Finding Aids
printer friendly version

D. B. Wyndham Lewis Correspondence

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lewis, D. B. Wyndham (Dominic Bevan Wyndham), 1891-1969.
Title: D. B. Wyndham Lewis Correspondence
Inclusive Dates: 1927-1936
Quantity: 4 letters (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the British journalist, author, biographer. Incoming correspondence from Oliver St. John Gogarty in which he writes about James Joyce, and from Hilaire Belloc in connection with G.K.'s Weekly.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

D. B. Wyndham Lewis (1891-1969) was a British journalist, author, and biographer known for his humorous newspaper articles and biographies.

Lewis was born on March 9, 1891 in Southport, Lancashire, England to David John Lewis and Cecelia (Mayer) Agnes. His birth name was Llewelyn Bevan Wyndham Lewis, but he changed Llewelyn to Dominic upon joining the Roman Catholic Church in 1921. After earning four distinctions of honor from Cardiff intermediate school, Lewis enlisted as a private in the Welsh regiment (September 1, 1914). While serving with the 11th battalion in France, Lewis suffered from shell-shock twice; during his assignment in Macedonia, he contracted malaria. On October 29, 1918, Lewis married Winifred Mary (Jane) Holland with whom he had one daughter, actress Angela Wyndham Lewis. The couple divorced in 1926 and in July 1933 Lewis married Dorothy Anne Robertson with whom he had two sons.

Lewis began his writing career as an editor at the Daily Express. He started a column called "By the Way" that employed the humorous wit that characterizes Lewis's writing. Lewis went on to have a successful literary career, writing columns, novels, biographies, and skits. He died on November 21, 1969 in Altea Spain.

Selected Works

1921 A London Farrago
1928 François Villon; a Documented Survey
1930 King Spider; Some Aspects of Louis XI of France and His Companions
The Stuffed Owl: an Anthology of Bad Verse
1932 Emperor of the West, a Study of the Emperor Charles the Fifth
1946 The Hooded Hawk; or, The Case of Mr. Boswell
1956 The Man Who Knew Too Much (co-wrote screenplay for the Alfred Hitchcock film)
1959 Molière: the Comic Mask
1962 The Shadow of Cervantes
1968 The World of Goya

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The D. B. Wyndham Lewis Correspondence is a collection of four incoming letters written between 1927 and 1936 to the British journalist and biographer of James Boswell and Moliere. Included in the collection are three letters from Hilaire Belloc, two of which are in connection with G.K.'s Weekly, the editorship of which he assumed following the death of G. K. Chesterton. Also among the letters is a single item from Oliver St. John Gogarty which was sent in answer to Lewis's praise for "Hyperthuliana" (05 Oct 1927):

...you have so exalted me in my own opinion by yours. I have now two readers, and when I am tired or surfeited by myself, I will remember that you too have read me.

Gogarty goes on to write of one of his contemporaries:

Yes, Joyce is a dreary Dante, an undivine Comedian, a melancholy humbug.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Correspondence, which is arranged alphabetically by sender.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Belloc, Hilaire, 1870-1953.
Gogarty, Oliver St. John, 1878-1957.
Lewis, D. B. Wyndham (Dominic Bevan Wyndham), 1891-1969.

Associated Titles

G.K.'s weekly.

Subjects

Journalists -- Great Britain.
Poets, English -- 20th century.
Poets, Irish -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

D. B. Wyndham Lewis Correspondence
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Apr 1989
Revision history: 25 Nov 2008 - converted to EAD (LDC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 88 Belloc, Hilaire 1931-1936 (3 letters)
SC 88 Gogarty, Oliver St. John 1927 (1 letter)

Return to top