Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Samuel Johnson Albums

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Johnson, Samuel, b. 1837.
Title: Samuel Johnson Albums
Inclusive Dates: 1862-1864
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Friendship/autograph albums of Samuel Johnson, student at the Oneida Conference Seminary (later Cazenovia Seminary) in Cazenovia, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Samuel Johnson other than what can be gleaned from the collection. He was born in 1837, lived in Springfield, New York and attended the Oneida Conference Seminary (later Cazenovia Seminary) in Cazenovia, New York.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Samuel Johnson Albums consist of two friendship or autograph albums created between the years 1862 and 1864 while Johnson was attending the Oneida Conference Seminary (what would become Cazenovia Seminary) in Cazenovia, New York.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Johnson, Samuel, b. 1837.

Corporate Bodies

Cazenovia Seminary (Cazenovia, N.Y.)

Subjects

College students -- New York (State)
Friendship in adolescence.

Places

Cazenovia (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Albums (books)

Occupations

Students.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Samuel Johnson Albums,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 8 May 2015
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 740 Autograph / friendship albums 1862-1864

Return to top