Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Walt Munson Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Munson, Walt.
Title: Walt Munson Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1965-1970
Quantity: 1.67 linear ft.
Abstract: 27 original sports cartoons and 7 proofs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Walt Munson was an American sports cartoonist and illustrator.

Munson worked as a cartoonist for the New Haven Register from approximately the early 1940s through 1974. Prior to this, he drew the single panel cartoon, Such is Life and illustrated comic postcards.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Walt Munson Cartoons are divided into two series. Cartoons (1965-1970, undated) contains 27 original sports cartoons produced for the New Haven Register. A variety of sports are caricatured, however Munson's attention is frequently on college sports played by Yale University and other Ivy League teams.

Sixteen cartoons have dates stamped on the back. The cartoons vary in size with the largest measuring approximately 11 1/2" x 17 1/2". The cartoons were drawn primarily with ink on illustration board and Graphix paper. Some were drawn with crayon and traces of pencil are visible.

Proofs and Tearsheet (1970, undated) contains 7 items. Several are about the interruption of college sporting events by campus protests and demonstrations.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Dated items are arranged in chronological order and undated items are arranged in alphabetical order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Munson, Walt.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Baseball -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Basketball -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Boxing -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Caricatures and cartoons -- Connecticut.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Connecticut.
Cartoonists -- United States.
College sports -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Demonstrations -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Football -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Golf -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Hockey -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Horse racing -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Ivy League (Athletic conference) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Sports -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Student protesters -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Yale University -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Proofs (printed matter)
Tear sheets.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Walt Munson Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Walt Munson, 1967, 1969, 1971 and 1972.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 2 Dec 2008
Revision history: 2 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 6 Jan 2010 - added bio, scope and detailed inventory (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
Oversize 1 1965
Feb 5: Will You Be My Valentine: horse racing, track and field, Yale University, wrestling, Brown University, Ivy League
Oct 9: Sportsnotes Scientist to Spend $63,000 to Learn Why Birds Warble
Oversize 1 1967
Apr 8: The Greeks had a word for it "Go man go!": baseball, chariot racing, Yale University, basketball, Muhammad Ali
Jul 8: Box Office Draw: baseball
Oct 14: Sports Love in Bloom: New York Mets, Washington Senators, Boston Red Sox, hockey
Oversize 1 1968
Jan 13: [Superbowl]: Oakland Raiders, Green Bay Packers
Feb 3: Chef's Special: Yale University, Ivy League
Mar 1: Back to the Drawing Board: sports stadiums and arenas
Oct 8: What Is Your Favorite Sport?
Oct 12: PenPost Mortem: World Series, football, Columbia, Mickey Lolich
Oversize 1 1969
Oct 11: It's the new sports compact made isn't it?: football, basketball, hockey, baseball, New York Mets
Oversize 1 1970
Jan 17: National Collegiate Athletic Association Puts Yale University Athletes on two-year probation: NCAA, Yale University
Feb 28: Speaking of Air Pollution- Around the Sportspark...we are: sports heroes
Apr 13: Ivy League Completes Budget Talks
May 9: Oh! Somewhere in this favored landed the sun is shining bright...
May 25: Book Review: Jim Bouton, horse racing, New York Mets, Boston Patriots
Oversize 1 Undated
Ah Yes, Sweet smell of flowers in spring sportstime!: baseball, hockey, basketball, boxing
Along sportslines: golf, sportswriters
Coming Attractions at Home and Away: football, Harvard, Yale University, Michigan State, Notre Dame
Let's not disappoint dear old mother: Yale University, Ivy League
Our National Pastime: football
Picket Lines: boxing, golf, Navy, cheerleaders (Jan. 8)
Seasonal Greeting Cards are in the mail: Leo Durocher, Eddie Stanky, Boston Red Sox, boxing, NCAA, Yale University, Al Dark
Stop the press- stop your kidding: Princeton, Yale University, football
State of the Union Sports Report to Congress
Trick or Treat...shall we dance?: Dartmouth, Yale University, football
Vote the Straight sports ticket: Boston Red Sox, boxing, golf, New York City
Proofs and Tearsheet
Oversize 1 1970
[Yale University's Two Year Suspension by the NCAA] (2 copies)
Sep 13: Sportslines...Love and Tears: demonstrations by football players in favor of a coaching change (photocopy of the original, note about Syracuse University written at top)
Oversize 1 Undated
Go Ahead. Read me the Funnies. I could use a laugh: college student demonstrations
Oh! Somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright:...: college student demonstrations
Where Have all the fans gone?: baseball, horse racing
To Have and to Hold- for better and worse: National League baseball expansion

Return to top