Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	McGinley, Phyllis, 1905-1978
Title:	Phyllis McGinley Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1897-1978
Quantity:	36.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	The Phyllis McGinley Papers comprise personal and business correspondence, writings, and memorabilia. Spanning 1897 to 1978, the collection reflects not only the professional career of the American humorist and Pulitzer Prize-winning poet, but also the wide scope of her audience. Writings include, for any given title, any combination of work sheets, manuscripts, production records, and published versions for McGinley's books, essays, interviews, lyrics, poetry, reviews, scripts, speeches and stories. Memorabilia consists primarily of financial, legal, and printed materials, photographs and scrapbooks.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

American poet, essayists, humorist, lyricist, teacher.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Phyllis McGinley Papers comprise personal and business correspondence, writings, and memorabilia. Spanning 1897 to 1978, the collection reflects not only the professional career of the American humorist and Pulitzer Prize-winning poet, but also the wide scope of her audience.

The Correspondence-subject files (Boxes 1-29) contain biographical material, family correspondence, and general personal and business letters. The correspondence is almost exclusively incoming, however there are a few photocopies of McGinley's outgoing letters scattered throughout various files. The collection contains letters from a number of literary figures (Richard Armour, Cass Canfield, Peter De Vries, Richard Eberhart, John Holmes, Jean and Walter Kerr, Marianne Moore, Lewis Mumford, Anne Sexton, A.M. Sullivan, Louis Untermeyer, John Updike, E.B. and Katharine White, Thornton Wilder); clergymen (Daniel Berrigan, Richard Cushing, John Haynes Holmes, Sister Mary Madeleva, Joseph Ritter, Francis Spellman, Francis Sweeney); composers and lyricists (Elizabeth Gould, Oscar Hammerstein, Gladys Rich, Richard Rodgers, Orvis Ross); entertainers (Katharine Cornell, Hume Cronyn, Irene Dunne, Tom Ewell, Helen Hayes, Peter Lind Hayes, Mary Healy, Groucho Marx, Walter Slezak, Jane Wyatt); and politicians (Stanley M. Isaacs, Jacob Javits, Eugene McCarthy, Nelson Rockefeller, Sargent Shriver, Stewart Udall, Robert F. Wagner). There are few long runs of personal correspondence of significant depth or duration.

The importance of the correspondence lies in its illumination of both McGinley's business relationship with agent Curtis Brown Inc. and the extraordinary range of publications to which she was a frequent contributor (America, The American Scholar, The Commonweal, The Critic, Good Housekeeping, Harper's Magazine, Ladies' Home Journal, Mademoiselle, The New Yorker, The Reader's Digest, The Saturday Evening Post, The Saturday Review, The Sign, Woman's Day). A teacher and author of children's books as well as a poet, essayist, and lyricist, McGinley, in a career which spanned more than four decades, maintained business relationships with a variety of publishers over a number of years (Collier Books, Duell, Sloan & Pearce, Inc., J.B. Lippincott, Macmillan, G. Schirmer, Viking Press, Franklin Watts, Inc.). A significant portion of the correspondence centers around the various honors and awards which were bestowed on McGinley. A recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for poetry in 1961, she received a number of honorary Doctor of Letters degrees (Boston College, Dartmouth College, Marquette University, St. John's University, Smith College, Wheaton College, Wilson College) as well as the Catholic Book Club's Campion Award (1967), the Catholic Institute of the Press Award (1960), and the Laetare Medal, conferred by the University of Notre Dame in 1964. She also appeared on the cover of Time the week of June 18, 1965. In 1968, selected by New York Governor Nelson Rockefeller to serve on a committee to review the State's abortion law, McGinley, a Catholic, agreed to participate in the controversial hearings and to file a report. The collection includes correspondence, a transcript of the hearings, the report, and newspaper clippings pertaining to the committee. Widely acclaimed for her wit and common-sense approach to the rigors and joys of family life in America, McGinley received an extensive assortment of fan mail (2 linear feet) from children, educators, fellow poets, librarians, and the hundreds of housewives whose lives she championed from the earliest beginnings of the women's movement in the 1960s through the mid-1970s.

Writings (Boxes 30-49) include, for a given title, any combination of work sheets, manuscripts, production records, and published versions for McGinley's books, essays, interviews, lyrics, poetry, reviews, scripts, speeches, and stories. The many manuscript drafts of McGinley's writings reveal her method of composition for various works. Perhaps most interesting are her essays, for which she often composed a "serious" version before producing her characteristically humorous final manuscript. Suburbia and sainthood are the prominent topics of McGinley's writing, together with occasional pieces produced for various holidays, especially Christmas. In addition to her poetry appearances in a wide variety of popular magazines, McGinley also produced a number of verses which were used commercially, including advertisements for Book Week, Calvert Distillers Corporation, Coty, The New Yorker, and Seagram-Distillers Corporation. Among the miscellaneous writings are a journal (1949-1951), an assortment of juvenilia, and the manuscript draft of "The Emperor's Nightingale," a narrative adaptation of the Hans Christian Andersen classic.

Memorabilia consists primarily of financial, legal, and printed materials, photographs, and scrapbooks. Included among the financial material are royalty statements (arranged by publisher) for McGinley's books and bank check records. Legal material includes a chronological arrangement of contracts (1928-1974) and an assortment of copyright renewals and transfers. Printed material consists of articles about McGinley as well as publicity for and reviews of her many books. A series of scrapbooks contain a variety of items, but also include printed material by and about McGinley.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Writings are subdivided by style (books, essays, etc.) and within that are arranged alphabetically by title. Memorabilia is arranged alphabetically by type of item, with separate subsections for financial and legal material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Phyllis McGinley Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: AE
Date: Aug 1990
Revision history: 30 Jan 2006 - EAD file created (MRR); 28 Jan 2013 - box no's 62, 63 fixed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Biographical material (1 folder)

	Family correspondence
Box 1		Barker, Phyllis Kiesel 1941-1975, undated
		Blake, Patsy Hayden and Richard
			See Hayden, Patsy
Box 1		Hayden, Julie 1963-1977, undated
Box 1		Hayden, Patsy 1963-1967, undated (4 folders)
Box 1		Hayden family (unspecified) 1946-1968, undated
Box 1		Hayden-McGinley family (general) 1924-1976, undated (2 folders)
Box 1		Kane, Allan J. and Stella 1937-1977, undated (2 folders)
Box 2		McGinley, Daniel and Julia (parents) 1897, 1916
Box 2		McGinley, Margaret F. (sister) 1964-1969, undated
Box 2		McGinley, Marge 1944-1976, undated (2 folders)
Box 2		Moore, Ira and Etta 1937-1973, undated (2 folders)

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 3		A (4 folders)
Box 3		Abbott, Charles David 1945-1956
Box 3		Academy of American Poets 1958-1969
Box 3		Adams, Franklin Pierce 1932-1942, undated
Box 3		Adams, J. Donald 1953-1956
Box 3		Adams, James Truslow 1934
Box 3		Adams, John Q. and Bonnie 1956-1977, undated
Box 3		Alda, Alan 1976-1977
Box 3		Alexander Doll Company, Inc. 1958-1959
Box 3		America 1954-1968, undated
Box 3		American Academy of Arts and Letters 1955-1967
Box 3		The American Home 1958, 1961
Box 3		The American Scholar 1953-1968 (2 folders)
Box 3		Ames, Winthrop 1936
		Amuedo, Evelyn
			See Wade, Evelyn Amuedo
Box 3		Anderson, Charles B. 1958-1969, undated
Box 3		Anderson, Curtiss 1962-1965
Box 3		Anderson, George W. 1964
Box 3		Anderson, Robert Woodruff 1940-1955
Box 3		Annenberg, Walter 1958
Box 3		Anton, Rita 1965-1 66
Box 3		Appleton-Century-Crofts, Inc. 1955-1968
Box 3		Archer, Kate Rennie undated
Box 3		Armour, Richard 1947-1975, undated
Oversize 1		Art Directors Club of Philadelphia 1965 - certificate of excellence
Box 3		Ashley, Nova Trimble 1966, 1967
Box 3		Atchley, Dana W. and Mary 1948-1969, undated
Box 3		Atheneum Publishers 1960-1969
Box 3		Atkinson, Brooks 1962, 1965
Box 3		The Atlantic Monthly 1943-1965
Box 3		Auchincloss, Louis 1952, 1966
Box 3		Auden, Wystan Hugh 1959-1961, undated
Box 3		Authors Guild 1948-1970, undated
Box 4		B (5 folders)
Box 4		Backus, Joseph M. 1958
Box 4		Bacon, Leonard 1951-1954
Box 4		Baker, Samm Sinclair 1955, 1965
Box 4		Baldwin, Faith 1949, undated
Box 4		Ballantine, Lesley Frost 1960-1966, undated
Box 4		Barber, Lylah 1960, 1961
Box 4		Barnard College 1952-1962, undated
Box 4		Barr, Isabel Harriss 1952, 1967, undated
Box 4		Barrows, Marjorie 1945
Box 4		Barton, Bruce 1955, undated
Box 4		Barzun, Jacques 1951-1974, undated (2 folders)
Box 4		Basso, Hamilton 1955, 1961
Box 4		Batchelor, C.D. (Clarence Daniel) 1933
Box 4		Beach, Peter 1960
Box 4		Benatzky, Ralph undated
Box 4		Benet, William Rose 1935, 1944
Box 4		Berrigan, Daniel 1961-1967, undated
Box 4		Berrigan, Philip undated
		Best, Marshall
			See Viking Press Inc.
Box 4		Bevington, Helen 1950-1972
Box 4		Bingham, Barry and Mary 1951-1961
Box 4		Birmingham, Stephen 1961
Box 4		Bishop, Morris 1941-1973, undated
			See also Florida Sanitarium and Hospital
Box 5		Blettner, Margaret 1951-1963, undated
Box 5		Boatner, Maxine Tull 1940-1953
Box 5		Boissevain, Eugen 1939
Box 5		Book-of-the-Month Club, Inc. 1953-1969, undated
Box 5		Book-of-the-Month Club, Inc. Writing Fellowship Program 1967-1968
Box 5		Borestone Mountain Poetry Awards 1955
Box 5		Borland, Hal 1934
Box 5		Boslooper, Thomas David 1961
Box 5		Boston College 1962-1969
Box 5		Bowes, Edward (Major) 1939
Box 5		Bradford, Faith 1959-1965
Box 5		Braithwaite, William Stanley 1958
Box 5		Braley, Berton 1936, undated
Box 5		Braybrooke, Neville 1964
Box 5		Bregy, Katherine 1957-1964, undated
Box 5		Brown, John Mason 1961-1965
Box 5		[Curtis] Brown, Ltd. 1939-1977, undated (7 folders)
Box 5		Browning, Colleen 1960
Box 6		Brunini, John Gilland 1951-1964, undated
Box 6		Bullock, Marie 1961-1977, undated
			See also Academy of American Poets
Box 6		Burnett, Whit 1969, undated
Box 6		Burnshaw, Stanley 1961
Box 6		Bush, Grace undated
Box 6		Butterfield, Frances 1947-1960, undated
Box 6		Bynner, Witter 1954
Box 6		C (7 folders)
Box 6		Callahan, Sidney undated
Box 6		Camp Fire Girls, Inc. 1941-1968, undated
Box 6		Canfield, Cass 1959-1962
Box 6		Carmer, Carl 1946-1964, undated
Box 6		Carpenter, Margaret 1958
		Catholic Book Club
			See America
Box 6		Catholic Digest 1954, 1955, undated
Box 6		Catholic Institute of the Press 1961-1968, undated
Oversize 2		Catholic Institute of the Press Award 1960
Box 6		The Catholic News 1954-1966
		Catholic Poetry Society of America
			See Brunini, John Gilland
Box 6		The Catholic Worker 1960-1971, undated
Box 6		The Catholic World 1925-1928, 1957
Box 6		Catholic Writers Guild of America 1955
Box 6		Chaffin, Lillie D. 1964
Box 6		Charlot, John 1959-1969, undated
Box 6		Charlot, Martin 1967-1969
Box 7		Chicago Tribune 1945-1967, undated
Box 7		Churchill, Judith Chase 1944-1956
Box 7		Chute, Marchette 1961
			See also National Institute of Arts and Letters
Box 7		Ciardi, John 1946
Box 7		Claiborne, Craig 1964-1974, undated
Box 7		Clapp, Dudley 1954-1965, undated
Box 7		Clarke, Richard 1951-1961, undated
Box 7		Clemens, Cyril 1949-1968
Box 7		Coakley, Mary Lewis 1954
Box 7		Coatsworth, Elizabeth Jane 1953, 1968
Box 7		Coblentz, Stanton A. 1950
Box 7		Coffey, Thomas P. 1959
Box 7		Cohen, John Michael 1958
Box 7		Coleman, Thomas 1961, undated
Box 7		Collier Books 1961-1963
Box 7		Collinge, Patricia 1945-1969, undated
Box 7		Collins, Kitty 1959-1970, undated
Box 7		Colt, Amy 1955-1978, undated
Box 7		Colum, Padraic 1954, 1968, undated
Box 7		Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc. 1952-1965
Box 7		Columbia University 1934-1959
Box 7		Commonweal 1927-1928, 1950-1969
Box 7		Connolly, Francis Xavier 1973, 1974, undated
Box 7		Cooke, Alistair 1974
Box 7		Cornell, Katharine 1959-1963, undated
Box 7		Cosgrove, Mary Silva 1954-1962
Box 7		Cosmopolitan Club 1953-1961, undated
		Cousins, Margaret
			See Good Housekeeping
Box 7		The Cowl 1954
Box 7		Coxhead, Elizabeth 1951
Box 7		Crawford, Cheryl 1943
Box 7		Crean, Robert J. 1960-1961, undated
Box 7		The Critic 1957-1974
Box 7		Cronyn, Hume 1965
Box 7		Crosswhite, E. B. 1939
Box 7		Cummins, Virginia Kent 1952
Box 7		Cuneo, Paul K. 1955-1969
Box 7		Cushing, Richard 1962
Box 7		D (3 folders)
Box 7		Danforth, William H. 1954
Box 8		D'Arcy, Martin Cyril 1968
Box 8		Dartmouth College 1961, 1969 (2 folders)
Box 8		D'Auria, Gemma 1957
Box 8		Davis, Lavinia R. 1952-1962, undated
		Day, Dorothy
			See The Catholic Worker
Box 8		De Banke, Cecile 1946, undated
Box 8		Dell, Floyd 1952, undated
Box 8		Dell Publishing Co. 1943-1965
Box 8		[J. M.] Dent & Sons 1955-1965
Box 8		De Vries, Peter 1962-1970, undated
Box 8		Dial Press 1954, 1963
Box 8		Dobias, Dorathea F. 1944, undated
Box 8		Dodd, Loring Holmes 1936-1946
Box 8		Dorsey, Helen 1965
Box 8		Doubleday, Neal Frank 1948
Box 8		Doubleday & Company 1934-1969
Box 8		Douglas, Kirk 1964
Box 8		Douglas, Lloyd C. 1937
Box 8		Duell, Sloan & Pearce 1940-1961
Box 8		Duncan, Hazel 1954-1955, undated
Box 8		Dunne, Irene 1966, undated
Box 8		Duryee, Mary Ballard undated
Box 8		[E. P.] Dutton 1952-1965
Box 8		E (2 folders)
Box 8		Eaton, Anne Thaxter 1960
Box 8		Eberhart, Richard 1960-1968
			See also Pulitzer Prize
Box 8		Eiseley, Loren C. 1965
Box 8		Ewell, Tom 1961, undated
Box 8		F (3 folders)
Box 8		Family Circle 1961, 1964, undated
Box 9		Famous Writers School 1967-1974 (3 folders)
Box 9		Famous Writers School - printed material 1968-1975, undated
Box 9		Fandel, John 1959-1962
Box 9		Farrar, Margaret 1953-1977, undated
Box 9		Farrar, Straus & Giroux, Inc. 1933-1969
Box 9		Florida Sanitarium and Hospital 1964-1965
Box 9		France, Simone 1955
Box 9		Franco, Ann Redington 1965-1966
Box 9		Frank, Marcel G. 1964
Box 9		Franklin, Margaret Ladd undated
Box 9		Frazier, Neta Lohnes 1956, 1959
Box 9		Freedgood, Lillian 1962
Box 9		Freedoms Foundation 1953
Box 9		Fremantle, Anne Jackson 1952-1965
Box 9		French, Allen 1951
Box 9		Friedman, Philip Allan 1953
Box 9		Froehlich, John F. 1944, 1959
Box 9		Frost, Robert 1962
Box 9		Frye, Burton James Conrad 1955
Box 9		G (3 folders)
Box 9		Galantiere, Lewis undated
Box 9		Galbraith, Georgie Starbuck 195
Box 9		Gallery of Living Catholic Authors 1951, 1955, undated
Box 9		Gallup, George 1955
Box 9		Galvin, John T. and Ruth 1968-1973
Box 9		Gardiner, Dorothy 1960, 1963
		Gardiner, Harold C.
			See America
Box 9		Gardner, Paul 1962
Box 9		Gibson, John E. 1944
Box 9		Gibson, W. Walker 1959
Box 9		Ginn and Company 1951-1965
Box 10		Glamour 1955-1965
Box 10		Godden, Rumer 1958-1974, undated
Box 10		Goldsmith, Sophie L. 1949
Box 10		Good Housekeepinq 1944-1973, undated
Box 10		Gordi, Tooni 1962
Box 10		Gossett, William T. 1961
Box 10		Gould, Beatrice and Bruce 1959, 1961, undated
Box 10		Gould, Danny 1961-1962
Box 10		Gould, Elizabeth 1968-1969
			See also "Personal and Private Song Cycles" / Elizabeth Gould and Phyllis McGinley
Box 10		Grafflin, Arthur C. 1965
Box 10		Gray, Mary Z. 1959, undated
Box 10		Greb, Gordon B. 1973
Box 10		Greeff, Adele 1953, 1960
Box 10		Green, Joseph C. 1953
Box 10		Greene, Constance 1967, undated
Box 10		Greene, Vivian undated
Box 10		Gross, Gerald 1956-1969, undated
Box 10		Gross, Seymour L. undated
Box 10		Grosset & Dunlap 1959
Box 10		[John Simon] Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 1961-1968
Box 10		Guiterman, Arthur 1932
Box 10		Guthrie, Tyrone 1961
Box 10		H (4 folders)
Box 10		Hackett, Walter 1956
Box 10		Hall, Elizabeth B. 1960, 1962
Box 10		Hallmark Cards 1960-1976
Box 10		Hammerstein, Oscar 1951
Box 10		Harbison, E. Harris 1960
Box 10		Harcourt, Brace & World 1937-1968
Box 10		Harlow, Arthur H. and May 1951-1968, undated
Box 10		Harper & Row 1950-1969
Box 10		Harper's Bazaar 1950-1954, undated
Box 10		Harper's Magazine 1950-1965
Box 10		Hay, Alden and Clarice 1957-1977, undated
Box 10		Hay, Sara Henderson 1955
Box 10		Haydn, Hiram 1954-1968
			See also The American Scholar
Box 11		Hayes, Helen 1955, 1957
Box 11		Hayes, Peter Lind and Mary Healy 1958-1968, undated
Box 11		Heckscher, August 1962
Box 11		Hedges, Doris undated
Box 11		Hellman, Lillian 1963
Box 11		Hemingway, Mary 1965, undated
Box 11		Herald Tribune Fresh Air Fund 1953, 1955
Box 11		Herzberg, Max John 1954
Box 11		Hewitt, Arthur W. 1964-1965
Box 11		Hicks, Granville 1962
Box 11		Hill, Elizabeth Starr 1967
Box 11		Hill, Pope R. 1951
Box 11		Hill & Wang 1960-1974
Box 11		Hillyer, Robert S. 1952, 1953, undated
Box 11		Hoagland, Clayton 1952
Box 11		Hochman, Sandra 1966
Box 11		Hodnett, Edward 1966
Box 11		Hofstead, John Andrew 1949
Box 11		Holden, Arthur Cort 1961, 1965
Box 11		Holden, Raymond P. 1965
Box 11		Holland, Henrietta Fort 1954-1962, undated
Box 11		Holmes, John 1945-1962
Box 11		Holmes, John Haynes 1961
Box 11		Henry Holt and Company, Inc. 1950
		Holt, Rinehart & Winston, Inc.
			See Farrar, Straus & Giroux, Inc.
Box 11		Holzhauer, Jean 1956
Box 11		Hook, Sidney 1951
Box 11		Horgan, Paul 1962
Box 11		Horizon Press 1958-1968
Box 11		Horizons undated
Box 11		Horn, Gunnar 1954, 1960, undated
Box 11		Houghton Mifflin 1954-1966
Box 11		House & Garden 1956-1959
Box 11		Howells, J. Harvey 1959, 1960
Box 11		Huebsch, Ben 1960-1961, undated
Box 11		Humphries, Rolfe 1952-1957
Box 11		Hunt, Lyman C. 1977
Box 11		Hutchens, John K. 1958, 1964, undated
Box 11		I (1 folder)
Box 11		Inaugural Committee (1961) 1961
Box 11		Ingenue 1959-1961
Box 11		Isaacs, Stanley M. 1940-1959
Box 11		J (2 folders)
Box 11		Jackson, Charles and Rhoda 1945-1961, undated
Box 11		Jackson, Joseph Henry 1954
Box 11		Jackson, Shirley undated
Box 11		Jacobs, Flora Gill 1954
Box 11		Jacobson, Emilie 1964, 1966
			See also [Curtis] Brown, Ltd.
Box 11		Javits, Jacob K. 1961
Box 11		Jeans, Marylu Terral 1963
Box 11		Jennison, C. S. 1959
Box 11		Johnson, Claudia Alta Taylor 1966, 1973
Box 11		Johnson, Edith Warner 1942
Box 11		Johnson, Paul Barton 1974
Box 11		Joseph, John 1965
Box 11		Justema, William 1954
Box 11		K (1 folder)
Box 11		Kadison, Alexander 1950
Box 11		Kallen, Horace Meyer 1942
Box 11		Kappa Kappa Gamma 1936-1970, undated (2 folders)
Box 12		Keefe, Nancy Quirk 1961-1975, undated
Box 12		Kehl, D. G. 1968-1977
Box 12		Kenny, Herbert A. 1962-1963, undated
Box 12		Kerlan, Irvin 1948-1951
Box 12		Kerr, Jean and Walter 1956-1971, undated
		Kerr, Walter
			See Kerr, Jean and Walter
Box 12		Keyes, Frances Parkinson 1960-1961
		Kielty, Bernardine
			See Scherman, Bernardine Kielty
Box 12		Kieran, John 1958
Box 12		Kimball, Fiske 1953
Box 12		King, Marian 1954-1961
Box 12		King Features Syndicate 1964-1965, undated
Box 12		Kirk, Grayson 1961
Box 12		[Alfred A.] Knopf, Inc. 1959-1965, undated
Box 12		Kogan, Herman undated
Box 12		Kollmar, Richard 1942-1943
Box 12		Kronenberger, Louis 1955, 1963, undated
Box 12		Kunstler, William M. 1959, 1960
Box 12		L (2 folders)
Box 12		Ladies' Home Journal 1925-1966, undated (2 folders)
Box 12		Ladies of Charity 1954-1961
Box 12		Landers, Ann 1965
Box 12		Langland, Joseph 1961, undated
Box 12		Larchmont Public Library 1951-1976, undated
Box 12		Lasswell, Fred 1943, undated
Box 12		Lattimore, Richmond Alexander 1968
Box 12		Laube, Clifford James 1955, 1961
Box 12		Lavery, Emmet 1966
Box 12		Leach, Henry Goddard 1955, 1956
Box 12		Lechlitner, Ruth 1940, 1941
Box 12		Leech, Margaret 1943
Box 12		Leigh, W. Colston 1937-1962
Box 12		Leinsdorf, Erich and Anne 1961
Box 12		Lennon, Florence Becker 1960-1961
Box 12		Lewin, Ralph A. 1959, 1961
Box 12		Lewis, B. Roland 1954, undated
Box 12		Lewis, Sinclair 1937, undated
Box 13		Library of Congress 1960-1966
Box 13		Life 1956-1969, undated
Box 13		Lindbergh, Anne Morrow 1962
Box 13		[J. B.] Lippincott Co. 1944-1973, undated (3 folders)
Box 13		Little, Brown and Co. 1960-1962
Box 13		Lockwood Memorial Library 1940, 1954
			See also Abbott, Charles David
Box 13		Lodge, Lily 1961
Box 13		Loeser, Katinka 1969-1976, undated
Box 13		Longmans, Green & Co., Inc. 1958, 1960
Box 13		Looking Glass Library 1959-1961, undated
Box 13		Loomis, Charles Battell 1940, 1957
Box 13		Lowenfels, Walter 1966
Box 13		Lucas, Dione 1957
Box 13		Luccock, Halford Edward 1940, 1959
Box 13		Lundbergh, Holger 1944
Box 13		Lynes, Russell 1965, 1973, undated
			See also Harper's Magazine
Box 13		Lyons, Barbara 1960
Box 13		M (5 folders)
Box 13		McAleer, John J. 1973-1975
Box 13		McBride, Mary Margaret 1946-1951
Box 13		McCall's 1930-1967
Box 13		McCarthy, Eugene J. 1968
Box 14		McCleery, William 1964-1967, undated
			See also Ladies' Home Journal
Box 14		McClintic, Guthrie 1957
Box 14		McCord, David 1945-1962
Box 14		McCormick, Ken 1950-1969, undated
			See also Doubleday & Company
Box 14		McCrudden, Francis Lambert 1944
Box 14		McDonald, Donald 1958-1964
Box 14		MacDowell Colony 1953-1969
Box 14		McGraw-Hill Book Company 1954-1966
Box 14		McHugh, Vincent 1942
Box 14		McKinney, Laurence 1941-1965, undated
Box 14		MacLeish, Archibald 1968
Box 14		Macmillan Company 1946-1976, undated (3 folders)
Box 14		[Sister Mary] Madeleva 1935-1964, undated
Box 14		Mademoiselle 1953-1967, undated
Box 14		Marks, Claude 1957
Box 14		Marquand, John P. 1954
Box 14		Marquette University 1958-1972, undated
Box 14		Marx, Anne 1963
Box 14		Marx, Groucho 1953-1964
Box 14		Masters, Marcia Lee 1967
Box 14		Maw, Margaret 1951
Box 14		May, James Boyer undated
Box 14		Mayer, Ruth 1968-1977, undated
Box 14		Meacham, Harry M. 1961
Box 14		Mears, Alice Monks 1959
Box 14		Mechem, Kirke 1969
Box 14		Mehrtens, Ruth 1965-1975, undated
		Meneely, A. Howard
			See Wheaton College
Box 14		Menninger, Karl A. 1957, 1976
Box 14		Mills, Emma 1937-1954, undated
Box 14		Mitchell, Susanna Valentine undated
Box 14		Modell, Merriam and Walter 1951-1977, undated
Box 14		Moffett, Harriet 1921-1960 (2 folders)
Box 15		Moffett, Harriet 1961-1964, undated (3 folders)
Box 15		Montagu, Ashley 1960
Box 15		Moore, Douglas 1965
Box 15		Moore, Marianne 1962, undated
Box 15		Moran, Mabel 1952
Box 15		Morgan, Bayard Quincy 1956, 1961
Box 15		Morgan, Mona 1942
Box 15		Moreno, Zerka 1966
Box 15		[William] Morrow & Company, Inc. 1952-1968
Box 15		Morton, David 1943
Box 15		Moss, Frank E. 1968
Box 15		Motley, Red 1957-1968, undated
Box 15		Mowrer, Paul Scott 1960-1961
Box 15		Mumford, Lewis 1951-1963
Box 15		Museum of the City of New York 1953-1954
Box 15		N (2 folders)
Box 15		Nash, Ogden 1933, 1957, undated
Box 15		National Book Committee, Inc. 1955-1969
Box 15		National Conference of Christians & Jews, Inc. 1952-1969
Box 15		National Council of Catholic Men 1958-1964, undated
Box 15		National Council of Catholic Women 1954-1966
Box 16		National Institute of Arts and Letters 1955-1970 (2 folders)
Box 16		New York Herald Tribune 1946-1961, undated
Box 16		New York Public Library 1944-1968, undated
Box 16		New York State Select Committee to Review State's Abortion Law and Recommend Appropriate Changes (unofficial) 1968 - correspondence, minutes, transcript of hearing (4 folders), report, clippings
Box 17		The New York Times 1942-1975, undated
Box 17		The New Yorker 1930-1977, undated (3 folders)
Box 17		Newman, Mabel 1955
Box 17		Nims, John Frederick 1969
Box 17		[W. W.] Norton & Company, Inc. 1962
Box 17		Notestein, Wallace 1943
Box 17		O (2 folders)
Box 17		O'Conor, Norreys Jephson 1953
Box 17		Olson, Esther E. 1928
Box 17		Olson, Sidney and Zembra 1955-1975
Box 17		Open Court Publishing Company 1968-1969 (2 folders)
Box 17		P (3 folders)
Box 17		Packard, Vance 1968
Box 17		Paladino, Lyn 1962-1963
Box 17		Palffy, Eleanor 1952
Box 17		Palmer Stuart undated
Box 17		Parker, Cornelia Stratton 1954-1956, undated
Box 17		Parker, James Reid 1941-1953, undated
Box 17		Parker, Maude 1952, undated
Box 18		P.E.N. 1951-1969
Box 18		Perkins, Anne 1961-1963
			See also Harper & Row
Box 18		Phi Beta Kappa 1953-1962
Box 18		[Brother] Philip 1953-1957
Box 18		Pier, Arthur Stanwood 1954-1960, undated
Box 18		Poetry Society of America 1944-1976, undated
Box 18		Prescott, Orville and Lilias 1953-1976, undated (2 folders)
Box 18		Price, Garrett 1961
Box 18		Pulitzer Prize 1961-1975, undated (3 folders)
Box 18		Purdue University 1956-1963
Box 18		[G. P.] Putnam's Sons 1956, 1964
Box 18		Q (1 folder)
Box 18		R (3 folders)
Box 18		Rae, John 1940
Box 18		Rampton, Calvin L. 1966, 1969
Box 18		Random House 1957-1964
Box 18		The Reader's Digest 1949-1977
Box 19		Rich, Gladys 1940-1967
			See also Writings: Lyrics
Box 19		Ripperger, Helmut Lothar 1941, undated
Box 19		Ritter, Joseph 1964
Box 19		Robb, Lynda Johnson 1968
Box 19		Robinson, Gertrude undated
		Rockefeller, Nelson A.
			See New York State Select Committee to Review State's Abortion Law and Recommend Appropriate Changes
Box 19		Rodgers, Richard and Dorothy 1964-1970, undated
Box 19		Roosenburg, Henriette undated
Box 19		Roosevelt, Theodore 1937
Box 19		Root, Oren and Daphne 1966-1974, undated
Box 19		Rose, Elinor K. 1957
Box 19		Rosen, Herbert 1955
Box 19		Ross, Nancy Wilson 1962, 1964
Box 19		Ross, Orvis 1952-1957
Box 19		Ross, Zola H. 1962
Box 19		Rosten, Norman 1951, 1966, undated
Box 19		Royle, Josephine 1966
Box 19		Russell, Sydney King undated
Box 19		Ryan, Cornelius and Kathryn 1966-1974, undated
Box 19		Ryan, Margaret 1954-1962, undated
Box 19		S (9 folders)
Box 20		St. John, Adela Rogers undated
Box 20		St. John's University 1960-1965
Box 20		The Saturday Evening Post 1939-1968, undated
Box 20		The Saturday Review 1935-1964, undated
Box 20		Schager, Edward 1954-1976, undated
Box 20		Scherman, Bernardine Kielty 1959-1967, undated
Box 20		[G.] Schirmer, Inc. 1927, 1956
Box 20		Schnirring, Alice Mary 1954-1968, undated
Box 20		Scholastic Magazines 1946-1969
Box 20		Schubart, Mark 1955
Box 20		Scott, Edgar 1938-1951, undated
Box 20		Scott, Foresman and Company 1959-1965
Box 20		Sedgwick, R. Minturn 1960-1966, undated
Box 20		Seward, William W. 1954, 1958
Box 20		Sewell, Ruth 1956-1968, undated
Box 20		Sexton, Anne 1963, 1966
Box 20		Shalit, Gene 1968
Box 20		Shaw, John 1954-1961
Box 20		Sheed & Ward 1955-1962, undated
Box 20		Shriver, Eunice Kennedy 1968
Box 20		Shriver, Sargent 1967-1968
Box 20		Shuster, George N. and Doris 1952-1958
Box 20		The Sign 1956-1966
Box 20		Silver, Burdett and Company 1934-1954
Box 20		Simon and Schuster, Inc. 1960-1967
		Simpson, Louis
			See Pulitzer Prize
Box 20		Sinclair, Upton 1962
Box 20		Skurzynski, Gloria 1966-1977, undated (5 folders)
Box 21		Slezak, Walter 1959-1973, undated
Box 21		Sloanaker, Hiram Lyday undated
Box 21		Smith College 1961-1964
Box 21		Smythe, Daniel 1967
Box 21		Spellman, Francis 1962, 1964
		Spirit
			See Brunini, John Gilland
Box 21		Spiritual Life Institute of America 1961-1963
Box 21		Staelin, Margaret Hudson 1958-1960
Box 21		Stallman, Robert Wooster 1948
Box 21		Stickney, Helen Frith 1952
Box 21		Stiver, Mary Weeden 1965
Box 21		Stout, Rex 1952-1963
Box 21		Straus, Roger 1953-1962
Box 21		Stringer, Arthur 1944, undated
Box 21		Stuart, Kenneth and Katharine 1961-1977, undated
Box 21		Sturdevant, John 1942-1961, undated
Box 21		Sullivan, Aloysius Michael 1940-1970, undated
Box 21		Sweeney, Francis 1957-1976, undated
Box 21		T (2 folders)
Box 21		Taggard, Genevieve 1944, undated
Box 21		Teichmann, Howard 1961-1976
Box 21		Tenney, Edward Andrews 1939, 1960
Box 21		Theta Phi Alpha 1956-1968, undated
Box 21		Theta Sigma Phi 1951-1969, undated
Box 21		This Week Magazine 1960-1961
Box 21		Thompson, Dorothy Brown 1961
Box 21		Thurston, Jarvis A. 1937
Box 21		Time 1952-1975, undated
Box 21		Tobin, James Edward 1954
Box 21		Todd, Marjorie 1947-1954, undated
Box 21		Towne, Charles Hanson 1939
Box 21		Trigere, Pauline 1958
Box 21		Tucker, Irwin St. John 1960-1967, undated
Box 21		Turnbull, Agnes Sligh 1960
Box 21		U (1 folder)
Box 22		Udall, Stewart L. 1963, undated
Box 22		Union Carbide Corporatio 1968, undated
Box 22		United States Information Agency 1956-1966, undated
Box 22		University of Notre Dame 1963-1974
Box 22		University of Oregon 1968
Box 22		University of Utah 1957-1970
Oversize 1		University of Utah - Oversize material 1930, 1961
			University of Utah Teacher's High School Diploma, 1930 University of Utah Teacher's Alumni Association Award, 1961
Box 22		Untermeyer, Louis 1938-1961, undated
Box 22		Updike, John 1958-1970
Box 22		Utah Writers' Conference 1949-1950
Box 22		V (1 folder)
Box 22		Vance, Eleanor Graham 1967
Box 22		Van Dolah, Sheridan 1951
Box 22		Van Doren, Mark 1954, 1960
Box 22		Vanguard Press 1939
Box 22		Van Hook, Lane 1954
Box 22		Viereck, Peter 1952, undated
Box 22		Viking Press Inc. 1943-1975, undated (3 folders)
		Vinal, Harold
			See Voices: a Journal of Poetry
Box 22		Vogue 1957-1967
Box 22		Voices: a Journal of Poetry 1930, 1933, 1956, 1962
Box 22		Von Trapp, Maria 1973-1976, undated
Box 22		W (5 folders)
Box 23		Wade, Evelyn Amuedo 1946, 1949
Box 23		Wagner, Linda W. 1966-1968
Box 23		Wagner, Linda W. - "Phyllis McGinley" - ms. 1968
Box 23		Wagner, Robert F. 1962
		Wagner-Martin, Linda
			See Wagner, Linda W.
Box 23		Walsh, Albert undated
Box 23		Walsh, Catherine 1961
Box 23		Warbasse, Melba 1942-1977, undated
Box 23		Warner, Sylvia Townsend 1958, 1960
Box 23		Washburn, Henry Bradford 1960
Box 23		Wasson, Mildred undated
Box 23		[Franklin] Watts, Inc. 1959-1962
Box 23		Weihl, Elsa 1960
Box 23		Weir, Ruth Cromer 1945
Box 23		Wescott, Glenway 1958-1967
Box 23		West, Morris L. 1965
Box 23		West, William W. 1964-1965
Box 23		Wheaton College 1955-1965
Box 23		White, E. B. 1938-1948, 1973-1976, undated
Box 23		White, Helen C. 1957, 1964
		White, Katharine S.
			See The New Yorker; White, E. B.
Box 23		White, Theodore H. 1961
Box 23		White House Festival of the Arts 1965
Box 23		Whitehead, Jean undated
Box 23		Wickham, Anna undated
Box 23		Wickham, Florence 1959
Box 23		Widdemer, Margaret 1962-1968, undated
Box 23		Wilder, Thornton 1965, 1967, undated
Box 23		Williams, John A. 1962
Box 23		Wilson College 1961-1964
Box 23		Woman's Day 1967-1968
Box 23		Woman's Home Companion 1952, 1956
Box 23		Wood, Audrey 1948
Box 23		Woods, Ralph L. 1974
		Wouk, Herman
			See Authors Guild
Box 23		Wright, Ernest Hunter 1952
Box 23		Wyatt, Jane undated
Box 23		X (1 folder)
Box 23		Y (1 folder)
Box 23		Yaddo 1959
Box 23		Z (1 folder)
Box 23		Unidentified (2 folders)
Box 24		Unidentified (6 folders)
Box 24		Fan mail 1928-1951 (6 folders)
Box 25		Fan mail 1952-1960 (9 folders)
Box 26		Fan mail 1961-1964 (9 folders)
Box 27		Fan mail 1964-1965 (8 folders)
Box 28		Fan mail 1965-1972 (8 folders)
Box 29		Fan mail 1973-1978, undated (9 folders)

	Writings
		Books
Box 30			The B Book - manuscript; production records - printed, unbound
Box 30			Blunderbus - manuscript; production records - dust jacket
Box 30			A Girl and Her Room - work sheets (2 folders); manuscript
Box 30			The Horse Who Had His Picture in the Paper - manuscript; production records - galley proofs
Box 30			How Mrs. Santa Claus Saved Christmas - manuscript
Box 30			The Love Letters of Phyllis McGinley - setting copy; production records - Table of Contents - galley proofs; production records - dust jacket
Box 30			Lucy McLockett - manuscript; production records - galley proofs
Box 30			The Make-Believe Twins - manuscript
Box 30			Merry Christmas, Happy New Year - manuscript; manuscript (misc. pages)
Box 30			Mince Pie and Mistletoe - manuscript; manuscript - jacket statement
Box 30			The Most Wonderful Doll in the World - manuscript; production records - galley proofs
Box 30			A Name for Kitty - manuscript
Box 30			One More Manhattan - manuscript
Box 30			The Plain Princess - setting copy; production records - galley proofs
Box 30			A Pocketful of Wry - setting copy (2 folders)
Box 31			The Province of the Heart - manuscript; etting copy (2 folders); production records - dust jacket
Box 31			Saint-Watching - research material - notes and clippings; ms. drafts (5 folders); manuscript (2 folders); setting copy (4 folders)
Box 32			Saint-Watching - production records - galley proofs; production records - dust jacket
Box 32			A Short Walk from the Station (working title: "Suburbia, of Thee I Sing") - setting copy; production records - Table of Contents - galley proofs
Box 32			Sixpence in Her Shoe - work sheets (6 folders)
Box 33			Sixpence in Her Shoe - work sheets (2 folders); chapter: "A Wreath of Recipes" - manuscript; "A Note to English Readers" - manuscript; manuscript/setting copy (3 folders); production records - galley proofs (2 folders)
Box 34			Sixpence in Her Shoe - production records - galley proofs (2 folders); production records - dust jacket
Box 34			Sixpence in Her Shoe (Mexico, 1966) - La Casada "Perfecta"
Box 34			Stones from a Glass House: New Poems - setting copy
Box 34			Sugar and Spice: the ABC of Being a Girl - work sheets; manuscript
Box 34			Times Three: Selected Verse from Three Decades, with Seventy New Poems - work sheets; manuscript; manuscript - "originally selected, marked for omission by MAB"
Box 35			Times Three: Selected Verse from Three Decades, with Seventy New Poems - manuscript - "improbable inclusions"; manuscript - "possible inclusions"; deletions (last round); Foreword by W. H. Auden - manuscript; setting copy (7 folders); production records - Index of Titles and First Lines - galley proofs
Box 36			Times Three: Selected Verse from Three Decades, with Seventy New Poems - production records - galley proofs; production records - dust jacket
Box 36			Wonderful Time - work sheets; production records - folded and gathered sheets; production records - dust jacket
Box 36			Wonders and Surprises - work sheets (4 folders); "rejects" (3 folders); "rejects" (2 folders)
Box 37			Wonders and Surprises - manuscript (early) (2 folders); manuscript (2 folders); production records - galley proofs (4 folders); production records - dummy; production records - dust jacket
Box 38			A Wreath of Christmas Legends - work sheets (2 folders); manuscript - final draft; manuscript (revision); production records - cover art; production records - facsimiles of sketches; production records - galley proofs
Oversize 2			A Wreath of Christmas Legends - production records
Box 38			The Year Without a Santa Claus - work sheets; manuscript; production records - galley proofs
		Essays
Box 38			"The Adventure of Getting Up in the Morning" - manuscript
Box 38			"Are Children People?" - Catholic Digest, May 1965
Box 38			"Are We Disillusioning Our Children?" - manuscript
Box 38			"Are Your Youngsters Dating Too Early?" - New York Journal-American, June 17, 1956
Box 38			"Ascent from Grandeur" - ms. drafts, manuscript
Box 38			"Ascent from Grandeur" - Annals of St. Anthony's Shrine, 1969
Box 38			"Beep, Beep" - America, Oct. 26, 1957
Box 38			"Books to Travel With" - manuscript
Box 38			"Carrousels! Spring!" - The New York Times Magazine, Mar. 29, 1953 -
Box 38			"A Cell of One's Own" (working title: "The First Feminists") - ms. drafts, manuscript
Box 39			"The Changing of the Guard" - ms. drafts, manuscript
Box 39			"The Changing of the Guard" - Woman's Day, Sept. 1967
Box 39			"Christmas Shopping" - manuscript
Box 39			"The Consolations of Illiteracy" - The Saturday Review, 1953
Box 39			"Cooking to Me Is Poetry" - manuscript
Box 39			"Cooking to Me Is Poetry" - Ladies' Home Journal, Jan. 1960
Box 39			"Criminals at Large" - manuscript
Box 39			"A Culinary Garland" - manuscript
Box 39			"Do They Love You--Or Your Disguise?" (working title: "The Image of a Mother") - manuscript
Box 39			"Do They Love You--Or Your Disguise?" - Glamour, May 1961
Box 39			"Drinking Etiquette for Ladies" - manuscript
Box 39			"The East Is Home" - Woman's Home Companion, July 1956
Box 39			"The Fearful Aspect of Too-Early Dating" - The Bulloch Herald,June 21, 1956
Box 39			"Flattery Can Get You Somewhere" (working title: "The True Bouquet") - ms. drafts, manuscript
Box 39			"Flattery Can Get You Somewhere" - The Saturday Evening Post, Apr. 21, 1962
Box 39			"For Better, for Worse, But Not for Lunch" (working title: "But Not for Lunch") - ms. drafts
Box 39			"For Better, for Worse, But Not for Lunch" - Ladies' Home Journal, Feb. 1965
Box 39			"For Mrs. Lenore Hershey of McCall's" - manuscript
Box 39			"Frankly Sentimental" - Harper's Magazine, Dec. 1950
Box 39			"Garden Addict Kicks the Habit" (working title: "The Education of a Gardener") - manuscript
Box 39			"Garden Addict Kicks the Habit" - Life, May 12, 1958
Box 39			"A Garden Addict Kicks the Habit: Good-By, Green Thumb!" - The Reader's Digest, June 1959
Box 39			"A Garland of Envies" - ms. draft; manuscript
Box 39			"A Garland of Envies" - McCall's, Mar. 1961
Box 39			"A Garland of Kindness" - Suburbia Today, Dec. 1959
Box 39			"The Genuine Catholic School" - Catholic School Journal, Oct. 1969
Box 39			"Golden Journey" - manuscript
Box 39			"Good Companions" - manuscript; ms., copyedited; production records - galley proofs
Box 39			"The Good Life" - ms. drafts
Box 39			"Good Men and Beasts" - ms. drafts (3 folders); manuscript
Box 39			"Good Men and Beasts" - The Critic, Apr./May 1965
Box 40			"Guest of Dishonor" - manuscript
Box 40			"The Honor of Being a Woman" - The Reader's Digest, Dec. 1959
Box 40			"How Are Your Telephone Manners?" - ms. Draft
Box 40			"How I Plan to Vote in the Next Election" - manuscript
Box 40			"How to Get Along with a Man" - Vogue, Jan. 15, 1958
Box 40			"How to Torture a Writer Who Likes to Smoke" - The New York Times, Apr. 29, 1951
Box 40			"In Defence of Saint Paul" - manuscript
Box 40			"Incident on the Stamford Local" - manuscript
Box 40			"The Inconstant Reader - manuscript
Box 40			"It's Really Hard Work Being Jolly in Suburbia" - Chicago Sunday Tribune, Dec. 2, 1951
Box 40			"The Jewel in the Pocket" - ms. Drafts, manuscript
Box 40			"Leave the Schools Alone" - manuscript
Box 40			"Let's Give Up Hate for Lent - manuscript
Box 40			"Let's Give Up Hate for Lent" - The American Weekly, Mar. 3, 1957 -
Box 40			"The Light Side of the Moon" - manuscript
Box 40			"The Light Side of the Moon" - The American Scholar, autumn 1965; Ginn High School English Notes, fall 1965
Box 40			"A Little Grace" - Vogue, Jan. 15, 1961
Box 40			"Loafing: a Big Challenge to Men and a Laugh to Wives" - Life, Dec. 28, 1959
Box 40			"Machinery, Stay Away from My Door" - manuscript
Box 40			"Men Are What's Wrong with Kitchens" - manuscript
Box 40			"My Affair with a Hatrack" (working title: "The Battle of the Hat Rack") - manuscript
Box 40			"The Myth of the Feminine" - manuscript
Box 40			"The Myths of Maternity" - manuscript
Box 40			"The New American Family" - research material, ms. drafts, manuscript
Box 40			"The New American Family" - The Saturday Evening Post, July 13, 1968
Box 40			"The Partly-Good Samaritans" - manuscript
Box 40			"Part-Time Poet" - Good Housekeeping, Dec. 1943
Box 40			"A Party for the Little Ones" - manuscript
Box 40			"Party Line" (working title: "Entertaining Without Tears") - ms. drafts (2 folders), ms. drafts (various pages)
Box 40			"The Pastime Poets" - production records - galley proofs
Box 40			"Pipeline and Sinker" (working title: "Family Jokes") - manuscript
Box 40			"Pipeline and Sinker" - Vogue, Aug. 1, 1958
Box 40			"Pleasant to Shop for, Pleasant to Give, and Always Easy to Wrap" (working title: "Books for Christmas") - manuscript
Box 40			"Pleasant to Shop for, Pleasant to Give, and Always Easy to Wrap" - The New York Times Book Review, Nov. 30, 1958
Box 40			"The Pleasure of Being a Woman" - manuscript
Box 40			"The Pleasures of Picture Books" - Book News, Oct. 1949
Box 40			"A Poet on Poetry: It Must Attack the Senses and Pierce the Heart" - New York Herald Tribune, Dec. 27, 1953
Box 40			"Preparing for House Guests" - St. Louis Post-Dispatch,Jan. 17, 1965
Box 40			"Privacy/Noise" - House & Garden, Jan. 1957
			"Profession: Housewife"
Box 40				"Profession: Housewife" - New York Journal-American Pictorial Living, Jan. 10, 1965
Box 40				"Profession: Housewife" - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Jan. 10, 1965
Box 40				"Profession: Housewife: a Roof of One's Own" - Ladies' Home Journal, Oct. 1963
Box 40				"Profession: Housewife: a Self-Winding Plan to Keep Hubby Ulcer-Free, Long-Lived" - The Knickerbocker News, Jan. 12, 1965
Box 40				"Profession: Housewife: Are Children People?" - Ladies' Home Journal, June 1963
Box 40				"Profession: Housewife: Candid Thoughts on the Care and Feeding of Overnight Guests" - Ladies' Home Journal, July/Aug. 1963
Box 40				"Profession: Housewife: Decorating Your House--It Must Suit You" - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Jan. 13, 1965
Box 40				"Profession: Housewife: Delicate Art of Getting Along with the Help" - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Jan. 15, 1965
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: Help!" - Ladies' Home Journal, Apr. 1963
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: In One Era--and Out the Other" - Ladies' Home Journal, Apr. 1964
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: Kitchens Are for Cooking" - Ladies' Home Journal - production records - galley proofs
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: Learning the Hard Facts of Home-Buying" - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Jan. 12, 1965
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: Party Line" - Ladies' Home Journal, Dec. 1962
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: Pleasant Ordeal of Giving a Good Party" - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Jan. 14, 1965
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: Remodeling the Kitchen--An Unhappy Task" - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Jan. 18, 1965
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: the Myth of Grandmother's Cooking" - Ladies' Home Journal, Sept. 1962
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: the Oldest Profession" - Ladies' Home Journal, summer 1962
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: the Pleasures of Thrift" - Ladies' Home Journal, May 1963
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: the Tools of the Trade" - Ladies' Home Journal, Mar. 1963
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: Too Early Pressures on Today's Children" - St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: What Cookbooks Don't Tell You" - Ladies' Home Journal, Nov. 1962
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: White Gloves and Ritual Curtsies" - Ladies' Home Journal, Sept. 1963
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: Why Educate Women?" - Ladies' Home Journal, 1962
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: Why It's Important to Teach Good Manners" - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Jan. 20, 1965
Box 41				"Profession: Housewife: Worthiness of a Domestic Career" - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Jan. 22, 1965
Box 41			"Recommended Summer Reading" - ms. drafts
Box 41			"The Quality of Mercy" - ms. drafts (2 folders); ms., copyedited
Box 41			"The Realms of Gilt" - ms. draft, manuscript
Box 41			"Recipe for a Successful Summer" - Glamour, May 1952
Box 41			"Reproachful Ghosts" - America, Mar. 25, 1961 -
Box 41			"The Saints of Ireland" - ms. drafts
Box 41			"Saint-Watching" - ms. drafts
Box 41			"The Sentimental Trap" (working title: "Groundhog Day Is a Holiday") - ms. drafts, manuscript
Box 41			"The Sentimentalists" - manuscript; production records - galley proofs
Box 41			"The Servant in the House" - ms. drafts, manuscript
Box 41			"Shopping Postscripts" - The New York Post, Aug. 10, 1934
Box 41			"Should You Tell Your Daughter Unchastity Is a Sin?" - New York Journal-American, June 10, 1956
Box 41			"Some People Collect Butterflies, But Most Write Poetry" - The New York Times Book Review, Aug. 20, 1950
Box 41			"Speaking of Books" - The New York Times Book Review
Box 41			"Suburbia: of Thee I Sing" - Harper's Magazine, Dec. 1949
Box 41			"Talking Down" - Glamour, Sept. 1960; Wilson Library Bulletin, Apr. 1962
Box 41			"10 Ways to Keep a Husband--Young" (working title: "How Not to Kill Your Husband") - work sheets
Box 41			"10 Ways to Keep a Husband--Young" (working title: "Eleven Ways to Keep a Husband--Alive") - manuscript
Box 41			"10 Ways to Keep a Husband--Young" - Ladies' Home Journal, winter 1963
Box 41			"The Third Hand" - The Key of Kappa Kappa Gamma, Feb. 1954
Box 42			"Three Against the Grain" - ms. Drafts, manuscript
Box 42			"The Three Hundred Sixty Five Days of Christmas" - ms. drafts
Box 42			"Tribute to an Honored Guest" - The Harvard Advocate, vol. CVII, no. 2/3
Box 42			"The Trouble with Christmas" - production records - galley proofs
Box 42			"The Trouble with Christmas" - The American Weekly, Nov. 30, 1958
Box 42			"A Vote for Suburbia" - The New York Times Magazine, Feb. 14, 1954
Box 42			"What Every Bride Should Know" - manuscript
Box 42			"What Every (Mother of the) Bride Should Know" - ms. Drafts, manuscript
Box 42			"What Every (Mother of the) Bride Should Know" - Ladies' Home Journal, June 1965 -
Box 42			"What Is a Saint?" - ms. drafts, manuscript, manuscript - "last version"
Box 42			"What Is a Saint?" - The Critic, June/July 1968
Box 42			"What Leisure? a Suburban Report" - manuscript
Box 42			"What Makes a Children's 'Classic'?" - manuscript
Box 42			"What Makes a Children's 'Classic'?" - The Griffin, Oct. 1959
Box 42			"What Shall I Tell My Daughters?" - manuscript
Box 42			"What Shall I Tell My Daughters?" - The Reader's Digest, Nov. 1959
Box 42			"What the Saint Told the Sinner" (working title: "The Road to Self-Respect") - manuscript
Box 42			"What the Saint Told the Sinner" - This Week Magazine, May 22, 1960
Box 42			"What to Take Along on a Weekend" - manuscript
Box 42			"Why We Teach" (for Famous Writers School) - ms. drafts
Box 42			"The Wine of the Country" - work sheets (2 folders)
Box 42			"The Wit of Saints" (working title: "Holy Wit") - ms. Drafts, manuscript
Box 42			"The Wit of Saints" - Vogue, Apr. 1962
Box 42			"Woman's Place Is ...?" - transcript of dialogue
Box 42			"Woman's Place Is ...?" - The Sign, July 1965
Box 42			"Women Are Better Drivers" (working title: "Ladies on the Highway") - manuscript
Box 42			"Women Are Better Drivers" - The American Weekly, Jan. 11, 1959; Catholic Digest, May 1959
Box 42			"Women Are Wonderful" - Life, Dec. 24, 1956
Box 42			"Young Readers Call Them 'Keen" - The New York Times Book Review, Dec. 24, 1950
Box 42			Untitled - "My very dear Sybil ..."
Box 42			Untitled - "Once, many years ago when I was young and naive ..."
Box 42			Untitled fragments (various)
Box 42			Work sheets (various)
		Interviews
Box 42			"Camp Fire Salute to the Stars" 1942
Box 42			Donald McDonald interviews Phyllis McGinley 1960
Box 42			Ilka Chase interviews Phyllis McGinley 1942
Box 42			"Mary Margaret McBride Interviews Phyllis McGinley" 1948
Box 43			"Viewpoint" - taped interview 1964
Box 43			"Woman's Page of the Air" - Adelaide Hawley interviews Phyllis McGinley 1938, 1941
		Lyrics
Box 43			"The Banana Man" - printed material
Box 43			"Birthday Song"
Box 43			"Come Blow Your Horn" (5 folders)
Box 43			"Garden Magic"
				transferred to Rare Book collections
Box 43			"Hallowe'en Song"
Box 43			"The Humming Top"
Box 43			"The Lady Says Yes"
				transferred to Rare Book collections
Box 43			"The Legend of Befana" - printed material
Box 43			Music: Highways and Byways c1936 - contributions by Phyllis McGinley
Oversize 1			"Personal and Private Song Cycles" / Elizabeth Gould and Phyllis McGinley
Box 43			"The Plains of Uruguay" - printed material
Box 43			"Renting the Hive"
				transferred to Rare Book collections
Box 43			"Sitting Home"
Box 43			"Small Wonder" - includes printed material
Box 43			"The Street of Little Houses" - printed material
Box 43			"The Toy Shop" - printed material
Box 43			"Walk the Plank!"
				transferred to Rare Book collections
Box 43			"The Wandering Babushka"
		Poetry
Box 44			"Early Poems" (3 folders)
Box 44			A-Gh (by title) (14 fol ers)
Box 45			Gi-So (by title) (18 folders)
Box 46			Sp-Z (by title) (3 folders)
Box 46			Untitled poems - manuscript
Box 46			Untitled fragment - manuscript
Box 46			"The Inconsistencies of Philosophy" (collection)
Box 46			"The Make-Believe Twins" (collection) - Ladies' Home Journal
Box 46			Untitled collection - "Class at Columbia University 1932"
Box 46			Untitled collection - production records - galley proofs
Box 46			Book "presentation copy" - note samples printed material
Box 46			Commercial - advertisements, commissions
Box 46			Work sheets (4 folders)
Box 46			Workbooks
Box 47			Workbooks
Box 47			Indexes
		Reviews
Box 47			A-Z (by title) (1 folder)
		Scripts
Box 47			"Alice in Leonardland"
Box 47			"Mary's Garden"
				transferred to Rare Book collections
Box 47			"Mr. Christopher" - fragment
Box 47			Untitled play - manuscript
		Speeches
Box 47			Atlanta Book Fair 1948
Box 47			Campion Award 1967
Box 47			Catholic Book Club Annual Dinner 1959
Box 47			Catholic Poetry Society of America 1962
Box 47			Cosmopolitan Club 1954
Box 47			Kappa Kappa Gamma 1952
Box 47			Larchmont Book and Author Luncheon 1960
Box 47			Lippincott Night 1952
Box 47			Richmond, Virgin a, Book and Author Dinner 1956
Box 47			Theta Phi Alpha Siena Medal Award Presentation 1956
Box 47			Unidentified occasion
Box 47			Unidentified occasion - introductory remarks for reading from A Short Walk from the Station
		Stories
Box 47			"The Belle-Maker" - manuscript
Box 47			"Dinner with the Family" - manuscript
Box 47			"First Communion" - manuscript
Box 47			"Hail" - manuscript
Box 47			"The Horse Who Had His Picture in the Paper" (with suggested Houghton Mifflin changes)
Box 47			"The Horse Who Lived Upstairs" - My Weekly Reader C, 1969
Box 47			"The Jacket" - Cosmopolitan Jan. 1945
Box 47			"Old Mill" - manuscript
Box 47			"The Plain Princess" - page proofs, for The Readers' Digest anthology
Box 47			Untitled - ms. drafts
Box 47			Untitled fragments - manuscript
		Miscellany
Box 47			"Alma Kitchell's Streamline Journal" - transcript
Box 47			"Born on Saturday" (autobiographical) - notes
Box 47			Commercial - advertisements, commissions
Box 47			"The Emperor's Nightingale" - narrative adaptation of Hans Christian Andersen
Box 47			Form letter drafts; invitation refusals
Box 47			Form letter drafts - "Oliver Ames"
Box 47			Journal 1949-1951, undated (2 folders)
Box 48			Juvenilia - manuscript (6 folders)
Box 48			"Mr. Perkins" (fragment) - unpublished book ms. (children's novel); work sheets, ms. drafts (2 folders)
Box 48			Notes (miscellaneous)
Box 48			"Notes on Saint Madelein Sophie as an Educator"
Box 48			"Outline for a Possible 'American' Article" (working title: "Exit: the Villain")
			Prefaces
Box 48				Casserole Cookery Complete - ms. Drafts, manuscript
Box 48				The Decline of Pleasure / Walter Kerr - ms. draft (not used), manuscript (not used)
Box 48				Dwarf Long-Nose / Wilhelm Hauff - manuscript
Box 48				A Little Princess / Frances Hodgson Burnett - manuscript
Box 48				Never Underestimate the Power of a Woman - manuscript
Box 48				Poems for Partly Proud Parents / Richard Armour - manuscript
Box 48				The Screwtape Letters / Clive Staples Lewis (working title: "In Praise of Sin: a Preface to The Screwtape Letters") (2 folders)
Box 48				Unidentified
Box 49			Quotations - printed material (2 folders)
Box 49			Reading for Library of Congress recording - manuscript
Box 49			Response to Marion K. Sanders' article "A Proposition for Women" - manuscript
Box 49			"The Show-Off Poodle" - ms. draft
Box 49			Unidentified project
Box 49			Workbook

	Memorabilia
Oversize 4		Academic robes
Oversize 3		Calendars 1953-1961
Box 49		Card file of saints
Box 50		Card file of saints, cont.
Box 50		Crossword puzzles completed by McGinley and containing her name in the clues
Box 50		Diploma - B. A., University of Utah
		Financial
Box 50			Account books 1951-1953, 1958-1963, 1963-1969 (3 volumes)
Box 50			Bank check records
Box 51			Bank check records
Box 52			Bank check records
Box 53			Bank check records
Box 54			Bank check records
Box 55			Bank check records
Box 56			Bank check records
Box 56			Lists and graphs of book royalties
Box 56			Permissions 1944-1974 (4 folders)
Box 56			Receipts (Curtis Brown, Ltd.)
Box 57			Receipts (miscellaneous)
Box 57			Receipts and expenses - disposition of property
			Royalty statements
Box 57				Anchorage Press
Box 57				[C. C.] Birchard & Co.
Box 57				British Broadcasting Corporation
Box 57				Brockhampton Press
Box 57				Caedmon Records
Box 57				Chappell & Co., Inc.
Box 57				Children's Theatre Press
Box 57				Collier Books
Box 57				[J. M.] Dent & Sons Ltd.
Box 57				The Dramatists' Guild, Inc.
Box 57				Duell, Sloan & Pearce, Inc.
Box 57				Ginn and Company
Box 57				Hallmark Cards, Inc.
Box 57				Hawthorn Books
Box 57				[J. B.] Lippincott Company 1944-1974 (6 folders)
Box 58				Macmillan Company Meredith Press
Box 58				[G.] Schirmer, Inc.
Box 58				Secker & Warburg Ltd. Shawnee Press Inc.
Box 58				Viking Press Inc. 1946-1975 (4 folders)
Box 58				[Franklin] Watts, Inc.
Box 58				World's Work Ltd.
Box 58				Miscellaneous
Box 58			Tax calculations and records 1953-1958 (2 folders)
Box 59			Tax calculations and records 1959-1960, 1965 (2 folders)
Box 59			Miscellany
		Legal
Box 59			Contracts, The New Yorker 1943-1970, 1973
Box 59			Contracts, miscellaneous 1928-1974, undated (3 folders)
Box 59			Copyright certificates, transfers and renewals
Box 59			Lawsuit, "Hayden vs. Chapman Park Hotel"
Box 59			Leases
Box 59		Lists
Box 59		Photographs
Box 60		Photographs
Box 60		Plaque, "What the Saint Told the Sinner"
Box 60		Portrait
		Printed material
Box 60			Articles about, general 1920-1969, undated (6 folders)
Box 60			Articles about, awards
Box 61			Articles about, peripheral mentions (5 folders)
Box 61			Clippings, miscellaneous
Box 61			Postcards, occasional cards (blank)
Box 61			Programs
			Publicity
Box 61				Books (by title)
Box 62				Books (by title)
Box 62				Books (multiple titles)
Box 62				Miscellany (TV, radio appearances, etc.)
			Reviews
Box 62				All Around the Town
Box 62				Blunderbus
Box 62				Boys Are Awful
Box 62				Christmas Legends
Box 62				"The Emperor's Nightingale"
Box 62				A Girl and Her Room
Box 62				The Horse Who Had His Picture in the Paper
Box 62				The Horse Who Lived Upstairs
Box 62				How Mrs. Santa Claus Saved Christmas
Box 62				Husbands Are Difficult
Box 62				The Love Letters of Phyllis McGinley
Box 62				Lucy McLockett
Box 63				The Make-Believe Twins
Box 63				Merry Christmas, Happy New Year
Box 63				Mince Pie and Mistletoe
Box 63				The Most Wonderful Doll in the World
Box 63				On the Contrary
Box 63				One More Manhattan
Box 63				The Plain Princess
Box 63				A Pocketful of Wry
Box 63				The Province of the Heart
Box 63				Saint-Watching
Box 63				A Short Walk from the Station
Box 63				Sixpence in Her Shoe
Box 63				Stones from a Glass House
Box 63				Sugar and Spice: the ABC of Being a Girl
Box 63				Times Three
Box 63				Wonders and Surprises
Box 63				A Wreath of Christmas Legends
Box 63				The Year Without a Santa Claus
			School publications
Box 63				High Lights - Albert Leonard Junior High School 1931, 1934
Box 63				The University Pen 1924-1925
				Yearbooks
Box 64					O. H. S. The Classicum 1920
Box 64					Utonian 1925
Box 64			Miscellaneous
Box 64		Scrapbooks
Box 65		Scrapbooks
Oversize 2		Scrapbook (oversize)
Box 65		Scrapbook (partial)
Box 65		Miscellaneous

Return to top