Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Joseph Konzal Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Konzal, Joseph, 1905-1994.
Title: Joseph Konzal Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1939-1962
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American sculptor. Collection contains correspondence, printed material, photographs of Konzal's work, and three small paintings by the American Sculptor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center
Syracuse University
222 Waverly Ave
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010

Biographical History

Joseph Konzal (1905-1994) was an American sculptor known for his abstract works in cast metals, wood and found objects. As a professional artist he was active in the Sculptors Guild, based in New York City, and he produced work for the Federal Art Program of the Works Progress Administration. Konzal taught sculpture at several institutions including the Brooklyn Museum Art School, Queens College, Adelphi University and Kent State University, and his work is in the permanent collections of the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Smithsonian Institution in Washington and the Tate Gallery in London, among others.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph Konzal Papers is divided into three series. Original work contains photographs of Konzal's scuplture. Most are black and white though some are in color. This series also contains three of his oil paintings. Published materials contains documents relating to Konzal's art or his teaching. These include reviews, advertisements and correspondence concerning his sculpture. Also included are course catalogs from schools where he taught. Ephemera contains photographs, newspaper clippings and advertisements glued to wooden boards by Joseph Konzal.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged chronologically. Where items are undated, they are placed at the end of the series and retain the original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Konzal, Joseph, 1905-1994.

Corporate Bodies

Federal Art Project.
Sculptors Guild (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Artists -- United States -- 20th century.
Sculptors -- United States -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Curricula.
Leaflets.
Paintings.
Photographs.

Occupations

Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph Konzal Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Joseph Konzal, 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: Alex Lawson
Date: 24 March 2015
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Original artwork
Box 1, Folder 1 1927 Paintings, oil, untitled (2 items)
Box 1, Folder 2 1929 Painting, oil, untitled
Box 1, Folder 3 1939-1962 Photographic reproductions of Konzal's work (18 items)
Published material
Box 1, Folder 4 1939 United American Sculptors first annual exhibition catalog
Box 1, Folder 5 1949-1954 Announcements of exhibitions featuring Konzal's work (8 items)
Box 1, Folder 6 1954 Fairfield County Fair flyer
Box 1, Folder 7 1955-1961 Announcements of exhibitions featuring Konzal's work (4 items)
Box 1, Folder 8 1962-1964 Announcements of exhibitions featuring Konzal's work (5 items)
Ephemera
Box 1, Folder 9 1939 Correspondence from Konzal to the WPA concerning Konzal's work - carbon copies (2 items)
Box 1, Folder 10 1950 Photographic portraits of Konzal (2 items)
Box 1, Folder 11 1952 Blueprint of a lobby for a modern movie theater produced for the Sculptors Guild
Oversize 1 Undated Scrapbook, unbound - photographs, art show announcements, newspaper clippings related to Konzal

Return to top