Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Lackawanna and Wyoming Valley Railroad Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lackawanna and Wyoming Valley Railroad.
Title: Lackawanna and Wyoming Valley Railroad Records
Inclusive Dates: 1889-1960
Quantity: 200.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Regional electric railroad in northeastern Pennsylvania; also known also as the Laurel Line. Collection consists of corporate records of the company, including its subsidiaries.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Lackawanna & Wyoming Valley Railroad, more commonly known as the Laurel Line, was a regional electric interurban streetcar line in northeastern Pennsylvania. It operated commuter train service from 1903 to 1952 and freight service until 1976.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lackawanna and Wyoming Valley Railroad Records consists of the corporate records of the rail company and its subsidiaries. Types of material include blueprints, cashbooks, correspondence, ledgers, memoranda, minutes, personnel records, and more.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections related to regional railroads in the northeastern United States. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Lackawanna and Wyoming Valley Railroad -- Archives.
Lackawanna and Wyoming Valley Railroad -- Records and correspondence.

Subjects

Electric railroads -- Design and construction -- Costs.
Electric railroads -- Freight.
Electric railroads -- Maintenance and repair.
Electric railroads -- Management.
Electric railroads -- Pennsylvania.
Electric railroads -- Rolling stock.
Electric railroads -- United States.
Railroads -- Finance.
Railroads -- Statistics.
Railroads -- Taxation.
Railroads -- United States.
Railroads and state -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Blueprints.
Cashbooks.
Correspondence.
Ledgers.
Memorandums.
Minutes.
Personnel records.
Statistics.

Occupations

Transportation., lcsh

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lackawanna and Wyoming Valley Railroad Corporate records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Lackawanna & Wyoming Valley Railroad, 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1 Jan 2001
Revision history: 12 Oct 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

The item-level inventory for this collection has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top