Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Harriet Randolph Hyatt Mayor Papers

An Inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mayor, Harriet H. (Harriet Hyatt), 1868-1960.
Title: Harriet Randolph Hyatt Mayor Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1881-1962
Quantity: 15.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence (1892-1960); diaries, genealogical materials, notebooks, photographs, printed material, including articles and clippings, scrapbooks, memorabilia, and sketchbooks. Correspondence includes that of Adelaide Cole Chase, Clara Carter Hyatt Coad, Anna Hyatt and Archer M. Huntington, Audella Hyatt, and Alfred G. Mayor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harriet R. Hyatt Mayor was born in Salem, Mass. in 1868, the daughter of Audella Beebe Hyatt and Alpheus Hyatt II, the noted paleontologist. After traveling abroad with her family at an early age she began to show artistic tendencies. She studied art and sculpture in Boston and began a promising career. She encouraged her sister Anna to join her in sculpting. Harriet was married in 1900 to Alfred Goldsborough Mayor and soon began to raise a family. Alfred G. Mayor, son of Alfred M. Mayor, the noted physicist, was an outstanding natural scientist in his own right. He and his wife spent 22 happy years together and had four children, A. Hyatt, Katharine, Brantz, and Barbara.

Mrs. Mayor suffered a slight attack of tuberculosis in 1912 and went abroad with her children. She barely escaped Germany before World War I began. After Dr. Mayor's death in 1922, Mrs. Mayor busied herself with other activities: she traveled in Europe, she also became active in the Daughters of the American Revolution and long served as regent of the Princeton, New Jersey chapter. This association contributed to her interest in genealogy (as well as her mother's similar interest) and she made studies of the Hyatt and Mayor family trees. She lived most of her later years in Princeton, only leaving to live with her sister Anna (Mrs. Archer M. Huntington) during her last year. She died at the Huntington estate in Bethel, Conn., in 1960 at the age of 92.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The papers of Harriet Hyatt Mayor include correspondence, an address book, artifacts, an autograph collection, bills and receipts, diaries, (1901-04, 1937-38, and undated), genealogy materials, notes and notebooks, photographs, scrapbooks, manuscripts of articles written by Mrs. Mayor, sketchbooks and published material consisting of articles, newspaper clippings, and press releases about Mrs. Mayor and others.

Correspondence, includes incoming, outgoing letters, incoming letters of others, and correspondence by subject. Subject File, contains an address book, artifacts, an autograph book and collection, bills and receipts, catalogues, a cashbook, copies of letters, copyright notices, DAR material, diaries (1901-04, 1937-38, and undated), foreign currency, genealogical materials and correspondence, health reports, legal papers, a medal, notes and notebook, a passport, programs and cards and travel booklets. Photographs, consists of pictures of documents, family and friends and places. Manuscripts, includes articles by Mrs. Mayor and by others, and sketches and sketchbooks. Published Material, contains articles by Mrs. Mayor and others, newspaper clippings about Mrs. Mayor and others, and press releases about others. Duplicates, consists of one folder of articles about Mrs. Mayor's father, Alpheus Hyatt II.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author. The outgoing correspondence is arranged chronologically. The correspondence of others is all incoming letters to other members of the family arranged alphabetically by recipient and then chronologically. The correspondence by subject is a series of copybooks of letters. Photographs are arranged alphabetically by subject. These photographs are followed by scrapbooks of photos and also negatives. Manuscripts are organized alphabetically by type and then alphabetically by title. Subject File and Published Material are arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections for the Hyatt-Mayor families. For information on members of the Hyatt, Mayor, Beebe, and Huntington families see the SCRC Subject Index for the finding aids of individual family members.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Chase, Adelaide Cole.
Coad, Clara Carter Hyatt.
Huntington, Anna Hyatt, 1876-1973.
Huntington, Archer M. (Archer Milton), 1870-1955.
Hyatt family.
Hyatt, Audella Beebe, 1840-1932.
Mayor family.
Mayor, Alfred Goldsborough, 1868-1922.
Mayor, Harriet H. (Harriet Hyatt), 1868-1960 -- Archives.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Painters -- United States.
Sculptors -- United States.
Upper class -- United States.
Women artists -- United States.
Women painters -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles
Clippings
Correspondence
Diaries
Genealogies
Notebooks
Photographs
Scrapbooks
Sketchbooks
Sketches

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harriet Randolph Hyatt Mayor Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Nov. 1966
Revision history: 20 Mar 2008 - converted to EAD (LDC); 26 Aug 2013 - added oversize photos, condensed dates (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming Correspondence
Box 1 A
Box 1 B
Box 1 C
Box 1 Chase, Adelaide Cole
Box 1 Coad, Clara Carter Hyatt
Cook, Katherine
See Townsend, Katharine Mayor Cook.
Box 1 Dah - Day
Box 2 De - Do
Box 2 E
Box 2 F
Box 2 G (2 folders)
Box 2 Ha - Hu
Hodgdon, Clara Hyatt
See Kent, Clara Hyatt Hodgdon.
Box 2 Huntington, Anna V. Hyatt and Archer M. Huntington
Box 2 Hyatt family - Alpheus Hyatt II, Alpheus Hyatt III, Amy Hyatt, Harriet Hyatt (grandmother)
Hyatt, Anna Vaughn
See Huntington, Anna V. Also See Mrs. Huntington's own collection for Mrs. Mayor's replies
Hyatt, Audella
Box 2 1886-1887 (2 folders)
Box 3 1889
Box 3 1891-1899 (9 folders)
Box 4 1900, Jul-Dec (2 folders)
Box 4 1901 (3 folders)
Box 4 1902, Jan-Mar
Box 5 1902, Apr-Dec (4 folders)
Box 5 1903-1905 (3 folders)
Box 6 1906-1912 (10 folders)
Box 7 1913-1917 (7 folders)
Box 8 1918-1927 (10 folders)
Box 8 1929
Box 8 1932
Box 8 Undated
Box 8 Unidentified
Hyatt, Clara (Clara Carter Hyatt Coad)
See Coad, Clara Carter Hyatt.
Hyatt, Clara (Clarchen)
See Kent, Clara Hyatt Hodgdon.
Box 9 I
Box 9 J
Box 9 K (2 folders)
Box 9 Kent, Clara Hyatt Hodgdon
Box 9 L
Box 9 Ma - Me
Mayor, Alfred G.
Box 10 1896-1901 (9 folders)
Box 11 1902-1904 (6 folders)
Box 12 1905-1911, Jun (12 folders)
Box 13 1911 Jul-1914 Aug (7 folders)
Box 14 1915-1922 (8 folders)
Box 14 Undated (3 folders)
Box 15 Mayor, Alpheus Hyatt
Box 15 Mayor family - Alfred H., Brantz (2), Edwin, Ella, Harriet, Katharine, (2) Lewis, Martha, Mary, Susan, Virginia
Mayor, Barbara
See Money, Barbara Mayor.
Mayor, Katharine
See Townsend, Katharine Mayor Cook.
Mayor, Maria S.
Box 15 1897-1900, 1908, 1911, 1918, 1920
Box 15 1922-1923, 1926-1928
Box 15 1930-1934, undated
Box 15 Mo - Mu
Box 15 Money, Barbara
Box 15 N
Box 15 O
Box 16 P
Box 16 Paton, F. Margaret & Stewart
Box 16 R
Box 16 S
Box 16 T
Box 16 U
Box 16 V
Box 16 Wal - Wat
Box 17 We - Wr
Box 17 Y
Box 17 Unidentifiable (2 folders)
Outgoing correspondence
Box 17 1895-1958
Box 17 Undated
Correspondence of others, incoming
Box 17 Hyatt, Alpheus III 1889, 1892, undated (3 folders)
Box 17 Mayor, Brantz 1921, undated (2 folders)
Box 17 Money, Barbara Mayor 1910-1934, undated (3 folders)
Box 17 Townsend, Katharine Mayor Cook 1907, 1910, 1915-1922, undated (4 folders)
Subject:
Box 18 Copybook of letters (3)
Subject files
Box 19 Address book
Box 19 Articles about Alpheus Hyatt
Box 19 Artifacts
Box 20 Artifacts
Box 20 Autograph book
Box 20 Autograph collection
Box 20 Bills and receipts
Box 20 Catalogues
Box 20 Cash Book, Morven Society of Princeton, N.J.
Box 20 Copies of letters
Box 20 Copyright notices 1893, 1895-1897, 1903 (3 folders)
Box 20 Daughters of the American Revolution
Box 20 Diary 1901-1904
Box 21 Diary 1937-1938
Box 21 Diaries (2)
Box 21 Foreign currency
Box 21 Genealogy correspondence (3 folders)
For more of Mrs. Mayor's genealogical correspondence, see the Related Material above.
Box 22 Health reports on T.B.
Box 22 Legal papers
Box 22 Mayor, Alfred B. - obituary
Box 22 Medal
Box 22 Notes (2 folders)
Box 22 Notebook from art classes
Box 22 Notebook on "Clermont"
Box 22 Passport
Box 22 Poetry
Box 22 Programs and cards
Box 22 Travel Booklets
Photographs
Box 23 Documents and pictures
Box 23 "Edmund, the Lion, and the Alphabet"
Box 23 Family and friends (3 folders)
Box 24 Family and friends (5 folders)
Box 25 Places (4 folders)
Box 25 Scrapbook (1)
Box 26 Scrapbook (4)
Box 27 Scrapbook (1)
Box 27 Works by Anna Hyatt Huntington
Box 27 Works by Harriet Hyatt Mayor
Box 28 Negatives (4 folders)
Box 28 Negatives, glass
Map-Case 102 Miscellaneous oversize (2 items)
Manuscripts
Articles
Box 29 "An Evening among the Cannibal Islands"
Box 29 "My Grandmother Hyatt"
Box 29 "In ye Palace by the Sea"
Box 29 "My Own Town"
Box 29 "The Passing of Bridget"
Box 29 Untitled
Box 29 "Unveiling of Memorial Tablet and Bas Relief of Alpheus Hyatt" - author unknown
Box 29 "A Woman's Duty"
Articles by others
Box 29 Unidentified
Sketches
Box 29 Early sketches by Harriet Hyatt Mayor
Box 29 Sketches
Box 29 Sketchbook (2)
Box 30 Sketchbook (2)
Box 30 Sketches, unidentified
Published material
Box 31 Articles by Harriet Hyatt Mayor
Box 31 Articles by others
Box 31 "Babson's Washington Forecast"
Box 31 Newspaper clippings about Harriet Hyatt Mayor
Box 31 Newspaper clippings about others
Box 31 Press releases about others
Duplicates
Box 31 Articles about Alpheus Hyatt (1 folder)

Return to top