Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Lynn Montross Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Montross, Lynn, 1895-1961.
Title: Lynn Montross Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1923-1961
Quantity: 7.0 linear ft.
Abstract: American military historian, author. Collection contains correspondence, scrapbooks, notes, manuscripts, and published material. Correspondents include Bruce Catton, H.L. Mencken, and Francis E. Walter.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lynn J. Montross (1895-1961) was a United States Marine Corps historian and specialist in military history, best known for his War Through the Ages (1960). He served in the American Expeditionary Forces for three years during World War I and was a freelance writer for the Chicago Daily News.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lynn J. Montross Papers contains correspondence, scrapbooks, research notes, published and unpublished articles, manuscripts and other material. The collection remains largely in original order and in the donors original file folders.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and is largely in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Montross, Lynn, 1895-1961.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Historians -- United States.
Military history.

Places

United States -- History, Military.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Book reviews.
Manuscripts for publication.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Authors.
Historians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lynn Montross Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Lois H. Montross, 1961-1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: circa 1962
Revision history: 1967 - adds (-); 25 Apr 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Box list
Box 1-2 Personal scrapbooks and correspondence
Box 3 Book reviews, Encyclopedia Britannica articles
Box 4 Research notes, The Reluctant Rebels
Box 5-6 Rsearch notes, War Through the Ages
Box 7-8 Rsearch notes, Rag, Tag and Bobtail
Box 9 Published articles
Box 10 Published articles, television manuscripts, correspondence relating to pictorial history of US Marine Corps
Box 11 Published articles
Box 12 Unpublished articles
Box 12 Original typed manuscript, George Washington and the Revolution
Box 13 Correspondence, original manuscript of The Story of the U.S. Marines
Oversize 1 Sketches

Return to top