Finding Aids
printer friendly version

New York Central Railroad Company Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: New York Central Railroad Company.
Title: New York Central Railroad Company Records
Inclusive Dates: 1826-1963
Quantity: 1769.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence of company officials, annual reports, records of the Treasury Department, stock certificates, stock ledgers, stock dividends, transfers, bonds, and land and tax records. Includes letter books, ledgers, cashbooks, daybooks, journals, and other papers of the companies which merged to form the New York Central Railroad Company as well as records of companies later absorbed by the railroad.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The New York Central Railroad was formed in 1853 by the merger of ten smaller regional railroads, under the encouragement of industrialist and Mohawk Valley Railroad owner Erastus Corning. Headquartered in New York City, the railroad served most of the Northeast United States, including New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois and Massachusetts, as well as the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Quebec. Grand Central Terminal in New York City is one of its best known landmarks. In 1869 the NYC merged with Cornelius Vanderbilt's Hudson River Railroad, becoming the New York Central and Hudson River Railroad.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The New York Central Railroad Company Records consists of correspondence of company officials, annual reports, records of the Treasury Department, stock certificates, stock ledgers, stock dividends, transfers, bonds, and land and tax records. Includes letter books, ledgers, cashbooks, daybooks, journals, and other papers of the companies which merged to form the New York Central Railroad Company as well as records of companies later absorbed by the railroad.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the New York Central Railroad Company Chief Engineer's Transit Books. In addition, Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections related to regional railroads in the northeastern United States. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

New York Central Railroad Company -- Archives.

Subjects

Railroads -- Cost of operation.
Railroads -- Design and construction -- Costs.
Railroads -- Management.
Railroads -- New York (State)
Railroads -- Records and correspondence.
Railroads -- Statistics.
Railroads -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Annual reports.
Budgets.
Cashbooks.
Correspondence.
Daybooks.
Leases.
Ledgers.
Letter books.
Minutes.
Vouchers.
Yearbooks.

Occupations

Transportation.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

New York Central Railroad Company Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1 Jan 2001
Revision history: 12 Oct 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

The item-level inventory for this collection has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top