Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Sharon J. Mauhs Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mauhs, Sharon J., 1901-1964.
Title: Sharon J. Mauhs Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1952-1968
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American conservationist, New York State Commissioner of Conservation from 1956 to 1958. Collection contains articles about Mauhs and a number of reports, press releases, speeches and other writings by him.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sharon J. Mauhs (1901-1964) was an American conservationist and New York State Commissioner of Conservation from 1956 to 1958. Born in Sharon Springs, New York he graduated from Union College (Albany Law School) and was admitted to the bar in 1926. He was elected to the New York State Assembly in 1948 and served two terms, and was chairman of the Schoharie County Democrats from 1944 to 1956. Governor Averill Harriman appointed him Conservation Commissioner in 1956 at the suggestion of several prominent conservation groups and individuals, calling him "both a distinguished lawyer and a successful farmer...a tireless fighter for the conservation and protection of our natural resources." He was extremely active in his position, an excellent administrator and department head, and many people noted his skill as a public speaker.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sharon J. Mauhs Collection consists of articles about Mauhs (one commemorative) and a number of reports, press releases, speeches and other writings by him. These include addresses to New York State conservation bodies, both governmental and non-governmental; departmental reports; a speech to the Oil Producers Association; press releases concerning his appearances; and memos on various pieces of environmental legislation.

I have stated and restated many times before...the importance and the value, the worth and the beauty, the benefits and the blessings, of our wilderness forests all over the land, and especially our great wilderness forests in New York, and the need, the necessity, and the urgency to preserve them as wild forest lands and save them from commercial exploitation...Long shadows [threatening them] will continue to grow, until our remaining wilderness areas are in eclipse, unless the conservationists of America become more alert to their responsibility and by voice and by vote, regardless of party, encourage a great crusade to protect [them].

Sharon J. Mauhs, speech to The Nature Conservancy, 15 Jan 1961.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Articles about Mauhs come first, followed by writings and speeches by him in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Mauhs, Sharon J., 1901-1964.

Corporate Bodies

New York (State). -- Conservation Department.

Subjects

Conservation of natural resources -- New York (State)
Conservationists -- New York (State)
Forest conservation -- United States -- History.
Forest policy -- United States -- History.
Natural resources -- Management.
Nature conservation -- New York (State) -- History.
Wilderness areas -- New York (State) -- Management.
Wildlife conservation -- New York (State) -- History.

Places

Adirondack Mountains (N.Y.)
New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Press releases.
Reports.
Speeches.

Occupations

Conservationists.
Forest management.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sharon J. Mauhs Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Fay Welch, 1969, 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 19 Aug 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Articles about
SC 564 Miscellaneous 1952, 1965, 1968
Writings by
SC 564 Reports, speeches, etc. 1956-1962
Speeches are to the New York State Conservation Council, Oneida Lake Association, Oil Producers Association, Niskayuna Forest Fish and Game Association, Mohawk-Hudson Federation of Conservation Councils, Izaak Walton League of America, The Nature Conservancy, and the Affiliated Conservation Clubs of Madison County
Reports consist of a 1957 annual report of New York State Conservation Department and a Sep 1958 report on administrative improvements to the Division of Fish and Game.
Memoranda subjects include hunting and fishing license fees, revisions to the Conservation Law, and a proposed Democratic platform plank on conservation

Return to top