Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Frederick P. Hier Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hier, Frederick P.
Title: Frederick P. Hier Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1842-1941
Quantity: 9 linear ft.
Abstract: Lawyer for Walt Whitman and his secretary, Horace Traubell. Collection contains manuscripts, correspondence, printed material, clippings and photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederick P. Hier was an American attorney. He received his law degree from Syracuse University and practiced in New York City; his avocation was the study of Walt Whitman, and he published a number of articles and books dealing with the poet's life and work.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick P. Hier Papers consist of manuscripts, correspondence, printed material, clippings and photographs.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hier, Frederick P.
Whitman, Walt, 1819-1892.

Subjects

American literature -- 19th century -- History and criticism.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick P. Hier Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top