Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Michael Lewis Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lewis, Michael, 1930-
Title: Michael Lewis Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1951-1953
Quantity: 1 half-letter box
Abstract: Photographs of Michael Lewis, actor, and a single clipping
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Michael Lewis, son of journalist Dorothy Thompson and writer Sinclair Lewis. Stage and screen actor.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Michael Lewis Collection consists mainly of photographs -- head shots and photos of Lewis in various roles ranging from Don John the Bastard ("Much Ado About Nothing" to a role in "The Virginian." There is a single clipping, a photograph of his parents.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Lewis, Michael, 1930-
Lewis, Sinclair, 1885-1951
Thompson, Dorothy, 1893-1961

Subjects

Actors, United States

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Photographs.

Occupations

Actors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Michael Lewis Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Patricia Westerfield, 28 Feb 2006.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 8 Mar 2006
Revision history: 10 Mar 2006 - EAD file created (MRR); 19 Jul 2006 - minor changes to subject headings (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
Box 1 Clippings
Photographs
Box 1 Head shots
Box 1 Arena Stage, Washington DC Sep 1953
Emile Boulanger in "The Bad Angel," Depont-Dufort Sr. in "Thieves' Carnival," Brassett in "Charley's Aunt"
Box 1 Barter Theatre of Virginia (Abingdon, VA) Jun 1951 - Dec 1953
Ezra in "Some Sweet Day," Prince of Arragon in "Merchant of Venice," Tyler Rayburn in "Light Up the Sky," Kurt Schneider in "Detective Story," "St. Peter" in "Poet in Seven," Chris Sly in "Sweet Fire," Scipio le Moyne in "The Virginian," Prince of Arragon on tour.
Not all photos are identified and some may be missing
Box 1 Equity Library Theatre (Chicago, IL) May 1953
Dr. Macfarland in "Hobson's Choice"
Box 1 Port Players (Oconomowoc, WI) Jul 1953 - Sep 1953
Godfrey Pond in "The Happiest Days of Your Life," Titus Savage in "The Curious Savage," Halstead Carter in "Spring Again," Cyrus Stevens in "The Gorilla," Phillip Russell in "Affairs of State."
Not all photos are identified and some may be missing
Box 1 Rochester Arena Theatre (Rochester, NY) Jan 1953 - Mar 1953
Bill Walker in "Major Barbara," Don John the Bastard in "Much Ado About Nothing"
Box 1 Unidentified

Return to top