Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Kitemaug Press Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kitemaug Press.
Title: Kitemaug Press Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1967-2006
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Miniature books, broadsides, miscellaneous sheets and other items printed by the Kitemaug Press of Spartanburg, South Carolina. Also information about Frank Anderson, owner/printer at Kitemaug and Librarian at Wofford College.
Language: Majority in English, one item in German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Kitemaug Press is a small private press located in Spartanburg, South Carolina and specializing in fine letterpress printing, particularly of miniature books. The owner, proprietor, and primary printer is Frank J. Anderson, bibliophile, printer, and librarian at Wofford College.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kitemaug Press Collection consists of miniature books and other items printed by the press, along with a small amount of publicity, both for individual titles and for the press as a whole. The collection also includes some pieces of correspondence from, and an essay by, owner and printer Frank J. Anderson as well as some Anderson / Wofford College material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged alphabetically by type and within that (where possible) chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a wide range of material relating to small presses, private presses and fine printing in both our manuscript collections and our Rare Books holdings. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index to locate other manuscript material and to the Classic Catalog to locate published and cataloged items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Anderson, Frank J.

Corporate Bodies

Kitemaug Press.

Subjects

Fine books.
Letterpress printing -- South Carolina.
Miniature books -- Specimens.
Printers -- South Carolina.
Private press books.
Private presses -- South Carolina.
Small presses -- South Carolina.

Places

Spartanburg (S.C.) -- Imprints.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Broadsides (notices)
Correspondence.
Fliers (printed matter)
Pamphlets.
Woodcuts (prints)

Occupations

Printers.
Printing.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kitemaug Press Collection, Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 2008. Originally gift of Frank J. Anderson.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 10 Oct 2011
Revision history: 31 Oct 2011 - adds (MRC); 25 Sep 2013 - added 2006 items (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
Box 1 Books and booklets 1972, 1979, 1981, undated (4 items)
Specimens of type available at the Wofford Library Press, undated; Private presses in the southeastern United States, 1972; The Wofford College Campus Club cookbook, 1979; Notes on the human condition, 1981
Miniature books
Box 2 1967 (2 items)
Saint Arithmeticus; Kitemaug Mini-posters
Box 2 1968 (1 item)
Bonnie and Clyde
Box 2 1969 (1 item)
The woodpecker husband
Box 2 1979 (1 item)
Un pequeño libro do cocina
Box 2 1981 (1 item)
A visit from St. Nicholas
Box 2 1982 (3 items)
Christmas carols; Floral pieces of the altar; Sayings of G. Stein
Box 2 1984 (1 item)
Latin jive
Box 2 1985 (4 items)
Executive guide book; Faithful Fido; Shorty's dilemma, or, An incident at the Flying W Ranch; Signs of the Zodiac
Box 2 1986 (1 item)
Andy's bread book
Box 2 1987 (8 items)
Erasmus on studies; Letter to Bushrod from George Washington; Secret; Cats; Gaggle; Glimpses of Spartanburg; The herd moves south; The watchers
Box 2 1988 (3 items)
Outrageous cat tales; The world's teeniest tiniest book; Symbols of the Zodiac calendar
Box 2 1989 (3 items)
Cincinatti observed; Custody of books; A printer's calenadar for 1989
Box 2 1990 (3 items)
A girlie calendar for 1990; Glasgow, U.S.A.; Trees and stockings
Box 2 1991 (3 items)
Wm. Parks, printer; Catherine's counting book; Book lover's calendar
Box 2 1992 (2 items)
Heathen hangover; San Diego
Box 2 1993 (4 items)
Book lover's calendar; The stork; The wisdom sayings of Fu Ling; The ferris wheel
Box 2 1994 (5 items)
My friend Jerry; Tabitha's tale; 50: February 17, 1944 - February 17, 1994; The other Ottawas; An artist's calendar
Box 2 1995 (2 items)
Bread; Wine; Book lover's calendar
Box 2 1996 (3 items)
The cat lady; The gambler; Book lover's calendar
Box 2 1997 (2 items)
The skunk story; Book lover's calendar
Box 2 1998 (3 items)
Christmas images; A Hatphabet; Book lover's calendar
Box 2 1999 (6 items)
Book plates (2 copies); Blues; Book lover's calendar; Answers to life's questions; Eine kleine Deutsche worterbuch
Box 2 2000 (3 items)
The three bears' stories; Book lover's calendar; Maunderings
Box 2 2001 (2 items)
David's 23rd psalm; Some facts about Indiana
Box 2 2002 (3 items)
Book lover's calendar; Books; Between us girls
Box 2 2003 (3 items)
Book lover's calendar; Mother Goose rhymes; Goldie Lox and los tres osos
Box 2 2004 (1 item)
Excerpts from the book of Zebaniah
Box 2 2005 (6 items)
Book lover's calendar (2 copies); Cats: A gallery; A cockamamie ABC; The golden years blues
Box 2 2006 (3 items)
Art; A fairy tale retold (includes clipped statement from satisfied customer); Simfonia in a time of chaos
Box 1 Pamphlets 1974, 1975, 1985, 1988, undated (5 items)
Scenario (mock lecture about mail art), undated; The numbers game, 1974; Artists thinking about art, 1985; Something of myself, 1975; The year of the dragon, 1988
Box 1 Portfolios 1976, 1983, undated (4 items)
Thigh whackers, 1976; Mill Village suite, 1983 (2 copies); A treasury of southern Yankee recipes, undated
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1974, 1978-1980, 1982, 1986, 2005, undated - variety of single-sheet items, including poems, sayings, broadsides, woodcuts and other items produced by the press
Publicity
Box 1 Exhibit catalogs for Miniature Book Exhibition 2004-2005
Box 1 Miscellaneous - small printed ads for specific books, for the Miniature Book Society, for the press; book lists; article in Sandlapper magazine
Miscellaneous
Box 1 Correspondence, Frank Anderson 1969, 1992-2006
Box 1 Essay by Frank Anderson, "War: A Fugue" 2003 - in reference to the war in Iraq
Box 1 Frank Anderson / Wofford College miscellany 1967-1969 - article about Anderson's printing course, newsletter "Wofford Bibliopoly" by Anderson, college bulletin, etc.

Return to top