Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Dorothy Norman Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Norman, Dorothy, 1905-1997.
Title: Dorothy Norman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1923-1967
Quantity: 55 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author. Correspondence (1947-1967); manuscripts (1949-1965); research material (1937-1967); and published material (1923-1967). Bulk relates to book Nehru, the first sixty years, selected and edited by Norman.
Language: Bulk in English, some foreign newspapers and other publications possibly in Hindi, Punjabi.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dorothy Norman (1905-1997) was an American photographer, writer, editor, arts patron and advocate for social change. Born in Philadelphia, Norman is perhaps best known for her long and intimate relationship with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, whom she met in 1927 and who became her lover and mentor. Stieglitz encouraged Norman in her photography, and her work includes numerous photos of Steiglitz as well as portraits of Lewis Mumford, Theodore Dreiser, John Cage, Jawaharlal Nehru, and Indira Gandhi.

During the 1930s and 1940s the two became involved in various liberal causes, particularly civil rights, education, and independence for India and Israel. Norman was a founding member of New York City's Liberal Party, the American Emergency Food Committee for India, and The American Citizens' Committee for Economic Aid Abroad. She was a member of the Americans for Democratic Action and served on the boards of both the New York Urban League and the National Urban League.

In addition to her social activtism and photography work, Norman wrote a weekly column in The New York Post (1942-1949) and edited and published Twice a Year, (1938-1948), a journal of literature, the arts and civil liberties whose contributors included Richard Wright, Albert Camus, Jean-Paul Sartre and Bertolt Brecht. She wrote or edited numerous books including The Selected Writings of John Marin (1949), Nehru: The First Sixty Years (1965), a two-volume collection of the Indian leader's writings, Alfred Stieglitz: An American Seer (1970), the first full-length biography of the American modernist, Indira Gandhi: Letters to an American Friend (1985), and Encounters: a Memoir (1987).

[Portions of this biographical sketch adapted from "Dorothy Norman, 92, Writer Who Sought Social Change" by Roberta Smith, New York Times, April 14, 1997.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dorothy Norman Papers consist of two separate accessions which have not been integrated. Both contain correspondence, manuscripts, research material, and published material. The bulk of the material relates to Norman's interest in India and to her book, Nehru: The First Sixty Years.

Original accession

Correspondence includes both incoming and outgoing correspondence.

Subject files includes published material, mimeographed material, maps, a tape and a blueprint.

Manuscripts contains drafts, galleys, and other iterations of articles and books. The vast majority of this material relates to Norman's book Nehru: The First Sixty Years.

Research material includes manuscripts, published material, and xeroxed material concerning India and material for the book Nehru: The First Sixth Years.

Published material contains articles, book reviews, brochures, catalogs, reports, magazines, newspapers, and newspaper clippings.

1968 Accession

The 1968 additions to the Dorothy Norman papers are divided into five groups: correspondence, manuscripts, India research material, Nehru research material, and published material.

Correspondence, 1953-1967, includes both incoming and outgoing letters, and relates primarily to Indian problems.

Manuscripts, 1949-1960, consists of correspondence about, bibliography for, and discarded pages from the manuscript of Mrs. Norman's book, Nehru: the first sixty years. Also included in this group is a report on India by Mrs. Norman, and a manuscript by S. S. Bhatnagar.

India research material, 1950-1967, includes both published and mimeographed material relevant to Mrs. Norman's interest in India. Nehru research material, 1928-1951, contains typescript notes and printed material used as background for Mrs. Norman's writings about Nehru.

Published material, 1923-1967, contains books, bulletins, news letters, newspapers, pamphlets, periodicals and reports about India.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Original accession

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically; outgoing correspondence is arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by type. Research material is arranged alphabetically by subject. Published material is arranged alphabetically by type; within that, material is arranged alphabetically by title with the exception of newspaper clippings and press releases, which are arranged chronologically by year.

1968 accession

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by type. India research material and Nehru research material is arranged alphabetically by subject. Published material is arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Nehru, Jawaharlal, 1889-1964.
Norman, Dorothy, 1905-1997 -- Archives.
Norman, Dorothy, 1905-1997. -- Nehru, the first sixty years.

Subjects

Women authors, American.

Places

India -- Politics and government.

Genres and Forms

Clippings.
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Press releases.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dorothy Norman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Dorothy Norman.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: 1968?
Revision history: 1968 - additions (MFA); 21 Jul 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 11 Feb 2009 - boxes renumbered in sequence (MRC); 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 A-I 1947, 1949, 1950, 1952-1954, 1958, 1960-1963
Box 1 J-N 1949, 1950, 1952-1954, 1960, 1966
Box 1 P-V, Unidentified 1949-1952, 1955, 1960-1964
Outgoing
Box 1 1949, 1951, 1958-1960, undated
Subject files
Box 2 Blueprints undated
Box 2 Citizens Committee for Expanded Aid Abroad 1956
Box 2 Education, Health, Social Welfare 1951, 1954, 1955, 1958
Box 2 Gandhi 1940, 1948, 1954, undated
Box 2 Indira Gandhi 1966
Kashmir
Box 3 Articles, Newsletters, news clippings, press releases 1951-1954, 1956, 1957, 1962, undated
Box 3 Pamphlets 1948, 1950, 1951
Box 3 Maps 1950, undated
Pakistan
Box 3 1949, 1950
Box 4 1951-1957, 1959, 1962, 1963, undated
Box 4 Programs 1944, 1947, 1949, 1950, 1954, 1961, 1963-1965
Box 4 Radio Broadcasts 1937, 1944, 1952, 1954, 1957, 1960-1963, 1966
Box 4 Rainmaking 1950
Box 4 Research Organizations, Various Governments undated
Box 4 United Nations 1949, 1960, undated
Box 4 George D. Woods 1963-1966
Manuscripts
Box 5 Articles 1951, undated
Book, Nehru: The First Sixty Years
Original Copy
Box 5 Foreward, Introduction, Table of Contents 1964
Box 5 Part I, Chapters 1-28 (3 folders)
Box 6 Part I, Chapters 29-32
Box 6 Part II, Chapters 1-19 (2 folders)
Box 6 Part III, Chapters 1-6
Box 7 Part III, Chapter 7
Box 7 Part IV, Chapters 1-9 (2 folders)
Box 7 Part V, Chapters 1-12 (2 folders)
Box 8 Part VI
Box 8 Part VII
Box 8 Part VIII
Box 8 Part IX, Chapters 1-8
Box 9 Part IX, Chapters 9-16
Box 9 Part X, Chapters 1-13 (2 folders)
Box 9 Part XI
Box 9 Part XII, Chapters 1-4
Box 10 Part XII, Chapters 5-10
Box 10 Appendix
Carbon Copy
Box 10 Introduction and Dedication 1983
Box 10 Table of Contents
Box 10 Part I, pp. 1-129 (2 folders)
Box 11 Part I, pp. 130-354 (3 folders)
Box 11 Part II, pp. 1-139 (2 folders)
Box 12 Part II, pp. 140-193
Box 12 Part III, pp. 0-167 (3 folders)
Box 12 Part IV, pp. 1-111 (2 folders)
Box 13 Part IV, pp. 112-160
Box 13 Part V, pp. 1-158 (3 folders)
Box 13 Part VI, pp. 1-97 (2 folders)
Box 14 Part VII, pp. 0-115 (2 folders)
Box 14 Part VIII, pp. 0-91 (2 folders)
Box 14 Part IX, pp. 1-60
Box 15 Part IX, 61-184 (2 folders)
Box 15 Part X, pp. 1-131 (3 folders)
Box 16 Part XI
Box 16 Part XII, pp. 1-101 (2 folders)
Box 16 Appendix (corrected)
Index
Box 16 Corrected for Proof
Box 16 With corrections
Galley Proofs
Box 17 Appendix, Contents, Bibliography, Glossary
Box 17 Parts I-X (10 folders)
Box 18 Parts XI-XII (2 folders)
Marked Galley Proofs 1964
Box 18 Parts I-III (3 folders)
Box 19 Parts IV-XI (8 folders)
Box 20 Part XII, Appendix 1965
Box 20 Page Proof 1964
Box 20 Sample Pages 1963
Box 20 Uncorrected Proof Copy 1964
Discarded Pages
Box 20 Part I
Box 21 Parts II-XVI (8 folders)
Box 22 Appendix
Box 22 Part and Page not identified
Box 22 Notes undated
Box 22 Manuscripts of others on India 1949, 1950, undated
Box 22 Not Identified undated
Research material
India
Box 23 Addresses 1947-1954, 1965
Box 23 Aid 1953, 1954
Box 23 Culture 1943, 1947, 1950-1955, 1958, 1961, undated (2 folders)
General
Box 24 1940-1950, 1952-1954 (4 folders)
Box 25 1955-1961, 1966
Box 25 Undated
Box 25 Newspaper Clippings 1952-1953
Box 25 Internal Affairs 1947, 1948, 1950, 1953, 1954, undated
Box 26 International Affairs 1949-1957, 1961-1962, 1966, undated (4 folders)
Box 26 Language Question 1965
Box 26 Reports 1949, undated
Box 27 Statements 1954
Box 27 and the United States 1949, 1951-1955, 1966, undated
Nehru
Box 27 General 1937, 1944, 1949-1951, 1955, 1959, 1962, 1964, 1966
Indiagrams
Box 27 1952-1956 (2 folders)
Box 28 1957-1959
Box 28 Pages from Biography by J.S. Bright 1946
Box 28 Pamphlet Clippings (Xeroxed) 1940-1949
Box 28 Quotes from books by
Box 28 Statements, newspaper clippings 1950-1951
Nehru Book
Box 29 Bibliography and Glossary undated
Box 29 Discarded Material 1937, 1939, 1950-1959, undated (4 folders)
Box 29 Excerpts from Campbell-Johnson book
Published material
Box 30 Articles by and about others 1946, 1966, undated
Box 30 Book Review by 1950
Box 30 Book by Others 1948
Box 30 Brochures 1948, 1949, 1953, 1955, 1956, 1961, 1966
Box 30 Catalogues 1948-1950, 1952, 1956, 1959, 1965, 1966
Box 30 Report by 1960
Box 31 Bulletins A-U 1943-1945, 1947-1955, 1958-1967
Magazines
Box 31 A 1939, 1940, 1942-1945, 1950, 1955, 1963, 1965, 1966
Box 32 Eastern Economist 1949, 1952, 1953, 1957, 1959, 1960, 1964
Box 33 E-L 1946-1957, 1959, 1961-1964, 1966
Box 34 The March of India 1949, 1951-1957
Box 35 The March of India 1958-1962
Box 35 M-P 1942, 1949-1954, 1960, 1962, 1966
Box 36 R-T 1948-1954, 1959, 1961-1967
Box 37 U 1950, 1951, 1954, 1956-1964
Box 38 UNESCO Courier-W 1944, 1948, 1950, 1952-1965
Box 38 Newsletters 1948, 1950, 1952-1959, 1961, 1964, 1966
Newspaper Clippings
Box 38 1947-1950
Box 39 1950-1959
Box 40 1960
Box 41 1960-1961
Box 42 1961
Box 43 1961-1963
Box 44 1964-1966, undated
Newspapers
Box 45 The Asian Student 1963-1964
Box 45 The Hindu Weekly Review 1954-1966
Box 46 India News 1950, 1956, 1957, 1966
Box 46 Indian and Foreign Review 1963-1966
Box 46 Kurukshetra 1949, 1950
Box 46 The Overseas Hindustan Times 1953-1956
Box 46 Shankar's Weekly 1949
Pamphlets
Box 47 A-W 1937-1939, 1942-1963
Press Releases
Box 48 1947-1959
Box 49 1960-1963
Box 50 1964-1966, undated
Reports
Box 50 A-R 1942, 1943, 1946, 1949-1953, 1955-1957, 1962, 1964-1966
Box 51 S-W 1949-1252, 1954, 1959, 1960, 1962, 1963
Correspondence (1968 Accession)
Box 52 1958-1967
Manuscripts (1968 Accession)
Books
Nehru: the first sixty years
Box 52 Correspondence concerning bibliography 1953-1964
Box 52 Bibliography cards
Box 52 Bibliography lists concerning Nehru
Box 52 Bibliography, books by Nehru
Discards, original typescript
Box 52 Glossary
Box 53 Glossary
Box 53 Part I-IX
Box 54 Part X-XII, unidentified
Reports
Box 54 "India fact sheet" 1960
Box 54 S. S. Bhatnagar, "Science and government" 1949 - typescript carbon
India Research Material (1968 Accession)
Box 54 Asia 1950-1962
Box 54 Asia Society 1963
Box 55 Asia Society 1964-1966
Box 55 Book catalogues 1952-1959
Box 55 The Colombo Plan 1950
Box 55 Desai, Moraji, Deputy Prime Minister of India
Box 55 Indo-American relations
Information Service of India
Box 55 Indiagrams 1960-1967
Box 55 Special press releases 1967
Box 55 News clippings 1954-1967
Box 55 Portugal 1961
Box 55 Publications in Sanskrit (?)
Box 55 Ramakrishna Mission Institute of Culture 1950
Box 55 Trade 1958
Box 55 United States policy and program in Southeast Asia 1953-1959
Nehru research material (1968 Accession)
Box 55 Africa 1951
Box 55 Chronology (Nehru) - original typescript
Clippings from books by Nehru
Box 56 The Cripps mission
Box 56 The discovery of India
Box 56 Independence and after
Box 56 Soviet Russia
Box 56 Visit to America
Box 56 Letters (Nehru), printed material and 1 photograph of letter from Nehru to Mr. Oza 1968
Box 56 Miscellaneous clippings from books
Box 56 News clippings 1950-1951
Box 56 Notes - quotes from books, typescript
Box 56 Pakistan 1950
Box 56 Press conferences (Nehru) 1950
Box 56 Speeches (Nehru) 1949-1957
Published material (1968 Accession)
Books
Box 57 Anantanarayanan, M., The silver pilgrimage, N.Y. Criterion Books 1961
Box 57 Dwarkadas, Kanji, Housing Indian labour, Bombay, Thacker and Co. Ltd. 1945
Box 57 Dwarkadas, Kanji, Bombay's slums: Matunga labour camp, Bombay, the author 1949
Box 57 Gandhi, M.K., Letters to Rajkumari Amrit Kaur, Ahmedabad, Navajivan Publishing House 1961
Box 57 Kripalani, J.B., The latest fad, Madras, Central Art Press 1948
Box 57 Lord, Bette Bao, Eighth moon, N.Y., Harper and Row 1964
Box 57 McGovern, William, To Lhasa in disguise, N.Y. Century Company 1924
Box 57 R.K.P., Elements of village administration and law, Sevagram Wardha, India, Krishnadas Gandhi 1948
Box 57 Sahni, J.N., Across twentieth parallel, New Delhi, Sahni 1952
Box 57 Sovani, N.V., Post-war inflation in India, Poona, Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics 1949
Box 57 Sovani, N.V., Planning of post-war economic development in India, Poona, Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics 1951
Box 57 Stanton, Edwin F., Brief authority, New York, Harper's 1956
Bulletins
Box 57 The Asia Foundation 1957-1963 (17 items)
Box 57 Background 1963 (1 item)
Box 57 Bulletin from the European Community 1958 (1 item)
Box 57 Congress Bulletin, All India Congress Committee 1945-1946 (2 items)
Box 57 Foreign Policy Bulletin 1959-1960 (2 items)
Box 57 Freedom First 1958-1967 (8 items)
Box 57 India Briefing 1965-1967 (6 items)
Box 57 India Trade Bulletin 1959 (1 item)
Box 57 Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin 1966 (1 item)
Box 57 Tata Institute of Social Sciences Bulletin, 1950-1951 (1 item)
Box 57 Trade Talk 1957-1959 (2 items)
Newsletters
Box 57 The Asia Society Calendar 1963-1967 (12 items)
Box 57 Asia Society Letter 1958-1960 (11 items)
Box 57 Newsletter of the Committee on South Asia 1958-1961 (5 items)
Box 57 Through the Bamboo Curtain 1963 (1 item)
Newspapers
Box 57 The Indian Express 1966-1967 (22 items)
Box 58 The Hindustan Times (109 items)
Pamphlets
Box 59 Address by B.G. Kher 1949
Box 59 Address by M. Asaf Ali 1 Mar 1950
Box 59 "Agenda 1961: New Principles for a New Age"
Box 59 "The All-India Women's Conference" undated - different topics (3 copies)
Box 59 "The Asia Foundation," June 1959
Box 59 Asian African Conference 18-24 April 1955 - Nehru's speeches
Box 59 "Aspects of Education," B.G. Kher 1948
Box 59 "Better Acquainted," Air India undated
Box 59 Bharat Sewak Samaj 12 Aug 1952 ( 3 copies)
Box 59 "Bird's eye view of 36 years of Co-operation in Hyderabad State" 1945-1949
Box 59 "Bombay Marches On" 1950
Box 59 "Bombay Marches On — Education" 1951
Box 59 "Broadcast Talks," K.N. Katju 14-18 Aug 1949
Box 59 "Building a Mutual Defense" April 1, 1951-October 9, 1951
Box 59 "Building a Sound Economy" November 1951
Box 59 "Building for Tomorrow" January 1954
Box 59 "Call to the Plow" 1947-1948
Box 59 "Consumer Co-operative in India During War-Time" 1944, 1945, 1946
Box 59 "Consumer's Co-operative Commonwealth," G.S. Bhartiya, May 1949
Box 59 "Co-operation and the Community" 1946
Box 59 "Co-operation in Assam (a new experiment)" 1945-1946
Box 59 "Co-operative Planning in Bombay Provinces," September 1947
Box 59 "Creed vs. Policy of Non-Violence," K.N. Katju 1949
Box 59 "Dateline . . . Saigon" undated
Box 59 "Defense Services Science Exhibition" January 21-24, 1950
Box 59 "Defending Our Frontiers" December, 1951
Box 59 "Democracy on the March" September, 1951
Box 59 "United States Department of Commerce in Foreign Technical Assistance" 1952
Box 59 "The Development Decade in the Balance," G.D. Woods January 1966
Box 59 "Development of Essential Oil Industry in V.P." undated
Box 59 "Development of Handmade Paper Industry" undated
Box 59 "Department of Scientific Research & Council of Scientific & Industrial Research" April 1949, undated (2 copies)
Box 59 "An Economic and Social Service," D.P. Mukerji October 1948
Box 59 "Education for Democracy," January 1952
Box 59 "Educational Exchanges," December 1949
Box 59 "Facts about Foreign Trade," April 1958
Box 59 "Flowers in the Desert," (Education) undated
Box 59 "For Better Health," December 1951
Box 59 "Foreign Trade: Challenge to Americans," James L. Vizzaro, April 1958
Box 59 "Four Years of the United Nations," B.P. Lamb, August-September 1949
Box 59 "Ghee Co-operatives in Uttat Pradesh," 1950
Box 59 "Glimpses of Co-operation in Bombay," 1950
Box 59 "The Golden Fibre," August 1948
Box 59 "A Guide to Maganradi" 1947
Box 59 "Guidance to Students Desiring Information on Advanced Study in the United States of America," March 1952 (2 copies)
Box 59 "The Harijan Movement," S.R. Nehru, 1940
Box 59 "Health Co-operatives," 1949?
Box 59 "Helping You to Grow More Food" 1949
Box 59 "Homage," January 29, 1948
Box 59 "Home Guards" undated
Box 59 "The Hyderabad Agricultural Co-operative Association Limited" undated
Box 59 "The Hyderabad Agricultural Co-operative Union, Limited" undated
Box 59 "The Hyderabad Problem" 1948
Box 59 "Hyderabad Reborn," September 18, 1948-March 17, 1949
Box 59 "Hydro-Electric Development in India," 1948
Box 59 "India," June, 1948
Box 59 "India Goes to the Polls" 1967
Box 59 "The Interrupted Dialogue," B.K. Nehru, November 1, 1966
Box 59 "Introduction to India," B.P. Lamb, October, 1960
Box 59 "I Shall Serve All Equally" 1947
Box 59 "Kalakshetra," November 17, 1959
Box 59 "Labour Legislation in India," ArS. Deshpande undated
Box 59 "Labor College," 8 pamphlets, January 6, 1947-November 30, 1947
Box 59 "Labour Governments at Work" 1949
Box 59 "Messages" 1961
Box 59 "Millions on the Move" undated
Box 59 "More from Mother Earth," July, 1951
Box 59 "More Typical Non-Credit Societies in India," undated
Box 59 "Mother and Baby Week," February 7-14, 1949
Box 59 "Muscle Can Do It" undated
Box 59 "My Work as Labour Officer," K. Dwarkadas, February 17, 1950
Box 59 "The National Chemical Laboratory of India, Poona" undated
Box 59 "Nationalism of Coal in India," August, 1948
Box 59 "New Burma Road" 1956
Box 59 "A New Mughel Mint" 1949
Box 59 "New Projects for Irrigation and Power in India" 1950
Box 59 "On the Home Front," October, 1951
Box 59 "Organization to Economic Cooperation and Development," December 14, 1960
Box 59 "Our Roads" 1949
Box 59 "Our Struggle for Freedom," Dr. Najib-Ullab, November, 1951
Box 59 "The Outlook for the United Nations," M.R. Masani, June 26, 1947
Box 59 "Pakhtoonistan and World Peace," Dr. Najib-Ullah, January 11, 1951
Box 59 "The Pakhtun Question" undated
Box 59 "Pakistan Persecutes Christians," February, 1964
Box 59 "Pandit Jawaharlal at the Bar," Dr. K.N. Katju undated
Box 59 "Passive Resistance in S. Africa," K.N. Menon, 1952 (2 copies)
Box 59 "Piper and the Tune," A. Mehta 1949
Box 59 "Point Four and Liberia" 1953
Box 59 "Point Four, What it is, How it works," 1953
Box 59 "Point Four Profiles" 1953
Box 59 "Prepare Your Own Manures This Easy Way," undated
Box 59 "Privileges Provided by the Bombay Government for the Backward Classes," September 30, 1949
Box 59 "Progress of Science," December, 1951
Box 59 "Prohibition Law in Bombay Province," December 1, 1949
Box 59 "Projects for Plenty," July, 1951
Box 59 "Protect Food and Seed Grains from Insects, Rats, and Moulds," November 3, 1949
Box 59 "Protecting Your Crops" 1950
Box 59 "The Railways Go Ahead," October, 1951
Box 59 "Reclamation of Kansland," undated (2 copies)
Box 59 "Rehabilitating the Uprooted," January, 1951
Box 59 "Rehabilitation of Displaced Persons," August, 1947
Box 59 "The Role of Voluntary Agencies in Technical Assistance, May, 1953
Box 59 "Self Inquiry" 1952
Box 59 "Self-Sufficiency in Food" undated
Box 59 "The Seventh Tuberculosis Worker's Conference," November 23, 1949 (2 copies)
Box 59 "Sherlock Holmes in Action in Real Life," K.N. Katju undated
Box 59 "Sherlock Holmes in India," K.N. Katju, undated - 2 different stories
Box 59 "South Africa on the Nazi Path," October, 1952
Box 59 Speech by Liaquat Ali Khan, February 20, 1949
Box 59 Speeches by Sir Mohummad Zafrullah Khan, January 24 and February 3, 4, 6, 11, 18, 1948
Box 59 "Square Deal for Labour," September 1951
Box 59 State Hotel, Aurangabad, India undated
Box 59 "The Story of My Father," K.N. Katju undated
Box 59 "The Tashkent Declaration," January 10, 1967
Box 59 "Technical Assistance," February, March, April 1957
Box 59 "Textile Labour Association" 1948
Box 59 "The Three Pillars of State 1949
Box 59 "Towards a Fuller Life in Bombay Province," October, 1946-March, 1948
Box 59 "Trade and Aid," B.P. Lamb 1953
Box 59 "The Training Ship Dufferin," May 1949
Box 59 "The Twelve Months of War in Kashmir," October 22, 1947
Box 59 "Twentieth Century India" 1944
Box 59 "Understanding Asia," June 1951
Box 59 UNESCO 1948
Box 59 "United Provinces Social Services Training Scheme," March 28, 1948
Box 59 "UP's Prosperity Plan" undated
Box 59 "Views of Maganradi" undated
Box 59 "We Put Freedom First," June 25, 1950
Box 59 "What They Think of Me," K.N. Katju July 24, 1949
Box 59 "Women's Welfare Work" 1948
Box 59 "The Work of the Asia Foundation," Robert Blum March 1956
Box 59 "The Exodus of Christians from Pakistan," 1964
Box 59 "World Problems and Our Peaceful Policy," Dr. Najib Ullah February 2, 1952
Periodicals
Box 59 Asia 1939
Box 59 Asiatic Digest 1950
Box 59 The Adyar Library Bulletin 1954
Box 59 Chetanai 1959
Box 59 China Report 1966
Box 59 Common Sense 1944
Box 59 Cultural News 1963
Box 59 Far Eastern Survey 1945, 1955 (2 items)
Box 59 Field Reporter 1952 (2 items)
Box 59 Gandhi Marq 1965
Box 59 The Hindu Weekly Review 1965-1967 (43 items)
Box 60 Indian and Foreign Review, 1967 complete 1964-1968 (24 items)
Box 60 Indonesia 1957, 1958
Box 60 Jadapour Journal of Comparative Literature 1964
Box 60 Kalakshatra 1961, 1962 (2 items)
Box 60 Nataya 1959-1960 (2 items)
Box 60 New History 1944
Box 60 Quest 1955-1967 (18 items)
Box 60 Rehabilitation Review 1949
Box 60 Round Table 1944
Box 60 Seminar 1962-1966 (25 items)
Box 60 The Survey 1950
Box 60 U.P. Information 1947 (2 items)
Box 60 Voice of India 1946
Box 60 Weekend Review 1966-1967 (19 items)
Box 61 Weekly India News 1963-1968
Box 61 Yojana 1966
Reports
Box 61 Adivasi Seva Mandal, Sixth Annual Report 1948
Box 61 The All-India Village Industries Association 1946
Box 61 The All-India Women's Conference 1949
Box 61 The All-India Women's Conference 1950
Box 61 Appendix to Demands for Grants 1951
Box 61 Bharay Sevak Samaj 1952
Box 61 The Bombay Tenancy and Agricultural Lands Act 1948
Box 61 A Brief Account of the Various Activities by the Textile Labour Association Ahmedabad
Box 61 Budget of the Central Government of Pakistan 1949
Box 61 Budget of the Central Government of Pakistan 1950
Box 61 Carnegie Endowment for International Peace 1958
Box 61 The Case against Increased Import Barriers on Lead and Zinc 1958
Box 61 Central Banking in India 1948
Box 61 Central Budget for 1948-1949
Box 61 Central Budget for 1949-1950
Box 61 Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (India) 1949
Box 61 A Decade of Labour Legislation in India 1937-1948
Box 61 Dharave, An Economic and Social Survey of a Village in the Suburbs of Bombay
Box 61 Employees State Insurance Act 1948
Box 61 Government of Pakistan Budget 1950-1951
Box 61 Hind Mazdoor Sabha, Report of the Calcutta Conference 1948
Box 61 India Record 1950
Box 61 India United Mills, Labour Welfare Activities 1944-1948
Box 61 Indian Hospitality Committee 1948-1949
Box 61 Indian National Congress, 56th session 1950
Box 61 Indian National Congress, 57th session 1951
Box 61 Industrial Finance Corporation of India 1949
Box 61 Information on Scholarships
Box 61 Let Figures Tell 1949
Box 61 Madras Civil Liberties Union 1948
Box 61 Memorandum, Idara Talum-O-Tara QQI, Institute of Adult and Social Education
Box 61 Ministry of Information and Broadcasting 1948-1949
Box 61 Mutual Security Act of 1952 Conference Report
Box 61 Mutual Security Program for Fiscal Year 1953
Box 61 Mutual Security Program for Fiscal Year 1954
Box 61 The Mutual Security Program, Second Report for Congress 1952
Box 61 The Mutual Security Program, Third Report to Congress 1952
Box 61 Progress of Co-operatives in the United Provinces 1948-1949
Box 61 The Ramakrishna Mission Institute of Culture 1948
Box 61 Report of the Health Survey and Development Committee 1945
Box 61 Report of the Islamia Hospital 1945-1946
Box 61 Report of the Islamia Hospital 1946-1947
Box 61 Report of the Islamia Hospital 1947-1948
Box 61 Report of the Islamia Hospital 1948-1949
Box 61 Report on Kalakshetra 1936-1961
Box 61 Report on the Working of the Forest Labourers' Co-operative Society 1947-1948
Box 61 Report of the Working of the Forest Labourers' Co-operative Society 1948-1949
Box 61 A Report to You
Box 61 Resolution and Statement 1948
Box 61 A Retrospect, Administration of United Provinces 1948-1949
Box 61 Seven Years of Work, 8th Annual Report 1938-1946
Box 61 The Sinners Sind 1946
Box 61 Some Typical Non-Credit Societies in India 1933
Box 61 State vs. Liberty 1949
Box 61 Stockpile Report to the Congress 1953
Box 61 Supplement to Demands for Grants 1950-1951
Box 61 U.N. Commission for India and Pakistan 1948
Box 61 Working of the Workman's Compensation Act 1923, 1947

Return to top