Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Don Moore Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Moore, Don.
Title: Don Moore Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: before 1967
Quantity: 7 items
Abstract: Seven original editorial cartoons by the American editorial cartoonist.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Don Moore (1918-1992) was an American cartoonist for the Waukegan (Illinois) News Sun and also for WGN-TV in Chicago. His worked appeared in the Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year series.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Don Moore Cartoons consist of seven original editorial cartoons. The cartoons are not dated but are from before 1967. Moore drew the cartoons on illustration board with ink and crayon. The cartoons have paper overlays and while not dated, on the back of several there a day of the week is listed.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Gaulle, Charles de, 1890-1970 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Moore, Don.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Illinois.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- Illinois.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Firearms and crime -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Natural resources -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Voting -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Don Moore Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Don Moore, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 23 Nov 2009 - added detailed inventory (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons (7 items) 9 3/4" x 12 1/4"
Box 1 undated
Don't Fall Off: armed forces
Don't Lose Your Voice: voting
Footprints to Fingerprints: crime, guns
Guess Who!: (car driving through the desert with an unidentifable driver)
Modern Man: natural resources
What Tree: Lyndon B. Johnson, Vietnam War, Great Society, budget
Well, It's Good Exercise: Charles De Gaulle

Return to top