Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Hocking Valley Railway Company Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hocking Valley Railway Company.
Title: Hocking Valley Railway Company Records
Inclusive Dates: 1867-1935
Quantity: 3.0 linear ft.; 315 volumes
Abstract: Financial records of the Hocking Valley Railway Company and its subsidiary and predecessor companies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Hocking Valley Railway in Ohio ran from Toledo to Athens and Pomeroy via Columbus. It also had branch lines that served several coal mines in the Valley. The company was later merged into the Chesapeake and Ohio Railway system. Predecessor and subsidiary companies include the Boston Coal Dock and Warehouse Company, Hocking Valley Monday Creek Coal Company, Kanawha and Hocking Coal and Coke Company, Pomeroy Belt Railway Compeny, and others.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hocking Valley Railway Company Records contains administrative, financial, and Stock and bond papers of the company. The collection also contains a range of record types from predecessor and subsidiary companies.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The records of the Hocking Valley Railway Company come first, followed by predecessor and subsidiary company records in alphabetical order by company name.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of numerous local and regional railroads. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Hocking Valley Railway Company -- Archives.
United States. -- Interstate Commerce Commission.

Subjects

Railroads -- Cost of operation.
Railroads -- United States.
Railroads and state.

Genres and Forms

Annual reports.
Journals (bookkeeping records).
Ledgers.

Occupations

Transportation., lcsh

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hocking Valley Railway Company Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: circa 1965
Revision history: 4 Jun 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Hocking Valley Railway Company
Access Restrictions
RESTRICTED: COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS.
Administrative papers
Reports to the Ohio Railroad and Telegraph Commission 1899-1904 (6 volumes)
Reports to the Ohio Railroad Commission 1907, 1910, 1911 (2) (4 volumes)
Reports to the Ohio Public Service Commission 1912-1913 (2 volumes)
Reports to the Ohio Public Utilities Commission 1914-1915, 1916 (2), 1917, 1918 (2), 1919 (2), 1920-1922, 1927-1930 (16 volumes)
Reports to the Ohio Tax Commission 1911, 1913-1917, 1918 (2), 1919 (2), 1920-1922, 1927-1928 (15 volumes)
ICC Reports 1900-1908, 1909 (2), 1910 (2), 1911 (2), 1922-1923, 1930 (18 volumes)
ICC Reports (photostat) 1924-1929
Annual Report to Stockholders 1899-1910 (11 volumes)
Financial papers
Miscellaneous financial papers (3 boxes)
Contracts and leases record book (1 volume)
General journals 1894-1930 (14 volumes)
Federal journals 1918-1923 (2 volumes)
General ledgers 1894-1931 (14 volumes)
Federal ledger 1918-1920 (1 volume)
Stock and bond papers
Preferred Stock Dividend Register (Dividends #1-21) (6 volumes)
Common Stock Dividend Registers (Dividends #1-37) (9 volumes)
Dividend Order Book
Stock Lists Register 1911-1918
Preferred Stock Ledger #2 1904-1906 (2 volumes)
Common Stock Ledger #1 1902-1903 (3 volumes)
Common Stock Ledger #2 1904-1906 (1 volume)
Preferred Stock Transfer Book # 1 1899-1907 (1 volume)
Preferred Stock Transfer Book # 2 1994-1909 (1 volume)
Preferred Stock Transfer Book # 3 1907-1909 (1 volume)
Common Stock Transfer Book # 1 1899-1904 (1 volume)
Preferred Stock Register # 1 1899-1904 (1 volume)
Bond Ledger 1914-1917 (4 volumes)
Bond Transfer 1899-1909 (1 volume)
Interest Register 1899-1904 (1 volume)
Subsidiary and predecessor companies
Boston Coal Dock and Warehouse Company
Financial papers
General journal 1899-1905, 1911-1913, 1913-1914 (3 volumes)
General ledger 1899-1918 (3 volumes)
Miscellaneous papers (1/2 box)
Buckeye Coal and Railway Company
Miscellaneous papers (1/2 box)
Columbus and Hocking Valley Railroad Company
Financial papers
General journal 1867-1874 (v)
General ledger 1866-1871 (1 volume)
First Mortgage Bond Register 1874-1899 (1 volume)
First Mortgage Bond Payment Book 1897 (v)
Columbus, Hocking Valley and Toledo Railway
Administrative papers
Report to the Ohio Commission of Railroad and Telegraphs 1870, 1871 (2), 1872, 1874-1875, 1876 (2), 1877-1889, 1891-1899 (28 volumes)
ICC Report 1888-1889, 1898 (3 volumes)
Financial papers
General journals 1875-1878, 1878-1881 (2), 1881-1897, 1899-1920. (15 volumes)
General ledgers 1875-1889, 1891-1898 (12 volumes)
Stock and bond papers
Bond Register Book 1867-1889 (1 volume)
Stock Transfer Book 1898 (1 volume)
Plan for Reorganization 1899 (1 volume)
Continental Coal Company
Administrative papers (1/2 box)
Miscellaneous papers
Hocking Valley Monday Creek Coal Company
Financial papers
General journal 1892-1896 (1 volume)
Hocking Coal and Railroad Company
Financial papers
General journal 1886-1893, 1898-1899 (2 volumes)
General ledger 1886-1893, 1888-1889, 1898-1899 (3 volumes)
Hocking Land and Development Company
Financial papers
General journal 1925-1930 (1 volume)
General ledger 1925-1930 (1 volume)
Kanawha and Hocking Coal and Coke Company
Administrative papers
Miscellaneous papers (1/2 box)
Kanawha and Michigan Railway Company
Administrative papers
Miscellaneous papers (1/2 box)
Annual reports 1900-1913 (14 volumes)
Ohio and West Virginia Railway Company
Administrative papers
Report to the Ohio Railway and Telegraph Commission 1880-1881 (2 volumes)
Ohio Land and Railway Company
Administrative papers
Miscellaneous papers (1/4 box)
Pomeroy Belt Railway Company
Administrative papers
Ohio Public Service Commission 1912-1913 (2 volumes)
Ohio Public Utilities Commission 1914-1915, 1916 (2), 1917, 1918 (2), 1919-1929 (18 volumes)
ICC Reports 1911-1915, 1916 (2), 1917 (2), 1918 (2), 1919-1930 (23 volumes)
Financial papers
General journal 1927-1930 (1 volume)
General ledger 1928-1930 (1 volume)
Sunday Creek Coal Company
Administrative papers
Miscellaneous papers (1 box)
Toledo and Ohio Central Railway Company
Administrative papers
Miscellaneous papers (1 box)
Toledo Terminal Railway Company
Administrative papers
Annual reports to stockholders 1919-1935 (1 volume)
Wellston and Jackson Belt Railway
Administrative papers
Reports to the Ohio Railroad and Telegraph Commission 1897, 1898 (2), 1899-1904 (9 volumes)
Reports to the Ohio Railroad Commission 1907, 1909, 1911 (3 volumes)
Reports to the Ohio Public Service Commission 1912-1913 (2 volumes)
Reports to the Ohio Public Utilities Commission 1914-1915, 1916 (2), 1917, 1918 (2) 1919-1929 (18 volumes)
ICC Reports 1900-1905, 1907, 1910-1915, 1916 (2), 1917 (2), 1918-1930 (30 volumes)
Financial papers
General journals 1896-1925, 1928-1930 (2 volumes)
General ledgers 1888-1893, 1896-1925, 1928-1930 (3 volumes)
Zanesville and Western Railway Administrative papers
Miscellaneous papers
In box with Toledo and Ohio Central Railway Company, above.

Return to top