Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Robert A. W. Lowndes Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lowndes, Robert W.
Title: Robert A. W. Lowndes Papers
Inclusive Dates: before 2000
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, printed material and memorabilia of the American science fiction author, editor and fan.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert Augustine Ward "Doc" Lowndes (1916-1998) was an American science fiction and horror author, editor and fan. He was a notable member of the Futurians, a group influential in the development and recognition of science fiction, and received the First Fandom Hall of Fame award in 1991.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert A. W. Lowndes Papers includes correspondence, printed material and memorabilia.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is unprocessed and accessible by special permission only.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Lowndes, Robert W.

Subjects

Science fiction, American -- History and criticism.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Memorabilia.

Occupations

Authors.
Critics.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert A. W. Lowndes Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ruth Lowndes, 2000.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 19 Apr 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top