Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Henry Goddard Leach Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Leach, Henry Goddard, 1880-1970.
Title: Henry Goddard Leach Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1898-1969
Quantity: 54 linear ft.
Abstract: American author, educator, intellectual; editor of the intellectual and literary national periodical The Forum (1923-1940); president, American-Scandinavian Foundation (1926-1947), president, Poetry Society of America (1934-1937). Collection includes correspondence relating to The Forum and the American-Scandinavian Foundation, unpublished essays, articles, diaries, lectures, photographs, clippings, juvenilia and more.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry Goddard Leach (1880-1970) was an American author, educator and poet. He was editor of the intellectual and literary national periodical The Forum (1923-1940), president of the American-Scandinavian Foundation (1926-1947), president of the Poetry Society of America (1934-1937), an active member of the Adirondack Trail Improvement Society, and a leading intellect of his time.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry Goddard Leach Papers contains correspondence, unpublished essays, articles, diaries, lectures, photographs, clippings, juvenilia and other material. Apart from a few boxes accessioned and processed in 1964, the collection is unprocessed and remains in its original folders and containers, as arranged by Leach. Most of the diaries, lectures and photographs are stored in flip-top cases with Leach's typed labels on the outside; these are indicated in the inventory below by the notation "(boxed)". Leach's titles for these boxes have been retained and are given in quotation marks. Where an item had no title, one has been supplied.

Highlights of the collection include:

Letters and papers of Leach's father, Dr. Alonzo L. Leach (referred to by Leach as "A.L.L."), who served as a medical officer with the Union Army during the Civil War
H. G. Leach's "diary," kept almost daily from early in the 1900s to the early 1960s, with commentary on events both public and private over three generations; most of these are not bound volumes but rather boxes of typed sheets along with souvenirs and memorabilia such as programs, photographs, clippings, etc.
Bound volumes of The Forum, which under Leach's editorship was known as "the magazine of controversy" and which Carl Sandburg dubbed "the barometer of American intelligence"
Photographs of and correspondence with scores of notable writers and intellectuals who were regular contributors to The Forum
An autographed drawing of George Bernard Shaw (the box list does not specify where this item is)
Numerous volumes of poetry, including some of Leach's own, and correspondence with many leading poets, along with material relating to the Poetry Society of America, of which Leach was president during the 1930s
Books and papers on Scandinavian affairs and the American Scandinavian Foundation, of which Leach was secretary and president for thirty years; these may (or may not) be the items listed below as "correspondence-subject files"
Manuscript of lectures and speeches given by Leach at colleges across the country, and material from his days as a teacher at Groton and Harvard University
Files of the Adirondack Improvement Society, of which Leach was an active member for decades; the box list does not specify which these are, but they may (or may not) be the items listed below as "correspondence-subject files"

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The bulk of the collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Unprocessed portions of the collection are not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Leach, Alonzo.
Leach, Henry Goddard, 1880-1970.

Corporate Bodies

Adirondack Trail Improvement Society.
American-Scandinavian Foundation.
Poetry Society of America.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Medical care.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives.

Associated Titles

The Forum.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Periodical editors -- United States.
Scandinavia.
Scandinavian Americans.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Juvenilia.
Lectures.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry Goddard Leach Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Henry Goddard Leach, 1964, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1969
Revision history: 27 Apr 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 1 Jul 2011 - box list added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Processed (1964 accessions)
Central Park assault
Box 54 Letters
Box 54 Press clippings
Compositions
Classical High School
Box 54 Princeton 1899-1903
Box 54 Groton 1903-1905
Newspapers
Box 55 Scandinavian news stories by Leach 1909-1912
Personal press clippings
Box 55 Miscellaneous 1912, 1915
Box 56 Miscellaneous 1912-1923 (5 folders)
Box 57 Miscellaneous 1924-1926 (4 folders)
Unprocessed (1969 accession)
RESTRICTED: Unprocessed portions of the collection are accessible by special permission only.
Box 1 Correspondence, processed, A-H
Box 2 Correspondence, processed, H-M
Box 3 Correspondence, processed, N-Z
Box 4 "Diary" (boxed) 1931, 1932, 1933
Box 5 "Diary" (boxed) 1933, 1934
Box 6 "Diary" (boxed) 1935, 1937
Box 7 Diaries (bound volumes) 1908-1921
Box 8 Correspondence-subject files, A-R 1920s-1960s
Box 9 "Diary" (boxed) 1939, 1940, 1943
Box 10 Articles about (boxed) 1903-1940
Box 10 Articles about (boxed) 1940
Box 10 Bio. excerpts (boxed) 1912-
Box 11 "Lectures" (boxed) 1950-1952
Box 12 Scrapbook 1904-1906
Box 12 "Engagement & Wedding" scrapbook 1915
Box 12 Published genealogical books
Box 12 "Family sketches," folder of typed pages
Box 12 Diary, typed
Box 12 "Grotonian" (boxed)
Box 13 Photographs, miscellaneous (boxed)
Box 13 "Kodaks 1909-1920" (boxed, in labeled envelopes)
Box 13 "Photos, 1950-" (boxed)
Box 14 "Crown Prince of Sweden Visit, 1926"
Box 14 Correspondence-subject files, B-E circa 1940s-1960s
Box 15 Correspondence-subject files circa 1950s-1960s
Box 16 "Lectures 1955-1960" (boxed)
Box 16 "Scandinavian Civilization, University of K.C." (boxed) 1950
Box 16 "Scandinavian vs. American Democracy," possibly lectures (boxed) undated
Box 17 "Lectures - Broadcasts" (boxed) undated
Box 17 "Lectures - Shorts" (boxed) undated
Box 17 "Lectures 1953" (boxed)
Box 18 Correspondence-subject files, F-W circa 1918-1960
Box 19 Lectures, correspondence, passports, other material relating to Canada tour 1947
"Diplomas," large hard-sided case
Leather portfolio
Box 20 "Photos 1935-1939" (boxed)
Box 20 "Publicity Reprints Extras" (boxed) undated
Box 20 "Family History" (boxed) undated
Box 21 "Jennie Goddard" (boxed)
Box 21 "Old Leach Family Photos" (boxed)
Box 21 "A.L.L. articles" (boxed) - Alonzo L. Leach material
Box 22 "Diary" (boxed) 1952, 1953-1954, 1960
Box 23 "Vacation Diary" (bound volume) 1903
Box 23 "Diary" (boxed) 1957, 1958
Box 23 Miscellaneous papers, memorabilia, possibly related to "Buick Runs Chautauqua Circuit" 1927
Box 24 "Diary" (boxed) 1962, 1963, 1964
Box 25 "Diary" (boxed) 1956, 1961, 1965
Box 26 Miscellaneous circa 1920-1950 - correspondence, memorabilia, photographs, lectures, etc., some in labeled envelopes, some not
Box 27 "Lectures General" (boxed) undated
Box 27 "Lectures 1931, 1946" (boxed)
Box 27 "Lectures 1947 - Forty States Tour" (boxed)
Box 28 "Feakins Lecture Tour 1929" (boxed)
Box 28 "Dean Inge" scrapbook
Box 28 "Princeton Commencement" scrapbook 1903
Box 28 "TG Holiday 1906-1907" scrapbook
Box 28 Lectures[?] circa 1929-1930
Box 28 "Leisure and Lecture Tours 1927, 1928, 1929 1931" (bound diary, typed)
Box 28 Lectures, foldered, with related correspondence circa 1954
Box 29 "Verse Duplicates I" (boxed) circa 1800-1910
Box 29 "Verse Duplicates II" (boxed) circa 1910-1964
Box 29 "Articles 1909-1922" (boxed)
Box 30 "Fire's Center" (boxed) 1950
Box 30 "Literary Efforts Princeton" undated
Box 30 "My Last Seventy Years 1956 / Bookman Associates, Twayne" (boxed)
Box 31 Printed material, foldered - possibly book reviews?
Box 31 "A Season in Denmark" scrapbook undated
Box 31 Diaries, bound, handwritten, very tiny circa 1890-1900
Box 31 Photograph albums, large
Box 32 "Diary" (boxed) 1944-1946, 1947-1948
Box 33 "Diary" (boxed) 1949-1950, 1951, 1955
Box 34 Published material (books, articles, reviews), some bound, some foldered circa 1950s
Box 35 Clippings, foldered 1902-1940s
Box 36 Printed material, by Leach
Box 37 Card file of names and addresses, by state (2 boxes)
Box 37 Card file of article titles, authors, volume number; possibly an index to something (2 boxes)
Box 38 "Diary" (boxed) 1959, 1966
Box 38 "Arthurian" (boxed)
Box 38 Princeton alumni directory 1903
Box 38 Miscellaneous published items
Box 39 "Birthdays 1962-" (boxed)
Box 39 "A.L.L. Misc." (boxed) - Alonzo L. Leach material
Box 39 "A.L.L. Mss." (boxed) - Alonzo L. Leach material
Box 40 "Literary Efforts Harvard" (boxed)
Box 40 "Worcester -1899" (boxed)
Box 40 "Princeton" (boxed) circa 1903
Box 41 "Kodaks 1921-1929" (boxed)
Box 41 "Mark book, Groton and Harvard" (bound volume)
Box 41 "Ebba" (box of letters in envelopes) circa 1903-1904
Box 41 Miscellaneous bound printed items, including Journal of Rev. Silas Constant
Box 42 Miscellaneous printed material
Box 42 Card file, possibly of Leach's published works
Box 43 Card file of article titles, authors, volume number; possibly an index to something (4 boxes)
Box 44 "Diary" (boxed) 1930, 1936, 1937
Box 45 "Diary" (boxed) 1938
Box 45 "Edstrom Campaign 1938" (boxed)
Box 45 "Skandinavia 1946" (boxed)
Box 46 "Diary" (boxed) 1927, 1928, 1929
Box 47 Correspondence-subject files, D-I circa 1920s-1960s
Box 48 Correspondence-subject files for Leach family members circa 1910-1950s
Box 49 Correspondence-subject files, Leach family members circa 1940-1960s
Box 50 "Press: Chautauqua and Forum, 1927, 1934-1935" (boxed)
Box 51 Correspondence-subject files 1920s-1950s
Box 52 Miscellaneous, in labeled envelopes - possibly class notes from college or notes for lectures
Box 53 Published books

Return to top