Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Lyceum and the Association of Light Seekers Records

A description of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lyceum (Hopewell, N.Y.) Association of Light Seekers (Hopewell, N.Y.)
Title: Lyceum and Association of Light Seekers Records
Inclusive Dates: 1845-1852
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Notebook containing records of two nineteenth-century debate societies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Lyceum and the Association of Light Seekers were both debate societies located in Hopewell, New York in Ontario County. These small societies met regularly to debate topics such as temperance, the Wilmot Proviso, women's suffrage, and also more abstract concerns such as whether or not "mankind are influenced more by truth than fiction."

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lyceum and Association of Light Seekers Records consist of a notebook containing details of two nineteenth-century debate societies in Hopewell, New York. The first section contains records of the Lyceum, including the society's constitution and 4 pages of secretary's reports from Dec 1845 to Jan 1846. The second section contains records of the Association of Light Seekers, including the society's constitution and 38 pages of secretary's reports from its founding in Jan 1847 to Mar 1852.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Association of Light Seekers (Hopewell, N.Y.)
Lyceum (Hopewell, N.Y.)

Subjects

Debates and debating -- Societies, etc. -- New York (State) -- Hopewell.

Places

Hopewell (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Minute books.
Notebooks.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lyceum and the Association of Light Seekers Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LMD
Date: 17 May 2010
Revision history:

Return to top