Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Latin ms: Transfer of Gift |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1280 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Small rectangular document, written in Latin, conferring an annual income of four denarii on Radolphus Alverich "for his service" |
| Language: | Latin |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The author of the document was one Henricus Huse. This is possibly Henry Husee, Dean of Well in 1302. The recipient of the benefit is Radolphus Alverich; nothing is known of this man.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Latin ms: transfer of ownership consists of a single small vellum sheet. The document is written in a formal secretary hand in Latin. The document, written by one Henricus Huse, confers upon one Radolphus Alverich an income of "four denarii of the annual revenue that I was used to receive from one plot of land...next to the land of the aforementioned Radolphus in the eastern part."
Included with the document is a transcription and translation, provided by Dr. Matthieu van der Meer, Associate Professor of Languages, Literature, and Linguisitcs at Syracuse University.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Latin ms: transfer of gift,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unknown. Transcription and translation provided by Dr. Matthieu van der Meer, Associate Professor of Languages, Literature, and Linguisitcs at Syracuse University, Mar 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 11 Apr 2017
Revision history: Mar 2024 - date corrected; transcription and translation added (MRC)
Inventory
| Legal documents | |||||||||||
| SC 800 | Transfer of gift circa 1280 - single page, in Latin; includes transcription and translation | ||||||||||