Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Willard Mullin Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mullin, Willard, 1902-1978
Title: Willard Mullin Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1961-1966
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft.
Abstract: 240 original sports cartoons.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Willard Harlan Mullin (1902-1978) was an American sports cartoonist and illustrator.

Though born in the mid-west, Willard Mullin spent his formative years in Los Angeles, California, and it was there that he broke into the newspaper business as a staff artist for the Los Angeles Herald in 1923. In 1934, after brief stints with papers in Ft. Worth and San Antonio, Mullin landed with the New York World-Telegram and Sun where he would remain as sports cartoonist for the bulk of his career. Mullin was highly influential and is often cited as a major influence on many of the great sports cartoonists of the following generation, including Karl Hubenthal and Gene Basset. Mullin's career spanned a legendary era in New York sports history, and his images of the great Yankees teams, the Brooklyn Dodgers, the New York Giants and Mets are iconic. Possibly, Mullin's most famous creation was the "Brooklyn Bum"—a colorful Dodger fanatic who later followed the franchise west—but he was also noted for his "Mets kid" and "St. Louis Swifty" characters, as well as and his skillful renderings of animals and other team mascots. When the World-Telegram and Sun folded in 1966, Mullin continued doing freelance work, publishing sports illustrations and cartoons in The Sporting News, the Saturday Evening Postand Life, among many others. Willard Mullin received the National Cartoonist Society's prestigious Reuben Award in 1954 and the NCS award for Sports Cartoons eight times (1957-1962, 1964, 1965). In 1971, the NCS named him "Sports Cartoonist of the Century".

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Willard Mullin Cartoons collection contains 240 original sports cartoons from the early to mid 1960s. Most of the cartoons deal with New York sports topics including Yankees baseball, Giants and Jets football, the Mets, Madison Square Garden events and horse racing. There are a substantial number of cartoons dealing with boxing, especially the Cassius Clay/Sonny Liston fights of 1964 and 1965. The many New York Yankees cartoons in the collection are particularly representative of the team's 1964 campaign with Yogi Berra as manager, usually noted as the end of the great Yankees dynasty. There are many appearances of the Brooklyn Bum, the Mets kid, the St. Louis Swifty, and many other stock characters and animal mascots.

As the cartoons are not specifically dated, dates listed in inventory are derived from context. Original cartoon: traces of graphite, crayon, zipatone, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 15 x 22 in.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged by sport and sorted in alphabetical order by title (or prominent caption, if untitled).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Mullin, Willard, 1902-1978.

Associated Titles

New York world-telegram and the sun.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
New York Yankees (Baseball team) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Sports -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Willard Mullin Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: 1968
Revision history: 3 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 3 Mar 2009 - revised (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

*text in brackets taken from prominent caption.

Baseball cartoons (83)
Box 1 "Advice From The Lovelorn" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Casey Stengel, Mets kid, Mets fans
Box 1 "[A.L. Pitching Averages…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Twins
Box 1 "All The Answers" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, George Weiss
Box 1 "Allegro" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Phillies, Mets kid
Box 1 "Among The Missing" 1966 - key words:Yankees, Red Sox, Mickey Mantle
Box 1 "Anchors Aweigh" 1965 - key words:Yankees, White Sox
Box 1 "…And So To Baltimore" 1966 - key words:Dodgers, Orioles, Brooklyn Bum, oriole, 1966 World Series
Box 1 "The Antidote?" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Athletics, Kansas City, "kissing cousin"
Box 1 "Balk!" 1961-1966 - key words:Ford Frick, umpires, balk rule, Warren Giles, National League
Box 1 "The Best Team I Ever Had'" 1965 - key words:Yankees, Johnny Keane, Cardinals, St. Louis Swifty, 1965 season
Box 1 "Betsy Ross; Circa 1964" 1964 - key words:Yankees, Yogi Berra, Ralph Hauk, 1964 season
Box 1 "Big Boy Now" 1961-1966 - key words:Phillies, Bob Carpenter
Box 1 "[The Big Hearted N.L. Has A New Plan…]" 1961-1966 - key words:National League, Warren Giles, labor issues, Mets kid, Colt .45s cowboy, Yankee player
Box 1 "Bird Watcher" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Orioles, oriole
Box 1 "A Bit Warm For A Blanket" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, White Sox, Red Sox, Orioles, Kansas City Athletics, A.L. 1st division
Box 1 "Bombs Away" 1964 - key words:Yankees, Yogi Berra, Ralph Hauk, 1964 season
Box 1 "[By A Strange Coincidence The Kansas City Athletics…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Charles O. Finley, Athletics, Kansas City
Box 1 "Cinderella…." 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Wes Westrum, Dick Stuart, Marv Throneberry, Mets kid
Box 1 "The Compact Job" 1964 - key words:Yankees, Yogi Berra, 1964 season
Box 1 "The Company He Keeps" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Giants, Dodgers, Brooklyn Bum, Mets kid
Box 1 "Easter Egg Hunt" 1961-1966 - key words:Al Lopez, White Sox, Yankees
Box 1 "Enter The Patsy" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Giants, Mets kid
Box 1 "Even Split" 1964 - key words:Yankees, Cardinals, St. Louis Swifty, 1964 World Series
Box 1 "Flagpole?" 1961-1966 - key words:Frank Robinson, Orioles
Box 1 "Gilled!" 1961-1966 - key words:Gil Hodges, Senators, Yankees
Box 1 "Goin' My Way?" 1964 - key words:Yankees, Mets, Mets kid, spring training
Box 1 "Good Enough Ain't Enough" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Pirates, Don Cardwell, Mets kid, pirate, "5 errors"
Box 1 "Hold That Tiger" 1963 - key words:Yankees, Tigers, tiger
Box 1 "Home Is The Hero" 1964 - key words:Yankees, cab ride
Box 1 "Home Coming" 1965 - key words:Yankees, Johnny Keane, Twins
Box 1 "The Homefires" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets fans, radio
Box 1 "How-Do, Again…" 1965 - key words:Dodgers, Twins, Brooklyn Bum, Willard Mullin, 1965 World Series
Box 1 "[It Would Be Our Guess That Old Adage…]" 1961-1966 - key words:American League playoff picture
Box 1 "Jingle Bells" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Twins, snowball
Box 1 "Manna From Heaven" 1961-1966 - key words:Fred Reichardt, Angels, Yankees
Box 1 "[The Mets Went Into The Pirates' Den…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Pirates, Mets kid, pirate
Box 1 "[The Mets Will Never Forget Their Finest Hour…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Billy Williams, Mets, Cubs, Mets kid
Box 1 "Monkey Business" 1961-1966 - key words:Dodgers, Brooklyn Bum, Walter O'Malley, Walt Alston, Buzz Bavasi, Charlie Dressen, Leo Durocher
Box 1 "Nail Everything Down!" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Braves, Native American figure, Mets kid
Box 1 "The 'New Breed'?" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Braves, Native American figure, Mets kid, "Boston-Milwaukee-Atlanta-wither-so-ever Braves"
Box 1 "Next Course!" 1966 - key words:Mets, Reds, Opening Day 1966
Box 1 "Non-Objective Painting" 1961-1966 - key words:Charles O. Finley, Athletics, Kansas City, American League
Box 1 "Not His Dish" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, spring training, Grapefruit League
Box 1 "[Now Is The Time For The General Managers…]" 1961-1966 - key words:N.L. and A.L. presidents
Box 1 "Off And Running…But Not Very Fast…" 1966 - key words:Mets, Reds, Yankees, Tigers, Mets kid, tiger, Opening Day 1966
Box 1 "Oh, Say Can You See" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Mets, Mets kid
Box 1 "Ole!" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, White Sox, wild bull
Box 1 "On The Beam…" 1965 - key words:Dodgers, Brooklyn Bum, 1965 World Series
Box 1 "Onward And Upward" 1965 - key words:Yankees, Angels, angel
Box 1 "[Orioles 4 …]" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankee players looking up at A.L. results on scoreboard
Box 1 "[Our Little Guy Must Be Growing Up…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Mets kid, "Miss N.L. pennant"
Box 1 "The Pasty Eater" 1961-1966 - key words:Phillies, Colt .45s (Houston), Cubs, Mets, Giants, colt, bear cub
Box 1 "Play-Mates" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Astros, Mets kid, Colt .45s cowboy
Box 1 "Playmates" 1961-1966 - key words:Phillies, Giants, "Carpenter's kids"
Box 1 "Portrait Of A Self-Satisfied Gent" 1963 - key words:Mickey Mantle, Joe Pepitone, All-Star Game
Box 1 "Put Out More Flags" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Mets, Mets kid
Box 1 "Quiz Program" 1961-1966 - key words:Alfonso Ramon Lopez, White Sox, Indians, Yankees
Box 1 "Recording Secretary" 1964 - key words:Jim Bunning, Mets, Phillies, Mets kid
Box 1 "Reunion In Cooperstown" 1966 - key words:Casey Stengel, Baseball Hall of Fame, Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb, Lou Gehrig, Mel Ott, Walter Johnson
Box 1 "A Run On Sox" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, White Sox
Box 1 "Show-Down" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Orioles, White Sox
Box 1 "[Since The Yankee Season Started…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, rain out
Box 1 "Stee-e-rike!" 1961-1966 - key words:National League umpires
Box 1 "Stormy Weather" 1966 - key words:Yankees, Tigers, Mets, Reds, Mets kid, Opening Day 1966
Box 1 "[That The Yankees Win By Clobbering The Pretenders…]" 1964 - key words:Yankees, Orioles, Yogi Berra, 1964 season
Box 1 "There Are Some He'd Like To Skip" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Mets kid
Box 1 "They Went That Way?" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, 6th place
Box 1 "Tim-b-e-r-r-r" 1961-1966 - key words:Harmon Killebrew, Twins, Yankees
Box 1 "To The Rescue!" 1964 - key words:Mets, Phillies, Mets kid, Phillies 1964 collapse
Box 1 "The Trophy" 1966 - key words:Yankees, Mets, Mets kid, Mayor's Trophy Game 1966, Mayor Robert F. Wagner, Jr.
Box 1 "[Two New Boys With Different Problems]" 1964 - key words:Yogi Berra, Hank Bauer, Yankees, Orioles, 1964 season
Box 1 "Two-Week Vacation" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, travel agent
Box 1 "Up To His Old Tricks" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Cardinals, Mets kid, St. Louis Swifty
Box 1 "Watch The Birdie" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Orioles, oriole
Box 1 "What Agenda?" 1961-1966 - key words:N.L. and A.L. presidents, Joint Major League Baseball Meetings
Box 1 "[When The Yankees Left Home Ten Days Ago…]" 1964 - key words:Yankees, Yogi Berra, flying carpet, 1964 season
Box 1 "Wins Are Where You Find 'Em" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, White Sox
Box 1 "[With The First All-Star Thing In The Books…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Angels, angel
Box 1 "[The Yankees And Dodgers Have Taken Off…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Dodgers, Yankees, Brooklyn Bum
Box 1 "[The Yankees Were In First Place When…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, White Sox
Box 1 "[Yankees, With a 4 Game Winning String…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Angels
Box 1 "You Can't Prove It In L.A." 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, Cubs, Leo Durocher, bear cub
Box 1 "Young Man's Burden" 1961-1966 - key words:Bobby Murcer, Yankees
Basketball cartoons (4)
Box 2 "Dan Cupid In Spades" 1961-1966 - key words:Knicks, Celtics, Ned Irish
Box 2 "Metropolitan Standoff…" 1961-1966 - key words:NYU, Fordham, St. Francis, Manhattan, Pa Knickerbocker
Box 2 "Neighborhood Rumble" 1961-1966 - key words:NYU, Fordham, St. Francis, Manhattan, Pa Knickerbocker
Box 2 "Not Enough To Go 'Round" 1961-1966 - key words:NIT, NCAA Tournament
Box 2 "[Pre-Season Predictions…]" 1961-1966 - key words:NYU, Syracuse, Lou Rossini, NIT
Boxing cartoons (19)
Box 2 "As Maine Goes…" 1965 - key words:Cassius Clay, Sonny Liston, Lewiston (Maine)
Box 2 "Awsk 'Ennery" 1964 - key words:Henry Cooper, Cassius Clay, Sonny Liston, Miami
Box 2 "[Everyone Within 400 Miles…]" 1965 - key words:Cassius Clay, Sonny Liston, Lewiston (Maine), Willard Mullin
Box 2 "Feet Of Clay" 1961-1966 - key words:Cassius Clay (Muhammad Ali), crumbled statue
Box 2 "The Foundling" 1965 - key words:Lewiston (Maine), Cassius Clay, Sonny Liston
Box 2 "Hands Up!" 1966 - key words:Cassius Clay, Ernie Terrell, Houston (Texas)
Box 2 "The Hat Trick" 1966 - key words:Emile Griffith, Joey Archer, Dick Tiger
Box 2 "Hot Air" 1964 - key words:Cassius Clay, Sonny Liston, Miami
Box 2 "The Kid Brother" 1961 - key words:Floyd Patterson, Ingemar Johansson, Raymond Patterson
Box 2 "[The Only Thing We Really Don't Know…]" 1966 - key words:Cassius Clay, Cleveland Williams, Houston (Texas)
Box 2 "Q And A" 1965 - key words:Cassius Clay, Sonny Liston, Lewiston (Maine), Willard Mullin
Box 2 "[Richard Ihetu Is A Personable Young Man…]" 1963 - key words:Dick Tiger (Richard Ihetu), Joey Giardello, tiger
Box 2 "Shadow Boxers" 1965 - key words:Zora Folley, Oscar Bonavena
Box 2 "Situation Normal" 1963 - key words:Luis Rodriguez, Skeeter McClure, Knicks, Rangers, Madison Square Garden
Box 2 "Sonny Side Of The Street" 1963 - key words:Floyd Patterson, Sonny Liston, Cassius Clay, Henry Cooper, Billy Daniels, Doug Jones
Box 2 "Target For Tonight" 1966 - key words:Joey Archer, Emile Giffith
Box 2 "What'll Ya Bet?" 1963 - key words:Floyd Patterson, Sonny Liston
Box 2 "Who's Fighting Whom?" 1964 - key words:Cassius Clay
Box 2 "Who's Who" 1961-1966 - key words:Willie Pastrano, Joey Giradello, Emile Griffith, Carlos Ortiz, Ultimino Ramos, Eder Jofre, Pone Kingpetch, Willard Mullin
Football (College) cartoons (26)
Box 2 "All For One" 1966 - key words:Notre Dame, Michigan State
Box 2 "Book Learnin'" 1964 - key words:Roger Staubach, Navy, Penn State
Box 2 "Bull In The China Shop" 1961-1966 - key words:College bowl schedule
Box 2 "Cat Expert" 1961-1966 - key words:Harvard, Yale, Ivy League
Box 2 "The Chosen Few" 1963 - key words:Roger Staubach, Dick Butkus, Bob Brown, Scott Appleton, All-America team selections
Box 2 "For The "Tie"" 1964 - key words:Army, Navy, Roger Staubach, Wayne Hardin
Box 2 "Gotham Bowl" 1961 - key words:Ron Bull, Merlin Olsen, Utah State, Baylor, Gotham Bowl
Box 2 "Imagined…Or For Real?" 1963 - key words:Navy, Duke, Roger Staubach, devil, mid-shipmen
Box 2 "[The Ivy League This Year…]" 1964 - key words:Princeton, Ivy League, tiger
Box 2 "The Jolly Roger" 1961-1966 - key words:Roger Staubach, Navy, Army
Box 2 "Kipling Was Right" 1966 - key words:UCLA, Penn State, Syracuse, Pittsburgh
Box 2 "Lucullan Fare" 1961-1966 - key words:Pro Football Draft
Box 2 "The Missing Pieces" 1964 - key words:Syracuse, Army, Yankee Stadium, Willard Mullin
Box 2 "[Oh, Sure We Know…]" 1963 - key words:West Virginia, Pittsburgh, mountaineer, panther
Box 2 "The Old Army Game" 1966 - key words:Army, Navy, Willard Mullin
Box 2 "[The Only Common Opponent…]" 1963 - key words:Pittsburgh, Army, panther
Box 2 "Operation Fountain Pen" 1961-1966 - key words:College stars, NBC, CBS, Pro Football Draft
Box 2 "Pall Over Pasadena" 1966 - key words:Notre Dame, Purdue, USC, Rose Bowl
Box 2 "Peregrine V. Pedestrian" 1961-1966 - key words:Army, Air Force, falcon
Box 2 "Private Fight" 1963 - key words:Illinois, Big Ten
Box 2 "Re-Run" 1964 - key words:Roger Staubach, Carl Stichweh, North-South Game
Box 2 "R.I.P." 1965 - key words:Army, Paul Dietzel, free substitution rule
Box 2 "[Saturday You Can Tune In…]" 1964 - key words:Utah, West Virginia, Liberty Bowl
Box 2 "Stone-Age Bunyan" 1965 - key words:WAC, two platoon football, free substitution
Box 2 "Swing It" 1963 - key words:Army, Navy, Cotton Bowl
Box 2 "The Vision Of Early Fall" 1963 - key words:College All-Star Game
Football (Pro) cartoons (36)
Box 2 "Added Starters" 1966 - key words:Cardinals, Bears, Halloween
Box 2 "All Right! All Right!" 1961-1966 - key words:Giants, Cardinals, Jets
Box 2 "Animal Husbandry" 1963 - key words:Giants, Packers, Bears, Lions, Colts, bear, lion, colt
Box 2 "Ashes To Ashes…" 1964 - key words:Giants, Browns
Box 2 "Bone Of Contention" 1964 - key words:Giants, Steelers
Box 2 "A Day With The Patsies" 1966 - key words:Giants, Jets
Box 2 "Don't Ask" 1966 - key words:Giants, Cardinals
Box 2 "Double Feature" 1965 - key words:Giants, Jets, Cowboys, Bills, gun fighter, Buffalo Bill
Box 2 "Enter Pro-Football" 1964 - key words:Giants, Jets, Eagles, Mets kid
Box 2 "Fall Speed Ahead" 1961-1966 - key words:Giants, training camp
Box 2 "Final-Final" 1963 - key words:NFL/AFL All-Star games
Box 2 "Halp!" 1963 - key words:Giants, Eagles, Steelers
Box 2 "Heavy, Heay…" 1961-1966 - key words:Giants, Browns, Jim Brown
Box 2 "Home, Sweat Home" 1961-1966 - key words:Jets
Box 2 "Homecoming" 1964 - key words:Giants, Redskins, Sam Huff, Davis Cup, Dennis Ralston, Chuck McKinley, tennis
Box 2 "In His Hair" 1963 - key words:Giants, Jets, Packers, Allie Sherman, Weeb Ewbank
Box 2 "Just Can't Wait" 1966 - key words:Pro Football schedule
Box 2 "…Meanwhile Back At The Wrench" 1965 - key words:Giants, Jets
Box 2 "Next!" 1966 - key words:Giants, Redskins, Native American
Box 2 "Not Much Of A Santa Claus" 1966 - key words:Giants, Cardinals, Santa Claus
Box 2 "O! What A Fall Was There…" 1966 - key words:Giants, Steelers
Box 2 "Pigskin Diet" 1961-1966 - key words:Jets, Bills, Joe Namath, buffalo
Box 2 "Poor Timing" 1961-1966 - key words:Bears, Packers, 49'ers
Box 2 "Pur-r-r-r-r-r-r" 1963 - key words:Giants, Eagles, Y.A. Tittle, Allie Sherman, eagle
Box 2 "The Raw Material" 1965 - key words:Giants, Jets, Allie Sherman, Weeb Ewbank
Box 2 "Reward In Miami" 1961-1966 - key words:Giants
Box 2 "Santa Claws!" 1963 - key words:Giants, Bears, Y.A. Tittle, bear, NFL Championship
Box 2 "Season's Greetings" 1961-1966 - key words:4th Annual American Football Coaches All-American Game
Box 2 "Short Summer - Hot, But Short" 1961-1966 - key words:Giants, Jets, exhibition season opens (Giants/Bears in Ithaca)
Box 2 "Silver-Lining Department" 1961-1966 - key words:Giants, Jets
Box 2 "Super Bowl ($1,200,000.00 )" 1966 - key words:Packers, Chiefs, Native American, Super Bowl
Box 2 "[Tell Me Not In Mournful Numbers…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Giants
Box 2 "Top Hand" 1961-1966 - key words:Jets, Chargers, horse
Box 2 "Wheeling and Dealing" 1964 - key words:Giants, Cardinals, St. Louis Swifty
Box 2 "The Wrecker" 1963 - key words:Steelers, Giants, Bears
Box 2 "You Explain It" 1964 - key words:Giants, Redskins, Cowboys, Cardinals, Jets
Golf cartoons (6)
Box 3 "Bugged" 1963 - key words:Sam Snead
Box 3 "The Congressional" 1961-1966 - key words:The Congressional, tiger
Box 3 "Deep Drain The Cup" 1964 - key words:Tony Lema
Box 3 "Deep Fill The Cup…" 1965 - key words:Tony Lema, British Open
Box 3 "…The Gang's All Here" 1961-1966 - key words:The Thunderbird, Pa Knickerbocker, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "I'm In The Rough" 1961-1966 - key words:U.S. Open
Hockey cartoons (6)
Box 3 "The Art Critic" 1961-1966 - key words:Rangers, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "Brothers Under The Skin" 1961-1966 - key words:Rangers, hockey fans, The New Breed (Mets fan)
Box 3 "A Good Round Figure" 1961-1966 - key words:Rangers
Box 3 "Hottest Thing On Ice" 1961-1966 - key words:Rangers
Box 3 "Our Heroes" 1961-1966 - key words:Rangers, sports writers
Box 3 "The Well Dressed Man" 1961-1966 - key words:Rangers, Maple Leafs
Horse Racing cartoons (37)
Box 3 "Art Critics" 1961-1966 - key words:Speedy Scot, Realization Stakes, Frederick van Lennep, Ralph Baldwin, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "The Big Apple" 1961-1966 - key words:Aqueduct, last race of the season
Box 3 "The Bird Watchers" 1961-1966 - key words:Flamingo Stakes, Roman Brother, Northern Dancer, flamingo
Box 3 "Birds Of A Feather" 1961-1966 - key words:Flamingo Stakes, Hail to All, Native Charger, Johnny Sellers
Box 3 "Bon Voyage" 1961-1966 - key words:Kentucky Derby, No Robbery, John Graver
Box 3 "Cotton-Batting Candidates" 1961-1966 - key words:Sadair, Bold Lad, Bill Winfrey, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "Don't Bet On It" 1961-1966 - key words:Kentucky Derby, Damascus, Willie Shoemaker, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "Good Samaritan" 1961-1966 - key words:Aqueduct takes its annual break
Box 3 "The Horse's Mouth" 1961-1966 - key words:Bret Hanover, Richard Downing, Futurity Stakes, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "It Must Be Hay!" 1961-1966 - key words:Aqueduct, Nelson Rockefeller, Bob Wagner
Box 3 "A Little Piece Of Real Estate…" 1961-1966 - key words:Dapper Dan, Belmont Stakes
Box 3 "The Lock" 1961-1966 - key words:Bret Hanover, Adios, Commodore Stakes, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "Meeting Themselves Coming Back" 1961-1966 - key words:Yonkers Raceway, harness racing
Box 3 "[Northern Dancer]" 1961-1966 - key words:Northern Dancer, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "[The NYRA Hangs Up An Extra...]" 1961-1966 - key words:Bob Ussery, Smart Deb, NYRA
Box 3 "…Off Whose Noose?" 1961-1966 - key words:Cardigan Bay, International Stakes, Yonkers Raceway
Box 3 "[Old Timers Around Any Sports Beat…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Overtrick, Realization Stakes
Box 3 "Only Money" 1961-1966 - key words:unclaimed winnings
Box 3 "Owner And Prop" 1961-1966 - key words:Jaipur, Manuel Ycaza, Donut King, Gotham Stakes
Box 3 "Pegged Out" 1961-1966 - key words:Manuel Ycaza, Iron Peg
Box 3 "Picture Horse" 1961-1966 - key words:Kelso, Suburban Stakes
Box 3 "Right From The Horse's Mouth…" 1961-1966 - key words:Kentucky Derby prospects, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "Rolling Home…" 1961-1966 - key words:Kelso, Brooklyn Stakes
Box 3 "Roosevelt Raceway" 1961-1966 - key words:Roosevelt Raceway, Yonkers Raceway, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "The Runt" 1961-1966 - key words:Roman Brother
Box 3 "A Salute" 1961-1966 - key words:Flag Raiser, Bob Ussery, Preakness Stakes
Box 3 "Same Old Story" 1961-1966 - key words:Off Track Betting, New York State government
Box 3 "The Shoe Fits" 1961-1966 - key words:Willie Shoemaker, Bonjour, Kentucky Derby
Box 3 "[Something Just Might Shake Out…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Wood Memorial Stakes
Box 3 "Tempus Fugit" 1961-1966 - key words:Bowie Race Track (Maryland) season opens
Box 3 "[This Is The Day…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Roosevelt Raceway season opens
Box 3 "[This Week N.Y. Thoroughbreds…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Speedy Scot, Ralph Baldwin
Box 3 "Uniform Of The Day" 1961-1966 - key words:end of the racing season
Box 3 "Voodoo a-la-Louisville" 1961-1966 - key words:Damascus, Ruken, Kentucky Derby
Box 3 "Who Ya Throwin' At?" 1961-1966 - key words:Candy Spots, No Robbery, Never Bend, Kentucky Derby
Box 3 "The Will And The Way" 1961-1966 - key words:Bill Hartack, Bold Lad, Kentucky Derby
Box 3 "[The Winningest Horse Now Active…]" 1961-1966 - key words:Theo Messidor, Willem Geersen, International Trot
Track and Field cartoons (9)
Box 3 "The Badger Game" 1961-1966 - key words:Bob Hayes, Sam Perry, Fordham, NYAC Meet
Box 3 "The Cat And His Canary" 1961-1966 - key words:ICAAAA (IC4A) Indoor Meet, Harvard, Navy, Villanova, wildcat
Box 3 "[Despite The Royal Ukase…]" 1961-1966 - key words:AAU Championships, NCAA, sanctioned competition
Box 3 "The Heavy Artillery" 1961-1966 - key words:Randy Matson, shot put, Texas A and M, Drake Relays
Box 3 "In The Clear" 1961-1966 - key words:Bob Seagren, pole vault, Millrose Games
Box 3 "The Natural" 1961-1966 - key words:Valery Brumel, high jump, NYAC Meet
Box 3 "On Your Mark…" 1961-1966 - key words:AAU, NCAA, sanctioning authority
Box 3 "One For The Money" 1964 - key words:long jump, AAU National Meet, 1964 Olympic team
Box 3 "[That Catapult They Use…]" 1961-1966 - key words:John Pennel, pole vault
Misc. Sports cartoons (13)
Box 3 "Agenda For 1964" 1964 - key words:artist as infant reading list
Box 3 "…And, Among Other Things" 1964 - key words:81st National Horse Show, LBJ, Goldwater
Box 3 "Drawing Board Re-Visited" 1961-1966 - key words:various New York sports figures, Willard Mullin returning from vacation
Box 3 "Go! I Said" 1961-1966 - key words:Mets, New York horse racing, the New Breed
Box 3 "The Groaning Board" 1961-1966 - key words:Yankees, Rangers, Jets, Giants, Knicks, Mets, Pa Knickerbocker
Box 3 "A Jolly Trio" 1961-1966 - key words:Rangers, Knicks, boxer, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "[Last Year Chuck McKinley…]" 1964 - key words:Chuck McKinley, Wimbledon, Tennis
Box 3 "Objective Tokyo" 1963 - key words:80th National Horse Show, Mary Mairs, Tokyo Olympics
Box 3 "Panning Out Pretty Good" 1964 - key words:Uncle Sam, Mt. Fujiyama, Tokyo Olympics
Box 3 "Pot-Pourri" 1964 - key words:Yankees, Mets, Giants, Jets, and misc. NY sports figures, Willard Mullin
Box 3 "That Commodity Called Youth" 1964 - key words:Scott Ethan Allen, Men's figure skating
Box 3 "To Each His Own…" 1961-1966 - key words:various sports, horses, camel racing, horseshoes, figure skating
Box 3 "Voice From Astern" 1961-1966 - key words:Constellation, yachting

Return to top