
There have been several reasons for the Syracuse University Library
to collect materials about Oneida Community and its antecedents and branches.
For more than sixty years the Library has been assembling data on social-religious
movements of New York State during the nineteenth century as part of its
collecting policy to include "local history"-with chief emphasis
on the geographical region of Central New York within a radius of approximately
fifty miles from Syracuse.
The main body of materials in this field consists of the papers of Gerrit
Smith (1797-1874), "philanthropist and reformer," and of his
father Peter Smith (1768-1837), wealthy land owner and business associate
of the first John Jacob Astor. Their papers cover a wide range of subject
matter-land history of New York State, commercial and social relationships
with the Indians, the trading post at Old Fort Schuyler (now Utica), abolition,
and a multiplicity of reforms (temperance, vegetarianism, "free"
churches, socialism, inter al.).
In 1960 Syracuse University Library acquired complete
runs of the serial publications of Oneida Community and of its antecedents
and branches, covering the span of years from 1837 until 1879. In 1983
the Library received a large collection of the surviving records of the
Community. We are happy to be able to provide these additional primary
documents for the scholars from Syracuse and elsewhere who have been coming
to us for many years.
We believe that we have the largest group of Oneida Community historical
materials in existence. Consequently, we plan to publish electronically
as many of these documents as possible to acquaint you with this major
collection of materials in the field of American social reform of the
nineteenth century.
A list of general social reform publications, not Oneida Community, has
been included since these contain accounts of many socialistic experiments
in the United States and in England.
It goes without saying that our holdings are available for the use of
responsible scholars.
(From The Oneida Community Collection in the Syracuse University Library.
1961, revised 1998)
The Oneida Community Mansion House is open to the public for a variety
of functions. For more information, please visit their website at <http://www.oneidacommunity.org/>.
This digitization project was supported
by Regional Bibliographic Databases and Interlibrary Resources Sharing
Program funds, awarded by the New York State Library. 1998-
Bibliographies / Finding Aids
Publications
"The Oneida Community."
Syracuse University Library Associates Courier. Volume XXVIII, Number
Two Fall 1993.
Bible Communism:
a compilation from the annual reports and other publications of the Oneida
Association and its branches; presenting, in connection with their history,
a summary view of their religious and social theories. Brooklyn,
NY. 1853.
Confessions
of John H. Noyes Part I: confession of religious experience: including
a history of modern perfectionism. Noyes, John Humphrey. Oneida,
NY 1849.
Days of My Youth.
Noyes, Corinna Ackley. Kenwood, NY 1960.
Essay
on scientific propagation; with an appendix containing a health report
of the Oneida Community, by Theodore R. Noyes. Noyes, John Humphrey.
Oneida, N. Y. [1872]
First
annual report of the Oneida Association: exhibiting its history, principles,
and transactions to Jan. 1,
1849. Oneida, NY 1849.
The
First Hundred Years. Edmonds, Walter Dumaux. Oneida, NY 1948.
Handbook
of the Oneida Community. Wallingford, CT 1867.
History
Of The Printing Business Of The O.C. -1875.
John
Humphrey Noyes, the Putney Community. Noyes, John Humphrey. Oneida,
NY, 1931.
[NEW] Life
of John Humphrey Noyes, Volumes, IV - VI, The O.C. Part II. Noyes,
George Wallingford [compiler], Unpublished Draft.
Male
continence. Noyes, John Humphrey. Oneida, NY, 1866.
Male continence:
or, self-control in sexual intercourse. A letter of inquiry answered.
Noyes, John Humphrey. New York, 1866.
Old Mansion
House Memories. Worden, Harriet M. Kenwood, NY 1950.
Religious
Experience of John Humphrey Noyes. Noyes, John Humphrey. New York,
1923.
Salvation from sin:
the end of Christian faith. Noyes, John Humphrey.Wallingford,
CT 1866.
Second
annual report of the Oneida Association: exhibiting its progress to February
20, 1850. Oneida, NY 1850.
Third
annual report of the Oneida Association: exhibiting its progress to February
20, 1851. Oneida, NY 1851.
History of the Oneida
Community. Constance Noyes Robertson. (From: Oneida Community
Books, Pamphlets, and Serials: 1834 - 1972. Jack T. Ericson, ed.) Glen
Rock, NJ: Microfilming Corporation of America, 1973.
Oneida Community Mansion House: Historic Structure Report
The
William A. Hinds American Communities Collection by Mark. F. Weimer
[Reprinted from the Syracuse University Library Associates Courier, Vol
XXII, No. 1, Spring 1987]
Photographs
|