Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Marty Mann Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mann, Marty, 1904-
Title: Marty Mann Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1943-1984
Quantity: 30 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American advertising and public relations executive. Ms. Mann founded the National Council on Alcoholism in 1944, and served as its executive director until 1968. Collection includes correspondence (1944-1964); desk calendars (1946-1965); scrapbooks (1944-1962); manuscripts (1944-1948); speeches; and files of the National Council on Alcoholism, including executive minutes (1957-1965), board minutes (1954-1965), documentation on conferences and programs; and other organizational records.
Language: Bulk in English, a few items in Spanish.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Margaret "Marty" Mann (1904-1980) was an American advertising and public relations executive and founder of the National Council on Alcoholism. Born into an upper middle class family in Chicago, Mann attended private schools, traveled extensively, and was a debutante. She married into a wealthy New Orleans family; when in her late twenties, due to financial reverses, she had to go to work, her social and family connections made it easy for her to launch a career in public relations.

Mann's "social" drinking, however, grew to the point where it endangered not only her business but her life, including at least one suicide attempt. In 1939 her psychiatrist, Dr. Harry Tiebout, gave her a manuscript of his book Alcoholics Anonymous, and persuaded her to attend her first AA meeting (at the time there were only two AA groups in the entire United States). Despite several relapses during her first year and a half, Mann succeeded in becoming sober by 1940 and, apart from a brief tumble nearly twenty years later, sober she remained for the rest of her life.

In 1945 Mann began working actively to eliminate the stigma and ignorance regarding alcoholism, particularly for women, and to encourage the "disease model" which viewed it as a medical/psychological problem rather than a moral failing. She helped start the Yale School of Alcohol Studies (now at Rutgers) and organized the National Committee for Education on Alcoholism (NCEA) which later became the National Council on Alcoholism (today the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence or NCADD). She was also in great demand as a public speaker, her personal experience making her particularly effective, and she was instrumental in educating the public that alcoholism is a serious but treatable disease.

Mann published her New Primer on Alcoholism in 1958. Although the National Council on Alcoholism had no formal relationship with Alcoholics Anonymous, Mann's willingness to admit her alcoholism and her successful experience with AA encouraged others to seek help, and Mann contributed the chapter "Women Suffer Too" to the 2d and 3rd editions of The Big Book of AA. In the 1950s Edward R. Murrow named her as one of the "Ten Greatest Living Americans." She died at home in 1980.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Marty Mann Papers includes correspondence, writing, printed material, and memorabilia. The collection is divided into 13 series.

Marty Mann files and Personal correspondence contain Mann's personal files and letters. Included here is a file of letters from author Carson McCullers, with whom Mann had an affair in 1950.

National Council of Alcoholism files (I) material includes articles of association, minutes, pamphlets, and other items relating to the organization's formation and early history. Additional NCA material may be found in the National Council of Alcoholism files (II) series below.

General files relate to organizations (National Budget Committee, Scientific Advisory Committee, Yale), tv and radio (radio spots "This I believe" and "Town meeting," proposed television series), and other topics. Included here are letters from families of alcoholics in more than forty states, in response to an article in the January 1963 Reader's Digest about Mann and her personal battle with alcoholism.

Writings contains galleys for and copies of Mann's New Primer on Alcoholism.

Notes contains desk calendars for nearly 20 years as well as personal notebooks and pocket calendars.

Pamphlets consists of printed material from the National Council on Alcoholism (brochures, leaflets, press kits), medical research reports, convention proceedings, and annual reports.

News clippings covers approximately ten years, and Scrapbooks of clippings approximately twenty years.

Memorabilia, donated at a later date, contains address books, awards and certificates, Marty Mann's obituaries, and material relating to her appearance on the Phil Donahue show.

National Council of Alcoholism files (II), donated at a later date, contains additional material on the NCA, including brochures about their various programs, annual reports, etc.

Book-related files, donated at a later date, contains correspondence with publishers, fan letters and royalty statements relating to Mann's books, including foreign editions.

Recordings includes speeches, remarks, workshops, and radio appearances by Marty Mann and others, as well as recordings of sessions at annual meetings and conferences of the NCA and other organizations and of memorial services for Ms. Mann. Also includes three film reels of short public service spots. Formats include films, reel tapes and phonodiscs. Much of this material has been digitized.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Within each series, material is ordered alphabetically. The series themselves are not in any particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Gardner, Yvelin.
Mann, Marty, 1904-
McCullers, Carson, 1917-1967.
Oursler, Fulton, 1893-1952.
Peale, Norman Vincent, 1898-1993.
Pike, James A. (James Albert), 1913-1969.

Corporate Bodies

Alcoholics Anonymous.
National Council on Alcoholism -- Records and correspondence.

Subjects

Alcoholism -- Congresses.
Alcoholism counseling.
Alcoholism.
Public relations consultants -- United States.

Genres and Forms

16mm.
35mm.
Annual reports.
Audiotapes.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drafts.
Film reels.
Galleys.
Manuscripts for publication.
Memorabilia.
Minutes.
Pamphlets.
Phonodiscs.
Proceedings.
Scrapbooks.
Sound recordings.
Speeches.
Tape reels.

Occupations

Public relations consultants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marty Mann Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority of collection gift of Marty Mann, 1966-1968, 1984.

"Alcoholics Anonymous presents Marty Mann; San Francisco December, 11 1946" recordings, gift of Peter Desmier, 2014.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRA
Date: Feb 1997
Revision history: 11 Dec 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 15 Jan 2010 - corrections (MRC); 29 Oct 2010 - update to bioghist (MRC); 1 Nov 2013 - recordings added (MRC); 3 Feb 2013 - M14-007 recordings added (MRC); 20 Nov 2015 - rehoused in archival document boxes, barcoded, recordings inventory updated

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

## Use MARC 530 or comment out if not applicable

Marty Mann files
Box 1 "About the House" CBS television show
Box 1 Adelaide Hawley Program
Box 1 "Alcoholics Can be Helped" [speech] March 9, 1950
Box 1 Articles other than Mrs. Mann's
Box 1 Atlantic City Speech
Box 1 Awards
See also Memorabiia : Awards and certificates.
Box 1 Biographies [of Mrs. Mann]
Box 1 Conference programs
Box 1 Detroit speech, sample for volunteer speakers
Box 1 Files
Box 1 High Watch Farm Notes
Box 1 "Is There An Alcoholic Personality?"
Box 1 "It's About Time" Flair article
Box 1 Manuscript, "Alcoholic Dilemma"
Box 1 Manuscript material for leaflets etc.
Box 1 Manuscripts 1944-1945
Box 2 Manuscripts 1946-1948[?] (2 folders)
Box 2 Margaret Allen Program CBS May 20 '49 May 20 '49
Box 2 Martha Deane Program 1946, 1950 (2 folders)
Box 2 "New Horizons in the Prevention of Alcoholism" address given by Mrs. Mann at Boston Oct 4, 1950
Box 2 Nancy Craig Program
Box 2 New Primerdrafts
See also Writings
Box 2 Outgoing publicity procedures
Box 2 Page, Mrs. H.M.
Box 2 "Pastors' Resources in Dealing With Alcoholics" publication in Pastoral Psychology 1950
Box 2 Primer on Alcoholism 1951-1952 - notes, clippings, correspondence, miscellaneous material
Box 2 Publicity TIme Magazine photo offset
Box 2 Quincy Howe television broadcast May 1949
Box 2 Radio script (Drs. Shannon, Bacon, and Baird) Seattle, Wash. 1944
Box 2 Reader's Digest 1961, 1963 (2 folders)
Box 2 Recommendations for office reorganization (Spence)
Box 2 Speaking dates records March 25, 1947 to August 31, 1948
Box 2 Speeches
Box 2 Station WWOD Lynchburg, VA
Box 3 Surgery Sep 1958
Box 3 "Tell Me, Doctor" (WJZ) Sept. 14, 1965
Box 3 Throat condition 1962
Box 3 Walker Winslow
Walker Winslow also corresponded under the name "Harold Maine." Items with the name Maine are found in various places in Ms. Mann's papers, but have not been collected here.
Box 3 "We The People" CBS May 1946
Box 3 "You and Alcohol" Columbia, B. C. Dec. 24, 1946
Personal correspondence
Box 3 [General] 1944-1947 (3 folders)
Box 4 [General] 1948-1950 (6 folders)
Box 5 [General] 1951-1964 (4 folders)
Box 5 Letterbook 1964 - three-ring binder with letters in sleeves
Box 6 [General, unsorted] 1959-1969 (3 folders)
Box 6 [General] 1970 - includes one folder of get-well cards related to an accident in 1970 (3 folders)
Box 7 [General] 1970 - includes one folder of get-well cards related to an accident in 1970, and two labeled "Letters re: hip" (3 folders)
Box 7 McCullers, Carson 1950
Box 7 Robertson, Frances 1959-1975
National Council of Alcoholism files (I)
See also National Council of Alcoholism files (II), below.
Box 8 Amicus Curiae
Box 8 Articles of Association
Box 8 Board Minutes (Extra Copies) 1954-1965
Box 9 By-laws (Proposed Changes) 1957
Box 9 Constitution and By-laws
Box 9 Demonstration Plan
Box 9 Executive Minutes (Extra Copies) 1957-1965
Box 9 "Facts on Alcoholism"
Box 9 Facts and figures
Box 10 Historical
Box 10 Historical Papers
Box 10 History
Box 10 History, Dwight Anderson Library
Box 10 Joint Meeting with Local Affiliates 1953
Box 10 Local Brochures
Box 10 Luncheon, St. Regis 1959
Box 10 Minutes, letter, and reports 1945-1948
Box 10 NCEA vs. Broun
Box 10 New York State Registration, Charitable Agency 1955-1956
Box 10 Objectives 1955-1956
Box 10 Pamphlets on alcoholism
Box 11 Pamphlets on alcoholism (2 folders)
Box 11 Policies and changes of policy reflected in meetings of board 1944-1956
Box 11 U.S. Treasury Department (Form 990) 1945-1954
Box 11 Yale Severance
Box 11 [Annual reports 1945-1956
Box 12 [Annual reports 1957-1967 (2 folders)
General files
Box 12 Alcoholism pamphlets by other groups
Box 12 Columbia Conference 1955
Box 12 Executive Director's Report 1946-1948 (2 folders)
Box 12 Field Memo #10 NCC Pronouncement, Adams Brief April 2, 1958
Box 13 Franklin Report, Planning Committee 1956-1957
Box 13 Guide for the Clergy
Box 13 Local Communities
Box 13 Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 13 National Budget Committee (2 folders)
Box 14 Programs 1958-1965 (8 folders)
Box 14 Radio, "This I Believe"
Box 14 Radio, "Town Meeting" 1955
Reader's Digest letters
Box 14 Filing [procedures]
Box 14 Mrs. Mann's Responses to Reader's Digest Article
Box 14 [Responses by state] - Alabama to Arizona (3 folders)
Box 16 [Responses by state] - California -to New York; includes District of Columbia and separate file for New York City
Box 17 [Responses by state] - North Carolina to Wisconsin
Box 17 Canada
Box 17 Foreign & APO Military
Box 17 Scientific Advisory Committee, Olson, Dr. Robert
Box 17 Severance of NCA and Yale
Box 17 Skid Row - regarding incidence of alcoholism among inhabitants of Skid Row
Box 17 Television, Proposed Series 1954
Box 18 Tuberculosis and alcoholism
Box 18 Yale Clinic Budget
Box 18 Yale (General) 1947-1955
Box 18 Yale Summer School Attendance 1943-1947
Box 18 Yale Summer School 1948
Box 18 Yale Summer School of Alcohol Studies Roster of Students 1948-1955
Box 18 Australia, New Zealand 1961 (2 folders)
Writings
Marty Mann Answers Your Questions
See also Book-related correspondence ; Marty Mann Answers Your Questions... : Drafts (above).
Box 18 Typescript
Box 18 Galleys (master proof and Marty Mann's copy)
New Primer on Alcoholism
Box 19 Galleys
New Primer on Alcoholism
Box 19 Galleys
Box 19 Original typescript, unordered fragments (12 folders)
Box 19 Original typescript, complete
Box 19 Miscellaneous notes, etc.
Box 20 Pamphlets, miscellaneous
Published editions of books
Box 20 Marty Mann Answers Your Questions About Drinking and Alcoholism 1970 - hardcover; with Mann's handwritten draft of bio for book jacket and typed draft
Box 20 Marty Mann Answers Your Questions About Drinking and Alcoholism 1981 - soft cover
Box 20 Primer on Alcoholism, Rinehart & Co. 1950 - hardcover, no dust jacket; includes Mann's pencil corrections on some pages
Box 20 Primer on Alcoholism, Rinehart & Co. 1950 - two copies of hardcover with dust jacket; includes Mann's corrections on pages and on laid-in pieces of paper (2 copies)
Box 20 Primer on Alcoholism, Rinehart & Co. 1950 - hardcover with dust jacket, unmarked
Box 21 Primer on Alcoholism, Victor Gollancz, London 1950 - British edition; hardcover with dust jacket; first, fourth and ninth printings (3 volumes)
Box 21 New Primer on Alcoholism, Holt, Rinehart & Winston 1958 - hardcover with dust jacket; unmarked except that jacket is price-clipped
Box 21 [New Primer...] Alkoholismi - mitä se on ja miten siitä voi toipua, Porvoo, Helsinki 1958 - Finnish edition; softcover
Box 21 [New Primer...] Die Alkoholis, Afrikaanse Pers Boekhandel, Johannesburg 1953 - South African edition; hardcover with dust jacket
Box 21 [New Primer...] Novo Concepto Sobre Alcoholismo, Comisino Sobre Alcoholismo, San José 1969 - Cost Rican edition; softcover with "SAMPLE" sticker across front
Box 21 Wine Advisory Board Bibliography of Wine and Components - microfilmed; may be incomplete, missing part of A through part of I (3 rolls)
Western Microfilm Co., San Francisco, California. Roll 1: from "Abashidze" to "Alcohol in Medicine"; Roll 2: from "Intravenous alcohol in obstetrical labor" to "Iron in wine"; Roll 3: from Iron in wine" to "Zinfandel grapes"
Notes
Box 22 Desk calendars 1946-1949, 1952, 1954, 1956-1957 (8 folders)
Box 23 Desk calendars 1958, 1960, 1962, 1964-1969 (9 folders)
Box 24 Desk calendars 1970-1972, 1974-1977 (7 folders)
Box 25 Personal notebooks
Box 25 Pocket calendars 1947-1948
Box 25 Loose-leaf notebook
Pamphlets
National Council on Alcoholism
Box 25 Alcoholism Information Week Press Kit
Box 25 Clergy
Box 25 Doctors
Box 25 Families
Box 25 Hospitals
Box 26 Industry
Box 26 Introduction to Community Action
Box 26 Nurses
Box 26 Social Workers
Box 26 Speakers
Box 26 Students
Box 26 Teachers
Box 26 What is NCA?
Box 26 Medical Research Reports (2 volumes)
Box 27 General pamphlets
Box 27 Annual reports 1962-1966
Box 27 Proceedings and reports 1953, 1955-1957 - bound volumes or binders from various conferences and meetings (7 volumes)
Box 28 Proceedings and reports 1957-1959, 1961 - bound volumes or binders from various conferences and meetings (7 volumes)
Box 28 Treasurer's Reports 1944-1948
News clippings
Box 29 Bermuda 1953
Box 29 South Africa 1951
Box 29 [General] 1953-1956 (7 folders)
Box 30 [General] 1960-1961 (2 folders)
Box 30 Duplicates
Box 30 Miscellaneous
Scrapbooks
Titles are given as written on the album or binder. Assumed or inferred information is given in square brackets.
Oversize 1 Local Committees on Alcoholism 1954-1957
Oversize 2 Local Committees on Alcoholism 1955-1956
Oversize 3 Marty Mann New Zealand Australia February-March 1951
Oversize 3 Publicity, Primer on Alcoholism 1950-1951
Oversize 4 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. I Oct 1944 - Dec 1944
Oversize 4 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. II Jan 1945 - Jul 1945
Oversize 5 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. III Aug 1945 - Jun 1946
Oversize 5 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. IV Apr 1946 - Nov 1946
Oversize 6 [National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. V] [1946-1947]
Oversize 6 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. VI Feb 1947 - Aug 1947
Oversize 7 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. VII Sep 1947 - Dec 1947
Oversize 7 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. VIII Dec 1947 - Apr 1948
Oversize 8 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. IX Apr 1948 - Sep 1948
Oversize 8 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. [X] Apr 1949 - May 1949
Oversize 11 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. [XI] Jan 1950 - Jun 1952
Oversize 11 National Comm. For Education on Alcoholism Vol. [XII] 1952-1953
Oversize 12 National Council on Alcoholism 1960
Oversize 13 [National Council on Alcoholism?] AIW Clippings 1961 - clippings related to Alcoholism Information Week (AIW)
Oversize 14 National Council on Alcoholism / AIW Clippings 1962 - clippings related to Alcoholism Information Week (AIW)
Oversize 14 National Council on Alcoholism Correspondence and Pamphlets 1957
Oversize 15 [untitled] 1962
Memorabilia
See also Scrapbooks, below.
Box 31 Address and telephone books
Box 31 Awards and certificates
See also Marty Mann files : Awards (above).
Oversize 3 Awards and certificates, oversize
Box 31 "Book of the Month Club News" article Oct. 1950
Box 31 Gold Key Award April 1, 1970
Box 31 Obituaries, Marty Mann 7/22/80
Box 31 Phil Donahue Show 1-4-71, materials sent 1970-1971
Box 31 Phil Donahue Show 1-4-71, materials not sent 1970-1971
National Council of Alcoholism files (II)
See also National Council of Alcoholism files (I), above.
Box 32 Annual Institute on the Homeless & Institutional Alcoholic, Fourth 1959
Box 32 Annual Meeting of NCA 1965, 1967 (2 folders)
Box 32 Annual Reports 1945-1954, 1962-1983 (3 folders)
Box 32 Change in title from Executive Director to Founder-Consultant 1967-1968
Box 32 "Comment" 1971-1974
Box 33 "Comment" 1975-1980
Box 33 Guest books 1958-1978 (3 volumes)
Box 33 Newsletters Spring 1967 - Fall 1969
Oversize 16 Papers and copy of final report (in binder), given to Jay Cross for "Program Goals and Priorities: Study Report" 1970
Box 33 Programs 1966-1979 (2 folders)
Box 33 Programs 1980-1984
Box 34 Staff Orientation Kit 1969
Box 34 Training courses
Box 34 Yvelin Gardner papers
Box 34 Miscellaneous
Book-related files
Box 35 Brandt & Brandt
Box 35 Fan letters
Marty Mann Answers Your Questions...
Box 35 Correspondence and contract
Box 35 Drafts
See also Writings : Marty Mann Answers Your Questions (below).
Box 35 Holt, Rinehart & Winston
Box 35 Lists and letters re: book
Box 35 Press
Box 35 Radio and television
Box 35 Royalties
Box 35 Statistical data, etc.
Primer on Alcoholism
Box 36 Personal letters
Box 36 (Afrikaans) Primer statements, etc.
Box 36 (American) Primer statements
Box 36 (British) Primer statements, etc.
Box 36 (Finnish) Primer statements, etc.
Box 36 (Foreign) Primer correspondence
Box 36 (Japanese) Primer correspondence, etc.
Box 36 Rinehart & Co. letters and bills (at back)
New Primer (& old)
Box 36 Correspondence
Recordings
Three films are listed first, followed by audiorecordings in various formats, listed alphabetically by title or description.
RESTRICTED: Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.
Box 37 30-Second Film “Number One” XXGR0931 04/08/1972 Film: 35mm; color; sound; 00:00:30 (ID#: mann_m_188)
Multi Media Mental Health. 30 Second public service spot. Note on box says “Produced by Grey-North Inc.”, label has letterhead of National Council on Alcoholism.
Box 37 60-Second Film “Number One” XXGR0861 Film: 16mm; negative; sound; 00:01:00 (ID#: mann_m_189)
Multi Media Mental Health. 60 Second public service spot. Note on box says “Produced by Grey-North Inc.”, label has letterhead of National Council on Alcoholism.
Box 37 Alcoholism - Erin O’Brien. Spot No. 1 (Denove 7/30) Film: 16mm; black and white; sound; 00:01:00 (ID#: mann_m_190)
Alcoholism spots. From box: Client Erin O’Brien / 1 min. / Produced for National Council on Alcoholism / By Jack Denove Productions / Hollywood, Calif.
Belfer  Alcoholics Anonymous presents Marty Mann, San Francisco December 11, 1946 78 rpm phonodiscs (8 items) (ID#: mann_m_179 through mann_m_186)
Gift of Peter Desmier, 2014.
Oversize 10 Alcoholism, the Community, and Industry, Marty Mann, Los Angeles, California 03/14/1968 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_068)
"Mrs. Mann Luncheon honoring Tom Pike / Statler Hilton, Los Angeles, California. Talk, "Alcoholism, the Community, and Industry.""
Belfer  "Alcoholism is a Disease," Mrs. Marty Mann 06/06/1958 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_093)
Presentation by Marty Mann to the General Federation of Women's Clubs
Oversize 10 Barry Farber Show, WOR, Marty Mann, New York, NY 05/22/1963 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_052)
[From back of box]
Program: Barry Farber Show M M Guest / Station: WOR (NY) / Time: 8:15-9:00 p.m.
[From inside box]
Barry Farber Show - Mrs. Mann / Side I
Program starts out with question about Mrs. Mann's own experience during alcoholic years. Description of disease outlined. Examples from experience are used to develop explanations about alcohol and alcoholism. This is the most recent and best combination of Mrs. Mann's story and lecture ... if commercials could be cut out. "
Oversize 10 Bob Dixon Radio Show - AIW [Alcohol Information], Mrs. Mann 11/29/1961 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_046)
[From note in box]
Bob Dixon Show - AIW / Mrs. Mann
A question and answer show. These questions are heard in studio and come from public "live" by telephone. Questions are very poor. Mrs. Mann's answers are knowledgeable and warm. "
Oversize 10 Commonwealth Club Address, Mrs. Marty Mann, San Francisco, California 03/19/1965 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_056)
[From a copy of "The Commonwealth, Official Journal of the Commonwealth Club of California" inside the box]
Friday March 19th, 12:10 p.m. Sheraton-Palace Hotel Rose Room
"A Straight Look at the Alcoholic" / br Mrs. Marty Mann
[sub heading] Founder and Executive Director, National Council on Alcoholism / World authority on alcoholism - herself a recovered alcoholic
[body] Noted author, lecturer, and consultant - her book "A New Primer on Alcoholism" is now a classic in the field. Invited by South African government to give her recommendations on alcoholism and public health. Trained at Yale School of Alcoholic Studies. Mrs. Mann's second address to the Club!"
Oversize 10 Dick Caron, Mrs. Marty Mann, Houston, Texas 06/11/1955 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_069)
Oversize 10 Dick Caron, Mrs. Marty Mann, Robesonia, PA 06/12/1955 - talk to Group 6 inmates of Wynne Farm of the Texas Prison System 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_070)
Box 15 The Disease Concept of Alcoholism, San Francisco, California 1974 - speech by Marty Mann cassette (ID#: mann_m_084)
Oversize 9 Dr. Dresner, Central Islip Hospital, Brooklyn, New York 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_030)
Speech given by Dr. Dresner of Central Islip Hostipal
Oversize 10 Dr. Maurice Kamp Interview: by Bill Hayes, Charlotte, North Carolina 06/18/1961 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_047)
[From front of box] Interview: Dr. Maurice Kamp by Bill Hayes / Charlotte, N.C., Council on Alcoholism / WWOK / June 18, 1961 / Speed 7.5
[From note inside box] Dr. Maurice Kamp is a specialist in determining alcoholic content of blood by that of air samples taken from lungs. The "Breathalizer" is explained by him. / He further states that alcoholism is indeed a public health problem, particularly drunk driving and he says further that alcoholism is a disease and not a moral problem.
Oversize 10 Dr. Thomas R. Jones, "Alcohol and You," Durham, North Carolina 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_057)
"Dr. Thomas T. Jones, narrator. Alcoholism as a family problem and a family disease. Help available through A.A. meetings and family doctors - can gain understanding of the disease. Literature to be found in alcoholism centers. Evaluation: Good."
Box 15 Faith & Law in a Multicultural World, Emory, Georgia 02/06/2002 cassette (ID#: mann_m_089)
Belfer  Frederick March on Alcoholism Information Week in New York, New York, NY 1960s 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_094)
[From note inside sleeve]
Transcript of Frederick March / Recording for Alcoholism Information Week
Cuts 1 and 2: Family Problem (identical) / Cuts 3 and 4: National Problem (Identical) / Cuts 5 and 6: Personal Problem (identical)
Speed: 33 1/3 rpm
Announcement: 30 seconds each
Family Problem: "I'm Frederick March. This is Alcoholism Information Week in New York. Alcoholism is a family disease, a disease which not only affects, the individual, but his entire family as well. Lean how you can prevent its tragedy and learn what to do. Write to: Alcoholism, New York 29, New York, which is a service of the national Council on Alcoholism, America's only voluntary national health agency for the prevention and control of this disease."
National Problem: "This is Frederic March reminding you that this is Alcoholism Information Week in New York. alcoholism is damaging to the victim's family, his employer and his community. Learn how you can help combat the nation's fourth largest health problem. Write to: Alcoholism, etc."
Personal Problem: "This is Frederic March reminding you that this is Alcoholism Information Week in New York. Many of us do not realize that the alcoholic is a sick man who can be helped. Someone close to you may need this help. Learn the facts of alcoholism and what you can do about it. Write to: Alcoholism, etc."
Oversize 9 Industrial Symposium October, 1959 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_001)
Oversize 10 Interview of Mrs. Marty Mann, "The Good LIfe" radio program, New York, NY 1961 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_048)
[From front]
Interview: Mrs. Marty Mann / For "The Good LIfe" radio program / By Jean ANderson for National Council of the Protestant Episcopal Church
[from note on interior]
Mrs. Marty Mann
Organization and purpose of NCA. / Social vs. alcoholic drinking. / Number of women and men drinkers. / How families inform themselves. / How AA helps establish new patterns"
Oversize 9 The Joe Driver Case, Durham, North Carolina March, 1966 (ID#: mann_m_003)
Oversize 10 Martha Deane Show WOR-FM, New York, NY 08/08/1963 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_055)
[From front of box] Martha Deane Show WOR-FM / 8/8/63 / Guest - Mrs. Marty Mann, Exec. Dir. / National Council on Alcoholism
[from inside of box] question and answer session. / Mrs. Mann particularly good, warm and expert. 40 min"
Mrs. Marty Mann, "Alcoholism, Past, Present, Future," Albuquerque, New Mexico
Oversize 9 [1 of 2] October 1962 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_026)
[From box]
Mrs. Marty Mann (1 of 2) / "Alcoholism, Past, Present, Future" / Talk given in Albuqyerque, N. M. / October, 1962 / Speed 3.75 / PART 1
[From inside of box]
Mrs. Marty Mann / Part 1
Past attitude was that alcoholism was a moral problem. Left the churches and jails. Yet ancients know of this problem as a disease. As many diseases came out of the darkness of the middle ages they lost stigma. / Alcoholism still has it. Pioneer days into the 19th century this country was a real whisky drinking one. Temperance societies of the 19th cent. campaigned to reduce this drinking. They failed and turned to abolition days, 1850-1870. / Intense campaign against evilness of alcohol came to include the alcoholic as well. Universal picture was the drunken, skid-row bum. / 1935 Yale School of Alcohol Studies formed. AA founded and living recoveries are known and seen."
Oversize 9 [2 of 2] October 1962 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_027)
[from box] / # Mrs. Marty Mann / Albuquerque, New Mexico
"Alcoholism, Past, Present, and Future"
October 1962 / 3.75 ips / Part 2 "
Oversize 9 [1 of 2] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_028)
"Recording of speech given by Mrs. Marty Mann / [Note on Box] / "Alcoholism, Past, Present, Future" / Talk given in Albuquerque, N.M. / October 1962"
Oversize 9 [2 of 2] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_029)
"Recording of Speech given by Mrs. Marty Mann in Albuquerque, NM / [Note on Box] / "Alcoholism, Past, Present, Future" / Talk given in Albuquerque, N.M. / October, 1962"
Belfer  Mrs. Marty Mann at the Economic Club 11/25/1946 10" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_097)
Belfer  Mrs. Marty Mann - Economic Club, WWJ Radio, Detroit, Michigan 11/25/1946 16" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_178)
Oversize 10 Mrs. Marty Mann, "Help and Hope for the Alcoholic," Institute on Alcoholism, Austin,Texas 07/19/1961 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_038)
[From back of box]
Side 1 / "Hope + Help for the Alcoholic" / Marty Mann, at the Annual Institute on Alcoholism Studies, at, Austin Tex. 7-19-61 / Introduction 000 - 045 - - - M.M. 045 - 680, End of Tape
Side 2 / John Park Lee, Philadelphia Penn. / AT Austin, Tex.
000-385 Alanon + Alteen program 385 - End of Tape
[From note inside box]
Side 1 / Mrs. Marty Mann
Growing knowledge and interest in disease of alcoholims [sic] shown in increased enrollments (300) at institutes like this. Now in 9th year to become a regional affair supported by 6 states. / Dr. Carr f Mayo Clinic states death rates could be reduced 50% if we used the knowledge we now have. This means bridging gap between knowledge we have and people who need to know it. / Specially difficult in field of alcoholism because of past attitude. - - - It was up to church to reform or if it failed, the law to punish. Individuals were "weaklings" and hopeless. Today surface understanding is changing. Alcoholism accepted as an illness intellectually but not yet with emotions, with deep concern. / It is whole objective of NCA to involve people, people who believe, who pass on their concern to others. Our (NCA) concern is with people in trouble, who can get well when they know what we know. / Hope and help for the alcoholic resides in people, now it resides in you. Don't forget the enormous power you have if you will take your conviction home and give it away!
Side II
John Park Lee
Definition and some complexities of alcoholism outlines. Extent of problems, 5,200,000 individuals involved in a disease that, if continues, has only two prognosis, death or permanent irreversible mental impairment. Every alcoholic affects five to ten others in family, business, health agencies, the law, in schools and their friends. Whole communities are affected, some 35-40 million Americans are immediately, distressingly concerned. Disease of the whole man, body, mind and spirit. Segmented approach in past helped some possibly 2%. But today only effective answer lies in pooled resources, in our concern. NCCCA resolution outlines - work for various disciplines mentioned. Vital work of information centers listed and the role of official government and state programs endorsed. And (tax) cost will result in vast savings because of hugeness of waste caused by alcoholism.
Al-Anon and AL-teen family group meeting demonstration is on the end of this side of tape.
[On loose note inside box, possibly by original audio engineer]
C.L. McTee / 210 East Davis St. / Mckinney, Texas
There was an alanon and alteen program on the same side of an 1800' tape that I recorded John P. Lee's talk on so I let it go on tape after John's talk. you can erase it if you like"
Box 15 Mrs. Marty Mann Memorial Service 9/14/1980 (4 copies) cassette (ID#: mann_m_085; mann_m_086; mann_m_087; mann_m_088)
Oversize 10 Mrs. Marty Mann - NBC Catholic Hour 03/20/1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_045)
[From front of box]
Mrs. Marty Mann and a / STAFF MEMBER OF GENERAL SERVICE BOARD OF ALCOHOLICS ANONYMOUS / Catholic Hour - -NBC / March 20, 1960 / Speed 7.5
[From note inside box]
Mrs. Marty Mann NBC Catholic Hour
Definition of alcoholism, a public health problem not a moral problem. Fourth most seious health problem in country. Who alcoholics are and how misguided efforts hinder and hide rather than inform and help. Symptoms explained. Final loss of control is not willful misbehavious, this is what makes alcoholism a disease. A disease o the whole man. NCA defined and explained; education and action, a clearing house for information to remove stigma. Aids in organizing local councils with information centers to advise and guide individual alcoholics and their families.
Staff member of General Service Board of Alcoholics Anonymous
What and why AA is. Willingness the only requirement. In AA individuals learn to live responsibly again. Human contact, one with another, is the only magic AA has. What AA is not. It is a program that grew from experience. / How to contact AA; it is almost everywhere here and in 88 other countries. AA is the place where surrender brings victory. / Al-Anon family groups explained. / "I sought God, my god eluded me, / sought my soul, my soul I could not see, / I sought my brother and I found all three." "
Oversize 10 Mrs. Marty Mann's Roundtable Panel, A.P.A. 120th Annual Meeting, Los Angeles, California 05/05/1964 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_039)
[From back of box] JUL 15 1964 [supposed date of duplication] / Mrs. Marty Mann's Roundtable Panel - Tuesday - Alcoholism / May 5, 1964 / A.P.A. 120th Annual Meeting, / Los Angeles, California / May 4-7, 1964"
Belfer  Mrs. Marty Mann on "We the People," New York, NY 05/05/1946 - Mrs. Marty Mann on "We the People," New York, NY 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_090)
Box 15 Mike Gorman [reel 1], New York, NY 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_079)
Box 15 Mike Gorman [reel 2], New York, NY 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_080)
Oversize 9 Mobilizing Your Community and Jim Hiers report on early orgAnization of affiliatecouncil, Columbia, South Carolina; Huntsville, Alabama 06/27/1959; 07/11/1959 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_031)
"Recording of speeches give by Mr. Yvelin Gardner and Jim Hiers"
[Note on Box] Mr. Yvelin Gardner / "Mobilizing Your Community" / talk to new local Council on Alcoholism / Columbia, South Carolina / June 27, 1959 / Side 1
Jim Hiers / Report on early organization of affiliate Council / Huntsville, Alabama / July 11, 1959 / Side 2"
National Committee on Alcoholism Annual Meeting, New York, NY 1953
Belfer  Disc 1, Marvin Block, M.D. Medical 03/06/1953 10" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_098)
Belfer  Disc 2, Speeches by Marvin Block and Robert Fleming 03/06/1953 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_099)
Belfer  Disc 3, Talks by Robert Fleming, M.D. and Arnold Z. Pfeffer 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_100)
Belfer  Disc 4, Talks by Arnold Z. Pfeffer, M.D. and AA Speech, J.P.L. 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_101)
Belfer  Disc 5, AA speech, J.P.L. 03/06/1953 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_102)
Belfer  Disc 6, AA speech, J.P.L. ; talk by Dr. Norman Vincent Peale 03/06/1953 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_103)
Belfer  Disc 7, Talk by Dr. Norman Vincent Peale 03/06/1953 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_104)
Belfer  Disc 8, Talk by Dr. Norman Vincent Peale 03/06/1953 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_105)
Belfer  Disc 9, Talk at the National Committee on Alcoholism Annual Meetings 03/06/1953 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_106)
Belfer  Disc 10, Talk by Mr. William B. Smithers - Board of Local Committee 03/06/1953 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_107)
Belfer  Disc 11, Talk by Dr. Norman Vincent Peale 03/06/1953 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_108)
Belfer  Disc 12, Talk by Mr. Edward L. Parker on Social Work and Alcoholic 03/06/1953 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_109)
Belfer  Disc 13, Talks by Rev. John Van Dyk and Mrs. Marty Mann 03/06/1953 12" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_110)
Belfer  Disc 14, Talk by Marty Mann 03/06/1953 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_111)
National Council on Alcoholism Annual Meeting and Institutes. "The Community Speaks" March 1958
Belfer  Disc 1, address by Rev. Roger Alling 03/28/1958 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_121)
[From index] "Why We Need a Community Program" / A Clergyman - Rev. Roger Alling, S.T.D., Corning, N.Y. Rector, Christ's Church, Episcopal; Board Member, Corning Area Committee on Alcoholism"
Belfer  Disc 2, address by Mrs. Vera Bruyn 03/28/1958 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_122)
[From index] "Why We Need a Community Program" / An Executive of Another Agency - Mrs. Vera Bruhn, Birmingham Ala.; Executive Director, Social Hygiene and Mental Health Association; Board Member, Birmingham Committee on Alcoholism. "
Belfer  Disc 3, Mrs. Vera Bruyn, Irving Gottsegen, James S. Lunn 03/28/1958 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_123)
[From index] "Why We Need a Community Program"
An Executive of Another Agency - Mrs. Vera Bruyn, Birmingham Ala.; Executive Director, Social Hygiene and Mental Health Association; Board Member, Birmingham Committee on Alcoholism.
A Hospital Administrator - Irving Gottsegen, Mt. Kisco, N.Y.; Assistant Director, Montefiore Hospital, New York City; Chairman, Committee on Alcoholism, Mental Health Association of Westchester County.
A Businessman - James S. Lunn, Huntington N.Y.; President, Lunn Laminates, Inc,; Director, Empire State Chamber of Commerce; Board Member, Nassau County Committee on Alcoholism. "
Belfer  Disc 4, James S. Lunn; James S. Lunn, Mrs. Brown 02/28/1958 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_124)
[From index]
A Businessman - James S. Lunn, Huntington N.Y.; President, Lunn Laminates, Inc,; Director, Empire State Chamber of Commerce; Board Member, Nassau County Committee on Alcoholism.
A Civic Leader - Mrs. Edwin Rice Brown, Houston, Tex.; Past President, Houston Committee on Alcoholism "
Belfer  Disc 5, Mrs. Brown, J.S.H.; J.S.H. 03/28/1958 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_125)
[From index]
"Why We Need A Community Program"
A Civic Leader - Mrs. Edwin Rice Brown, Houston, Tex.; Past President, Houston Committee on Alcoholism
A Member off Alcoholics Anonymous - "J.S.H.," Philadelphia, PA,; Board Member, Philadelphia Committee on Alcoholism. "
Belfer  Disc 6, J.S.H., Vernelle Fox; Vernelle Fox 03/28/1958 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_126)
[From index]
"Why We Need A Community Program"
A Member off Alcoholics Anonymous - "J.S.H.," Philadelphia, PA,; Board Member, Philadelphia Committee on Alcoholism.
"New Treatment Techniques"
"Religious Therapy in an Alcoholic Clinic" - Vernelle Fox, M.D., Atlanta, Ga.; Medical Director, Georgian Clinic; Board Member, Metropolitan Atlanta Committee on Alcoholism"
Belfer  Disc 7, Vernelle Fox, Anthony Zappala ; Anthony Zappala 03/28/1958 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_127)
[From index]
"New Treatment Techniques"
"Religious Therapy in an Alcoholic Clinic" - Vernelle Fox, M.D., Atlanta, Ga.; Medical Director, Georgian Clinic; Board Member, Metropolitan Atlanta Committee on Alcoholism
"Group and Activity therapies in a Clinic Setting" - Anthony Zapalla, M.D., Washington, D.C.; Chief, District of Columbia Alcoholic Rehabilitation Division; Board Member, Washington Committee on Alcoholism. "
Belfer  Disc 8, New Treatment Techniques; The Problem of Alcoholism in Industry 03/28/1958 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_128)
"From index]
"New Treatment Techniques"
"Group and Activity therapies in a Clinic Setting" - Anthony Zapalla, M.D., Washington, D.C.; Chief, District of Columbia Alcoholic Rehabilitation Division; Board Member, Washington Committee on Alcoholism.
Annual Lucheon / Presiding - Harold W. Lovell, ND, President, the National Council on Alcoholism
Report of the President / Report of the Treasurer - R. Brinkley Smithers
Address / "The Problem of Alcoholism in Industry" / James F. Oates, Jr., New York, NY; Chairman of the Board and President, the Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States"
Belfer  Disc 9, The Problem of Alcoholism in Industry 03/28/1958 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_129)
[Note from index] Annual Lucheon / Presiding - Harold W. Lovell, ND, President, the National Council on Alcoholism
Report of the President / Report of the Treasurer - R. Brinkley Smithers
Address / "The Problem of Alcoholism in Industry" / James F. Oates, Jr., New York, NY; Chairman of the Board and President, the Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States"
National Council on Alcoholism 14th Annual Meeting, New York, NY October 1958
Oversize 9 Dr. Harold Rusk 10/02/1958 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_007)
Recording of the National Council on Alcoholism's Annual Meeting. Post- Luncheon speech by Dr. Harold Rusk
[From Interior Pamphlet]: "Annual statement about world wide nature of alcoholism as [a] disease problem. Need for demonstration center for treatment and research. Need for international cooperation in all fields of medicine, particularly in rehabilitation. Meeting Chairman, Mr. Oates, explains operation of NCA and appeals for support."
Oversize 9 Dinner session 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_008)
"Tape recording of remarks at the 14th Annual Meeting of the National Council on Alcoholism in Utah, Dinner Session. / Side I Reports of President and Treasurer / Side II Mrs. Mann / Date: 1959 / Speed: 3.75"
Box 15 National Council on Alcoholism Christmas Party 12/23/1958 reel tape (ID#: mann_m_083)
National Council on Alcoholism Annual Meeting, "Counterattack Against Alcoholism," Salt Lake City, Utah 1959
Belfer  Disc 1, Talk by Rev. Thomas J. Shipp 03/20/1959 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_112)
Belfer  Disc 2, Talks by Rev. Thomas J. Shipp and Ruth Fox, M.D. 03/20/1959 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_113)
Belfer  Disc 3, Talks by Ruth Fox, M.D. and Jennings G. Olson, PH D. 03/20/1959 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_114)
Belfer  Disc 4, Talk by Jennings G. Olson 03/20/1959 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_115)
Belfer  Disc 5, Talks by John R. Philip, M.D. and Joan K. Jackson, PhD. 03/20/1959 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_116)
Belfer  Disc 6, Talks by Joan K. Jackson and R. Brinkley Smithers 03/20/1959 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_117)
Belfer  Disc 7, Talks by Mr. Sherman Pratt; Mrs. Marty Mann 03/20/1959 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_118)
Belfer  Disc 8, Talk by Mrs. Marty Mann 03/20/1959 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_119)
Belfer  Disc 9, Talk by Marty Mann 03/20/1959 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_120)
National Council on Alcoholism Annual Meeting & Institutes: "Modern Approaches to the Problem Drinker in Industry" 1960
Belfer  Disc 1, Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_130)
[Note in Album] Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic / Alan E. Schwartz, D.E. Mackelman, David J. Myerson, MD"
Belfer  Disc 2, Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic 03/22/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_131)
[Note in Album] Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic / Alan E. Schwartz, D.E. Mackelman, David J. Myerson, MD
Belfer  Disc 3, Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic 03/22/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_132)
[Note in Album] Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic / Alan E. Schwartz, D.E. Mackelman, David J. Myerson, MD"
Belfer  Disc 4, Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic 03/22/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_133)
[Note in Album] Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic / Alan E. Schwartz, D.E. Mackelman, David J. Myerson, MD"
Belfer  Disc 5, Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic 03/22/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_134)
[Note in Album] Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic / Alan E. Schwartz, D.E. Mackelman, David J. Myerson, MD"
Belfer  Disc 6, Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic; The Problem Drinker as We See Him Today 03/22/1960; 03/25/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_135)
[Note in Album] Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic / Alan E. Schwartz, D.E. Mackelman, David J. Myerson, MD / Morning Session / Chairman - Melville P. Dickenson, Senior Vice President, The Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States / "The Problem Drinker as We See Him Today" - Harrison M. Trice, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, School of Industrial and Labor Relations, Cornell University"
Belfer  Disc 7, The Problem Drinker as We See Him Today 03/25/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_136)
[Note in Album] Meeting on the Homeless and Institutional Alcoholic / Alan E. Schwartz, D.E. Mackelman, David J. Myerson, MD / Morning Session / Chairman - Melville P. Dickenson, Senior Vice President, The Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States / "The Problem Drinker as We See Him Today" - Harrison M. Trice, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, School of Industrial and Labor Relations, Cornell University
Belfer  Disc 8, The Problem Drinker as We See Him Today; The Approach Through the Inplant Program 03/25/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_137)
[Note in Album] Morning Session / Chairman - Melville P. Dickenson, Senior Vice President, The Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States / "The Problem Drinker as We See Him Today" - Harrison M. Trice, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, School of Industrial and Labor Relations, Cornell University / "The Approach Through the Inplant Program" - Henry C. Mielcarek, Manager, Personnel Service Department, Allis-Chalmers Corporation
Belfer  Disc 9, The Approach Through the Inplant Program; The Approach Through Alcoholics Anonymous 03/25/1960 12" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_138)
[Note in Album] Morning Session / Chairman - Melville P. Dickenson, Senior Vice President, The Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States / "The Approach Through the Inplant Program" - Henry C. Mielcarek, Manager, Personnel Service Department, Allis-Chalmers Corporation / "The Approach Through Alcoholics Anonymous" - C. D'Alonzo, MD, Assistant Medical Director, E.I. du Point de Nemours & Company, Wilmington, Delaware
Belfer  Disc 10, The Approach Through Alcoholics Anonymous; The Approach Through the Industrial Clinic 03/25/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_139)
[Note in Album] Morning Session / Chairman - Melville P. Dickenson, Senior Vice President, The Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States / "The Approach Through Alcoholics Anonymous" - C. D'Alonzo, MD, Assistant Medical Director, E.I. du Point de Nemours & Company, Wilmington, Delaware / "The Approach Through the Industrical Clinic" - Frances I. Colonna, MD, Acting Director, New York University- Bellevue Medical Center Alcoholism Clinic
Belfer  Disc 11, The Approach Through the Industrial Clinic 03/25/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_140)
[Note in Album] Morning Session / Chairman - Melville P. Dickenson, Senior Vice President, The Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States / "The Appraoch Through the Industrical Clinic" - Frances I. Colonna, MD, Acting Director, New York University- Bellevue Medical Center Alcoholism Clinic / Annual Luncheon / Presiding - Mr. R. Brinkley Smithers, President National Council on Alcoholism / President's Report / Treasurer's Report - Mr. Sherman Pratt, New York City
Belfer  Disc 12 [Luncheon address] 03/25/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_141)
[Note in Album] Annual Luncheon / Introduction- Mrs. Marty Mann, Executive Director, National Council on Alcoholism / Address - Mr. Lee Hill, Assoc. Genera; Counsel, Humble Divison, Humble Oil & Refining Co.
Belfer  Disc 13, The Community Approach 03/25/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_142)
[Note in Album] Annual Luncheon / Address - Mr. Lee Hill, Assoc. Genera; Counsel, Humble Division, Humble Oil & Refining Co. / Afternoon Session / Chairman - Philip R. Clarke, Jr., Manager, Industrial Department, Lehman Bros., Chicago -- Vice President, National Council on Alcoholism -- President, Chicago Committee on Alcoholism / "The Community Approach" - Laurence B. Ferris, Recreation Director, Corning Glass Works, Corning, New York
Belfer  Disc 14, The Community Approach; The National Approach 03/25/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_143)
[Note in Album] Afternoon Session / Chairman - Philip R. Clarke, Jr., Manager, Industrial Department, Lehman Bros., Chicago -- Vice President, National Council on Alcoholism -- President, Chicago Committee on Alcoholism / "The Community Approach" - Laurence B. Ferris, Recreation Director, Corning Glass Works, Corning, New York / "The National Approach" - Yvelin Gardner, Deputy Executive Director, National Council on Alcoholism
Box 15 The Community Approach; The National Approach 03/25/1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_076)
"Recording of the Annual Meeting on March 25, 1960 of the National Council on Alcoholism"
[Note on Box] Address - Mr. Lee Hill, Assoc. General Counsel, Humble Division, Humble Oil & Refining Co. / AFTERNOON SESSION / Chairman - Philip R. Clarke, Jr., Manager, Industrial Department, Lehman Bros.. Chicago -- Vice President, National Council on Alcoholism -- President, Chicago Committee on Alcoholism / "The Community Approach" - Laurence B. Ferris, Recreation Director, Corning Glass Works, Corning, New York / "The National Approach" - Yvelin Gardner, Deputy Executive Director, National Council on Alcoholism "
Box 15 Problem drinking in industry 03/25/1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_075)
[From inside box] Reel I side I / Melville D. Dickinsen - Chairman / Mr. Harrison Trice "Problem Drinking Today" / Henry C. Mielcarek "Inplant Program" / Side II / Dr. C. D'Alonzo "AA" / Francis I. Calonna "Industrial Clinic"
Belfer  Disc 15, The National Approach 03/25/1960 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_144)
[Note in Album] Afternoon Session / Chairman - Philip R. Clarke, Jr., Manager, Industrial Department, Lehman Bros., Chicago -- Vice President, National Council on Alcoholism -- President, Chicago Committee on Alcoholism / "The National Approach" - Yvelin Gardner, Deputy Executive Director, National Council on Alcoholism
National Council on Alcoholism 1961
Oversize 9 Speakers (Part 1) 08/22/1961 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_033)
Oversize 9 Speakers (Part 2) 08/22/1961 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_032)
[National Council on Alcoholism] Annual Meeting, Cincinnati 1963
Oversize 9 Panel session Friday 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_009)
[From note on inside] / "ANNUAL MEETING 1963 / PANEL REPORTS: / I. Private Agencies: Traverlers Aid main concern, the homeless male. Family Service involved with total family problem of alcoholism. T. B. Association finds alcoholism boubles TB problem.
II. Public Agencies: City; Administrator, enforcer, advisor and educator. County; political importance stresses demonstrations for local groups. Stae; no direct sevices, gives education and treatment demonstrations. Federal; Leadership in information and money to research to assessment of needs and filling needs.
III. Clergy: Show alcoholic that he is not condemned but forgiven. Educate give hope and help to families as well. Changes of attitude due to: 1. Ecumenicity, 2. Interest of professions, 3. Rise of AA and NCA, 4. Expressions in public press, 5 New literature.
IV. Law Enforcement (starts at very end of Side 1) / Concern must be in ALL groups, among ALL expert, also follow-up program vital. [ Isolated search aid: LEAD ] / L- Learn the Truth / E- Enable others to learn it. / A- Associate with those who can help / D- Don't give up!
V Industry / Old, supervisor and new, trained staff member programs are described.
VI AA - Al -Ateen reports and definitions
Oversize 9 [Smithers, Mann, Grogan] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_010)
[From note in Box]
Presentation to Mr. Smithers. Mrs. Mann Introduces Dr. Block
Side I / Dr. Block gives excellent statement about alcoholism. This is latest of his talks and best for general audiences.
Side II / Thomas S. Grogan Jr. / This talk is far to long and monotonous for general use."
[From back of box]
"NCA Annual Meeting Cincinnati 1963
Side #1 / a. Mr. Smithers turns presidency over to Mr. Gulich / b. Mrs. Mann makes presentation to Mr. Smithers / e. Mr. Smithers Accepts. / d. Mr Gulich's acceptance speech / e. Mrs Mann introduces Dr. Block / d. Dr. Block
Side #2 Thomas S Grogan Jr, Exec. Director Associated Health Agency of Cincinnati Area"
National Council on Alcoholism Annual Meeting: "Two Decades of Progress" 1964
Oversize 9 Morning Session 04/10/1964 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_011)
"Recording of Annual Meeting on April 10, 1964 / [Note on Box]: / Morning Session / Chairman / Selden D. Bacon, PH. D., Rugters center of Alcohol Studies / The Scope of the Problem / Mark Keller, Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies / Research / Ebbe Curtis Hoff, PH. D., Medical College of Virginia"
Oversize 9 [Ruth Fox, NCA, AA] 04/10/1964 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_012)
"Recording of Annual Meeting on April 10, 1964 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel / [Note on Box]: / Treatment / Ruth Fox, M.D., National Council on Alcoholism / Alcoholics Anonymous / Representative, Alcoholics Anonymous"
Oversize 9 Afternoon Session 04/10/1964 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_013)
"Recording of Annual Meeting on April 10, 1964 / [Note on Box]: / Afternoon Session / Chariman / Harry M. Tiebout, National Council on Alcoholism / Official Agencies / Ernest A. Shepard, Connecticut Dept. of Mental Health / Voluntary Agencies / Yvelin Gardner, National Council on Alcoholism"
Belfer  Disc 1, The Scope of the Problem 04/10/1964 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_145)
[Note in Album] Morning Session / Chairman: Selden D. Bacon, PhD, Director, Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies; Professor of Sociology, Rutgers University
"The Scope of the Problem": Mark Keller, Research Specialist in Documentation, Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies; Editor, "Quarterly Journal Studies on Alcohol."
Belfer  Disc 2, The Scope of the Problem; Research; Treatment 04/10/1964 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_146)
[Note in Album] Morning Session / Chairman: Selden D. Bacon, PhD, Director, Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies; Professor of Sociology, Rutgers University
"The Scope of the Problem": Mark Keller, Research Specialist in Documentation, Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies; Editor, "Quarterly Journal Studies on Alcohol."
"Research": Ebbe Curtis Hoff, PhD, MD, Chairman, Division Psychiatric Research, Medical College of Virginia; Medical Director, Division of Alcohol Studies and Rehabilitation, Virginia State Health Department, Richmond, Virginia
"Treatment": Ruth Fox, MD, Medical Director, National Council on Alcoholism"
Belfer  Disc 3, Treatment; Alcoholics Anonymous 04/10/1964 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_147)
[Note in Album] Morning Session / Chairman: Selden D. Bacon, PhD, Director, Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies; Professor of Sociology, Rutgers University
"Treatment": Ruth Fox, MD, Medical Director, National Council on Alcoholism
"Alcoholics Anonymous": Representative, Alcoholics Anonymous"
Belfer  Disc 4, Alcoholics Anonymous 04/10/1964 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_148)
[Note in Album] Morning Session / Chairman: Selden D. Bacon, PhD, Director, Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies; Professor of Sociology, Rutgers University
"Alcoholics Anonymous": Representative, Alcoholics Anonymous
Annual Luncheon / Presiding - Mr. R. Brinkley Smithers, Chairman of the Board, National Council on Alcoholism; President, Christopher D. Smithers Foundation
President's Report - Mr. Merle A. Gulick, New York City "
Belfer  Disc 5 [luncheon address and business meeting] 04/10/1964 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_149)
[Note in Album] Annual Luncheon / Presiding - Mr. R. Brinkley Smithers, Chairman of the Board, National Council on Alcoholism; President, Christopher D. Smithers Foundation
Treasurer's Report - Mr. Austin MacCormick, New York City
Introduction - Mrs. Marty Mann, Executive Director, National Council on Alcoholism
Address - Mr. Wilbur J Cohen, Assistant Secretary, Department of Health, Education and Welfare, Washington, D.C."
Belfer  Disc 6, Official Agencies 04/10/1964 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_150)
[Note in Album] Annual Luncheon / Presiding - Mr. R. Brinkley Smithers, Chairman of the Board, National Council on Alcoholism; President, Christopher D. Smithers Foundation
Address - Mr. Wilbur J Cohen, Assistant Secretary, Department of Health, Education and Welfare, Washington, D.C.
Afternoon Session / Chairman - Harry M. tiebout, MD, Member, Board of Directors, National Council on Alcoholism; formerly, Vice-Chairman, Connecticut Commission on Alcoholism
"Official Agencies" - Ernest A. Shepherd, Chief, Alcoholism Dividision, Connecticut Department of Mental Health"
Belfer  Disc 7, Official Agencies; Voluntary Agencies 04/10/1964 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_151)
[Note in Album] Afternoon Session / Chairman - Harry M. tiebout, MD, Member, Board of Directors, National Council on Alcoholism; formerly, Vice-Chairman, Connecticut Commission on Alcoholism
"Official Agencies" - Ernest A. Shepherd, Chief, Alcoholism Dividision, Connecticut Department of Mental Health
"Voluntary Agencies" - Yvelin Gardner, Deputy Executive Director, National Council on Alcoholism"
Belfer  Disc 8, Voluntary Agencies 04/10/1964 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_152)
[Note in Album] Afternoon Session / Chairman - Harry M. tiebout, MD, Member, Board of Directors, National Council on Alcoholism; formerly, Vice-Chairman, Connecticut Commission on Alcoholism
"Voluntary Agencies" - Yvelin Gardner, Deputy Executive Director, National Council on Alcoholism"
National Council on Alcoholism Annual Meeting and Institutes, Tulsa, Oklahoma 1965
Oversize 9 Morning Session (tape 1) 04/07/1965 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_014)
"Recording of Annual Meeting on April 7, 1965 at the Hotel Mayo in Tulsa, Oklahoma / [Note on Box] / Morning Session / "Introduction to Alcoholism" / Chairman - The Hon. Gerald S. Levin / "Effective Pastoral Counseling of Alcoholics and Their Families" - The Rev. John E. Keller / "The Social Agencies' Relation to the Problem" - Miss Marian J. Wettrick"
Oversize 9 Morning Session (tape 2) 04/08/1965 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_015)
"Recording of Annual Meeting on April 8. 1965 at Hotel Mayo in Tulsa, Oklahoma / [Note on Box] / Morning Session / "Introduction to Alcoholism" / "Alcoholics Anonymous as a Community Resource" - Mr. John Park Lee / Afternoon Session / Chairman - The Hon. Gerald S. Levin / "The Council on Alcoholism as a Coordinating Agency" - Miss Mary Harkin"
Oversize 9 Morning Session 04/09/1965 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_016)
"Recording of Annual Meeting on 04/09/1965 / [Note on Box] / Morning Session / "Varieties of Industrial Experience" / Chairman - Mr. F. Forsha Russell / Introduction - Mrs. Marty Mann / Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing Co. - Mr. J. Herb Larson, Manager, Personnel Services / Raytheon Company - Mrs. Willis L. Saulnier, Corporate Manager, Employee Benefits and Services / Kemper Insurance - Mr. Kenneth A. Rouse, Director, Rehabilitation Services, Safety Engineering Department / Afternoon Session / "The Total Community" / Chairman - Mr. William J. Sherry / "The Milwaukee Story" - Mr. James S. Ray, Administrator, Milwaukee Council on Alcoholism / "The Tulsa Story" - Mr. F. Morris Lookout, Industrial Representative, Tulsa Council on Alcoholism"
Oversize 9 Annual Luncheon, Tulsa, Oklahoma 04/09/1965 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_017)
"Recording of Annual Luncheon on 04/09/1965 / [Note on Box] / Presisding - Mr. R. Brinkley Smithers, Chairman of the Board, National Council on Alcoholism / President's Report - Mr. Merle A. Gulick / Treasurer's Report - Mr. Austin MacCormick / Introduction - Mrs. Marty Mann / Address - Mr. John M. Budd, President, Great Northern Railway Company; Member, Board of Directors, National Council on Alcoholism"
Oversize 9 Tape #5 1965 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_019)
[written on back of box] "Tape #5 / 4/8/65 -Tulsa / NAC OKLA / Ivory Room / 8 PM-9:30 PM / 3 3/4 / Membership Meeting, 5/5"
Box 15 The Council on Alcoholism as a Coordination Agency; Working Together 04/08/1965 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_077)
"Recording of the National Council on Alcoholism Annual Meeting on April, 8, 1965 / [Note on box] / Luncheon / Speaker - R. Gordon Bell, M.D. / A.I.W. Awards
Afternoon Session / Chairman - The Hon. Gerald S. Levin / "The Council on Alcoholism as a Coordinating Agency" - Miss Mary Harkin / "Working Together" - Mrs. Marty Mann"
Box 15 Working Together; Varieties of Industrial Experience 04/09/1965 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_078)
"Recording of the National Council on Alcoholism Annual Meeting on April 9, 1965 / [Note on Box]: / Afternoon Session / "Working Together" - Mrs. Marty Mann (Concluded)
Morning Session / "Varieties of Industrial Experience" / Chairman - Mr. F. Forsha Russell / Introduction - Mrs. Marty Mann / Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing Co. - Mr. J. Herb Larson, Manager, Personnel Services / Raytheon Company - Mr. Willis L. Sauliner, Corporate Manager, Employee Benefits and Services / ?emper Insurance - Mr. Kenneth A. Rouse, rehabilitation Services, Safety Engineering Department "
National Council on Alcoholism Annual Meeting and Institutes: "Partners in Progress," New York, NY 1966
Belfer  Sharpening the Focus; Welcome to New Affiliates 04/12/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_153)
Belfer  Sharpening the Focus - Session; The Changing Image of Alcoholism 04/12/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_154)
Belfer  Sharpening the Focus; Challenges Facing the Voluntary Health Agency Today 04/16/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_155)
[same as mann_m_021]
Belfer  Sharpening the Focus - Session Peter B. Hutt 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_156)
[same as mann_m_021]
[From insert] Testing the Legality of Public Intoxication Laws as they Relate to Alcoholism: Implications for the Alcoholism Field"
Belfer  Harrison M. Trice 04/13/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_157)
[same as mann_m_021]
[From insert] Predictors of Treatment Success in a Follow-up Study of Treated Alcoholics. Harrison M. Trice, Ph. D., Cornell University "
Belfer  Breakthroughs in Legislation, Harrison M. Trice 04/14/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_158)
[same as mann_m_022]
[From insert]
[side one] Predictors of Treatment Success in a Follow-up Study of Treated Alcoholics. Harrison M. Trice, Ph. D., Cornell University
[side two, could be any of the following] Breakthroughs in Legislation Federal and State - Session / The California Plan / Arthur C. Hollister, M.D. California State Department of Public Health / The New York Plan / John R. Butler, N.Y.S. Department of Mental Hygiene / Team Tactics / Ben C. Liebermann, Jr.,, Tennessee Department of Mental Health / After Legislation, What? / Ernest A. Shepherd, A.M., S.T.B., Connecticut Department of Mental Health
Belfer  Breakthroughs in Legislation, Harrison M. Trice 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_159)
[same as mann_m_022]
[From insert] Breakthroughs in Legislation Federal and State - Session / The California Plan / Arthur C. Hollister, M.D. California State Department of Public Health / The New York Plan / John R. Butler, N.Y.S. Department of Mental Hygiene / Team Tactics / Ben C. Liebermann, Jr.,, Tennessee Department of Mental Health / After Legislation, What? / Ernest A. Shepherd, A.M., S.T.B., Connecticut Department of Mental Health
Belfer  Breakthroughs in Legislation, Harrison M. Trice 04/13/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_160)
[same as mann_m_022]
[From insert] Breakthroughs in Legislation Federal and State - Session / The California Plan / Arthur C. Hollister, M.D. California State Department of Public Health / The New York Plan / John R. Butler, N.Y.S. Department of Mental Hygiene / Team Tactics / Ben C. Liebermann, Jr.,, Tennessee Department of Mental Health / After Legislation, What? / Ernest A. Shepherd, A.M., S.T.B., Connecticut Department of Mental Health
Belfer  Breakthroughs in Legislation, Harrison M. Trice 04/14/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_161)
[same as mann_m_022]
[From insert] How the Atlanta Court Handles Chronic Alcoholics / Hon. Robert E. Jones, Chief Judge, Atlanta, Georgia / The San Francisco Court School for Alcoholism Prevention / Hon. Gerald S. Levin, Judge of Superior Court, California / A Doctor Looks At Chronic Drunkenness Offenders / David J. Myerson, M.D. Drug Addiction Center, Mass
Belfer  The Courts, the Law, and the Alcoholic 04/14/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_162)
[same as mann_m_022]
[From insert] How the Atlanta Court Handles Chronic Alcoholics / Hon. Robert E. Jones, Chief Judge, Atlanta, Georgia / The San Francisco Court School for Alcoholism Prevention / Hon. Gerald S. Levin, Judge of Superior Court, California / A Doctor Looks At Chronic Drunkenness Offenders / David J. Myerson, M.D. Drug Addiction Center, Mass
Belfer  The Courts, the Law, and the Alcoholic 04/14/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_163)
[same as mann_m_022 / mann_m_023]
[From insert] The Courts, the Law, and the Alcoholic - Session / How the Atlanta Court Handles Chronic Alcoholics / Hon. Robert E. Jones, Chief Judge, Atlanta, Georgia / The San Francisco Court School for Alcoholism Prevention / Hon. Gerald S. Levin, Judge of Superior Court, California / A Doctor Looks At Chronic Drunkenness Offenders / David J. Myerson, M.D. Drug Addiction Center, Mass / Headstart for Recovery - Session / The Call Me Father / Rev. K.L. Sandercock, The Henry Ohlhoff House / An Experience Living / Mary Ann Larson, Beacon House, Inc. / The Utterly Impossible Project / Henry Jackson, St. Jude's House, Inc.
Belfer  Headstart for Recovery; Headstart for Recovery; The Annual Meeting Apr 1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_164)
[same as mann_m_023 / mann_m_024]
"Headstart for Recovery - Session / The Call Me Father / Rev. K.L. Sandercock, The Henry Ohlhoff House / An Experience Living / Mary Ann Larson, Beacon House, Inc. / The Utterly Impossible Project / Henry Jackson, St. Jude's House, Inc.
Belfer  [Current research] 04/15/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_165)
[same as mann_m_024 / mann_m_025]
[From insert] ANNUAL MEETING / What's Going on in Research - Session / Recent Sociological Research in Alcoholism / David J. Pittmann, Ph.D. North American Association of Alcoholism Programs / Psychological Research Relating to Alcoholism / Ruth Fox, M.D., NCA / New Aspects of Biochemical Research in Alcoholism / W.W. Westerfeld, Ph.D., State University of New York / Current Research in Treatment of Alcoholism / Ebbe Curtis Hoff, PhD., M.D., Virginia State Health Department
Belfer  [Current research] 04/15/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_166)
[same as mann_m_024 / mann_m_025]
[From insert] ANNUAL MEETING / What's Going on in Research - Session / Recent Sociological Research in Alcoholism / David J. Pittmann, Ph.D. North American Association of Alcoholism Programs / Psychological Research Relating to Alcoholism / Ruth Fox, M.D., NCA / New Aspects of Biochemical Research in Alcoholism / W.W. Westerfeld, Ph.D., State University of New York / Current Research in Treatment of Alcoholism / Ebbe Curtis Hoff, PhD., M.D., Virginia State Health Department
Belfer  [Current research] 04/15/2013 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_167)
[same as mann_m_024 / mann_m_025]
[From insert] ANNUAL MEETING / What's Going on in Research - Session / Recent Sociological Research in Alcoholism / David J. Pittmann, Ph.D. North American Association of Alcoholism Programs / Psychological Research Relating to Alcoholism / Ruth Fox, M.D., NCA / New Aspects of Biochemical Research in Alcoholism / W.W. Westerfeld, Ph.D., State University of New York / Current Research in Treatment of Alcoholism / Ebbe Curtis Hoff, PhD., M.D., Virginia State Health Department
Belfer  [Awards, introduction, address] 04/15/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_168)
[same as mann_m_025]
[From insert] Introduction of New President / Awards and Citations / Introduction of Speaker - Marty Mann / Address - The Right Rev. James A. Pike, J.S.A., S.T.D. Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of California "
Belfer  [Awards, introduction, address] 04/15/1966 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_169)
[same as mann_m_025]
[From insert] Introduction of New President / Awards and Citations / Introduction of Speaker - Marty Mann / Address - The Right Rev. James A. Pike, J.S.A., S.T.D. Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of California "
National Council on Alcoholism "Partners In Progress," New York, NY undated
Oversize 9 [Tracks 1 and 2] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_020)
[From front of box]
"Track 1 Tuesday / Sharpening the Focus-Session / Welcome to New Affiliates / Thomas P. Carpenter, NCA / The Changing Image of Alcoholism / Marty Mann, NCA / Challenges Facing the Voluntary Health Agency Today / Francis Wilcox, American Cancer Society
Track 2 / Testing the legality of Public Intoxication Laws as they relate to alcoholism: implications for the alcoholism field / Peter B. Hutt, Covington and Burling"
Oversize 9 [Tracks 3 and 4] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_021)
[From box]
"Track 3 / Wednesday Evening / Annual Symposium of the NYC Medical Society on ALcoholism - Session / The Withdrawal State / Stanley E. Gitlow, M.D, N.Y. Medical College / Predictors of Treatment Success in a Follow-Up Study of Treated Alcoholics / Harrison M. Trice, Ph.D., Cornell University
Track 4 / Predictors of Treatment Success in a Follow-Up Study of Treated Alcoholics / Harrison M. Trice, Ph.D., Cornell University"
Oversize 9 [Tracks 5 and 6] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_022)
[From front of box]
"Track 5 / Thursday / Breakthroughs in Legislation Federal and State - Session / The California Plan / Arthur C. Hollister, M.D. / California State Department of Public Health / The New York Plan / John R. Butler, N.Y.S. Dept of Mental Hygiene / Team Tactics / Ben C. Liebermann, Jr., Tenn. Department of Mental Health / After Legislation, What? / Ernest A. Shepher, A.M., S.T.B., Connecticut Department of Mental Health.
Track 6 / Breakthroughs in Legislation Federal and State - Session / Thursday (Cont'd) / The Courts, The Law, and the Alcoholic - Session / How the Atlanta Courts Handles Chronic Alcoholics / Hon. Robert E. Jones, Chief Judge, Atlanta, Georgia. / The San Francisco Court Schol for Alcoholism Prevention / Hon. Gerald S. Levin, Judge of Superior Court, California / [cut off] ctor Looks at Chronic Drunkenness [cut off] enders / [cutoff] d J. Myerson, M.D. Drug Addiction Center, Massachusetts."
Oversize 9 [Tracks 7 and 8] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_023)
[From box]
"Track 7 / The Courts, The Law, and the Alcoholic - Session / Headstart for Recovery - Session / They Call Me Father / Rev. K.L. Sandercock, The Henry Ohlhoff House
An Experience in Living / Mary Ann Larson, Beacon House, Inc. / The Utterly Impossible Project / Henry Jackson, St. Jude's House, Inc.
Track 8 / Friday / ANNUAL MEETING / What's Going on in Research - Session / Recent Sociological Research in Alcoholism / David J. Pittmann, Ph.D. / North American Association of Alcoholism Programs / Psychological research Relating to Alcoholism / Ruth Fox, M.D., NCA / New Aspects of Biochemical Research in Alcoholism / W.W. Westerfeld, PhD., State University of New York"
Oversize 9 [Tracks 9 and 10] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_024)
[From box]
"Track 9 / New Aspects of Biochemical Research in Alcoholism / W.W. Westerfeld, Ph.D., State University of New York / Current Research in Treatment of Alcoholism / Ebbe Curtis Hoff, Ph.D. M.D., Virginia State Health Department / Introduction of the New President Awards and Citations / Introduction of Speaker - Marty Mann / Address - The Right Rev. James a. Pike, J.S.A., S.T.D. / Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of California
Track 10 / Address - The Right Rev. James a. Pike, J.S.A., S.T.D. / Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of California"
Oversize 9 [Track I and II] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_025)
[From the box]
"Track I / What's Going on in Research - Session / Recent Sociological Research in Alcoholism / David J. Pittmann, Ph.D. / North American Association of Alcoholism Programs / Psychological Research Relating to Alcoholism / Ruth Fox, M.D., NCA / New Aspects of Biochemical Research in Alcoholism / W.W. Westerfeld, Ph.D., State University of New York / Current Research in Treatment of Alcoholism / Ebbe Curtis Hoff, Ph.D., M.D., Virginia State Health Department
Track II / Current Research in Treatment of Alcoholism / Ebbe Curtis Hoff, Ph.D., M.D., Virginia State Health Department"
Belfer  National Council on Alcoholism Public Service Announcements, New York, NY - public service announcements on alcoholism awareness featuring Jack Lemmon, and Mercedes McCambridge by the National Council on Alcoholism 7" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_170)
[Side 1] 1- Mercedes McCambridge 60 seconds / 2- Mercedes McCambridge 30 seconds
[Side 2] 1- Jack Lemmon 30 seconds"
Belfer  National Council on Alcoholism Public Service Announcements, New York, NY - radio public service announcements commissioned by the National Council on Alcoholism 7" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_171)
[Side A] Cut 1 / Cut 2 / Cut 3
[Side B] Cut 1 / Cut 2 / Cut 3 / Cut 4 / Cut 5 / Cut 6 / Cut 7
Cut 3 on Side A features Luther A. Cloud, M.D., Senior Associate Medical Director, Equitable Life assurance Society of the United States and William W. Moore, Jr., Executive Director, National Council on Alcoholism. "
Belfer  National Council on Alcoholism Public Service Announcements, New York, NY - radio public service announcements commissioned by the National Council on Alcoholism featuring Del Sharbutt and Luther M. Cloud 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_172)
[Side A] / Del Sharbutt / Cut 1: :20 / Cut 2: :20 / Cut 6: :20 / Cut 7: :20 / Cut 8: :20 / Cut 9: :30 / Cut 10: :30 / Cut 11: :30 / Cut 12: :30 / Cut 13: 30
[Side B] Del Sharbutt / Cut 1: 1:00 / Cut 2: 1:00 / Cut 3: 1:00
Luther M. Cloud, M.D. / President, National Council on Alcoholism
Cut 1: :30 / Cut 2: 1:00 "
Belfer  National Council on Alcoholism Public Service Announcements, New York, NY - radio public service announcements commissioned by the National Council on Alcoholism 7" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_173)
[Side A]
1 - Silent Treatment / 2 - Silent Treatment / 3 - Progress / 4 - Progress
[Side B is identical]"
Belfer  National Council on Alcoholism Public Service Announcements, New York, NY - public service announcements commissioned by the National Council on Alcoholism 7" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_175)
1. Who Cares About Alcoholism? (:30) / 2. Your Wife is An Alcoholic! (:30) "
Box 15 National Council on Alcoholism Public Service Announcement, New York, NY - radio public service announcements commissioned by the National Council on Alcoholism 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_176)
"Cut 1 - 30 sec. The Typical Alcoholic NIMH-30-12 / Cut 2 - 60 sec. Some of Your Best Friends Are NIMH 60-13 / Cut 3 - 30 sec. Some of Your Best Friends Are NIMH-30-14 / Cut 4 - 60 sec. Cocktail Conversation NIMH-60-15 "
Belfer  National Council on Alcoholism Public Service Announcements, St. Ansonia, Connecticut 1974 - public service announcements commissioned by the National Council on Alcoholism; one side in English and one in Spanish 7" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_174)
"1. Don't Let the Bottle Getcha (:60) / 2. Don't Let the Bottle Getcha (:30) / 3. Don't Let the Bottle Getcha (:20) / 4. Serenity Prayer (:60) / 5. Serenity Prayer (:60) / 6. Serenity Prayer (:20) "
Box 15 National Institute of Mental Health Speakers, Mt. Airy Psychiatric Center 02/16/1974 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_082)
[Note on Box] / Participants: / Dr. Morris Chafetz / Mrs. Marty Mann / Event: Mt. Airy Pysch. Ctr. / Location: Denver, CO / Date : 02/16/74"
Oversize 9 N.Y.C Medical Society of Alcoholism "Industrial Aspects of Alcoholism." Committee on Alcoholism in Industry, New York, NY 02/09/1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_002)
Oversize 10 Open End, WNEW-TV, New York, NY 02/17/1963 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_054)
[From front of box] "Alcoholism, Pleasure or Problem"
[From inside of box] Open end - TV Show / Mrs Mann, Dr. Block / Dr. Muller, Dr. Beavan / Dr. McCall, Dr. Fox. / This is a two hour program of discussion. A lot of information about alcoholism is given but it is quite disorganized. nevertheless this is the most professional of discussion tapes and is a typical example of the Suskind technique. "
Practical Aspects of Medical Management and Rehabilitation of Alcoholics [conference], University of Utah Medical Center, June 19-21, 1968, Salt Lake City, Utah
Oversize 10 [1 of 5] 06/19/1968 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_059)
Oversize 10 [2of 5] 06/19/1968 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_060)
Oversize 10 [3of 5] 06/20/1968 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_061)
Oversize 10 [4of 5] 06/20/1968 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_062)
Oversize 10 [5of 5] 06/21/1968 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_063)
Oversize 10 R. Brinkley Smithers, "Viewpoint" for Episcopal Church, New York, NY 08/27/1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_049)
[From front of box] R. Brinkley Smithers / "Viewpoint" for Episcopal Church / Interview by Rev. Dana Kennedy / WOR & Mutual Network / Date: August 27, 1960 / Speed: 7.5
[From note inside box] R. Brinkley Smithers / Question and answer session aimed at popular information level. Basic patterns and behavior of drinking alcoholically [sic]. Good state education programs mentioned. Importance of clergy counseling. Satisfaction from helping others. Mr. Smithers' delivery is faulty.
[From back of box] VIEWPOINT / Broadcast over National Broadcasting Network 8/26/61 6:15-6:30 PM / Broadcast over station WOR (NYC) 8/27/61 7:05-7:20 AM / R. Brinkley Smithers"
Oversize 9 Teen-age Drinking Forum (Parents League of New York City), New York, NY 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_004)
Tape of panel discussion on teenage drinking held by the Parents League of New York City. Chairman- Yvelin Gardner; Panelists Win Edc (role of schools), John Parlchee (role of parents), Judge Elleson ("Darien Judge")
2nd Transpacific Conference on Alcoholism, Honolulu, Hawaii March 31 and April 1, 1960 - sponsored by Hawaii Committee on Alcoholism
Oversize 9 [Reel I] The Challenge of Alcoholism; Medicine & Alcoholism; Out of Orbit March 31 and April 1, 1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_034)
"Recording of 2nd Transpacific Conference on Alcoholism in Honolulu, Hawaii on March 31 and April 1, 1960 / [Note on Box] / Second Transpacific Conference on Alcoholism / Sponsored by Hawaii Committee on Alcoholism / Thursday - March 31 / Registration: Lobby of Hotel 9:30-11:30 / 12:00 noon Luncheon / Introduction - Mr. Ted R. Scott / Invocation - The Reverend Lawrence S. Jones / Address - "Medicine & Alcoholism" - Aloysius S. Church, MD / Film: "Out of Orbit"
Friday- April 1 / 6:00-7:00 p.m. - No Host Social Hour / 7:00 - 8:00 p.m. - Dinner - The Meeting House / Master of Ceremonies - Mr. Bob Roberts / Invocation - The Reverend John J Morrett / 15 Minute Question and Answer Period / Audience Participation / Moderator - Mr. Bob Roberts / Panel / Mr. Patrick Butler / Aloysius S. Church, MD / Mrs. Marty Mann / Mr. John C. Martelon / 8:15 p.m. - "The Challenge of Alcoholism" - Mrs. Marty Mann / Adjourment of Conference: Mrs. Peter K. McLean
Oversize 9 [Reel II] Health, Education & Social Services; The Clergyman 03/31/1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_035)
"Recording of 2nd Transpacific Conference on Alcoholism in Honolulu, Hawaii on March 31, 1960 / [Note on Box] / Second Transpacific Conference on Alcoholism / Sponsored by Hawaii Committee on Alcoholism / 1:30 p.m. : "Health, Education, Social Services" / Panel: / Walter B. Quisenberry, MD, Moderator / Mr. David A. Bowers / Mr. Patrick Bulter / Richard K. C. Lee, MD / Miss Mary L. Noonan / Mr. W. Tate Robinson / Dr. Willard Wilson / Discussion
1:30 p.m. : "The Clergyman" -Seminar / Introduction - Mr. John C. Martelon / Panel: / The Reverend John J. Morrett, Moderator / The Reverend William R. Grosh / The Reverend Lawrence S. Jones / Mr. John C. Martelon / Discussion"
Oversize 9 [Reel III] The Physician; The Nurse 03/31/1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_036)
"Recording of 2nd Transpacific Conference on Alcoholism in Honolulu, Hawaii on March 30 and 31, 1960 / [Note on Box] / Second Transpacific Conference on Alcoholism / Sponsored by Hawaii Committee on Alcoholism / 1:30 p.m. : "The Physician" / Introduction - Alvin V. Majoska, MD / Panel: / Aloysius S. Church, MD, Moderator / James G. Harrison, MD / Alvin V. Majoska, MD / Major Lawrence C. McGonagle USA (MC) / Captain John F. McMullin USA (MC) / Thomas S. Min, MD / Discussion
1:30 p.m. : "The Nurse" / Introduction - Walter B. Quisenberry, MD / Panel: / Sister Maureen (Keleher) O.S.F., Moderator / Mrs. Wilma Amalu, RN / Mrs. Rosie K. Chang, RN / Aloysius S. Church, MD / Discussion"
Oversize 9 [Reel IV] [The Law] 03/30/1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_037)
[From back of box]
"Second Transpacific Conference on Alcoholism / Sponsored by Hawaii Committee on Alcoholism
Track I / 1:30 p.m. The Law / Panel: / Mr. Patrick Butler, Moderator / Warden Joe C. Harper / Chief Daniel S.C. Liu / Mr. John C. Martelon / Mr. John H. Peters / Judge Harry Steiner
Discussion
March 30, 1960
Sheraton Meeting House / Princess Kaiulani Hotel / Honolulu, Hawaii"
Treatment and Rehabilitation of Patients with Alcoholism, University of Utah College of Medicine, Salt Lake City,Utah, June 21-23, 1967
Oversize 10 [1 of 4] - (1) Introductions; (2) "Early Detection and Prevention" - Marvin Block, M.D. 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_064)
Oversize 10 [2 of 4] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_065)
(2) "Early Detection and Prevention" - Marvin Block, M.D. (cont); (3) "Long-Term Management of Alcoholism" - Vernelle Fox, M.D., C. Craig Nelson, M.D.; (4) "New Trends in Alcoholism" - Mrs. Marty Mann; (5) "Etiology of Alcoholism" - James A. Knight, M.D.
Oversize 10 [3 of 4] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_066)
(6) Panel, "Drug Use and Abuse" - Faculty of School of Alcohol Studies, University of Utah; (7) "Neurological Complications of Alcoholism" - Huntington Mavor, M.D.; (8) Panel, "Treatment of Alcoholism in Clinics" - Gordon R. Evans, M.D., Vernelle Fox, M.D., C. Craig Nelson, M.D.
Oversize 10 [4 of 4] 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_067)
(8 cont.) Panel, "Treatment of Alcoholism in Clinics" - Gordon R. Evans, M.D., Vernelle Fox, M.D., C. Craig Nelson, M.D.
Oversize 10 TV Program "At Random," Social Drinker, ...Alcoholic...," Chicago, Illinois 05/26/1963 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_050)
[From back of box] "At Random" / 12:05 to 3:00 A.M. May 26, 1963 / Chicago, Ill / Social Drinker / ...Alcoholic... / Carter Davidson's Guests / Dr. Marvin Block, Psychiatrist Chairman of the Committee on Alcoholism Council on Mental Health, A.M.A. / Dr. Arthur H. Cain, Psychologist, Author, Consultant to the National Council on ALcoholism / Dr. Richard Cook, Psychiatrist / Mrs. Evelyn Echols, Vice President of Mental Health Society of greater Chicago / Samuel Peskin, Acting Director of the Chicago Committee on Alcoholism / Joseph Thurston, Consultant to the Board of Health with A.A. / Louis Abatta former Inmate of Prison, Now working with Inmates of Terra Haute Ind. Penitentiary / recorded on both sides on 2 track - 3 3/4 I.P.S
[From inside box] Side 1 / General group discussion. Side one covers in part: Definition, symptoms, importance of early detection. Importance to industry. Private and group therapy. Motivation of individual. Good delineation of types of alcoholism. AA Fellowship Club of Police Department. Difference between AA groups, tendency to over-stress.
Side II Prison AA groups described. Psychological vs physical addiction. More precise definition given. Prolonged wrangle about AA and word meanings. Entire second side is far below first."
Oversize 10 Two Way Street, Elmira, New York 01/03/1963 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_051)
[From front of box] a 90 min. radio program produced by WELM, Elmira, New York, with cooperation of Elmira Information Center
[From back of box] Alcoholism - A two way street produced by WELM in cooperation with the Chemung County Council on Alcoholism / 90 min.
[From inside box] "Two Way Street" / a one hour radio program produced by W.E.L.M., Elmira, N.Y. and Chemung County Alcoholism Information Center. Program is Built around image of alcoholism as a steep two-way street which people travel in both directions: Sam a professional man; George, a factory worker; Mary, a housewife; and Jane, the wife of an alcoholic, tell their stories. The Roman Catholic Chaplain of Elmira prison talks on crime and alcoholism. a simulated interview at the Alcoholism Information Center is Presented. Finally the story returns to Sam, George, Mary and Jane as they tell of the rewards they found on the way up the road. / This device, the two-way street, is good but the program is much too long and too slow of pace. The voices, while undoubtedly authentic, are unclear, often tiresome, and the overall effect of this program is deadly after the first 15 minutes or so."
Box 15 [U.S. Army Alcohol Abuse Conference] Selected Speaker Highlights 06/13/1972 reel tape (ID#: mann_m_081)
[From box]: First U.S. Army Alcohol Abuse Conf. Ft. George G. Meade, MD / Speakers: / C.E. Hutchins / Sen. Harold E. Hughes / Marty Mann
Belfer  What the Alcoholic Owes to Marty Mann, New York, NY Jan 1963 10" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_095)
Interview with Marty Mann by Barbara Wright for Reader's Digest
Oversize 10 WSDE-TV Editorial, Alcohol Information Week, New Orleans, Louisiana 1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_044)
[From note inside box] A.I.W TV Editorial 3 Minutes / Excellent description of opening of Information Center and what it is prepared to do for the community
Oversize 10 Yvelin Gardner, American Lutheran TV Program, New York, NY 12/07/1962 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_053)
Oversize 10 [Yvelin] Gardner, "A Decade of Progress" and "Talk to AA Doctors," Clayton, New York 06/18/1958 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_058)
[From note on interior] Mr. Gardner Talk / "A Decade of Progress" / Changing ideas at first, only an alcoholic could do anything for others. Now know any trained person can, and several disciplines needed. Ten years have seen "disease education" change to "health education." Development of public understanding and the role of doctors, medicine, psychiatry, clinics, hospitals and the AMA, state, church, and law all outlined. Importance of "total push" to combine effectively is stressed."
Belfer  Yvelin Gardner interview on "The Jo Halperin Show," WOR Radio New York 710 AM 10" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_096)
Belfer  Yvelin Gardner on the John Windgate Show, New York, NY 03/28/2013 phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_092)
Belfer  Yvelin Gardner on "The Open Mind" pt 1, White Plains, New York 03/10/1957 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_091a)
Belfer  Yvelin Gardner on "The Open Mind" pt 2, White Plains, New York 03/10/1957 12" phonodisc (ID#: mann_m_091b)
Oversize 10 Yvelin Gardner, "Where do we stand today on alcoholism?" Massey University, New Zealand 01/25/1966 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_040)
Oversize 9 [unidentified organization] 6th annual meeting, New York, NY, Part I of II : Morning session 03/12/1952 - talks by The Reverend Otis Rice and Dr. Selden D. Bacon 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_005)
Oversize 9 [unidentified organization] 6th annual meeting, New York, NY, Part II of II : Luncheon session 03/12/1952 - Fulton Oursler 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_006)
[From Back]: This recordings has one SIDE ONE the talk by Mr. Fulton Oursler, Author and Senior Editor of ALCOHOLISM, introducted by Mrs. Marty Mann; AND the talk by Mrs. Marty Mann, Executive Director of the National Committee on Alcoholism and author of Primer on Alcoholism, WHERE WE STAND TODAY. / SIDE TWO: ALCOHOLISM AND LEGISLATION by COl. Harold W. Riegelman, Chairman New York State Coordinating Committee on Alcoholism; and ALCOHOLISM AND MEDICINE by Dr. Harold W. Lovell, author, Hope and Help for the Alcoholic. (Sixth Annual Meeting National Committee on Alcoholism, New Yor [sic], March 12th, 1952. recordings by Cape Town Two, Sparks Maryland, U.S.A. Details on talk written on note inside.
Oversize 9 [unidentified organization] Annual Meeting, New Orleans, Louisiana 1965 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_018)
[From front of box] "The New Orleans Story" - Mr. Ashton Brisolara, Executive Director, Committee on Alcoholism for Greater New Orleans / "A service of Value" - Marty Mann
[From back of box] Take #8 / [illegible], Pampleian / 4:05 - P.M. / Fri public session closing speakers / (M.M 202) / Side 1 Ashton Brisolara / / 514 "
[unidentified organization] Annual Meeting, Homeless & Institutional Alcoholics 1959
Oversize 10 Reel I 1959 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_071)
[From inside box]
Side 1 Capt. George Duplain. Salvation Army program for rehabilitation / talk breaks off in mid-flight
Side 2 Robert S. Aikenhead. Possible rehabilitation of the Skid-Row Alcoholic."
Oversize 10 Reel II 03/19/1959 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_072)
[From inside box]
Side I / Walter C. Hart "Volunteers of America" (Tape breaks off at early part and never continues)
Side II / W.L. Hindman absent. (His paper read by William Plunkert "Skid Row and Urban Renewal"
Oversize 10 Reel III 1959 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_073)
[From note inside box] Dr. Warren Durham / "The Migrant Worker and Rehabilitation of Vagrants." / (Talk breaks off toward end)"
Box 15 [Reel IV?] 03/22/1960 1/4" reel tape (ID#: mann_m_074)
"panel discussion on homeless and institutional alcoholics / track 1 / talk by Myerson / track 2 / talk by Mackelman"
Box 15 [no label] cassette (ID#: mann_m_177)

Return to top