Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Naum Jasny Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jasny, Naum, 1883-1967.
Title: Naum Jasny Papers
Inclusive Dates: before 1969
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Printed material, books, periodicals relating to the American economist and Soviet specialist.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Naum Jasny (1883-1967) was an economist who specialized in Soviet Russia. Jasny emigrated to Germany during the Russian Revolution then, during the Nazi years, left Germany for the United States. He was the author of several books on aspects of Soviet agriculture and economics, which were controversial at the time as they contradicted widely held views. He also published his autobiography, To Live Long Enough: The Memoirs of Naum Jasny.

[Biographical sketch adapted from "The Failure of the American Sovietological Economics Profession" by John Howard Wilhelm, Europe-Asia Studies Vol. 55, No. 1 (Jan., 2003), pp. 59-74.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Naum Jasny Papers consists of printed material, books and periodicals.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A number of books by and about Jasny reside in the general collection, including his memoirs. Please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Jasny, Naum, 1883-1967.

Subjects

Agriculture -- Economic aspects -- Soviet Union.
Agriculturists.
Economists.

Places

Russia -- Economic conditions -- 1918-1945.
Soviet Union -- Economic conditions -- 1917-1945.
Soviet Union -- Economic policy -- 1917-1928.
Soviet Union -- History -- 1925-1953.
Soviet Union -- Statistics.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Periodicals.

Occupations

Agriculturists.
Economists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Naum Jasny Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Natasha Brunswick, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top