
By the North Gate
Box 19 Setting copy (4 folders)
Childwold
Box 19 Intermediate draft (5 folders)
Box 19 Come Meet Muffin! - Ms. draft
Contraries
Box 19 Intermediate draft (3 folders)
Crossing the Border
Box 19 Setting copy (4 folders)
The Crosswicks Horror
Box 19, 20 Original ms. (5 folders)
Box 20 Intermediate draft "2nd draft" (6 folders)
Box 20 Intermediate draft "3rd draft" (4 folders)
Cybele
Box 20 Carbon typescript (2 folders)
Box 20 Demon and Other Tales - Production records; Page proofs
Do With Me What You Will
Box 20, 21 Setting copy (11 folders)
Production records
Box 21 Front matter
Double Delight [Rosamond Smith title]
Box 21 Work sheets (4 folders)
Box 21 Intermediate draft (partial)
Box 21 Typescript ms. "ribbon copy" (6 folders)
The Edge of Impossibility: Forms of Tragic Literature
Box 21 Setting copy (bound)
Expensive People
Box 21 Setting copy (4 folders)
First Love
Box 21 Work sheets
Box 21 Intermediate draft
Box 21 Typescript ms.
Box 21 Page proofs
Foxfire
Box 21, 22 Work sheets (6 folders)
Box 22 Typescript ms. "ribbon copy" (5 folders)
A Garden of Earthly Delights
Box 22 Intermediate draft (6 folders)
Box 22 Intermediate draft (photocopy) (6 folders)
Box 22 George Bellows: American Artist - Work sheets; typescript ms.
The Goddess and Other Women: Stories
Box 22 Intermediate draft (6 folders)
Haunted: Tales of the Grotesque
Box 23 Typescript ms. (3 folders)
Box 23 Typescript ms. (4 folders)
Box 23 Setting copy (2 folders)
Heat and Other Stories
Box 23 Typescript ms. (7 folders)
Box 23 Setting copy "final draft" (7 folders)
I Lock My Door Upon Myself
Box 23 Work sheets (4 folders)
Box 24 Typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 24 Typescript ms. "final"
In Darkest America
See Writings: Scripts
Last Days: Stories
Box 24 Setting copy (5 folders)
Lives of the Twins [Rosamond Smith title]
Box 24 Intermediate draft (4 folders)
Box 24 Setting copy (4 folders)
Man Crazy
Box 24 Work sheets (3 folders)
Box 24 Typescript ms. Jan. 2, 1996 (5 folders)
Box 24 Marriages and Infidelities - Intermediate draft (bound)
Marya: a Life
Box 24, 25 Early draft (8 folders)
Box 25 Intermediate draft (4 folders)
Box 25 Setting copy (5 folders)
Production records
Galley proofs
Box 25 Master set - 1st pass (6 folders)
Box 25 Master set - 2nd pass (4 folders)
Box 25 Author's set (5 folders)
My Heart Laid Bare
Box 25, 26 Work sheets (15 folders)
Mysteries of Winterthurn
Box 26 Typescript ms. / work sheets (24 folders)
Box 27 Setting copy (10 folders)
The Negro-Lover
Box 27 Work sheets (3 folders)
Nemesis [Rosamond Smith title]
Box 27 Typescript ms. / work sheets (10 folders)
Box 27 Intermediate draft (6 folders)
Box 27, 28 Setting copy (5 folders)
New Heaven, New Earth: the Visionary Experience in Literature
Box 28 Setting copy (3 folders)
Night-Side: Short Stories
Box 28 Intermediate draft (5 folders)
On Boxing
Box 28 Setting copy (2 folders)
Production records
Box 28 Page proofs
The Poisoned Kiss and Other Stories
Box 28 Setting copy (2 folders)
The Profane Art: Essays and Reviews
Box 28 Setting copy (4 folders)
Production records
Box 28 Galley proofs
Raven's Wing and Other Stories
Box 28 Work sheets (3 folders)
Box 28 Intermediate draft (4 folders)
The Rise of Life on Earth
Box 28 Work sheets (3 folders)
Box 28 Typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 28 Typescript ms. "final"
A Sentimental Education
Box 29 Setting copy (3 folders)
Production records
Box 29 Page proofs (2 folders)
Snake Eyes [Rosamond Smith title]
Box 29 Work sheets (4 folders)
Box 29 Typescript ms. "final" (4 folders)
Box 29 Typescript ms., copyedited (4 folders)
Box 29 Setting copy (photocopy) (4 folders)
Solstice
Box 29 Work sheets (4 folders)
Box 30 Intermediate draft (5 folders)
Box 30 Setting copy (3 folders)
Production records
Box 30 Galley proofs - author's set (4 folders)
Son of the Morning
Box 30 Intermediate draft (6 folders)
Soul/Mate [Rosamond Smith title]
Box 30 Work sheets (6 folders)
Box 30 Intermediate draft (6 folders)
Box 30, 31 Typescript ms. "final" (7 folders)
Box 31 Setting copy (3 folders)
Production records
Galley proofs
Box 31 "Author's set"
Box 31 "Marked set"
Box 31 "Master set"
Box 31 "1st revised master set"
Starr Bright Will Be With You Soon [Rosamond Smith title]
Box 31 Work sheets (3 folders)
Box 31 them - Setting copy (bound)
The Time Traveler
Box 31 Typescript ms., copyedited (2 folders)
Production records
Box 31 Galley proofs
Box 31 Galley proofs - author's set
Box 31 Page proofs (2 folders)
Box 31 The Triumph of the Spider Monkey: Play - Intermediate draft; Playscript; Additional pages
Twelve Plays
Box 32 Setting copy (5 folders)
Unholy Loves
Box 32 Setting copy (5 folders)
Upon the Sweeping Flood
Box 32 Typescript ms. (4 folders)
Box 32 Galleys (bound)
We Were the Mulvaneys
Box 32 Work sheets (9 folders)
Box 33 Typescript ms. "ribbon copy" (10 folders)
Box 33 Setting copy (9 folders)
What I Lived For
Box 33, 34 Work sheets (11 folders)
Box 34 Typescript ms. "ribbon copy" (8 folders)
Box 34 Setting copy (8 folders)
Where Is Here?
Box 35 Typescript ms. "ribbon copy" (4 folders)
Will You Always Love Me?
Box 35 Typescript ms. "July 1995" (6 folders)
With Shuddering Fall
Box 35 Typescript ms. (4 folders)
(Woman) Writer: Occasions and Opportunities
Box 35 Setting copy (6 folders)
Production records
Galley proofs
Author's set
Box 35 1st pass (5 folders)
Box 35, 36 2nd pass (6 folders)
Box 36 Galley proofs (6 folders)
Box 36 Women Whose Lives Are Food: Men Whose Lives Are Money: Poems - Setting copy
Wonderland
Box 36 Setting copy (9 folders)
You Can't Catch Me [Rosamond Smith title]
Box 36 Work sheets (2 folders)
Box 36 Typescript ms. (4 folders)
Box 36 Setting copy (3 folders)
You Must Remember This
Box 36, 37 Work sheets (31 folders)
Box 37, 38 Intermediate draft (11 folders)
Box 38 Replaced and deleted pages (5 folders)
Box 38 Setting copy (9 folders)
Production records
Galley proofs
Box 38 Author's set (7 folders)
Box 38 Master set - 1st pass (7 folders)
Box 38 Master set - 2nd pass (6 folders)
Zombie
Box 39 Work sheets
Box 39 Typescript ms. "ribbon copy" (3 folders)
Box 39 Setting copy (2 folders)
Production records
Box 39 Page proofs (2 folders)
Essays
Box 40 "After Amnesia" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; The New Yorker - galleys
Afterwords by Joyce Carol Oates
Box 40 The Assignation - Typescript ms.
Box 40 Expensive People (Ontario Review Press, 1990: "Expensive People: The Confessions of a 'Minor Character'") - Work sheets; Photocopy of published essay
Box 40 Haunted: Tales of the Grotesque ("Afterword: Reflections on the Grotesque") - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; Photocopy of published essay
Box 40 Twelve Plays - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; Photocopy of published essay
Box 40 Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been? - Work sheets; Photocopy of published essay
Box 40 Wonderland (Ontario Review Press, 1992: "Wonderland Revisited") - Work sheets; Photocopy of published essay
Box 40 "The Alchemy of Antony and Cleopatra" Bucknell Review Mar. 1964 - signed "J. Oates Smith"
Box 40 "The Ambiguity of Troilus and Cressida" Shakespeare Quarterly Spring 1966 - signed "author's copy"
Box 40 "American Gothic" The New Yorker May 8, 1995 - Typescript ms.
Box 40 "An American Tragedy" The New York Times Book Review Jan. 24, 1971
Box 40 "And God Saw That It Was Good" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.
Box 40 "Anne Sexton: 'The Almost Unnameable Lust'" - Typescript ms.
Box 40 "Art and Ethics? - the (F)utility of Art" - Work sheets; Salmagundi, Summer 1996
Box 40 "The Art of Being No One" - Typescript ms.; The New York Times, July 22, 1996
Box 40 "The Art of Matt Phillips" - Typescript ms.
Box 40 "The Art of Suicide" [n.p.] undated
Box 40 "Art: Therapy and Magic" - Typescript ms.
Box 40 "Aspects of the Self" The American Poetry Review Jan./Feb. 1974
Box 40 "Behind the Wheel of the Miami Device" Quality Winter [no year]
Box 40 "Caption: What's in a Picture?" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; Civilization, Feb./Mar. 1997
Box 40 "Cherished Moments" Life Fall 1988
Box 40 "The Comedy of Metamorphosis in The Revenger's Tragedy" Bucknell Review undated - photocopy
Box 40 "Coming Home" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; USAir Magazine, May 1995
Box 40 "Confronting Head On the Face of the Afflicted" - Work sheets (working title: "Art and 'Victim Art'"); Typescript ms.; The New York Times, Feb. 19, 1995
Box 40 "Conrad's Youth" - Typescript ms.
Box 40 "A Conversation with Margaret Atwood" - Typescript ms.
Box 40 "A Corner to Write In" - Work sheets (working title: "Sacred, Sentimental Places"); Typescript ms. (working title: "Turn Clock Forward, Never Backward"); Elle Décor, Oct. 1991
Box 40 "David Hanson's Colstrip, Montana Series" - Typescript ms.; American Art, Spring 1992
Box 40 "Delirium and Detachment" (journal excerpt) - The New Yorker - galleys; The New Yorker, July 3, 1995
Box 40 "The Diceman Numbeth" - Typescript ms. (working title: "Andrew Dice Clay: Guaranteed to Offend"); Entertainment Weekly, July 27, 1990
Box 40 "Does the Writer Exist?" The New York Times Book Review Apr. 22, 1984
Box 40 "Dracula (Tod Browning, 1931): The Vampire's Secret" - Work sheets
Box 41 "The Essential Emily Dickinson" The Boston Book Review Sept. 1996
Box 41 "Failure in the Desert" The Village Voice Mar. 24, 1987
Box 41 "Fall From Grace" The New York Times Book Review Dec. 17, 1995
Box 41 "Female Sexuality / Female Spirituality" - Typescript ms.; Mademoiselle, July 1971
Box 41 "The 'Fifth Act' and the Chorus in the English and Scottish Ballads" The Dalhousie Review v. 42, no. 3 - signed "author's copy"
Box 41 "Floyd Patterson: the Essence of a Competitor" - Work sheets
Box 41 "Advertisement" [n.p.] undated
Box 41 "Food Mysteries" - Work sheets
Forewords by Joyce Carol Oates
Box 41 Metaphysical Tales / by Eugene K. Garber - typescript carbon with corrections
Box 41 Saving Graces: the Images of Women in European Cemeteries by David Robinson - Work sheets; Typescript ms.
Box 41 "The Formidable W. B. Yeats" The New York Times Book Review Sept. 7, 1969
Box 41 "Franz Kafka's In the Penal Colony" for You've Got to Read This - Typescript mss.
Box 41 "From The Life of the Writer and the Life of the Career: First Principles and 'Transformations of Play'" - Work sheets; New Literary History, Spring 1996
Box 41 "The Greatest of Gifts" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; Life, Dec. 1990
Box 41 "Home Away from Home" Syracuse Herald-Journal May 16, 1995
Box 41 "Hunter's Harvest" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; Playboy [n.d.]
Box 41 "I Had No Other Thrill or Happiness" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; The New York Review of Books, Mar. 24, 1994
Box 41 "I, the Juror" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; Witness, v. 5,no. 2, 1991 (photocopy)
Box 41 "An Illusory and Hopeful Celebration" Monthly Detroit Dec. 1981
Box 41 "I'm Caught Up in the Novel" [n.p.] undated
Box 41 "In Olden Times, When Wishing Was Having...." - Work sheets
Box 41 "Intellectual Seduction: Meeting with Gorbachev" - Intermediate draft (working title: "Meeting the Gorbachevs"); The New York Times Magazine, Jan. 3, 1988
Introductions by Joyce Carol Oates
Box 41 American Gothic Tales / edited by Joyce Carol Oates - Work sheets; Photocopy of published essay
Box 41 The Best American Essays 1991/ edited by Joyce Carol Oates - Work sheets; Photocopy of published essay
Box 41 The Best American Short Stories 1979/ selected and edited by Joyce Carol Oates - Typescript carbon (with corrections)
Box 41 The Essential Dickinson / selected by Joyce Carol Oates - Work sheets; Photocopy of published essay
Box 41 The Philosopher's Stone / by Colin Wilson - Typescript ms.
Box 41 Tales of H.P. Lovecraft / selected and introduced by Joyce Carol Oates - Typescript ms.; Photocopy of published essay
Box 41 "The Introduction to Wurthering Heights" c1988 - New York: Time Warner Libraries
Box 41 "Ionesco's Dances of Death" Thought Autumn 1965 - offprint, signed "author's copy"
Box 41 "Is This the Promised End?: the Tragedy of King Lear' The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism Fall 1974 - signed "author's copy"
Box 41 "'JCO' and I" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; Antaeus - page proofs; Concord, N.H.: William B. Ewert, c1994
Box 41 "Jocoserious Joyce" - Typescript ms.; Critical Inquiry, Summer 1976 - offprints (2), one signed "author's copy"
Box 41 "Kid Dynamite" Life Mar. 1987
Box 42 "A Letter to My Mother, Carolina Oates, On Her 78th Birthday" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; The New York Times Magazine, May 12, 1996
Box 42 "'Lewis Carroll' and Alice in Wonderland" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "Lightning Bolt" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "A Lockport Memoir" The Buffalo News Apr. 2, 1989
Box 42 "Love on Film" McCall's Oct. 1970
Box 42 "The Love She Searched For" Time Sept. 15, 1997
Box 42 "The Madness of Art" The Newsletter of the HWA, Inc. July/Aug. 1994
Box 42 "The Madness of Art: Henry James's The Middle Years" - Work sheets; New Literary History, Spring 1996
Box 42 "The Making of a Writer" - Typescript ms.; The New York Times Book Review, July 11, 1982
Box 42 "Melville and the Manichean Illusion"; Studies in Literature and Language Spring 1962 - two signed copies, one designated "author's copy"
Box 42 "The Motive for Writing" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "The Motives of Poetry" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "My Fascination with Boxing" Princeton Alumni Weekly Apr. 8, 1987
Box 42 "My Father, My Fiction" - Work sheets (working title: "Family Mysteries"); Typescript ms.; The New York Times Magazine, Mar. 19, 1989
Box 42 "The Mysterious Mr. Thoreau" The New York Times Book Review May 1, 1988
Box 42 "The Mythos of the 'Killer Instinct'" - Ms. drafts
Box 42 "Nostalgia: Dream, Memory, Poetry" - Typescript ms.; Selection from Night Errands: How Poets Use Dreams / by Roderick Townley
Box 42 "A Novelist Finds the Bare Bones of a Play" The New York Times Nov. 18, 1990
Box 42 "On Boxing" The New York Times Magazine Apr. 14, 1996
Box 42 "On Editing The Ontario Review" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "On 'German Magic'" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "On Original Works and Screen Adaptations" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "On Suicide" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "On the Art of the Short Story" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "The One Unforgivable Sin" - Work sheets; The New York Times Book Review, July 25, 1993
Box 42 "A Personal View of Nabokov" - Typescript ms.; Saturday Review [n.d.]
Box 42 "Phone Hex" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; The New Yorker - page proof; The New Yorker, Sept. 4, 1995
Box 42 "Plays as Literature" - Typescript mss.
Box 42 "The Powerful Allure of Mike Tyson" The New York Times Oct. 25, 1987
Prefaces by Joyce Carol Oates
Box 42 On Boxing (Ecco Press) 1994 - Typescript ms.
Box 42 The Sophisticated Cat / chosen by Joyce Carol Oates and Daniel Halpern - Work sheets
Box 42 "Rape and the Boxing Ring" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; Newsweek, Feb. 24, 1992
Box 42 "Rewriting The Scarlet Letter: Hawthorne Heroine Goes Hollywood" - Typescript ms.; The New York Times, Oct. 15, 1995
Box 42 "Richard Wishnetsky: Joyce Oates Supplies a Missing View" The Detroit Free Press Magazine Mar. 6, 1966
Box 42 "A Riddle Wrapped in a Mystery Inside an Enigma" - Work sheets, page proof; The New Yorker, Dec. 12, 1994 (photocopy)
Box 42 "The Romance of the Delaware Valley" - Typescript ms. (working title: "The Delaware Valley: the Enchantment of the Counter-World"); Ford Times, July 1989
Box 42 "The Short Story" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "Speaking the Same Language" - Typescript ms.; The Buffalo News, Mar. 2, 1997
Box 42 "Speculations on the Novel" - Typescript ms.
Box 42 "The Style of the 70's: the Novel" - Typescript ms.(working title: "The Novel in the 70's"); The New York Times Book Review, June 5, 1977
Box 42 "Success and the Pseudonymous Writer: Turning Over a New Self" - Intermediate draft (working title: "Pseudonymous Selves"); The New York Times Book Review, Dec. 6, 1987
Box 42 "Sunday Drive 1948" - Work sheets; Typescript ms.; Traditional Home, Mar. 1995 (photocopy)
Box 42 "The Teleology of the Unconscious: the Art of Norman Mailer" The Critic Nov./Dec. 1973
Box 42 "A Terrible Beauty is Born. How?" The New York Times Book Review Aug. 11, 1985
Box 42 "There's No Place Like Home - Even If It's Impermanent" [n.p.] (reprinted from USAir Magazine) undated
Box 43 "They All Just Went Away" - Work sheets; typescript ms.; The New Yorker - galleys
Box 43 "Thoreau As Psychologist" - Typescript ms.
Box 43 "The Tragic Vision of The Possessed" - Typescript ms.
Box 43 "Trespassing" - Work sheets; The New York Times Magazine, Oct. 8, 1995
Box 43 "Unless We Share, We Are Not Fully Human" - Typescript ms. (working title: "Community in America Now"); Galley; Life, Apr. 1991 ("Rediscover America" special advertising section: Community)
Box 43 "An Unsolved Mystery" - Typescript ms.; Between Friends / edited by Mickey Pearlman (photocopy)
Box 43 "Updike's American Comedies" Modern Fiction Studies Autumn 1975 - signed "author's copy"
Box 43 "The Vampire's Secret" - Typescript ms.
Box 43 "A Visit with Doris Lessing" - Typescript ms.
Box 43 "When Characters from the Page Are Made Flesh on the Screen" The New York Times Mar. 23, 1986
Box 43 "Whose Side Are You On?" The New York Times Book Review June 4, 1972
Box 43 "Why Is Your Writing So Violent?" - Typescript ms.; The New York Times Book Review, Mar. 29, 1981
Box 43 "The Works of Charles Sheeler" - Work sheets; American Artist, May 1998
Box 43 "The World's Worst Critics" The New York Times Book Review Jan. 18, 1987
Box 43 "The Writer as Reviewer" - Typescript ms.
Box 43 "The Writer in Residence: Princeton Pastoral" - Work sheets (working title: "At Home"); Intermediate drafts; House & Garden, June 1990
Box 43 "Writing in America" St. Louis Post-Dispatch, (incomplete) Dec. 7, 1969
Box 43 "The Writing Life: Tales Out of School" - Work sheets (working title: District School #7, Niagara County, New York); The Washington Post Book World, Mar. 16, 1997
Journal
RESTRICTED: Ms. Oates journals are restricted. Written permission of the donor is required to access these items.
Box 44 1973-1978, July (14 folders)
Box 45 1978, Aug.-1979, Oct. (13 folders)
Box 46 1979, Nov.-1980, Apr./May (12 folders)
Box 47 1980, May/June-1981 (14 folders)
Box 48 1982-1985 (17 folders)
Box 49 1986-1991, Apr. (14 folders)
Box 50 1991, May-1993 (14 folders)
Box 51 1994-1996, May (12 folders)
Box 52 1996, June-1997, Aug. (6 folders)
Libretto
Box 53 "Black Water" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Black Water: an American Opera" ([Philadelphia]: American Music Theater Festival) 1997 - souvenir libretto distributed during the World Premier, Apr. 24-May 4, 1997, Philadelphia, PA
Poetry
Box 53 "$" - Work sheets
Box 53 "The Abandoned" - Work sheets
Box 53 "American Holiday" - Work sheets
Box 53 "The American Literary Magazine: an Artifact" - Work sheets
Box 53 "American Merchandise" (working title: "Merchandise") - Work sheets
Box 53 "Autistic Child Twenty Years After, Scraping His Shoes" undated - Photocopy [n.p.]
Box 53 "Ballad of Ashfield Avenue" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Benediction" The New York Times Magazine, Pt. 2 Oct. 9, 1983
Box 53 "The Black Glove: a Rapture" - Work sheets
Box 53 "The Bullfrogs" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Compost" (working title: "Rinds, Husks, Leaves About to Fall") - Work sheets
Box 53 "The Consolation of Animals" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Dakota Mystery, 10 May 1994" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Dead Friends" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Delayed Tryst, American Heartland" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Delusion" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Don't Bare Your Soul!" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Double Portrait" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Dream After Bergen-Belsen" (working title: "Codeine Dreams") - Work sheets
Box 53 "Edward Hopper's Nighthawks, 1942" - Work sheets; Chicago Tribune Magazine, Sept. 25, 1994
Box 53 "Elegy: the Ancestors" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Emergency Room" - Work sheets
Box 53 "The Eve of Your Death" - Work sheet
Box 53 "Falling Asleep at the Wheel, Route 98 North" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Fish" (working title: "Pond, Radiant with Gold") - Work sheets
Box 53 "Five Poems" The Texas Quarterly Spring 1978 - signed "author's copy"
Box 53 "Flirtation, July 1953" - Work sheets
Box 53 "The Floating Birches" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Frequent Flier I" (working title: "Terror of Flying") - Work sheets
Box 53 "Frequent Flier II" (working title: "The Adventure") - Work sheets
Box 53 "Gay Stand-Up Comic, Paramus, New Jersey" - Work sheets
Box 53 "George Bellows' Mrs. T. in Cream Silk No. 1 (1919-1923)" (working title: "Catechism") - Work sheets
Box 53 "Glimpsed from a Car, Passing Quickly" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Hands, Prints, Time: a Collage" (working title: Being Fingerprinted") - Work sheets
Box 53 "He Was Talking About His Friend" - Work sheets
Box 53 "The Heir" (working title: "Final Visit") - Work sheet; The Massachusetts Review, Winter 1985
Box 53 "Honeymoon: Forty Years" - Work sheets
Box 53 "The House of Mystery" - Work sheets
Box 53 "How Delicately . . ." - Work sheets
Box 53 "I Am Krishna, Destroyer of Worlds" - Work sheets
Box 53 "'I Don't Want to Alarm You'" (working title: "Counsel") - Work sheets
Box 53 "I Stand Before You Naked" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Immobility Defense" - Work sheets
Box 53 "In Blue Nantucket" - Work sheets
Box 53 "In Jana's Garden" (working title" "Harvest") - Work sheets
Box 53 "In Memoriam" - Work sheets
Box 53 "(In Parenthesis)" - Typescript ms.
Box 53 "In the Country of the Blue" - Work sheets
Box 53 "The Infant's Wake" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Insomnia" - Work sheets
Box 53 "The Insomniac" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Intensive" - Work sheets
Box 53 "Island, 1949" - Work sheets; The Virginia Quarterly Review, Spring 1987 (photocopy)
See also "Lost Creek"