Finding Aids
printer friendly version

James Luther Adams Foundation Collection

An inventory description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: James Luther Adams Foundation.
Title: James Luther Adams Foundation Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1976-2016
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Material from their lecture series, JLA Forum on Religion and Society (brochures, texts of lectures, etc.) as well as audiorecordings and videorecordings of or by Adams.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Luther Adams (1901-1994) was a Unitarian parish minister, social activist, journal editor, distinguished scholar, translator and editor of major German theologians, prolific author, and highly respected divinity school professor for more than forty years. Adams played a pivotal role in the shaping of the discipline of social ethics in the United States.

The James Luther Adams Foundation is devoted to the promulgation of Adams' work and ideas. Its two primary projects are the preservation and distribution of The Adams Tapes, a series of films about the church and Nazism, and the maintenance of Adams' intellectual heritage through the James Luther Adams Forum on Religion and Society.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Luther Adams Foundation Collection consists primarily of material from the James Luther Adams Forum on Religion and Society, including lectures and other material. Material from each forum is filed separately. There is also material on Other Events, copies of some Recordings made or re-recorded by the Foundation and Miscellaneous material related to James Luther Adams.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Adams, James Luther, 1901-1994.

Corporate Bodies

James Luther Adams Foundation.

Subjects

Church and state -- Germany.
Church and state -- United States.
Religion and ethics.
Religion and state -- Germany.
Religion and state -- United States.
Theology -- Study and teaching.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Religious aspects.

Genres and Forms

Documentaries (motion picture genre)
Digital Betacam (TM)
Clippings (information artifacts)
DVDs.
Home movies.
Lectures.
Sound recordings.
VHS (TM)
Video recordings.

Occupations

Ethicists.
Theologians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Luther Adams Foundation Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Stephen Mott and others, on behalf of the James Luther Adams Foundation.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 4 Feb 2014
Revision history: 8 Sep 2014 - added 2013 lecture (MRC); 24 May 2016 - additions 2014 and 2015 (SM); 22 mar 2017 - added 2016 forum (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

James Luther Adams Forum on Religion and Society
Box 1 List of forums, to 2016
Box 1 1st Nov 1996 - program; lecture by Max L. Stackhouse; contributors list; song book
Box 1 4th Apr 2000 - program; lecture by George Pickering
Box 1 7th 2003 - program; lecture by David Little; two CDs with audiorecordings of speakers (ID#: jlaf_036, jlaf_037)
Box 1 8th 2004 - lecture by Robin W. Lovin
Box 1 10th Apr 2006 - lecture by Rosemary Radford Ruether
Box 1 11th 2007 - program; lecture by Harvey Cox
Box 1 12th 2008 - introductory remarks, opening remarks, papers, etc.; includes expansion of one paper as published in Crosscurrents (2 folders)
Box 1 13th Jan 2009 - program; lecture by Patrick D. Miller
Box 1 14th Oct 2009 - lecture by Don Brown, including published version in Criterion, Vol. 47, No. 3
Box 1 15th Mar 2011 - lecture by John R. Wilcox
Box 1 16th Nov 2011 - lecture by George Kimmich Beach
Box 1 18th Mar 2014 - lecture by Michael S. Hogue
Box 1 19th Aug 2014 - lectures by Virgil Stucker and Brian Snyder
Box 1 20th Nov 2015 - program flyer with sponsor list; lecture by Gary Dorrien; DVD (ID#: jlaf_038)
Box 1 21st Feb 2016 - lecture by Chris hedges
Other Events
Box 1 Colloquia, Conferences Oct 1999 Apr 2006 - papers by Nathaniel Lauriat and Norm Faramelli
Box 1 Essay Contest Apr 2013 - essay by Florence Caplow
Box 1 JLA Birthday, 80th 1981 1982 - Publication in the Union Seminary Quarterly Review of papers given at the James Luther Adams Festival with contributions by Donald W. Shriver, Jr, Max L. Stackhouse, David Little, M. Gregor Goethals, Theodore M. Steerman
Box 1 JLA Birthday, 85th Nov 1986 - programs; with contributions by George K. Beach, Michelle Bouvier Campagnolo, Judy Deutsch, Hubert Jessup, Jim Hunt, Doris Hunter, David B. Parke, Marion Pauck, William F. Schulz, Max L. Stackhouse, Garrick Utley, George Huntston Williams, Loretta J. Williams, Conrad Wright
Recordings
Box 2 The Adams Tapes 1991-1992 - Volume I: No Authority But From God; Volume II: Religion Under Hitler; Volume III: Liberalism and the Barmen Declaration in Nazi Germany (2 DVDs) (ID#: jlaf_001, jlaf_002)
Oversize 1 The Adams Tapes 1991-1992 - Volume I: No Authority But From God; Volume II: Religion Under Hitler; Volume III: Liberalism and the Barmen Declaration in Nazi Germany (3 VHS tapes) (ID#: jlaf_005)
Oversize 1 Christian Leaders of Nazi Germany - according to donor, these are "8mm home movies that JLA took in 1935-36 Germany"; film-to-tape transfer of 8mm black-and-white reversal (1 digital Betacam tape) (ID#: jlaf_006)
Oversize 1 Christian Leaders of Nazi Germany, copies - copies of the above (2 DVDs) (ID#: jlaf_007, jlaf_008)
Oversize 1 James Luther Adams, 1936 Christian Leaders - according to donor, these are "8mm home movies that JLA took in 1935-36 Germany"; film-to-tape transfer of 8mm black-and-white reversal (1 digital Betacam tape) (ID#: jlaf_009)
Oversize 1 James Luther Adams, 1936 Christian Leaders, copies - copies of the above (2 DVDs) (ID#: jlaf_010, jlaf_011)
Oversize 1 James Luther Adams and George Hunston Williams discuss Christian leaders of Nazi Germany undated (18 VHS tapes) (ID#: jlaf_012 through jlaf_029)
Oversize 1 James Luther Adams at home undated - home movies? (ID#: jlaf_030)
Box 2 Storm Troopers of Christ: Baptism and the Jews in the Third Reich undated - commercial DVD, possibly produced by Vital Visuals; no author or company name appears on the case (1 DVD) (ID#: jlaf_031)
Oversize 1 Strasburg - according to donor, these are "8mm home movies that JLA took in 1935-36 Germany"; film-to-tape transfer of 8mm black-and-white reversal (1 digital Betacam tape) (ID#: jlaf_032)
Oversize 1 Strasburg, copies - copies of the above (2 DVDs) (ID#: jlaf_033, jlaf_034)
Box 2 Unity undated (1 VHS tape) (ID#: jlaf_035)
Miscellany
Box 2 Clippings 1994, 1996, 2000, 2003 - about JLA
Box 2 JLA Foundation, about etc. - about JLA Foundation
Box 2 Memorabilia 1976, 1982 - about JLA

Return to top