Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Howard Moorepark Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Moorepark, Howard.
Title: Howard Moorepark Correspondence
Inclusive Dates: 1910-1964
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American literary agent. Collection consists of correspondence with various authors, artists and literary figures, including authors H. T. W. Bousfield, Anna Mary Wells, Ivor Bulmer, Israel Cohen, Malachy Gerard Carroll, Christoffel Lessing, and Frederic Dannay (aka Ellery Queen); poet Earle Birney; and artists John Steuart Curry and Edward Hopper.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Howard Moorepark (dates unknown) was an American literary agent. His clients included crime novelist Ed Lacy (Leonard S. Zinberg) and poet William Stafford.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Howard Moorepark Correspondence consists of correspondence with various authors and other literary figures. Correspondents of particular interest include authors H. T. W. Bousfield, Anna Mary Wells, Ivor Bulmer, Israel Cohen, Malachy Gerard Carroll, Christoffel Lessing, Frederic Dannay (aka Ellery Queen); poet Earle Birney; and artists John Steuart Curry and Edward Hopper.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by correspondent.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Moorepark, Howard.

Subjects

Literary agents -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Literary agents.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Howard Moorepark Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, circa 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 1 Nov 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Family or personal 1909, 1912, 1921
Box 1 Allsop, Kenneth 1954
Box 1 Ashley, Robert P. 1952-1953
Box 1 Birney, Earle 1957-1960
Box 1 Bousfield, H.T.W. 1947-1949
Box 1 Bradbury, Bianca undated
Box 1 Carroll, Malachy Gerard 1955-1956
Box 1 Clark, Laurence 1958
Box 1 Cohen, Israel 1953-1954
Box 1 Curry, John Steuart 1937
Box 1 Dannay, Frederic (aka Ellery Queen) 1959
Box 1 Fraenkel, Heinrich 1962
Box 1 Gawsworth. John 1961
Box 1 Gooden, Stephen 1928
Box 1 Graham, Stephen 1961-1962
Box 1 Grant, Joan 1959-1962
Box 1 Heintzelman, Arthur W. 1934
Box 1 Hopper, Edward 1933-1934
Box 1 Jacobs, W.W. 1910[?]
Box 1 Kinney, Troy 1934
Box 1 Lessing, Christoffel 1957-1959
Box 1 Lucioni, Luigi 1927
Box 1 Macbeth-Raeburn, Henry 1932
Box 1 MacKaye, Percy 1925
Box 1 Mackenzie, Compton 1962
Box 1 MacNab, Ian 1927
Box 1 Matthieson, John G. undated
Box 1 Morse, A.R. 1950
Box 1 Neblett, William H. 1953
Box 1 Osborn, Henry Fairfield 1926
Box 1 Pearson, R.H. 1959, 1961
Box 1 Philips, C.E. Lucas 1962
Box 1 Pick, J.B. 1960-1962
Box 1 Sherlock, John 1964
Box 1 Short, Frank 1932
Box 1 Sullivan, Edward J. 1928
Box 1 Thomas, Ivor 1951
Box 1 Tomlin, Frederick (E.W.F.) 1959-1961
Box 1 Turngren, Annette 1952
Box 1 Wells, Anna Mary 1950, 1955
Box 1 Werth, Alexander 1962
Box 1 Woodman, Dorothy 1962
Box 1 Woodward, W.E. 1924, 1928
Box 1 Miscellaneous, A-Z
Box 1 Miscellaneous, unidentified or illegible - includes one unidentified photograph of three men

Return to top