Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Hugh M. Hutton Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hutton, Hugh McMillen, 1897-1976.
Title: Hugh M. Hutton Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1932-1970
Bulk Dates: 1952-1969
Quantity: 33 linear ft.
Abstract: Over 3,800 original editorial cartoons primarily produced throughout Hutton's career with the Philadelphia Inquirer as well as two pieces of original artwork by cartoonist Pierre Bellocq and clippings of work by other cartoonists.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Hugh M. Hutton (1897-1976) was an American editorial cartoonist who worked at the Philadelphia Inquirer for over 30 years.

Hugh McMillen Hutton was born on December 11, 1897 in Lincoln, Nebraska and grew up with an artistic mother. After attending the University of Minnesota for two years, Hutton enlisted in the armed forces and served in World War I. Hutton pursued coursework in art through correspondence school, the Minneapolis School of Art and the Art Students League.

Hutton found some success with a feature, Nutty Natural History and moved to New York City. He worked at the New York World from 1930 to 1932 and with the United Features Syndicate in 1932 and 1933, drawing illustrations and comic strips. Hutton relocated to Philadelphia and worked as the cartoonist at the Public Ledger in 1933 and 1934. He became the Philadelphia Inquirer's editorial cartoonist in April 1934.

Hutton held membership in several professional organizations including the National Cartoonists Society, the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists, the National Press Club, and the Philadelphia Sketch Club. The National Safety Council recognized Hutton's work with awards in 1951, 1954, 1957 and 1961. He was also awarded several times by Freedoms Foundation and he received a Christopher Award.

Hugh M. Hutton retired from the Philadelphia Inquirer in 1969 and died on January 2, 1976 following a stroke. The Hugh Hutton Award for Intaglio is presented to artists by the American Color Print Society at its annual members’ exhibition.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hugh M. Hutton Papers are divided into two series: Work by Hutton and Work by Others. Both consist primarily of original artwork.

Work by Hutton (1932-1970) contains approximately 3,868 pieces of original artwork for editorial cartoons. Nearly all of the cartoons were drawn for the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1932 to 1970. Most date from 1952 to 1969. About 126 items are undated.

Hutton’s cartoons frequently depict issues of importance to the Philadelphia metropolitan area as well as the activities of the Pennsylvania State Legislature including work to revise the state constitution. Local issues receiving frequent coverage are public transportation and the Delaware River Valley. Unlike many other editorial cartoonists, Hutton rarely drew caricatures of presidents although presidents and their policies are heavily represented. Hutton also invoked the words of figures Ben Franklin, George Washington and Abraham Lincoln while commenting on current events. In addition to recurring characters representing the American taxpayer, Hutton uses a robed woman to depict virtues like peace and truth and John Straphanger to represent a typical public transportation commuter.

Single sheets of paper with information about cartoons not located in this collection and who Hutton sent them to are interspersed throughout the collection of original artwork as well as in the folder of notes. The series also contains clippings of Hutton's work, four negative proofs, a pencil sketch and miscellaneous notes.

Hutton’s original artwork varies in size, generally working at a smaller scale as his tenure at the Inquirer progressed. Hutton’s artwork was drawn almost exclusively in crayon (with traces of pencil visible); however his later cartoons feature some details in ink, primarily lettering. Works were produced on coquille illustration board. Cartoons from 1932 bear a notice from the World Feature Syndicate.

The bulk of the Work by others series is clippings of cartoons by other editorial cartoonists from the 1950s. Most of the items bear a stamp with a date and the name of the Philadelphia Inquirer, possibly indicating that the cartoon was also published in the Inquirer. The majority of these clippings of are cartoons by L.D. Warren of the Cincinnati Enquirer. Also in this series are two pieces of original artwork by cartoonist Pierre Bellocq about Algeria and also the European common market.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged chronologically with undated cartoons filed in alphabetical order by caption. Clippings of work by other cartoonists are filed alphabetically by artist.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists including some of the artists represented in the Works by Others series. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Castro, Fidel, 1926- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Hutton, Hugh McMillen, 1897-1976.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Khrushchev, Nikita Sergeevich, 1894-1971 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Washington, George, 1732-1799 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

Democratic Party (U.S.) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- ) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United Nations -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States. Congress. -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Subjects

World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Civil rights movements -- United States -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Cold War -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Communism -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Crime -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Economics -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Elections -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nuclear weapons -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Taxation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Transportation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1933-1945 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings.
Editorial cartoons.
Proofs.
Sketches.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hugh M. Hutton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Hugh M. Hutton, 1964 and 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: –
Date: Jul 1967
Revision history: 6 Jun 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 14 May 2010 - revised bio, scope, inventory; added index (SK); 26 Mar 2012 - updated box 1/OS 39 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Work by Hutton
Clippings
Oversize 39 Editorial cartoons 1957, 1959-1963, 1965, 1967
Original cartoon artwork
Dated
Click here for a detailed inventory.
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1 1932-1937, 1939-1940, 1945-1951, 14" x 22 ˝"
Oversize 2 1952 Jan-Apr 14" x 22 ˝"
Oversize 3 1952 May-Aug 14" x 22 ˝"
Oversize 4 1952 Sep-Dec 14" x 22 ˝"
Oversize 5 1953 Jan-Apr 14" x 22 ˝"
Oversize 6 1953 May-Aug 14" x 22 ˝"
Oversize 7 1953 Sep-Dec 14" x 22 ˝"
Oversize 8 1954 Jan-Apr 14" x 22 ˝"
Oversize 9 1954 May-Sep 14" x 22 ˝"
Oversize 10 1954 Oct-1955 Feb 14 ˝" x 18 ˝"
Oversize 11 1955 Mar-May 11" X 14"
Oversize 12 1955 Jun-Nov 11 ˝" x 14 ˝"
Oversize 13 1955 Dec-1956 Apr 14 ˝" x 18 ˝"
Oversize 14 1956 May-1956 Jul 15 14 ˝" x 18 ˝"
Oversize 15 1956 Jul 16 -1956 Dec 13" x 18"
Oversize 16 1957 Jan-Apr 13" x 18"
Oversize 17 1957 Jun-Sep 13" x 18"
Oversize 18 1957 Oct-1958 Feb 13" x 18"
Oversize 19 1958 Mar-Jul 13" x 18"
Oversize 20 1958 Aug-Nov 13" x 18"
Oversize 21 1958 Dec-1959 Apr 13" x 18"
Oversize 22 1959 May-Sep 13" x 18"
Oversize 23 1959 Oct-1960 Feb 13" x 18"
Oversize 24 1960 Mar-Aug 13" x 18"
Oversize 25 1960 Sep-1961 Feb 13" x 18"
Oversize 26 1961 Mar-Aug 11" X 14"
Oversize 27 1961 Sep-1962 Mar 11" x 14"
Oversize 28 1962 May-Jun, 1962 Oct-1963 Apr 11 ˝" x 14 ˝" 14" x 18 ˝"
Oversize 29 1963 May-Dec 15" x 18" 11" x 14"
Oversize 30 1964 Jan-Aug, 1964 Oct-Nov 11" X 14"
Oversize 31 1965 Jan-Sep 11" x 15"
Oversize 32 1965 Oct-1966 May 11 ˝" x 14"
Oversize 33 1966 Jun-Dec 11 ˝" x 14 ˝"
Oversize 34 1967 Jan-Sep 11 ˝" x 14 ˝"
Oversize 35 1967 Oct-1968 Jun 11 ˝" x 14 ˝"
Oversize 36 1968 Jul-1969 Feb 11 ˝" x 14 ˝"
Oversize 37 1969 Mar-1970 Jan 11 ˝" x 14 ˝"
Undated (126 items)
Oversize 38 A-W
Oversize 38 Untitled
Miscellaneous
Oversize 39 Notes 11 Jan 1949, 1952, 1954, 1956
Order for drawing paper
Notes about removed cartoons
Weather maps
Oversize 39 Proofs 15 Jul 1960, 25 Nov 1965, 21 Jan 1966, 7 Feb 1966
Oversize 39 "Our Game Warden" pencil sketch undated 8 ˝" x 11"
Work by Others
Clippings
Box 1 Newspaper clippings of editorial cartoons 1952-1956 1958, undated
Barrow, Henry
Bastian, Robert
Berryman, Clifford Kennedy
Brett, Unknown
Carmack, Paul
Conrad, Paul
Craig, Eugene
Crawford, Bill
Crockett, Gib
Duffy, Edmund
Evans, Roy
Fitzpatrick, D.R.
Flannery, Thomas J.
Hungerford, Cy
Herblock
Hess, Don
Holland, Ed
Jensen, Cecil
Justus, Roy
Kuekes, Edward
Mauldin, Bill
Miller, Frank
Orr, Carey
Page, Grover
Poinier, Art
Ray, S.J.
Russell, Bruce
Seibel, Fred O.
Shanks, Bruce
Shoemaker, Vaughn
Somerville, John?
Stambre, John
Temple, Keith
Warren, L.D.
Williams, Frank
Wood, Art
Original cartoon artwork
Oversize 39 Pierre Bellocq 11" x 14"
Jul 21, 1961: [Algeria negotiations]
Undated: [European common market]

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.
B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.
AFL-CIO B4, B7, B13, B16, B18
Adams, Sherman B21
Adenauer, Konrad B12, B17, B24
Africa B3, B19-B20, B25, B32
Agricultural Adjustment Administration B1
Alabama B21, B27, B29-B32
Alaska B19-B20, B30
Albania B31, B38
Algeria B19, B23, B26, B28, B31-B32
Almond, Jr., James Lindsay B20-B21
American Civil Liberties Union B24
Americans for Democratic Action B38
Andrea Doria B15
Antarctic B19
Appalachia B29
Argentina B12, B18
Arkansas B17-B20, B22, B25
Asia B1, B7, B9, B12-B13, B15, B17, B19-B20, B33, B38
Atlee, Clement B9
Attlee, Clement B6
Baker, Bobby B29-B31
Beck, Dave B16-B17
Ben Bella, Ahmed B28, B31
Benson, Ezra Taft B7
Beria, Lavrentiy B6-B7, B12
Berlin B5-B6, B8, B20-B30, B37-B38
Bevan, Aneurin B9
Biafra B36
Bill of Rights B5, B7, B23, B28, B30, B34, B36-B37
Bismarck, Otto von B2
Blum, Leon B1
Bosch, Juan B31
Boumedične, Houari B31
Bowles, Chester B24
Brandt, Willy B21
Brazil B26, B30, B32
Brezhnev, Leonid Ilyich B31, B33, B36, B38
Bridges, Harry B6
Britain B1-B3, B5-B12, B15-B16, B19, B21, B23, B30, B34-B35, B37-B38
Brown Sr., Edmund Gerald B23, B30
Buddhists B29
Bulganin, Nikolai B10-B15, B17-B19
Burma B34
Bush, Vannevar B18
Cambodia B29
Canada B13, B19, B28, B34
Carmichael, Stokely B34
Case, Clifford B24
Castro, Fidel B19, B21, B23-B32, B34-B35
China B1-B12, B14-B15, B20-B23, B25, B27-B32, B34, B36-B38
Churchill, Winston B2, B5, B9, B31
Civil War B29, B31
Clark, Joseph S. B8-B9
Cold War B2, B5, B7-B9, B11-B13, B21-B22, B25-B26, B33, B36
Columbus, Christopher B10, B32
Congo B24-B25, B27
Congress B1-B6, B8-B11, B12-B16, B18-B38
Costa Rica B10, B28
Cuba B21, B23-B30, B32, B34, B36
Cummings, Homer Stille B1
Cyprus B30, B35, B38
Czechoslovakia B6, B35-B37
Delaware River B2, B7-B13, B16, B18, B38
Democratic Party B1-B4, B8-B26, B28, B30, B34, B36
DiSalle, Mike B4
Diefenbaker, John B28
Diem, Ngo Dinh B29
Dilworth, Richardson B18, B22-B23, B26, B28
Dirksen, Everett B36
Dodd, Thomas J. B34
Dominican Republic B29, B31
Dubček, Alexander B36-B37
Dulles, John Foster B4-B5, B7, B15, B17, B19, B21-B22
Durkin, Martin P. B4
Egypt B3, B11-B12, B14-B16, B18
Eichmann, Adolf B26-B27
Eisenhower, Dwight B1-B14, B16-B25, B37-B38
En-lai, Chou B11, B33, B37
Erhard, Ludwig B33
Estes, Billie Sol B28
Europe B1, B5, B8, B11, B15-B16, B19, B28-B29, B37-B38
Farley, James B1
Farouk I of Egypt B3
Faubus, Orval B17, B19-B20, B22
Federal Bureau of Investigation B7
Federal Communications Commission B18
Federal Housing Administration B8-B10
Finland B27
Formosa B9-B11, B13, B23
France B1-B2, B6, B9-B13, B15-B17, B19-B21, B24, B32-B34, B36
Franklin, Benjamin B8, B13, B18, B21, B23, B27, B30, B35
Freeman, Orville B25, B29
Galbraith, John Kenneth B38
Gaza Strip B12, B16
George VI of England B2
Germany B1-B2, B6-B13, B17, B21, B24, B33, B35, B37
Ghana B27, B32
Ghandi, Indira B32
Girard Case B17
Glenn, John B27
Goldberg, Arthur B27
Goldwater, Barry B28-B30
Goulart, Joăo B30
Great Depression B1, B19
Greece B30, B38
Greenlease, Bobby B7
Gromyko, Andrei B20, B22, B26-B27, B33, B37
Guantanamo B25, B30
Guatamala B8-B9
Guevara, Che B26, B35
Hammarskjold, Dag B15, B25-B27
Harriman, W. Averell B3, B12, B14-B15
Hawaii B5, B19, B21-B22, B24
Henderson, Leon B14
Hershey, Lewis Blaine B7
Herter, Christian B21, B28
Hindenberg B1
Hitler, Adolph B1-B2, B9, B19, B22-B23, B33, B38
Ho Chi Minh B31-B36, B38
Hoffa, Jimmy B17-B18, B22, B26-B27
Home, Lord B29-B30
Hong Kong B34
Hoover Commission B2, B11
Humphrey, Hubert B12, B23-B24, B30, B36
Hungary B15-B17, B20, B23, B27
Ickes, Harold L. B1
India B4, B23, B25, B28, B31-B32, B34
Indochina B8-B9
Indonesia B17, B32, B34, B38
Iran B3, B6, B9, B12, B38
Iraq B21-B22
Israel B5, B11, B16, B19, B24, B34
Japan B1, B9, B24, B26, B38
Jiménez, Marcos Pérez B18
Johnson, Lyndon Baines B21, B23-B25, B29-B35, B38
Jordan B16, B19-B20
Kaganovich, Lazar B17
Kai-shek, Chiang B10, B20
Kasa-Vubu, Joseph B25
Kefauver, Estes B2-B3, B13-B15, B24
Kennedy, John F. B23-B29, B38
Kennedy, Robert F. B30, B35
Kenya B34
Keyserling, Leon H. B23
Khrushchev, Nikita B10-B11, B13-B30, B33, B38
King George III B1
King Jr., Martin Luther B35
Korea B9, B12, B14, B17, B20, B24, B26, B32, B35, B37
Korean War B3-B7, B29, B31
Kosygin, Alexey B32-B34, B36-B37
Kozlov, Alexander B22
Ku Klux Klan B3, B18, B31-B32, B35
Laos B5, B22, B25-B26, B28, B30
Latin America B8, B10-B11, B13, B23-B24, B26, B28-B36
Lawrence, David L. B19, B21-B22, B24-B25
Leader, George B11, B13-B17, B19-B21
League of Nations B27
Lebanon B19
Lenin, Vladimir B5, B19, B23, B37
Lewis, John B1, B4
Lincoln, Abraham B2, B5, B8, B10, B16, B23, B27, B29-B32, B35-B36
Lodge Jr., Henry Cabot B24-B25, B30
Longstreth, W. Thacher B11
Lumumba, Patrice B25
MacArthur, Douglas B4
MacMillan, Harold B18, B21, B23
Malaysia B32, B38
Malenkov, Georgy B5-B10, B17
Malik, Jacob B3
Malinovsky, Rodion B24
Marshall, John B12
Marx, Karl B19, B23, B25, B29, B38
Matsu and Quemoy B11, B20
McCarthy v. Army hearings B8-B9
McCarthy, Joseph B8-B10
McKay, Douglas B4
McNamara, Robert B29
Medicare B31, B33-B34, B37-B38
Mendčs France, Pierre B10-B11
Menon, V. K. Krishna B25
Meredith, James B33
Mexico B13, B32-B33
Michigan B2
Middle East B2, B10, B12-B21, B23, B25, B27, B29, B34-B35, B37-B38
Mikoyan, Anastas B21, B23, B26
Mississippi B23, B27, B30, B33, B35
Molotov, Vyacheslav B6-B8, B10, B12, B14, B17
Mongolia B13
Monroe Doctrine B24, B26
Morocco B6
Morse, Wayne B24
Mossadegh, Mohammad B5, B38
Muslims B12
Mussolini, Benito B38
NATO B2, B5, B18-B19, B21, B27, B33, B36-B38
Nasser, Gamal Abdel B14-B16, B18-B20, B23-B25, B27, B31-B32, B34, B38
National Recovery Administration B1
National Rifle Association B36
Nazism B7, B9, B26, B33
Nehru, Jawaharlal B7, B9, B11, B15-B16, B22, B26-B28
New Deal B1, B38
New Jersey B24, B34, B37
New Left B34
New Orleans B25-B26, B28
New York B9, B12, B19
New York City B18, B31-B32
Nigeria B36
Nixon, Richard M. B3-B4, B8, B15-B16, B19, B22, B24-B25, B30, B36-B37
Nkrumah, Kwame B27, B31-B32
Oatis, William N. B2, B6
Oppenheimer contro B8-B9, 1954
Organization of American States B25-B27, B29, B31-B32, B34
Pakistan B28, B31-B32
Palestine B23
Panama B30
Panama Canal B11
Pasternak B20
Peace Corps B26
Pearson, Lester Bowles B29
Pennslyvania Legislature B1, B5-B6, B10-B17, B21-B22, B25, B28-B38
Pennsylvania B2, B7, B9-B13, B15, B18, B21-B25, B29, B35, B38
Pennsylvania Constitution B11-B12, B16, B25, B28, B30, B33, B35, B38
Pentagon B3, B5, B11, B19, B21
Peron, Juan Domingo B12, B18
Peru B37
Philadelphia B1-B9, B11-B38
Poland B14, B16
Pompidou, Georges B37
Poor People's Campaign B35
Pope John XXIII B38
Pope Paul VI B32
Pope Pius XII B38
Powell, Adam Clayton B34
Prohibition B1, B10
Puerto Rico B8
Queen Elizabeth II B6
Quill, Michael B4, B10, B25, B27-B28
Rayburn, Sam B16
Republican Party B2-B5, B8-B15, B17-B26, B28-B31, B34, B36
Reuther, Walter B18, B34
Rhee, Syngman B6
Rhodesia B33
Robinson, Joe B1
Rockefeller, Nelson B24, B29-B30
Rockwell, George Lincoln B33
Romney, George W. B30
Roosevelt, Eleanor B15
Roosevelt, Franklin D. B1, B38
Roosevelt, Theodore B19
Rumania B36
Russell, Bertrand B3, B34
Russell, Richard B3
Russia B2, B6-B19, B21-B23, B27-B28, B31-B32, B35-B37
SEATO B19
SEPTA (and Philadelphia Transit Commission) B2-B5, B15-B16, B20-B25, B28, B34, B36
Saud of Saudi Arabia B16
Sawyer, Charles B2
Scranton, William B28-B31
Sese Seko, Mobutu B25
Shepard, Alan B26
Shepilov, Dmitri B17
Shriver, Sargent B30
Smith, Howard W. B25, B29
Smith, Margaret Chase B30
South America B13, B19
South Carolina B27
Soviet Union B1, B6-B7, B12-B13, B15-B17, B25, B27, B30, B34
Spain B1, B12-B13, B38
Sparkman, John B4
St. Lawrence River B2, B8, B10-B11
Stalin, Joseph B1-B5, B7, B9, B13-B16, B18-B19, B36, B38
Stassen, Harold B2, B15, B18-B19, B21, B30
Stevenson, Adlai E. B2-B4, B8, B12-B15, B23-B24, B26, B30
Students for a Democratic Society B37
Suez Canal B14-B16, B24, B34, B38
Sukarno B27, B29-B32, B38
Supreme Court B1, B3, B12-B15, B17-B21, B26, B37-B38
Sweden B3, B36, B38
Symington, Stuart B23-B24
Syria B17-B18
Taft Hartley Act B2-B3, B15, B23, B26
Taft, Robert B2-B4
Talmadge, Herman B14
Teamsters B16, B18-B19, B38
Tennessee B20
Tennessee Valley Authority B1, B38
Thant, U. B31, B34
Thieu, Nguyen Van B35
Tibet B17, B21-B22
Tito, Josip Broz B2, B14-B15, B29, B34
Trujillo, Rafael B23, B26, B31
Truman, Harry S. B2-B5, B7-B8, B14-B15, B18, B20, B23
Tshombe, Moise B25
Tugwell, Rexford B1
Turkey B18, B30, B38
Tōjō, Hideki B19
U-2 incident B24
U.S. Constitution B1-B3, B5, B9, B11-B12, B14, B16-B17, B20, B26, B29-B30, B33-B34, B36
U.S. Postal Service B20, B22, B28-B29, B35-B38
U.S. flag B9, B12, B14, B17, B19, B22, B30, B33, B35, B37
USS Bennington B9
USS Hobson B2
USS Pueblo B35, B37
Udall, Stewart B26
Ulbricht, Walter B26, B29-B30, B36-B37
United Arab Republic B20
United Auto Workers B16, B34
United Nations B2-B27, B29-B35, B37-B38
Van Devanter, Willis B1
Vare, William Scott B1
Venezuela B18-B19, B27
Vietnam B9
Vietnam War B27, B29-B38
Virginia B20-B21
Vishinsky, Andrey B4-B5, B10
Wagner, Jr. Robert F. B30
Wales B33
Wallace, George B29-B32, B34-B36, B38
Wallace, Henry B1, B38
War on Poverty B34
Washington, George B2, B5, B8, B13, B16-B18, B21, B23, B25, B28, B30, B34-B36
White, Harry Dexter B7
Wilhelm II (Germany) B2
Williams, G. Mennen B2
Willkie, Wendell B1
Wilson, Charles B4
Wilson, Harold B32-B33
Wilson, Woodrow B38
Wirtz, W. Willard B29
Wood, Lloyd B10
World War I B1, B4, B7, B10, B15, B23, B34, B38
World War II B1, B11, B13, B15, B22, B27, B30-B31, B37
Yalta Conference B2, B11, B27
Yemen B19
Yugoslavia B34
Zedong, Mao B2, B17, B26-B28, B30-B34, B37-B38
Zhukov, Georgy B13, B18
Zorin, Valerian B3
academic freedom B33-B34, B36
airline industry B33, B37
alcohol B8, B21, B32
anti-Semitism B19
armed forces B2, B4-B6, B8-B10, B9, B12, B14, B17-B20, B22-B26, B28-B38
arts B10, B16, B19, B25-B26
auto industry B34
automation B26-B27, B29
aviation B2-B4, B7, B12, B14-B15, B17, B19, B25, B27, B36
billboard lobby B25-B26
bossism B2-B4, B22, B38
budget B2, B4-B5, B13, B16, B27-B31, B34-B35
bureaucracy B2-B3, B5, B18, B35-B36
business B1, B25-B26, B29
capitalism B37
cartoons B2
censorship B27, B37
census B24
charity B10-B11, B12, B18, B20, B23, B25-B29, B32-B38
cities (monetary aid to) B33
city charter reform (Philadelphia) B5, B7-B8, B13
city planning B12
civil defense B3, B5, B8, B11-B12, B15, B26-B27
civil defense B2, B10-B11
civil rights B3-B4, B14-B17, B20-B21, B23-B25, B29-B33, B35
coal mining B1, B9, B36-B37
college students B33, B35-B37
colleges and universities B33-B34, B37
colonialism B13, B16, B25
common market B29, B31, B34-B35, B37-B38
communism B1-B18, B20-B22, B24, B26, B30-B33, B37-B38
consumers B2-B4, B7-B9, B11, B13, B16, B19-B23, B26, B30, B34, B37
corruption B2-B4, B26, B31, B37
cost of living B1, B8, B11, B16, B18, B20, B23-B24, B35, B37
cotton industry B23
crime B1-B4, B7-B11, B13, B15, B18-B21, B23-B26, B31-B32, B34-B38
daylight savings time B19, B29-B35, B37
de Gaulle, Charles B19-B21, B23, B28-B35, B37-B38
democracy B5, B20-B21, B23, B26, B34-B35, B38
demonstrations B24, B29, B31-B37
desegregation B9, B17, B20
disarmament B1-B2, B7, B11-B12, B14, B17, B22-B25, B27-B28, B30, B32, B37-B38
diseases B21, B24, B28
dock workers B7-B8, B15, B23, B30
draft B15, B29, B32-B35, B37-B38
drugs (use and selling of) B14, B37
drunk driving B4, B7, B10, B13, B18, B24, B33, B35, B37
economy B1, B5, B8, B11-B12, B14-B16, B19-B21, B23, B26-B28, B30-B31, B33-B35, B37
education B1, B5-B6, B13, B18, B20, B26, B28-B29, B32, B34-B37
elderly B16, B24-B27
elections B1-B4, B6-B8, B10-B16, B18-B26, B28, B30-B38
electoral college B5, B35-B36, B38
espionage B1, B5, B7, B12, B17, B24, B29
extremists B29
farming B1, B3, B6-B14, B18-B19, B21-B23, B25-B26, B28-B30, B37-B38
fascism B38
fire safety B21, B23-B24, B27-B28, B32, B36-B37
flooding B21
food safety B37
foreign aid B2, B6, B13-B14, B17-B19, B21-B24, B26-B31, B33, B37
foreign policy B5, B10, B13, B21, B38
free press B2, B16, B23
free speech B33, B35
freedom B6, B13, B15, B21-B22, B31-B32
gold B1, B35, B38
government spending B2, B5, B19, B21, B23, B26-B27, B32, B34-B35, B38
graduates B6, B12, B14, B17, B22, B24, B26, B37
gun control B35-B36
healthcare B21, B24-B25, B37
hijacking B26, B37
hit and run driving B13-B14
holidays B1-B3, B7, B10-B15, B18-B23, B25-B37
housing B1, B4, B8-B9, B14, B16-B17, B22, B31, B35
hunger B23, B28, B37, B38
immigration B9
immigration B2
imperialism B9, B11, B15, B23, B37-B38
industry (general) B1, B10-B11, B14, B22, B29
inflation B2-B4, B7, B17, B20-B25, B32-B38
insurance B5, B22, B34
integration B22, B32
intellectualism B7
isolation B1, B7, B21, B38
journalism B9, B17
judicial system B1, B12-B13, B16, B19, B27, B30-B35, B38
juvenile delinquency B7-B8, B10, B11, B13, B15, B17-B23, B26-B28, B30-B31, B33, B37
labor B1, B3-B4, B6-B7, B9, B12, B17, B20-B22, B28, B37
law and order B17, B24, B31
machine politics B1, B6, B11
nationalism B15, B19, B25
natural disasters B12, B17, B27, B29-B31
natural resources B25, B29-B30
neutrality B3, B5, B22, B24-B25, B27, B38
nuclear weapons B1, B3-B12, B15-B20, B23-B31, B33-B34, B36-B38
obscenity B22
oil B1, B6, B9, B16, B20, B26, B37
organized crime B1, B12-B13, B15-B19, B21-B23, B38
patriotism B12
peace B1-B28, B30-B8
pesticides B29
piracy B1, B25, B36
police B7, B11, B18, B24, B27, B31, B38
polio B11-B12
pollution B23, B26, B33, B36-B38
poverty B20, B30, B35, B37
prisoners of war B3-B7, B10-B12, B33, B37
propaganda B2-B7, B9, B11-B14, B17-B20, B23-B24, B26-B28, B34
quiz shows B12, B23
racial violence B17, B25
racism B25
railroad industry B21, B28-B31, B34
religion B2, B5, B10, B15-B16, B19-B20, B24, B26-B27, B33
riots B31, B34-B35, B37
schools B7, B9, B13-B14, B20-B23, B25-B26, B32, B34-B38
science B14, B18, B22
segregation B5, B12-B15, B17-B20, B25-B26, B32, B34, B38
sex crimes B9, B13, B17, B23, B27, B32, B34
shipping industry B12, B26, B31
silver B1
slum clearance B14, B34
social security B1, B8, B22, B24-B25
socialism B11
space exploration B20-B24, B26-B27, B31-B34, B36-B38
sports B5, B7, B9, B12, B15, B17-B18, B20-B21, B23, B25-B29, B32-B33, B35-B36, B38
steel industry B2-B3, B14-B15, B22-B23, B27-B28, B30, B38
stock market B11
strikes B2-B4, B6-B8, B11, B14-B15, B18, B22-B23, B25-B27, B29-B30, B32-B34, B36, B38
taxes B1-B2, B4-B13, B15-B38
television B2-B5, B8, B17, B23, B25
terrorism B16, B34-B35, B38
tourism B29, B34-B35, B38
trade B1, B8, B11, B19, B28, B31, B34
traffic fatalities B1-B7, B9-B22, B25-B38
transportation B1-B5, B7-B11, B13-B34, B36-B38
unemployment B1-B2, B23, B25-B27, B29, B35
unions B2, B5, B7, B12, B15-B19, B21-B23, B26, B28-B29
utilities B1, B3
vacation B7, B9
voting B1-B2, B4, B7, B10-B13, B15, B17-B20, B22, B24-B25, B28-B38
voting rights B21, B23-B25, B31, B34, B38
war B1, B5, B20, B25
water supply B7, B9, B26, B31, B33
weapons B2, B7
weather B1, B3, B5, B7, B9-B11, B13-B14, B16-B19, B21-B22, B24-B25, B28, B30-B34, B36-B38
welfare B27
white supremacy B4, B15, B20, B33, B35

Return to top