Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Cecil Jensen Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jensen, Cecil, 1902-1976
Title: Cecil Jensen Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1865-1971
Bulk Dates: 1940-1971
Quantity: 11 linear ft.
Abstract: Over 1200 original editorial cartoons drawn for the Chicago Daily News, correspondence, clippings of editorial cartoons and printed material including an item produced by the Sam Adams Committee of Public Safety
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Cecil Jensen (1902-1976) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Jensen was born in Ogden, Utah on January 17, 1902. After high school, Jensen studied at the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts. Jensen moved to California and worked his way into editorial cartooning at the Los Angeles Illustrated Daily News. In 1928, Jensen returned to Chicago as editorial cartoonist for the Chicago Daily News where he spent the remainder of his career. Sigma Delta Chi recognized Jensen's work with an award in 1953.

Jensen also drew comic strips. During World War II, he caricatured Chicago Tribune publisher Colonel McCormick in Colonel McCosmic. Beginning in 1946 Jensen drew Elmo and Debbie (later transformed by the Register and Tribune Syndicate into Debbie or Little Debbie as it was commonly known).

Cecil Jensen died in May 1976.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Cecil Jensen Papers are divided into three series.

Cartoons contains approximately 1,237 original editorial cartoons drawn by Jensen for the Chicago Daily News. The cartoons are undated and arranged alphabetically by caption. (Cartoons do have months and days of the week listed, but lack years). The majority were likely drawn in the 1960s with some probably from 1970-1971. Subject matter includes national and international politics as well as local issues related to the Chicago area.

Individual cartoons measure approximately 14 ½" x 16 ½" with some variations of about 1". Jensen worked in ink and crayon on illustration board; traces of pencil are visible. Captions and limited date information appear in pencil.

Correspondence (1961-1967) is comprised of incoming correspondence. Letters include requests and thank you notes for original cartoons as well as reprint permissions and feedback from readers. Included are letters from elected officials including Robert F. Kennedy (2 letters), Donald Rumsfeld and Charles Percy. Worth noting is the folder from Illinois State Senator Hudson R. Sours which contains several nineteenth century documents: a promissary note; 1865 document for property in Eureka, Illinois; and a 1869 mortgage for property in New York City near 3rd Avenue and 56th Street. Also of interest are enclosures related to the right to work law (14B of the Taft-Hartley Act).

Other letters were written by fellow cartoonists including Newton Pratt, Art Wood, Arthur Poinier, Bill Saunders, Eldon Pletcher and Mrs. Carey Orr Cook. Correspondence from Poinier includes the results of a survey conducted by the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists of journalism schools and curriculum related to editorial cartooning.

The Printed Material (1938-1967) series includes clippings and miscellaneous material. The bulk of this series is clippings of Jensen's editorial cartoons with information about the date of publication. Also located in the series are clippings of work by other editorial cartoonists, namely John Fischetti, Dan Dowling and Arthur Poinier. Finally, of particular interest is a publication from the Sam Adams Committee of Public Safety. The booklet contains editorial cartoons (including work by Jensen) that have been altered to express white supremacist messages.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Original artwork is arranged in alphabetical order by caption. Correspondence is arranged in alphabetical order by sender's last name. Clippings are arranged by year.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The Cartoonist and... Your Right to Work, a booklet by National Right to Work Committee has been transferred to Rare Books.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Daley, Richard J., 1902-1976 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Goldwater, Barry M. (Barry Morris), 1909-1998 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Jensen, Cecil, 1902-1976.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Kennedy, Robert F., 1925-1968 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Khrushchev, Nikita Sergeevich, 1894-1971 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

Chicago Daily News, Inc.
Democratic Party (U.S.) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- ) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Sam Adams Committee of Public Safety.
United Nations -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States. Congress. -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Chicago (Ill.)
Cartoonists -- United States.
Civil rights movements -- United States -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Cold War -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Communism -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Crime -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- Chicago (Ill.)
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Elections -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nuclear weapons -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Racism -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Taxation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
White supremacy movements -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Cecil Jensen Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Cecil Jensen, 1964-1965, 1967-1968, 1972, except cartoons: "You're just not built right to be a patriot" and "Termites" gift of Joseph E. Geshwiler, 2008.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 22 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 20 Sep 2010 - revised inventory, bio and scope (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
Oversize 1 A-B (116 items)
Oversize 2 C-Far (127 items)
Oversize 3 Fas-He (142 items)
Oversize 4 Hi-It (140 items)
Oversize 5 Iv-Mak (82 items)
Oversize 6 Ma-Not (82 items)
Oversize 7 Not-Pau (127 items)
Oversize 8 Po-S (136 items)
Oversize 9 T (116 items)
Oversize 10 U-Win (113 items)
Oversize 11 Wit-Y (56 items)
Correspondence
Box 1 A-B 1964, 1966-1967
Box 1 C-E 1965-1967
Box 1 F-K 1965-1967
Box 1 Kennedy, Robert F. 1961
Box 1 L-R 1964-1967
Box 1 Rumsfeld, Donald 1966
Box 1 Sours, Hudson R. 1865, 1869, 1967
Box 1 S-Z 1965-1967
Box 1 Unidentified 1965-1966, undated
Printed material
Clippings - editorial cartoons by Jensen and other cartoonists
Box 1 1938-1941, 1943
Box 2 1944-1946, 1952-1954
Box 3 1954-1957
Box 4 1958-1960, 1962
Box 5 1962, 1964-1965
Box 1 Sam Adams Committee of Public Safety 1960s - booklet of cartoons altered to reflect white supremacist views
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1964-1965, 1967 - clippings, receipts, proofs

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.
B= Box, For example: B1= Box 1
AFL-CIO B6, B10
Adenauer, Konrad B1, B4, B9
Africa B9-B10
Agnew, Spiro T. B6, B8
Agricultural Adjustment Administration B1
Alabama B2, B8
Albania B3
Algeria B1, B3, B7, B10
Ali, Muhammad B1, B5
American Indians B9
American Medical Association B2, B11
Arkansas B7
Asia B1, B9-B11
Baker, Bobby B2, B4-B6, B8-B11
Ben Bella, Ahmed B2
Berlin B1, B4-B6, B9-B11
Berlin Wall B6, B8-B10
Black Power B1
Brazil B3, B8
Brezhnev, Leonid Ilyich B11
Britain B2-B7, B9-B10
Buddhists B10
Burch, Dean B8
Byrd, Harry B7
California B3, B7
Canada B1, B3, B8
Carpenter, Scott B3
Castro, Fidel B1-B5, B7-B10
Central Intelligence Agency B1-B2, B7, B8, B10
Chicago B1-B11
Chicago Seven B7
China B1-B11
Cold War B1, B3-B4, B7-B8, B10
Congo B3, B7
Congress B1, B3-B11
Congress of Racial Equality B8-B10
Connally, John B7
Cuba B1-B10
Cyprus B5-B6
Daley, Richard J. B1-B3, B7-B9
Democratic Party B1-B11
Diefenbaker, John B4, B8
Diem, Ngo Dinh B3, B11
Dirksen, Everett B2, B9
Dodd, Thomas J. B9
Dominican Republic B3-B4, B7-B9
Douglas, William O. B2-B3, B8
Duvalier, François B6
Egypt B1, B4, B9, B11
Eisenhower, Dwight B2, B3, B4
En-lai, Chou B3
Europe B1-B5, B7-B8, B11
Faubus, Orval B7
Federal Bureau of Investigation B6
Federal Communications Commission B2
Federal Reserve B4
Field, Marshall B1
Florida B4, B8, B10
Ford, Gerald R. B2
France B1, B3, B5, B7-B11
Free Society Association B7
Freeman, Orville B11
Fulbright, J. William B1, B6
Geneva B4, B8-B9
Georgia B5, B6
Germany B1-B2, B4, B9, B11
Giancana, Sam B8-B9
Glenn, John B3, B6
Glimco, Joseph B9
Goldwater, Barry B1-B10
Great Depression B4
Great Society B5, B7-B9, B11
Greece B3, B6
Gromyko, Andrei B6-B7, B9
Guantanamo B2, B7
Guinea B8
Haiti B6, B10
Ho Chi Minh B1, B3-B5, B6, B9
Hoffa, Jimmy B3, B5-B8, B10
Honduras B9
Hoover, Hebert B2
Humphrey, Hubert B4, B8-B9
Illinois B1-B11
India B2, B6-B9
India-Pakistan War B1-B2, B4, B7, B9
Indonesia B2-B4, B6, B9
Internal Revenue Service B4, B9
Interstate Commerce Commission B7
Israel B1, B3-B4, B9
Italy B7
Japan B2, B10
John Birch Society B8
Johnson, Lady Bird B4
Johnson, Lyndon Baines B1-B11
Jordan B4
Kefauver, Estes B1-B2, B4, B7-B8
Kennedy, Caroline B8, B10
Kennedy, Jacqueline B8
Kennedy, John F. B1, B3-B11
Kennedy, Robert F. B1-B2, B4-B9
Kennedy, Ted B8, B10
Kentucky B3
Kerner Jr., Otto B2, B8-B9, B11
Khrushchev, Nikita B1-B11
King Jr., Martin Luther B2
Korea B2, B7, B8
Kosygin, Alexey B3, B9
Ku Klux Klan B4, B9-B10
Ky, Nguyen Cao B1, B5, B9
Labor Day B3
Laos B1, B3, B5, B11
Latin America B1, B4-B5, B10-B11
Lindsay, John B10
Lodge Jr., Henry Cabot B3, B8
Lodge, George C. B10
MacMillan, Harold B2, B7, B9
Makarios III B5
Malaysia B9
Malaysia B2
Manila Summit Conference B2-B3, B6
Mantle, Mickey B5
Massachusetts B7, B10
McNamara, Robert B2, B6-B8
Meany, George B3
Medicare B2-B5, B7-B9, B11
Mexico B7
Michigan B1-B2, B4, B9, B11
Middle East B3-B4, B6-B7, B9
Mikoyan, Anastas B4
Miller, Arthur B8
Miller, William E. B8
Mississippi B2-B3, B10
NATO B1, B3, B5-B6, B10
Nasser, Gamal Abdel B1, B3, B6-B11
National Collegiate Athletic Association B10
Nehru, Jawaharlal B1, B7
Netherlands B6
New Deal B9
New Hampshire B5-B6
New York B1-B2, B4-B5, B7-B8, B10
New York City B1-B2, B8
Nhu, Madame Ngo Dinh B8-B9, B11
Nixon, Richard M. B1-B4, B6-B10
Nkhrumah, Kwame B8
O'Brien, Larry B6
Organization of American States B1, B3, B7, B10
Pakistan B2
Panama B8
Pearson, Lester B. B4
Pentagon B6, B9
Percy, Charles H. B2-B3, B9
Philippines B1
Powell Jr., Adam Clayton B1, B3-B5, B7-B10
Powell, Stanley M. B9
Profumo, John B2, B4
Puerto Rico B9
Republican Party B1-B10
Reuther, Walter B3
Rockefeller, David B4
Rockefeller, Nelson B1, B4, B6-B7, B10
Romania B3
Romney, George W. B1
Rusk, Dean B2, B8
Russia B1-B2, B5, B7, B9-B10
Scranton, William B2-B3, B6-B9
Singapore B2
South America B7
Soviet Union B1-B11
Stalin, Joseph B6
Stassen, Harold B2
Stevenson, Adlai E. B4
Sukarno B2-B4, B6, B8, B11
Supreme Court B4
Syria B4
Taylor, Maxwell B3
Teamsters B7-B9
Texas B9
Thailand B7
Thieu, Nguyen Van B1
Thurmond, Strom B2
Tito, Josip Broz B2, B8-B9
Toure, Ahmed Sekou B8
Tshombe, Moise B7
Turkey B6
U.S. Dollar B5, B10
U.S. Senate B1-B5, B8-B10
Ulbricht, Walter B4, B10-B11
United Auto Workers B6
United Nations B1, B3-B11
Venezuela B3
Vietnam B1-B11
Vietnam War B1-B7, B9-B10
Wallace, George B1, B3-B5, B7-B8, B10
War on Poverty B1-B5, B7-B9
Weaver, Robert C. B9
White, Byron B2
Wilson, Harold B1-B3
Yugoslavia B9
Zedong, Mao B1-B3, B6-B11
airline industry B9-B10
aliens B11
aluminum industry B4
armed forces B1-B4, B7-B10
auto industry B5-B9
automation B1, B6, B8-B9
big business B1, B3-B4, B6, B10
boycotts B5, B10
budget B1, B3-B5, B7-B8
capitalism B9-B10
civil defense B2-B3, B8
civil liberties B7
civil rights B2-B5, B7-B11
college students B2
colonialism B1
communism B1-B3, B5-B11
consumers B1, B7, B9
corruption B2, B6, B8
cost of living B3-B4, B7, B11
credit B7, B8
crime B1-B8, B9-B11
criminals B2-B3, B8
de Gaulle, Charles B1-B5, B7-B11
debt B1, B9-B10
democracy B1
disarmament B1, B3-B4, B7-B9
draft B3-B6, B11
driving B1, B5-B6, B8-B9
economy B1-B11
education B1-B8, B10-B11
elections B1, B3, B5-B10
espionage B8
ethics B2-B4, B6, B10
farming B1-B3, B7-B9, B11
federal aid B1, B7, B11
food B6, B7, B9
foreign aid bill B1-B2, B5, B8-B9
foreign policy B2-B4, B6, B8-B11
free press B2-B3, B10
freedom B5, B9, B11
freedom of information B10-B11
gambling B4
gold prices B10
government spending B1-B4, B7-B11
gun control B3, B7
healthcare B1-B2, B4-B5, B8
highway construction B4, B7, B9
holidays B2, B4, B6, B9-B11
housing B2, B4, B6-B7, B10
industry (general) B1, B8
inflation B2-B4, B6-B10
insurance B4-B5
integration B4, B8
jobs B2, B5-B6, B8-B11
journalism B2, B10
judicial system B5
justice B7-B8, B10
labor B1-B2, B4-B11
law and order B1, B4-B5, B8-B11
living conditions B2
minimum wage B1
nationalism B1, B8
nature conservation B1-B2, B4, B7-B8
neutrality B7, B8, B11
nuclear weapons B1-B5, B7-B11
oil B9
organized crime B4, B6, B8-B11
patriotism B2
peace B1-B3, B4-B10
police B4-B5, B7, B9-B10
politicians B3, B8-B9
politics B10
pollution B1-B2 , B4
population B2
poverty B2, B4, B6-B7, B9-B10
prices B2-B3, B5-B9
prisoners of war B1 , B7, B9-B10
prosperity B1, B6-B11
public opinion B1-B6, B8-B10
race relations B1-B2, B10
racism B1-B2, B4-B6, B9
railroad industry B2-B10
recession B8-B9
religion B7
riots B1-B2
school dropouts B6
schools B4, B7-B11
science B3, B9
segregation B1
social security B2-B3, B8-B9
socialized medicine B2, B8
soil and water management B2
space exploration B1-B3, B6-B10
sports B1-B3, B5-B6, B8-B11
steel industry B1-B2, B4-B5, B7, B9-B11
stock market B1-B4, B6-B8, B10
strikes B1, B3, B5, B7-B10
tariffs B1-B3, B6-B7
taxes B1-B11
teachers B4, B8
television B5, B9
terrorism B1
tourism B1
trade B1-B3, B6-B8
transit and transportation B6-B8, B10
unemployment B1, B3-B4, B8-B9
unions B3, B5-B11
urban problems B10
urban renewal B4, B7-B9
voting B1-B3, B5-B11
voting rights B7, B10
wage and price controls B3-B4, B7-B9
war B1, B4, B8-B11
water safety B2
weapons B2-B3, B8-B9
weather B3-B5, B9-B11
welfare B3, B6-B7, B10
white supremacy B1, B4-B5, B10

Return to top