Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | La Femme Politique Fashion Show Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1964 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Program booklet and photographs from a fashion show featuring Black women |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Little could be learned of the Casual Set Club. They were evidently an organization for Black women, and were active in the community. The Daily Register of Red Bank/Middleton of Nov 14, 1973 records that the group was recognized by the NAACP for its community involvement.
The African Methodist Episcopal Church, often called simple "AME", is a predominantly African-American Methodist denomination. Founded in 1816, it was among the first churches in the United States to be founded on racial rather than theological distinctions, and has since its inception worked to advance and support the civil and human rights of Black Americans.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The La Femme Politique Fashion Show Collection consists of a printed program booklet and black-and-white photographs from a fashion show held by the Casual Set Club of Asbury Park, New Jersey, for the benefit of Bethel A.M.E. Building Fund. The booklet lists numerous local sponsors/advertisers, the order of events, and the names of women sponsoring the event. The photographs are of Black women modeling a range of clothing from casual (plaid slacks, sweater/skirt) to the formal (cocktail dresses, satin formal gowns, fur coats).
The photographs are all stamped on the back with the studio name "Carter," indicating they are the work of Black photographer Joseph A. Carter (1917-1980), who lived and worked in Asbury Park.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
La Femme Politique Fashion Show Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2021
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 4 May 2021
Revision history: