Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Independent Order of Good Templars, Eureka Lodge No. 9, Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Independent Order of Good Templars. -- Eureka Lodge No. 9 (Morganville, N.Y.)
Title: Independent Order of Good Templars, Eureka Lodge No. 9, Records
Inclusive Dates: 1872-1887
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: Constitution and Recording Secretary's Book of the Eureka Lodge No. 9 of the Independent Order of Good Templars of the State of New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Eureka Lodge No. 9 was a lodge of the Independent Order of the Good Templars which in turn was a temperance society. The Independent Order of the Good Templars was founded after a split of the Syracuse Excelsior Lodge from the Order of the Good Templars in 1852. The latter had been founded the year before in Utica, NY. Eureka Lodge No. 15 of Fayetteville supported the motion and became Lodge No. 2 of the Independent Order. Together with a third lodge (Forest City Lodge of Ithaca) they formed the Grand Lodge of New York in that same year. After the ensuing re-merger of the Independent Order with the original Order of Good Templars, the whole organization maintained the name Independent Order of Good Templars. It spread first in the US and Canada (1850s and -60s) but soon established lodges not only in Europe but all over the world (1870s). The Excelsior and Eureka lodges, however, had dissolved already by 1854. After years of general decay the Grand Lodge of New York reorganized in 1865. Eureka Lodge No. 9 of Morganville, NY was probably founded in this revival period.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Independent Order of Good Templars, Eureka Lodge No. 9, Records consists of the Lodge's Constitution and "Recording Secretary's Book" including some member lists in loose sheets.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The material remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has other collections relating to both temperance and fraternal organizations. Please search our collections to locate this material.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Independent Order of Good Templars.

Subjects

Fraternal organizations -- New York (State)
Temperance -- Societies, etc.

Places

Morganville (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Constitutions.
Minute books.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Independent Order of Good Templars, Eureka Lodge No. 9, Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 2016.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SM
Date: 22 Nov 2016
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Records
SC 775 Constitution 1872
SC 775 Recording Secretary's Book 1875-1882
SC 775 Member lists 1872-1887

Return to top