Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Jack Milgrom Collection on Plastics, Packaging and Recycling

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Milgrom, Jack.
Title: Jack Milgrom Collection on Plastics, Packaging and Recycling
Inclusive Dates: 1969-2003
Quantity: 7.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection consists largely of published material and reports collected and written by Jack Milgrom on the subjects of plastics in general, and specifically on the use of plastics in packaging and the recycling of plastics, as well as utility scrap and recycling in the auto industry.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jack Milgrom was an American researcher and consultant in the plastics field. He received his A.B., M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of Chicago. He performed research in detergent, petroleum and elastomers, and worked in the plastics industry for Foster Grant among other companies. In 1968, Milgrom became a consultant with Arthur D. Little, Inc. and moved to SRI International in 1981. He then became the managing director of Walden Research, Inc. in 1983. Milgrom conducted seminars in the United States and Europe on plastics recycling, packaging and the environment.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jack Milgrom Collection on Plastics, Packaging and Recycling consists largely of published material and reports collected and written by Jack Milgrom on the subjects of plastics in general, and specifically on the use of plastics in packaging and the recycling of plastics, as well as utility scrap and recycling in the auto industry.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged into series by general topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Milgrom, Jack -- Archives.

Subjects

Biodegradable plastics.
Conservation of natural resources.
Packaging.
Plastics in packaging.
Plastics industry and trade.
Recycling (Waste, etc.)
Recycling industry.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Papers.
Publications.
Reports.

Occupations

Consultants.
Researchers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jack Milgrom Collection on Plastics, Packaging and Recycling,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Jack Milgrom.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

General
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Plastics in packaging
Box 1 General
Box 2 General
Box 3 General
Box 3 Biodegradable packaging
Recycling
Box 4 General
Box 5 General
Box 6 General
Box 7 General
Box 8 General
Box 8 Recycling utility scrap/wire and cable scrap
Box 8 Terex
Box 8 Auto recycling

Return to top