Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Miller Family Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Miller family.
Title: Miller Family Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1727-1798
Quantity: 1 large package
Abstract: Assorted documents relating to Matthias B. Miller, New York physician; Morris S. Miller of Utica, New York; and Rutger Bleecker of Albany, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

According to Prominent families of New York; being an account in biographical form of individuals and families distinguished as representatives of the social, professional and civic life of New York city (Lyman Horace Weeks, 1897), both the Miller and Bleecker families were important early settlers and citizens of New York.

Matthias B. Miller (1749-1792) was "an accomplished and devoted physician" who died of yellow fever in Savannah, Georgia, while volunteering there to assist in treating the epidemic. Dr. Miller was a member of the Constitutional Convention in 1777, a member of the New York Medical Society and served as a surgeon in the Revolutionary Army with Col. David Sutherland's regiment. Morris Smith Miller (1779-1824) was Matthias' brother, a prominent public figure in Utica, New York. Rutger Bleecker was Mayor of Albany from 1726-1729. The Miller and Bleecker families intermarried during the 18th century.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Miller Family Collection consists of correspondence and official documents relating to Matthias B. Miller, New York physician; Morris S. Miller of Utica, New York; and Rutgers Bleecker of Albany, New York. Correspondence consists of a letter of recommendation from New York Governor George Clinton, attesting to the good character of Dr. Mathias B. Miller in connection with the latter's visit to Savannah, Georgia. Official documents consists of several certificates; most related to Dr. Matthias B. Miller's practice of medicine, but the collection also contains a certificate with the seal of George the Second of Great Britain, appointing Rutger Bleeker as mayor, clerk of the market, and coroner of the City of Albany.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bleecker, Rutger.
Miller family.
Miller, Matthias B.
Miller, Morris S. (Morris Smith), 1779-1824.

Corporate Bodies

Medical Society of the State of New-York (1788-1794)
Philomathean Society (Union College)
United States. Army -- Surgeons.

Subjects

Mayors -- New York (State) -- Albany.
Physicians -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775.
New York (State) -- Politics and government -- 1775-1783.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Letters of recommendation.
Membership cards.
Military commissions.

Occupations

Physicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Miller Family Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2012.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 2 Jul 2012
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Papers
Package 1 Correspondence 6 Dec 1790
manuscript letter (ALS) with an embossed seal, written by Governor George Clinton of the State of New York attesting to the good character of Dr. Mathias B. Miller in connection with the latter's visit to Savannah, Georgia
Package 1 Official documents 1727-1798
(1) printed certificate with a seal dated 19 April 1798 affirming that Morris S. Miller is a member of the Philomathean Society at Union College, the purpose of which is "cultivating Literature, Virtue and Friendship";
(2) Revolutionary War commission dated 2 January 1777 from the Committee of Safety of the State of New York in Fishkill appointing Mathias B. Miller as surgeon to Col. David Sutherland's Regiment of Militia and signed by James Livingston as chairman;
(3) and (4) Latin certificate and another in English dated 2 December 1790 admitting Mathias B. Miller to the New York State Medical Society;
(5) certificate and seal dated 1727 affirming that George the Second of Great Britain has appointed Rutger Bleeker as mayor, clerk of the market, and coroner of the City of Albany

Return to top