Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Washington Irving Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Irving, Washington, 1783-1859.
Title: Washington Irving Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1831-1832
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the American author. Holograph manuscript of 26 leaves from Irving's Life of George Washington (New York : Putnam, 1857. Vol. 4, chap. 37, p. [500]-515), mounted and bound in one volume; 2 letters.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Washington Irving (1783-1859) was an American author, essayist, biographer and historian. He was best known for his short stories "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow" and "Rip Van Winkle." His non-fiction works include biographies of George Washington, Oliver Goldsmith and Muhammad, and several histories of 15th-century Spain. Irving also served as U.S. minister to Spain from 1842 to 1846.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Washington Irving Collection comprises two letters and one manuscript of the American author. In a letter to Martin Van Buren (12 Jul 1812) Irving writes:

New York is almost deserted through the exaggerated alarm concerning the cholera, which is no more to be dreaded by decent people here than it was in London. I believe that eight cases out of ten reported as spasmodic cholera are the ordinary complaints of the country & season.

Mounted and bound in a single volume, the undated 26-page manuscript bears Irving's designation "Chapter 37." The manuscript was published in Volume 4 of Irving's The Life of George Washington, which was issued by Putnam in 1857.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged alphabetically by correspondent.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Irving, Washington, 1783-1859 -- Manuscripts.
Irving, Washington, 1783-1859. -- Life of George Washington.
Washington, George, 1732-1799.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Biographers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Washington Irving Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Adrian Van Sinderen.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Jan 1993
Revision history: Jan 1997 - revised (KM); 6 Jun 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 123 Storrow, Charles 7 Jun 1831
SC 123 Van Buren, Martin 12 Jul 1832
Manuscript
SC 123 "Chapter 37"
26 leaves, mounted and bound, published in Volume 4 of The Life of George Washington (Putnam, 1857)

Return to top