Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Al Liederman Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Liederman, Al.
Title: Al Liederman Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1964-1969
Quantity: 2.8 linear ft.
Abstract: Over 500 original editorial cartoons drawn for the Long Island Press (1964-1969).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Al Liederman (1911-1992) was an American editorial cartoonist and comics artist.

Al Liederman was born September 26, 1911 and attended the Rochester Art Institute. He worked as an artist for the Rochester Journal American but left Rochester to work as the Syracuse Journal American's art director where he drew sports and editorial cartoons. Following his stint in Syracuse, Liederman drew cartoons for the Buffalo Evening News and the Akron Beacon Journal before ending up at the Long Island Press.

Liederman’s interest in several genres of cartooning led him to assist with various issues of Captain America and he is credited with contributing to some issues of Captain Marvel and other assorted comic book projects. He is believed to have worked on a daily strip, Madge the Badge for the Trans World News in the late 1970s. Liederman published a book of baseball cartoons entitled Li’l Leaguer in 1960.

He was a member of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists and the National Cartoonists Society. Al Liederman died December 5, 1992.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Al Liederman Cartoons consist of over 500 original drawings of editorial cartoons. The cartoons were created for the Long Island Press from 1964 until 1969. The cartoons are arranged chronologically and are foldered by month. Materials used include illustration board, graphite and ink.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Liederman, Al.

Corporate Bodies

Long Island Press (Jamaica, N.Y.)
United States. Congress -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- New York (N.Y.)
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Hồ, Chí Minh, 1890-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Peace -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Political cartoons.
Russia -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images).
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Al Liederman Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Al Liederman, 1966-1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MPK
Date: 24 Jul 1978
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 26 Aug 2009 - added detailed inventory, index and bio (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons 11" x 14 ½"
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 1964
Oversize 1, Folder 2 Jan 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 3 Feb 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 4 Mar 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 5 Apr 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 6 May 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 7 Jun 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 8 Jul 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 9 Aug 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 10 Sep 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 11 Oct 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 12 Nov 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 13 Dec 1965
Oversize 2, Folder 1 Jan 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 2 Feb 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 3 Mar 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 4 Apr 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 5 May 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 6 Jun 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 7 Jul 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 8 Aug 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 9 Sep 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 10 Oct 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 11 Nov 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 12 Dec 1966
Oversize 3, Folder 1 Jan 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 2 Feb 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 3 Mar 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 4 Apr 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 5 May 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 6 Jun 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 7 Jul 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 8 Aug 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 9 Sep 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 10 Oct 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 11 Nov 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 12 Dec 1967
Oversize 4, Folder 1 Jan 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 2 Feb 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 3 Mar 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 4 Apr 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 5 May 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 6 Jun 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 7 Jul 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 8 Aug 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 9 Sep 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 10 Oct 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 11 Nov 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 12 Dec 1968
Oversize 5, Folder 1 Feb 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 2 Mar 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 3 Apr 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 4 May 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 5 Jun 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 6 Jul 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 7 Aug 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 8 Sep 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 9 Oct 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 10 Nov 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 11 Dec 1969

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.
B= Box, F=Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.
Agnew, Spiro T. B5F10
American Nazi Party B1F5
Anti-Ballistic Missiles B5F1-B5F2, B5F5, B5F7
Appalachia B1F4
Argentina B2F8
Brazil B4F12
Brezhnev, Leonid Ilyich B2F2, B2F6
Britain B2F7, B3F11-B3F12, B4F2-B4F3
California B2F12
Cambodia B1F9
Castro, Fidel B1F6, B2F2, B2F7, B3F5, B5F6, B5F11
China B1F9-B1F11, B2F6, B2F10, B3F9, B3F12, B5F2, B5F6
Civil Rights B1F4, B1F8, B1F13, B2F8, B3F4, B3F10-B3F11, B5F9
Congo B1F1
Congress B1F1, B1F4-B1F5, B1F7, B1F11-B1F12, B2F3, B2F7-B2F8, B2F10, B3F4-B3F5, B3F7-B3F12, B4F1, B4F4-B4F5, B4F7, B5F3, B5F5-B5F6, B5F9-B5F10
Cuba B2F7, B4F2, B5F9
Czechoslovakia B4F5, B4F7, B4F9-B4F11, B5F7
Democratic Party B4F8-B4F10
Dirksen, Everett B4F1
Disney, Walt B2F12
Dominican Republic B1F5, B1F7, B1F11
Egypt B3F11, B5F11
Fowler, Henry. B1F13
France B1F12, B2F10, B3F10, B4F4-B4F5, B4F7, B4F11, B5F3-B5F5, B5F7, B5F11
Gandhi, Indira B2F10
Germany B2F11
Goldberg, Arthur B2F9, B2F12, B3F2
Goldwater, Barry B1F1, B4F3
Great Society B2F1, B2F11, B2F12, B3F12
Greece B4F10
Guevara, Che B1F1, B3F10
HUAAC B1F5
Harriman, W. Averell B4F6
Hitler, Adolph B2F9
Ho Chi Minh B1F5, B1F7-B1F8, B1F12-B1F13, B2F6-B2F7, B2F9-B2F11, B3F1, B3F4, B3F7-B3F8, B4F1, B4F3, B4F6, B4F8-B4F10, B5F3, B5F5-B3F6
Humphrey, Hubert B3F3, B4F4-B4F6, B4F10-B4F11
Hussein of Jordan B3F1, B3F6, B4F11
India B1F10-B1F11
Indonesia B1F9, B2F9
Israel B2F11-B2F12, B3F1, B3F5-B3F7, B3F10, B3F12, B4F4, B5F1, B5F5-B5F6
Italy B4F12
Johnson, Luci B. B2F8
Johnson, Lyndon Baines B1F1-B1F2, B1F4-B1F5, B1F7, B1F11-B1F12, B2F1-B2F2, B2F6-B2F12, B3F1, B3F4-B3F6, B3F8, B3F11-B3F12, B4F1-B4F4, B4F6-B4F7, B4F11-B4F12, B5F8
Kennedy, John F. B1F1, B1F10, B2F12, B4F3, B4F6
Kennedy, Robert F. B1F1, B4F3-B4F4, B4F6
Khrushchev, Nikita B1F1
King Jr., Martin Luther B5F2
Kosygin, Alexey B3F6
Ku Klux Klan B1F5, B1F13
Latin America B1F1, B1F10, B3F4, B3F7, B5F5-B5F6
Libya B5F11
Lincoln, Abraham B1F3
Lindsay, John B2F2, B5F2, B5F10
Long Island B2F10, B2F12, B1F7
Manila Summit Conference B2F9-B2F11
McCarthy, Eugene B4F3, B4F5
McNamara, Robert B3F11
Medicare B1F4, B1F12, B2F5, B3F6
Middle East B2F6, B2F11-B2F12, B3F5-B3F8, B3F10-B3F12, B4F2, B4F4-B4F5, B4F11-B4F12, B5F1, B5F9-B5F11
Mitterrand, François B1F13
Muslims B1F5
NATO B2F3-B2F4, B3F7, B4F9, B4F11, B5F3
Nasser, Gamal Abdel B2F10, B3F1, B3F5-B3F8, B3F12, B5F6
New York City B1F3, B1F11, B1F13, B2F12, B3F5, B3F8-B3F9, B3F11-B3F12, B4F2, B4F5, B4F11, B5F2, B5F10
New York State B1F1, B1F3, B1F7, B2F2, B2F11-B2F12, B3F1-B3F4, B3F7, B3F9-B3F11, B4F2
New York lottery B2F2, B2F12, B3F4, B3F7, B3F10
Nixon, Richard M. B1F1, B2F11, B4F3-B4F6, B4F8, B4F10-B4F12, B5F1-B5F6, B5F8-B5F11
North Korea B1F1, B4F2-B4F3, B4F9, B4F11
Olympics B3F11, B4F9
Organization of American States B1F5, B1F7, B1F11, B3F7
Oswald, Lee Harvey B1F10
Pakistan B1F10
Poland B4F4
Pope Paul VI B2F9, B2F12, B3F3
Powell, Adam Clayton B2F9, B3F3-B3F4
Quill, Michael B1F13
Reagan, Ronald B4F5
Republican Party B1F1, B1F8, B2F10-B2F12, B3F4, B4F1, B4F8
Rhodesia B1F12, B2F4
Rockefeller, Nelson B1F1, B2F2, B2F11, B3F1-B3F2, B3F10, B4F2-B4F3
Romania B5F7
Romney, George W. B3F4, B3F9
Rusk, Dean B4F2
Russia B1F1, B1F5, B1F12, B2F1, B2F3, B2F6, B2F10, B2F12, B3F4, B3F6-B3F7, B3F10-B3F12, B4F4, B4F6-B4F7, B4F9-B4F12, B5F1-B5F4, B5F6-B5F7, B5F10
Smith, Ian B1F12
South Africa B2F9
South America B1F6, B3F10, B5F9, B5F11
South Korea B4F2
Stalin, Joseph B2F4
Stevenson, Adlai E. B1F8
Sukarno B1F9
Supreme Court B5F5
Thant, U B2F8, B2F12, B3F5, B3F6
Thieu, Nguyen B3F8, B5F5-B5F6, B5F10
Tito B2F10
Truman, Harry B2F7, B4F11
U.S. Mail B2F12
U.S. Marines B1F5
United Nations B1F1, B1F3, B1F7, B1F10-B1F11, B2F4, B2F7, B2F9-B2F12, B3F5-B3F7, B3F9, B3F11-B3F12, B4F3, B4F9, B5F8-B5F10
Vietnam War B1F1, B1F5-B1F9, B1F11-B1F13, B2F1, B2F4, B2F6-B2F12, B3F1, B3F3-B3F12, B4F2-B4F9, B4F11-B4F12, B5F1-B5F3, B5F5, B5F7-B5F11
Vorster, John B2F9
Wallace, George B1F4, B3F4, B3F12
Wilson, Harold B2F7, B2F10, B2F12, B5F9
World Series B1F11, B2F10, B3F10, B4F10
World's Fair B1F3, B1F11
Yemen B3F8
Zedong, Mao B1F1, B1F5-B1F8, B1F12, B2F2, B2F9-B2F12, B3F7, B3F9, B4F5, B4F11
automobiles B1F6-B1F7, B2F8, B2F11-B2F12, B3F2, B3F12, B5F3
communism B1F1, B1F11, B2F2, B2F6, B2F9-B2F10, B3F1, B3F6-B3F9, B3F11, B4F2-B4F5, B4F9, B4F11, B5F1-B5F3, B5F5, B5F7, B5F9-B5F10
crime B1F6, B2F7, B3F10, B3F12, B4F1, B4F6-B4F7, B5F3, B5F7
de Gaulle, Charles B1F13, B2F2, B2F6-B2F7, B2F9, B2F12, B3F6, B3F10, B4F5-B4F7, B4F11, B5F3-B5F4
demonstrations B1F7, B1F12, B3F3-B3F4, B3F12, B4F7, B4F12, B5F2-B5F3, B5F8-B5F10
draft B3F3, B3F5, B3F10-B3F12, B4F2, B5F4
drug use B5F6-B5F7
economy B1F7, B2F4, B2F8
education B1F4, B1F10, B3F4, B3F7, B3F9-B3F10, B5F5, B5F9
elections B1F8, B1F12-B1F13, B2F10-B2F11, B3F8-B3F9, B3F11, B4F1, B4F3-B4F5, B4F7-B4F8, B4F10-B4F11, B5F5-B5F6, B5F9
free speech B3F8
gambling B1F6
gun control B2F8, B2F11, B3F7, B3F9, B3F10, B4F4, B4F6-B4F7, B4F9, B5F3
holidays B1F1-B1F2, B1F5, B1F13, B2F5, B2F10, B2F12, B3F11-B3F12, B4F11-B4F12, B5F11
imperialism B3F5
inflation B2F7-B2F10, B3F11-B3F12, B4F3, B4F6, B4F12, B5F2-B5F3, B5F5-B5F7
morals B1F1
motion pictures B1F1
national debt B1F3, B1F13, B3F6, B4F6
nuclear weapons B1F1, B1F6, B2F10-B2F12, B3F2, B4F9-B4F10, B4F12, B5F11
peace B1F1, B1F5, B1F7-B1F8, B1F11, B2F1, B2F6, B2F8-B2F10, B2F12, B3F2-B3F4, B3F8, B3F11-B3F12, B4F2-B4F7, B4F11-B4F12, B5F2-B5F3, B5F6, B5F8-B5F11
police B1F7
politics B1F1, B1F3, B1F7, B1F11, B2F9-B2F10, B3F12, B4F4-B4F5, B5F8
pollution B1F4, B1F8, B1F11, B2F2, B2F8-B2F9, B2F11-B2F12, B3F2, B3F5-B3F6, B3F8, B3F11, B4F3, B4F9, B4F11, B5F5, B5F9
racism B1F1, B2F9
riots B1F1, B3F8, B4F5
science B1F2, B3F5
ships B3F8, B4F3
smoking B1F4, B1F8
space exploration B1F7-B1F9, B1F12-B1F13, B2F12, B3F1, B3F4, B3F6, B3F10, B4F10, B4F12, B5F2-B5F4, B5F6, B5F8, B5F10
steel industry B1F5, B1F9, B2F8, B5F7
strikes B1F5, B1F9, B2F7-B2F8, B3F3, B3F6, B3F9, B3F12, B4F5, B4F12
taxes B1F4, B1F7, B1F9, B1F13, B2F1, B2F9, B2F11, B3F3, B3F6, B3F8, B4F1, B4F3, B4F5-B4F6, B4F9, B4F11, B5F3, B5F5-B5F6, B5F10-B5F11
television B1F8, B2F10, B3F3, B4F10, B5F8
violence B4F6
voting rights B4F6

Return to top