Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Norman D. King Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: King, Norman D.
Title: Norman D. King Papers
Inclusive Dates: circa 1950[?]-1970[?]
Quantity: 25 linear ft.
Abstract: Colonel in Office of Civil Affairs and Military Government; books, papers, photographs, clippings, journal.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Norman D. King was a Colonel in the Office of Civil Affairs and Military Government. He was stationed in Okinawa in the 1960s, and was an expert on the Ryukyu Islands (Nansei Islands) area. He is the author of Ryukyu Islands: A Bibliography.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Norman D. King Papers consists of books, papers, photographs, clippings, a journal, and assorted other material. The collection is presently unprocessed and accessible by special permission only.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Unprocessed. Remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a large collection of published material relating to the Ryukyu Islands area. Please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

King, Norman D. -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army. -- Civil Affairs Corps.

Subjects

Diplomacy -- United States.

Places

Ryukyu Islands.
United States -- Foreign relations.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Diaries.
Photographs.

Occupations

Civil servants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Norman D. King Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift, 1968. Journal, gift of Aileen Hendrickson, 2008.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 2 Dec 2008
Revision history: 11 May 2010 - updated subject headings (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top