Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William Morris Correspondence

A description of his correspondence at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Morris, William, 1834-1896.
Title: William Morris Correspondence
Inclusive Dates: 1895
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two letters written by the English poet, artist, and Kelmscott Press founder.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Morris (1834-1896) was an English poet, artist, socialist and private press founder. A major figure in the English Arts and Crafts Movement, Morris was known for creating fine decorative crafts such as furniture and textiles. He also initiated the private press movement with the founding of his Kelmscott Press in 1891. Morris created beautiful art books using traditional printing methods and medieval-inspired typography and design.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Morris Correspondence consists of two letters, both on Kelmscott House, Upper Mall, Hammersmith letterhead. The first, written in 28 May 1895 is addressed to W. Gaskin, and asks if he and his wife would come visit the Morris family at Kelmscott.

The second, undated letter is a short note addressed to "my dear Stephens." Possibly this is Frederic George Stephens, an art critic and member of the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood who was an associate of Morris.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The letters are in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds a large collection of books from the private press movement, including many produced by Morris' Kelmscott Press.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Morris, William, 1834-1896.
Stephens, Frederic George, 1828-1907.

Subjects

Kelmscott House (London, England)
Kelmscott Press.
Private press books.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Artists.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Morris Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

1895 letter purchased in 1985. Undated letter gift of Adrian Van Sinderen.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LMD
Date: 10 November 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 349 1896, undated

Return to top