Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Lavitt, Seymour.
Title:	Seymour Lavitt Collection
Inclusive Dates:	Undated
Quantity:	1.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Collection consists of copies of the "Fundamentals of Plastics" resource materials; slides from "Injection Molding" and "Fundamentals" (two lectures given by Lavitt); correspondence about Plastics Fair, 1992-1993; and brochures of Plastics Design/Development Associates; film.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Seymour Lavitt, of Rockville, CT was an educator in the field of plastics. He taught the fundamentals of plastics from "The Plastics Seminars" of Hingham, Massachusetts.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Seymour Lavitt Collection consists of plastics education material (copies of the "Fundamentals of Plastics" resource materials, slides from "Injection Molding" and "Fundamentals" (two lectures given by Lavitt), and a film) and professional papers (correspondence about Plastics Fair, 1992-1993 and brochures of Plastics Design/Development Associates).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

None.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Seymour Lavitt Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Mrs. Seymour Lavitt.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); Jun 2009 - film located (MRC); 8 Apr 2022 - media processed/updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Plastics education
Box 1		Fundamentals of Plastics resource materials
Box 1		Lecture notes
		Slides
Box 2			Lecture 1: Injection molding (32 slides)
Box 2			Lecture 2: Fundamentals (87 slides)
Box 2			Other (243 slides)
Reel		[untitled] (16mm film) (ID#: lavitt_s_001)
			Beginning of the film is missing. Features plastic products, plastic plants, plastic production, plastics formulas. Handwritten note on tail leader reads: " New York Management Counter, Inc. 73640, 1 roll, 4.25.78". Includes photocopy of can label.

	Professional papers
Box 1		Brochures from plastics design/ development associates
Box 1		Correspondence regarding his attendance at Plastics Fair, 1992-1993

Return to top