Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John P. Lanigan Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lanigan, John P.
Title: John P. Lanigan Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1965-1971
Quantity: 5.25 linear ft
Abstract: 193 original editorial cartoons and printed material
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John P. “Jack” Lanigan (1922-2000) was an American editorial cartoonist for the New Bedford, Massachusetts Standard Times.

John P. Lanigan was born in Chicago on October 8, 1922 and served in the South Pacific during World War II and participated in the Guadalcanal campaign. He studied at the Art Institute of Chicago and the Art Students' League but was recalled into military service during the Korean War and worked with the atomic bomb testing unit. Upon his discharge, he pursued freelance work and became the editorial cartoonist for the Standard Times in 1964.

Lanigan held membership in the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists and his cartoons were selected for the Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year series. His cartoons were exhibited as part of the 1970 International Cartoon Exhibition in Athens, Greece, and were included in the Man and His World International Fine Arts Exhibition at Expo 67 in Montreal.

John P. Lanigan retired in 1987 to the Lake Luzerne, New York area and died of cancer on March 25, 2000.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John P. Lanigan Papers are organized into 2 series. The first series, Cartoons contains 193 original editorial cartoons. The majority of the cartoons have been approximately dated based on when they were donated. The cartoons were produced with ink, pencil and dot screening on a variety of weights of illustration board. Dimensions vary and notations are included in pencil. Of interest is a cartoon in Box 4 Folder 2 that Lanigan burned the edges of to create a charred effect.

Lanigan often filled the entire frame with imagery and juxtaposed various elements in a collage like fashion. Many cartoons actually contained several cartoons about completely different subjects. In his portrayals of political figures, Lanigan often drew very realistic looking heads on very cartoon-looking bodies while other figures were portrayed as inanimate objects such as knives (Robert F. Kennedy) and spots on x-rays (Lyndon B. Johnson).

The Printed Material series contains 1 folder of clippings of Lanigan's published cartoons.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The Cartoons are arranged in chronological order where there is a specific date with undated cartoons appearing in folders for their approximate year.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Lanigan, John P.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Spock, Benjamin, 1903-1998 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

United States. Congress -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Associated Titles

New Bedford standard-times.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Massachusetts.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- Massachusetts.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Political cartoons.
Pollution -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Taxation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings.
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John P. Lanigan Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of John P. Lanigan, 1966-1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 1 Jun 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 8 Oct 2009 - added detailed bio, inventory and index (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
Click here for a list of specific dates.
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 1966 Jan, Mar - Apr, Jun (7 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 2 1966 Jul, Oct - Dec (7 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 3 circa 1966 (4 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 4 1967 Jan (4 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 5 1967 Mar - Aug (9 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 6 1967 Sep - Dec (10 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 7 circa 1967 (9 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 1 1968 Jan - Mar (8 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 2 1968 Apr - Jun (12 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 3 1968 Jul - Aug - series of cartoons, "The Players" in which the 1968 presidential candidates are portrayed as characters in famous plays (4 items)
Oversize 3, Folder 1 circa 1968 (7 items)
Oversize 3, Folder 2 circa 1968 (8 items)
Oversize 3, Folder 3 1969 Apr (1 items)
Oversize 3, Folder 4 circa 1969 (7 items)
Oversize 3, Folder 5 circa 1969 (6 items)
Oversize 4, Folder 1 circa 1970 (11 items)
Oversize 4, Folder 2 circa 1970 (11 items)
Oversize 4, Folder 3 circa 1970 (11 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 1 circa 1970 (9 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 2 circa 1970 (10 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 3 circa 1970 (5 items)
Oversize 6, Folder 1 circa 1971 (10 items)
Oversize 6, Folder 2 circa 1971 (10 items)
Oversize 6, Folder 3 circa 1971 (13 items)
Printed Material
Box 1 Clippings and printed cartoons 1965; 1967-1968; undated
The clippings are photocopies of the originals as they appeared on scrapbook pages.

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.
B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.
Agnew, Spiro T. B6F1-B6F3
American bison B6F1
Brennan Jr., William J. B1F4
Britain B1F5-B1F6
Canada B6F3
Carswell, George Harrold B5F2
Castro, Fidel B1F5
China B1F1-B1F2
Clark, Tom B1F4
Cloherty, Peter J. B1F5
Congress B1F4, B2F1, B3F1, B3F4-B4F2, B5F3
Czechoslovakia B2F1, B2F3, B3F2
Democratic National Convention B2F2
Democratic Party B2F2, B3F1, B6F2
Douglas, William O. B5F1
Earth Day B4F3
Ford, Gerald R. B5F1
France B1F1, B2F2-B2F3, B3F4, B6F3
Germany B1F6
Goldberg, Arthur B1F1
Great Society B1F3
Harriman, W. Averell B2F3
Hatfield, Mark B4F1
Ho Chi Minh B1F7
Humphrey, Hubert B1F6, B2F2-B3F1
Hungary B3F2
Iraq B3F5
Israel B2F3
Japan B5F1
Johnson, Lyndon Baines B1F4-B1F6, B2F1-B2F2, B3F1, B3F4
Keller, Helen B2F2
Kennedy, Robert F. B2F1-B2F2
Kennedy, Ted B6F2
Lebanon B6F3
Lincoln, Abraham B1F6, B2F1
Lindsay, John B6F2
Maddox, Lester B3F1, B6F3
Massachusetts B1F1-B1F2, B1F5, B1F7, B2F2, B3F4-B4F3, B5F1, B5F3-B6F1, B6F3
McCarthy, Eugene B1F7-B3F1
McGovern, George B3F1, B4F1
McNamara, Robert B1F6
Meany, George B6F2
Medicaid B1F6
Medicare B1F4
Middle East B1F5, B4F2
Miller, Arthur B1F3
Morse, Wayne B1F5
Nader, Ralph B6F1
Nasser, Gamal Abdel B1F5-B1F6, B2F3
New York B1F4, B6F2
New York City B1F1
Nixon, Richard M. B2F1, B2F3-B3F1, B3F4, B4F2-B4F3, B5F2-B6F1
Olympics B2F1
Palestine B6F3
Pentagon B6F1
Poland B3F2
Pompidou, Georges B5F2
Pope Paul VI B1F1
Poseidon Affair B4F1
Ramsey, Paul B1F1
Republican Party B1F1, B2F1, B5F1
Rockefeller, Nelson B2F3, B3F2
Romania B3F2
Romney, George W. B1F5
Russell, Bertrand B2F2
Russia B3F2
Smith, Margaret Chase B5F2
Soviet Union B1F1, B1F5, B2F3
Spock, Benjamin B1F6, B2F2, B5F1
Supreme Court B1F4, B5F1
Thant, U. B4F2
Townsend Plan B2F2
U.S. Treasury B1F4
U.S. flag B1F1, B1F3, B1F5
UNICEF B1F7
USS Liberty B1F5
USS Pueblo B2F2
United Arab Republic B1F7, B4F2
United Auto Workers B6F3
United Nations B1F1-B1F2, B3F2, B4F1-B4F2
Vietnam War B1F1-B1F5, B2F2-B2F3, B4F1, B5F2, B6F1
Volpe, John B1F1
Wallace, George B3F1-B3F2, B5F3
Warren, Earl B1F6
White, Byron B1F6
Young Jr., Whitney M. B6F1
Zedong, Mao B1F1
airline industry B6F1
anti-trust laws B6F3
automobile accidents B1F5, B1F7, B6F2
budget B1F2, B2F1
cancer B4F2
charity B1F2, B1F6-B1F7
civil rights B1F7
college students B1F2, B3F4
communism B1F5-B1F6
consumers B1F1
crime B1F6, B2F1-B2F2, B3F4, B4F1, B6F3
de Gaulle, Charles B1F1, B1F3, B2F2, B3F1, B3F4
demonstrations B1F3, B1F7
draft B1F2
driving B1F2, B1F6, B2F2, B5F2
drug use B1F1, B4F3, B6F3
economy B4F2, B5F3, B6F2
education B1F1, B3F1, B3F3
elections B1F3, B1F5, B2F2
espionage B6F1
evolution B5F2
farming B4F1
food B4F1
food prices B4F1
freedom B1F2, B4F2
gold reserve B2F1
gun control B2F2
healthcare B1F6-B1F7
highway construction B4F2
hijacking B6F2
holidays B1F2, B1F4, B1F6, B3F2
housing B2F2
industry (general) B5F2
insurance B1F2, B1F5-B1F6, B4F3
investors B5F2
isolation B1F1
judicial system B5F1
labor B5F2, B6F2
military B1F2
oceanography B1F7
oil B4F2-B4F3, B6F3
peace B1F1, B1F7, B2F3
police B1F4, B6F3
pollution B4F1, B4F3, B5F1-B5F2
poverty B1F1, B1F5
riots B1F7
schools B1F4, B5F1, B6F1
science B1F1
shipbuilding B6F2
smoking B2F3, B4F2
space exploration B4F3, B5F1
sports B1F5-B2F1
strikes B1F1, B5F2
taxes B1F1, B1F3, B1F5, B3F1, B3F5, B6F1-B6F2
television B4F2
terrorism B6F3
textile industry B5F1
treason B1F4
tyranny B1F2
universities B1F7, B3F4, B5F1-B5F2, B6F1
violence B2F1
voting B3F5, B5F1, B6F3
war B3F2
weather B1F1, B1F5-B1F6, B2F1
welfare B6F3
women's rights B4F1

Return to top