Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Joseph H. Murphy Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Murphy, Joseph H. (Joseph Hawley), 1916-
Title: Joseph H. Murphy Papers
Inclusive Dates: before 1971
Quantity: 16 linear ft.
Abstract: Speeches, press releases, clippings, printed and published material relating to the New York State tax commissioner.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph H. Murphy (1916-1986) was an American attorney and New York State Commissioner of Taxation and Finance from 1959-1969. He was a graduate of Syracuse University.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph H. Murphy Papers consist of speeches, press releases, clippings, printed and published material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is unprocessed and accessible by special permission only.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Murphy, Joseph H. (Joseph Hawley), 1916-

Subjects

Tax administration and procedure -- New York (State)
Taxation -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State). -- Dept. of Taxation and Finance.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Press releases.
Speeches.

Occupations

Lawyers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph H. Murphy Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Portions gift of Frank Otwell, 1968, 1969.

Portions gift of Joseph H. Murphy, 1969, 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Mar 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top