Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Ross Moffett Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Moffett, Ross.
Title: Ross Moffett Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1916-1964
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence (1921-1962); clippings, exhibition catalogs and invitations (1916-1945); and photographs. Also, letters and printed material related to Moffett’s Federal Art Project post office murals in Holyoke and Sommerville, Massachusetts, and his Presidential mural at the Eisenhower Foundation in Abilene, Kansas.

Letters of Gerrit A. Beneker, Louis Bouché, Charles Burchfield, Julia Morrow DeForest, John Davis Hatch, Marston Hodgin, Alexander J. Kostellow, Tod Lindenmuth, and Louise Orwig. Also, letters and printed material related to the Provincetown Art Association, for which Moffett served as an officer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1916 to 1964, the Ross Moffett Papers comprises correspondence and memorabilia of the American painter. Focusing on Moffett's mural work for the Federal Art Project and the Eisenhower Foundation, the collection reflects the professional career of the Provinetown, MA artist.

Letters and a variety of printed material related to art projects and museum shows constitute Correspondence-Subject Files. Correspondence includes that with artists (Gerrit A. Beneker, Louis Bouché, Charles Burchfield, Julia Morrow DeForest, Marston Hodgin, Tod Lindenmuth, R.E. McCullough, Louis Orwig); curators (John Davis Hatch, Alexander J. Kostellow); museums (Carnegie Institute, Corcoran Gallery of Art, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts); and professional organizations (National Academy of Design, Provincetown Art Association). Materials from the United States Treasury Department and the Eisenhower Foundation relate respectively to Moffett's post office murals in Holyoke and Sommerville, MA, and his presidential mural in Abilene, KS. Correspondence pertaining to the Committee for the Preservation of the Province Lands details Moffett's efforts to protect the boundaries of the National Sea Shore against commercialization.

Memorabilia consists of photographs, printed material, receipts, and writings by others. Photographs document a class at the Art Institute of Chicago, an exhibition in Provincetown, and two paintings by an unidentified artist. Clippings (1917-1961) and exhibition catalogs and invitations (1916-1945) constitute Printed material. Writings by others include a short history of Provincetown printmakers by Ada Gilmore Chaffee and exhibition notes by Tod Lindenmuth.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by title or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Beneker, Gerrit A. (Gerrit Albertus), 1882-1934.
Bouché, Louis, 1896-1969.
Burchfield, Charles, 1893-1967.
DeForest, Julie Morrow.
Hatch, John Davis.
Hodgin, Marston.
Kostellow, Alexander J.
Lindenmuth, Tod.
Moffett, Ross.
Orwig, Louise

Corporate Bodies

Eisenhower Foundation (Abilene, Kan.)
Federal Art Project.
Provincetown Art Association.

Subjects

Art and state.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Mural decoration and painting -- 20th century -- United States.
Mural decoration and painting, American
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ross Moffett Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ross Moffett

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Apr 1994
Revision history: 16 Nov 2005 - EAD file created (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-Subject Files
Box 1 A-Z
Box 1 Beneker, Gerrit A. 1930
Box 1 Bouché, Louis 1954-1955
Box 1 Burchfield, Charles 1931
Box 1 Carnegie Institute 1930-1933
Box 1 Committee for the Preservation of Province Lands 1959-1962
Box 1 Corcoran Gallery of Art 1939-1943
Box 1 DeForest, Julia Morrow 1958
Eisenhower, Milton
See Eisenhower Foundation (Abilene, KS) murals
Box 1 Eisenhower Foundation (Abilene, KS) murals 1954-1957
Federal Art Project
See United States. Treasury Department. Public Works of Art Project
Box 1 Frachtenberg, Harry 1935-1936
Box 1 Hatch, John David 1934-1935, 1938
Box 1 Hodgin, Marston 1942
Box 1 Kostellow, Alexander J. 1930
Box 1 Lindenmuth, Tod 1959
See also Memorabilia: Writings by others
Box 1 McCullough, R.E. 1930
Box 1 National Academy of Design 1921-1944
See also Eisenhower Foundation (Abilene, KS) murals
Box 1 New York World's Fair 1938-1939
Box 1 Orwig, Louise 1944, outgoing 1952
Box 1 Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts 1934-1939
Box 1 Provincetown Art Association 1938-1940, undated
Art in Narrow Streets (1964) / Ross Moffett
Box 1 United States. Treasury Department. Public Works of Art Project 1933-1940
Memorabilia
Box 1 Photographs (4)
Printed material
Box 1 Clippings 1917-1961, undated
Box 1 Exhibition catalogs 1919, 1931, undated
Box 1 Exhibition invitations 1916-1945
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Hawthorne Memorial Gallery proposal
Provincetown April issue (c1934)
Reality Vol. 1 No. 1, Spring 1953
Box 1 Receipts (6)
Writings by others
Box 1 Chaffee, Ada Gilmore - "Provincetown Printmakers
Box 1 Lindenmuth, Tod - exhibition notes

Return to top