Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Shaw McCutcheon Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McCutcheon, Shaw
Title: Shaw McCutcheon Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: circa 1965-1969
Quantity: 1.75 linear ft.
Abstract: 33 original editorial cartoons
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Shaw McCutcheon (1921- ) is an American editorial cartoonist.

Born in Chicago in 1921, Shaw McCutcheon is the son of Pulitzer Prize winning editorial cartoonist, John T. McCutcheon. McCutcheon received a bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Harvard but while serving in World War II, McCutcheon took interest in politics and cartooning. McCutcheon studied political science for two years at the University of Chicago and then attended the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts for another two years.

At the urging of Chicago Tribune cartoonist Carey Orr (who succeeded McCutcheon’s father), McCutcheon applied for a cartoonist job with the Spokesman Review in Spokane, Washington. His first cartoon appeared in the summer of 1950 and in the 1970s, McCutcheon also began writing editorials for the paper, often on issues regarding economics and national defense.

McCutcheon retired from the Spokesman Review in 1986. In 2005, some of McCutcheon's original cartoons were added to the permanent collection of the Northwest Museum of Art & Culture in Spokane.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Shaw McCutcheon Cartoons are comprised of 33 original editorial cartoons published by the Spokane (Wash.) Spokesman-Review. None of the cartoons are dated, however from their subject matter it appears they are from the mid to late 1960s.

McCutcheon drew the cartoons primarily with ink on illustration board and some traces of pencil are visible. Shading was completed with lines and crosshatching rather than with crayon.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The cartoons are arranged alphabetically by caption.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See the John T. McCutcheon Papers for material related to Shaw McCutcheon's father.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred other cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Gaulle, Charles de, 1890-1970 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
McCutcheon, Shaw.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Rockefeller, Nelson A. (Nelson Aldrich), 1908-1979 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

United States. Congress -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Associated Titles

Spokesman-review (Spokane, Wash)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Anti-war demonstrations -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Washington (State)
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- Washington (State)
Inflation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Taxation-- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1963-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Shaw McCutcheon Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Shaw McCutcheon, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 24 Nov 2008
Revision history: 24 Nov 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 12 Nov 2009 - added detailed inventory, revised bio (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons undated (33 items) 14 ½" x 18"
Oversize 1 A-E
Adding a Little to the Postage: U.S. Postal Service, politics
Allow Me to Loan You a Little Something: Charles De Gaulle, budget, France
Being Only 4 Feet Tall is Something of a Handicap: savings bonds, interest rates
The Caddie Is Understandably Reluctant: Vietnam War, foreign aid, budget
Cutting the Silver Cord: space exploration
Decided Not to Burn His Draft Card After All: Nelson Rockefeller
Don Quixote Loses Again to the Windfall: U.S. Senate, filibuster
Don't Call Us- We'll Call You: Alexander Dubcek, Czechoslovakia, Soviet Union
Envious: elections, Canada, France
Even the Most Ruined Can't Keep Up the Pace Indefinitely: foreign policy
Oversize 1 F, I, L-O
For Heavens Sake, Step on the Brakes: economy, inflation
Fly Now, Pay Later: armed forces
From Now On, It's in the Hands of You Historians: Lyndon Johnson
I Was a 52 Electoral Vote Weakling: Republican Party
Let's Not Rush Out Too Precipitously: peace
Let's Try Putting It in Reverse: Richard Nixon, Vietnam War
Maybe Bonnie and Clyde Weren't Guilty After All: law and order
Must You Always Resort to Violence: college students, demonstrations, Vietnam War
Need For a Clear Demarcation Line: Vietnam War, treason, dissent
Oh, Well, a Fellow Can't Be Consistent All the Time: demonstrations, armed forces
Out of the Fire and Into the Frying Pan: taxes, inflation
Oversize 1 S-T, W, Y
Somebody Ought to Tell Them the Lyrics Will Come Through Better if the Volume is Turned Lower: dissent, Richard Nixon
The Spirit of '48: Democratic Party, Harry Truman, John Dewey, Hubert Humphrey
Straight Ahead, Then Left at the First Light- You Can't Miss It!: space exploration
To My Valentine: Congress
Tough Going For the Propheciers: Richard Nixon, prophecies
The Tough One to Convince: Vietnam War, demonstrations
We Shall Miss the Wise Counsel of Our Great Leader: Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam War
We've Tried Strikes, Demands, Ultimatums...: ambassadors, demonstrations
What? But I Was Burning Only the Bottom Layer!: draft
Where'd You Ever Get a Crazy Idea Like That: Nigeria, England
Woodman Don't Spare That Tree: inflation, taxes, Congress
You Can Talk With the Animals- But Will They Listen?: inflation, Richard Nixon

Return to top