Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Nanking Incident Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Nanking Incident Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1927-1929, undated
Quantity: 1 folder, approx. 20 items (SC)
Abstract: Collection of letters, statements, clippings relating to the March 1927 invasion of the city by the Kuomintang (Chinese Nationalist) troops.
Language: English, small amount of Chinese
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Nanking Incident occurred on March 21-23, 1927 when Kuomintang (Chinese Nationalist) troops entered the city as part of the Communist Party of China's Northern Expedition during the Chinese Revolution. Troops particularly targeted the city's foreign residents; several were killed or injured and their property looted, and the American, Japanese and British consulates were attacked. Western and Japanese warships on the river responded by shelling Chinese forces in an effort to stop the looting of the city. The Nationalist Government blamed "communists and their evil influences" for the disturbance.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nanking Incident Collection consists of clippings, statements, and letters. Authors of the items include private citizens as well as the University of Nanking, the China Christian Educational Association, the acting president of Central China University, and Canton Union Theological College.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Brown, Fred R., 1888-1966.
Pryor, Helen (Brenton) 1897-

Corporate Bodies

China Christian Educational Association.

Subjects

Communism -- China.
Zhongguo guo min dang.

Places

China -- History -- Military
Nanjing (Jiangsu Sheng, China) -- History

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Letters (correspondence)
Reports.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nanking Incident Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: March 2003
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Descriptions of the Nanking incident
SC 203 Newsclipping, Shanghai Times 25 April 1927
SC 203 Statement by Helen Brenton Pryor, typescript carbon (7 pp.)
SC 203 Statement by Dr. Harry F. Rowe, typescript (2 pp.)
SC 203 Statement by R.J. Pryor, typescript (8 pp.)
SC 203 Statement by Dr. Brown, printed (5 pp.)
SC 203 Statement by Miss Golisch, printed (6 pp.)
Correspondence and reports
University of Nanking
SC 203 John H. Reisner 1927-1928 - letters no. 6-11, printed; discusses military and political situations, conditions on campus, soldiers in the buildings, budget, repairs, etc. (66 pp.)
SC 203 A.J. Bowen (Reisner's successor) October 1928-April 1929 - continuation of above letters, printed (13 pp.)
China Christian Educational Association, Shanghai
Printed material
SC 203 "A statement to Chinese friends," by a group of Nanking missionaries April 21, 1927 (4 pp.)
SC 203 "Christian education in Nanchang," by Fred R. Brown (3 pp.)
Correspondence and reports
SC 203 Sanford C. C. Chen, letter "Dear Friend..." May 2, 1927 - lists and describes following reports
SC 203 no. 348 Christian schools under the Nationalist government (4 pp.)
SC 203 no. 349 letter from acting president of Central China University (3 pp.)
SC 203 no. 355 Christian schools under the Nationalist government, by E. W. Wallace - report of visit to Wuhan (14 pp.)
SC 203 no. 367 Inter-Provincial Conference of the English Baptist Mission (2 pp.)
SC 203 no. 369 Extract from a letter by Mrs. J.R. Lingle, Fuh Siang Girls' School, Changsha (2 pp.)
SC 203 no. 371 Canton Union Theological College (1 pp.)
SC 203 no. 372 Conference with Dr. W.H. Kilpatrick (3 pp.)
SC 203 no. 374 H.C. Tsao - report of visit to Wuhan (11 pp.)
SC 203 no. 375 Conference of Missionary Educators, Shanghai (7 pp.)
SC 203 Duplicate set of above letters and reports

Return to top