Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Jimmy Hatlo Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hatlo, Jimmy, 1898-1963.
Title: Jimmy Hatlo Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1939-1986
Quantity: 15 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American cartoonist. Proof sheets for Little Iodine and They'll Do It Every Time, printed material, clippings, small amount of correspondence.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Cecil "Jimmy" Hatlo (1898-1963) was an American sports and editorial cartoonist known for his long-running strip They'll Do It Every Time.

Though born in Providence, R.I. he spent much of his youth in California, attending school in Los Angeles and beginning his newspaper career with the San Francisco Bulletin. In 1929, when a package of cartoons failed to arrive from the syndicate, sports cartoonist Hatlo was called upon to produce something, and the first They'll Do It Every Time appeared on February 5, 1929. It was syndicated in 1936 and in 1943, by popular demand, Hatlo spun off the character of Henry Tremblechin's daughter into her own strip, Little Iodine.

Hatlo went on to work for the Los Angeles Times as a sports and editorial cartoonist and spent fifteen years with the Hearst newspaper chain as an editorial cartoonist. He continued to draw They'll Do It Every Time until his death on November 30, 1963.

Hatlo's works were syndicated in the United States and abroad. He was a charter member of the National Cartoonist Society, who awarded him its Newspaper Panel Cartoon Award for 1957 and 1959.

[Portions of this biography adapted from Contemporary Authors (1998) and from Don Markstein's Toonopedia, http://www.toonopedia.com.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jimmy Hatlo Papers consists of artwork, cartoons, correspondence, memorabilia, and printed material.

Artwork consists of original artwork by Hatlo, for cartoon panels.

Cartoons consists entirely of proof sheets for Little Iodine and They'll Do It Every Time. In many cases there are two different layouts for each item, one horizontal and one vertical.

A small amount of Correspondence relates primarily to suggestions sent in by readers for gags for They'll Do It Every Time. Several are from Glen Wilkinson of San Diego. Responses to Wilkinson are from Bob Dunn, a cartoonist who worked with Hatlo on both They'll Do It Every Time and Little Iodine. There are also a few typed sheets with the lyrics to "I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now."

Memorabilia contains clippings about Hatlo, including a reprint of an article that appeared in the Saturday Evening Post, a program and seating list from an awards ceremony in which a group called The Banshees gave Hatlo the Silver Lady award, and a Lucky Strikes cigarette ad in which Hatlo appears.

Printed material contains a variety of printed items featuring Hatlo's work, including calendars, clippings, a published collection of office-related cartoons called Office Party, some publicity for They'll, a postcard, and other items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Clippings and correspondence are arranged chronologically. Cartoons are arranged chronologically for the most part, although due to size differences there is some physical discontinuity. Other material is arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of more than one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In particular, see also the George Kloek Scrapbook on Jimmy Hatlo.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Dunn, Bob, 1908-1989.
Hatlo, Jimmy, 1898-1963.

Associated Titles

Little Iodine.
They'll do it every time.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- California.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Children -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Families -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Fathers and daughters -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Work environment -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Calendars.
Cartoons (humorous images).
Clippings.
Proof sheets.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jimmy Hatlo Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Eleanor Hatlo Lusignan, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MPK
Date: Sep 1978
Revision history: 21 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 23 Apr 2007 - bioghist and scopecontent updated (MRC); 15 Jul 2010 - adds, reprocessed (MRC); 2 Feb 2011 - add, revised finding aid (AM); 16 Feb 2011 - related material (MRC); 16 Apr 2013 - original artwork (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Artwork
Oversize 1 "Watching the frails..." circa June 30 - Original cartoon, signed and inscribed by Hatlo; King Features Syndicate, Inc.; pen and ink 11" x 14"
Oversize 1 They'll Do It Every Time 24 May 1948 - Original artwork for panel cartoon 10" x 12.5"
Cartoons
Little Iodine - proof sheets
Oversize 1 Sunday strips 1944, 1946-1952
Oversize 2 Sunday strips 1953-1957
Oversize 3 Sunday strips 1958-1961
They'll Do It Every Time - proof sheets
Oversize 5 Daily strips 1939-1942, 1944-1945
Oversize 4 Daily strips 1946-1951
See also Artwork : They'll Do It Every Time.
Oversize 5 Daily strips 1952
Oversize 6 Daily strips 1953-1955
Oversize 5 Daily strips 1956-1957
Oversize 7 Daily strips 1958-1964
Oversize 8 Sunday strips 1948-1954
Oversize 9 Sunday strips 1955-1958
Oversize 10 Sunday strips 1959-1963
Miscellaneous - proof sheets
Box 1 Undated and/or unidentified proof sheets
Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1956-1957, 1979, 1982-1983, 1986, undated
Most of the correspondence relates to suggestions sent in by readers for They'll Do It Every Time, including a number from Glen Wilkinson of San Diego; the responses to Wilkinson are from cartoonist Bob Dunn, who worked with Hatlo on both They'll Do It and Little Iodine
Memorabilia
Box 1 Clippings about Hatlo 1949-1951, 1955, 1959-1960, 1963, undated
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1950, undated - "Silver Lady" cartoonist of the year award program with seating list, Lucky Strikes ad featuring Hatlo
Printed material
Box 1 Calendars, They'll Do It Every Time 1940, 1948-1949, 1953, 1956-1958 (2 copies of each)
Box 1 Clippings of Hatlo's work 1957-1986 - includes three notebooks with clippings pasted in, and some clippings of other cartoonists' work (2 folders)
Box 1 Office Party 1959 - collection of cartoons, published by Grosset and Dunlap (2 copies)
Box 1 Publicity for They'll Do It Every Time undated
Box 1 Miscellaneous - postcard, party program, calendar, etc.

Return to top