Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Michael McClure Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McClure, Michael.
Title: Michael McClure Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1956-1964
Quantity: 41 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the American poet, playwright, essayist, novelist. Born 1932. Letters to Carol Bergé, Diane Di Prima, LeRoi Jones, and Alan Marlowe; typescript poems; and a holograph script for The Blossom; or, Billy the Kid, with a holograph introduction dated Mar. 28, 1962.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Michael McClure was an American poet, playwright, essayist, and novelist. Born in 1932 in Marysville, Kansas, McClure attended Wichita State University (1951-1953) and the University of Arizona (1953-1954) but received his B.A. from San Francisco State College in 1955.

McClure taught at the California College of Arts and Crafts in Oakland, first as assistant professor (1962-1977) and then as associate professor (1977) and finally professor of humanities. He spent a year as lecturer at the State University of New York at Buffalo (1979) before accepting a position as associate fellow at Pierson College, Yale University (1982). He also served on the board of directors of the Drylands Institute, an environmental research organization in Tucson, Arizona.

He is the author of more than forty collections of poetry, with translations of his work into has been translated into German, French, and Yugoslavian.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Michael McClure Papers consist of correspondence and writings. Correspondence, with the exception of a single item from Carol Berge, is outgoing; the bulk relates to McClure's contributions to the literary journal Floating Bear (Diane di Prima) and the American Theatre for Poets (Alan Marlowe). Writings includes poetry and a play entitled The Blossom, or, Billy the Kid.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Writings are arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Baraka, Imamu Amiri, 1934-
Bergé, Carol, 1928-
Di Prima, Diane.
Doyle, Kirby.
Marlowe, Alan.
McClure, Michael.

Associated Titles

The Blossom; or, Billy the Kid.

Subjects

American literature, 20th century.
American poetry, 20th century.
Bohemianism, United States.
Dramatists, American, 20th century.
Literature, Experimental.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)
Poems.
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Dramatists.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Michael McClure Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Jul 1987
Revision history: Oct 1987 - additions (KM); 1 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 23 Baraka, Imamu Amiri (LeRoi Jones) 1959-1963 (14 items)
SC 23 Berge, Carol Jan 1962 (2 items)
SC 23 di Prima, Diane 1962-1964 (2 items)
SC 23 Doyle, Kirby 4 Aug 1964 (1 item)
SC 23 Linnich, Billy 9 Dec 1963 (1 item)
SC 23 Marlowe, Alan 1963-1964, undated (8 items)
Writings
SC 23 "The Blossom, or, Billy the Kid" 28 Mar 1962 - play, with holograph preface
SC 23 "Canticle" undated - poem
SC 23 "Hymns to St. Geryon" undated - poems
SC 23 "Passage" undated - holograph poems; "Published 1956 by J. Williams"
SC 23 "Poisoned Wheat" undated - typescript poem with pencil corrections
SC 23 "Reason" 1963 - typescript with holograph corrections
SC 23 "The Robe" undated - poem

Return to top