Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Will Jenkins (Murray Leinster) Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jenkins, Will, 1896-
Title: Will Jenkins Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1915-1968
Quantity: 35.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author of adventure, detective, Western, and science fiction short stories and novels. Also wrote under pseudonym Murray Leinster; died 1975. Collection includes correspondence with authors, fans, literary agents, periodical editors, and publishers (1920-1967); and typescript and/or published articles, short stories, and books. Notable correspondents include Forrest J. Ackerman, Alonzo Dean Cole, Viola Irene Cooper, Roger Elwood, Harold Hersey, Frederik Pohl, Percy Waxman, and Mort Weisinger.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Fitzgerald Jenkins (1896-1975), better known to science fiction readers by his pseudonym Murray Leinster, was an award-winning American author of adventure, detective, Western, and science fiction short stories and novels. Born in Norfolk, Virginia, he served in the Army during World War I and in the Office of War Information during World War II. He won numerous awards for his science fiction writing, including the Liberty Award (1937), Hugo Award (1956), and a retro-Hugo (1996). The Sidewise Award for Alternate History, established in 1995, was named after his short story "Sidewise in Time."

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Will Jenkins Papers consists of correspondence with authors, fans, literary agents, periodical editors, and publishers (1920-1967); and typescript and/or published articles, short stories, and books. Notable correspondents include Forrest J. Ackerman, Alonzo Dean Cole, Viola Irene Cooper, Roger Elwood, Harold Hersey, Frederik Pohl, Percy Waxman, and Mort Weisinger.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of several science fiction authors and publishers as well as collections of science fiction fanzines and ephemera. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In addition, our Rare Books holdings contain a considerable number of cataloged items relating to science fiction; please search SUMMIT, our main catalog for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Ackerman, Forrest J.
Cole, Alonzo Dean.
Cooper, Viola Irene.
Elwood, Roger.
Hersey, Harold Brainerd, 1893-
Jenkins, Will, 1896- Archives.
Leinster, Murray, 1896-
Pohl, Frederik.
Waxman, Percy.
Weisinger, Mort, 1915-

Subjects

Adventure stories, American.
American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Detective and mystery stories, American.
Novelists, American.
Popular literature -- United States.
Science fiction, American.
Short stories, American.
Western stories.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drafts (documents).
Fiction.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Will Jenkins Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of William F. Jenkins, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

The inventory has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top